DETAILED ACTION
Amendment, received 7/17/2026, has been entered.
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 13-17, 19, 27-30 and 32 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 27 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abdelmoneum et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0085673 A1), hereafter referred to as Abdelmoneum.
As to claim 27, Abdelmoneum discloses an apparatus (fig 1, 100) comprising:
a first glass substrate (fig 1, bottommost glass substrate 122; [0012]);
a MEMS die (130; [0013]) on a surface of the first glass substrate (top surface of substrate 122); and
a second glass substrate (upper glass substrate 122) mounted to the first glass substrate (bottom glass substrate 122), the MEMS die (130) hermetically sealed within a vacuum-sealed cavity ([0016]) defined by the first and second glass substrates (upper and bottom substrates 122 bonded together as taught in [0012]), the surface of the first glass substrate defining a wall of the vacuum-sealed cavity (top surface of bottom substrate 122 defines a wall of the cavity).
As to claim 29, Abdelmoneum discloses the apparatus of claim 27 (paragraphs above),
wherein the surface is a first surface (fig 1, top surface), the apparatus including:
a TGV (116) extending through the first glass substrate (122) between the first surface and a second surface of the first glass substrate (top and bottom), the second surface (bottom) facing away from the first surface (top) of the first glass substrate (122); and
a build-up layer (126) on the second surface (bottom) of the first glass substrate (122), the TGV (116) to electrically couple the MEMS die (130) to the build-up layer (126).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelmoneum in view of Cheng et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0107100 A1), hereafter referred to as Cheng.
As to claim 28, Abdelmoneum discloses the apparatus of claim 27 (paragraphs above),
Abdelmoneum does not disclose wherein the MEMS die is a first MEMS die, the apparatus including a second MEMS die on the surface of the first glass substrate, the second MEMS die spaced apart from the first MEMS die.
Nonetheless, Cheng discloses wherein a device package includes a first cavity for a first MEMS device (fig 2, cavity 108a and MEMS device 106a), and a second MEMS device in a second cavity (fig 2, cavity 108b and MEMS device 106b), the first and second cavities spaced apart within the substrate (fig 2, cavities 108a and 108b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include a second cavity and second MEMS die in the package of Abdelmoneum as taught by Cheng since this will increase the functionality of the semiconductor device.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelmoneum in view of Paital et al. (US Pub. No 2023/0085411 A1), hereafter referred to as Paital.
As to claim 30, Abdelmoneum discloses the apparatus of claim 29 (paragraphs above),
Abdelmoneum does not disclose wherein the build-up layer is a first build-up layer and the TGV is a first TGV, the apparatus including:
a second TGV extending through the first glass substrate and the second glass substrate between the second surface of the first glass substrate and a third surface of the second glass substrate, the third surface facing away from the second surface of the first glass substrate; and
a second build-up layer on the third surface of the second glass substrate, the second TGV to electrically couple the first build-up layer to the second build-up layer.
Nonetheless, Paital discloses a die (fig 1, 108) in a glass core substrate (102) with a first build-up region (dielectric 122 and conductive traces 124), the portion is a first portion, and the TGV is a first TGV, the glass core including a second build-up region on the second surface (122/124 on opposite surface), the glass core including a second portion between the die (108) and the second build-up region (122/124), the glass core including a second TGV extending through the first portion and the second portion (118), the second TGV to electrically coupled the first build-up region to the second build-up region (118 connects the 122/124 on top to 122/124 on bottom).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to form the build-up regions of Abdelmoneum as taught by Paital since this will improve the electrical interconnection of the IC devices.
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelmoneum in view of Hiraka et al. (US Pub. No 2004/0071424 A1), hereafter referred to as Hiraka.
As to claim 32, Abdelmoneum discloses the apparatus of claim 27 (paragraphs above),
Abdelmoneum does not disclose wherein the first glass substrate is directly bonded to the second glass substrate to define a monolithic glass core that encloses the MEMS die.
However, Abdelmoneum suggests that bonding of glass substrates 122 without adhesive is contemplated ([0012]).
Nonetheless, Hiraka discloses wherein glass substrates are directly bonded to define a monolithic glass substrate (fig 1a-g, [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to directly bond the glass substrates of Abdelmoneum as taught by Hiraka since Abdelmoneum suggests using other known bonding processes such as the one described by Hiraka to improve the composition of the combined substrate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 13-17, and 19 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest a first MEMS die in a first cavity of a glass score, a second MEMS die in a second cavity of the glass core and an interconnect extending between the first and second cavities, as recited in claim 1; or a glass core having a first surface, a second surface opposite the first surface, and a third surface defining a perimeter of the glass core and a MEMS die within a cavity in the glass core, the glass core defining a channel that extends through the glass core from the cavity to the third surface, as recited in claim 17.
Claims 2-7, 9-10 and 13-16 and 19 are allowable because of their dependence from one of claims 1 or 17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed 7/17/2026, with respect to claims 1 and 17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 1 and 17 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with respect to claim 27.
Applicant argued that, since sealant 134 is included inside the glass core 120, the glass substrate do not provide hermetic sealing themselves.
Examiner disagrees because the glass substrate do provide the hermetic sealing, even with a solder sealant provided within the cavity.
Applicant argued that there is no indication that the sealing of MEMS die in the glass substrate is a vacuum seal, except for the teaching that cavity 132 provides a vacuum seal.
Examiner disagrees because the cavity that the MEMS die 130 is located within the glass core substrate 120 teaches that a vacuum seal is provided for cavity 132 which is included as part of the cavity that the MEMS die is located within.
Applicant argued that the MEMS die 130 is larger than the cavity 132 such that it would not be possible for the MEMS die to fit within the cavity.
Examiner disagrees because the cavity is provided within the glass core substrate 120 where the MEMS die 130 is clearly present in a cavity within and such cavity includes region 132.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub. No. 2023/0307304 A1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 8/26/2026