CTNF 18/192,576 CTNF 84562 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Preliminary Amendment, received 3/29/2023, has been entered. Claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-17, 19 and 27-30 are presented for examination. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9, 27 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Abdelmoneum et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0085673 A1), hereafter referred to as Abdelmoneum . As to claim 1, Abdelmoneum discloses an IC package (fig 1, [0011]) comprising: a package substrate (fig 1, 120; [0012]) including a glass core ([0012]); and a MEMS die (130; [0016]) positioned in a cavity of the glass core (cavity of 120 filled with die 130). As to claim 2, Abdelmoneum discloses the IC package of claim 1 (paragraphs above), wherein the glass core has opposing first and second surface (fig 1, top and bottom surfaces of 120), the MEMS die (130) between the opposing first and second surfaces (top and bottom surfaces). As to claim 3, Abdelmoneum discloses the IC package of claim 1 (paragraphs above), wherein the glass core includes a first portion of glass (fig 1, bottommost 122) and a second portion of glass (topmost 122) coupled to the first portion of the glass (bottom), the MEMS die (130) positioned between the first portion and the second portion (top and bottom), at least one of the first portion or the second portion including the cavity (cavity filled with 130). As to claim 4, Abdelmoneum discloses the IC package of claim 1 (paragraphs above), wherein surfaces of the MEMS die are enclosed by the glass core ( fig 1, surfaces of 130 are enclosed by 120). As to claim 6, Abdelmoneum discloses the IC package of claim 1 (paragraphs above), wherein the MEMS die includes at least one of an oscillator, an actuator, an inertial sensor, a pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, or a photonic integrated circuit ([0014]). As to claim 7, Abdelmoneum discloses the IC package of claim 1 (paragraphs above), a semiconductor die (fig 1, 110) supported on the package substrate (120), a portion of the glass core (122) is between the MEMS die (130) and the semiconductor die (110). As to claim 9, Abdelmoneum discloses the IC package of claim 1 (paragraphs above), wherein the package substrate includes a build-up region on a first surface of the glass core (fig 1, build-up region 126 on bottom surface of 122), the first surface (bottom surface) opposite a second surface (top surface) of the glass core (122), a portion of the glass core (122) between the build-up region (126) and the MEMS die (130), the portion of the glass core including a TGV extending therethrough (116 through 122), the TGV to electrically couple the MEMS die (130) to the build-up region (126). As to claim 27, Abdelmoneum discloses an apparatus (fig 1, 100) comprising: a first glass substrate (fig 1, 122; [0012]); a MEMS die (130; [0013]) positioned on a surface of the first glass substrate (surface of 122); and a second glass substrate (122) mounted to the first glass substrate (122), the MEMS die (130) to be between the first and second glass substrates (substrates 122 bonded together as taught in [0012]). As to claim 29, Abdelmoneum discloses the apparatus of claim 27 (paragraphs above), wherein the surface is a first surface (fig 1, top surface), further including: a TGV (116) extending through the first glass substrate (122) between the first surface and a second surface of the first glass substrate (top and bottom), the second surface (bottom) facing away from the first surface (top) of the first glass substrate (122); and a build-up layer (126) positioned on the second surface (bottom) of the first glass substrate (122), the TGV (116) to electrically couple the MEMS die (130) to the build-up layer (126) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5, 12 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelmoneum in view of Cheng et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0107100 A1), hereafter referred to as Cheng . As to claim 5, Abdelmoneum discloses the IC package of claim 1 (paragraphs above), wherein the MEMS die is sealed within the glass core ([0016]). However, Abdelmoneum does not explicitly disclose wherein the sealing is hermetically sealed. Nonetheless, Cheng discloses wherein a MEMS device is hermetically sealed (fig 2, [0020]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to ensure that the sealing of the MEMS die of Abdelmoneum is hermetically sealed as taught by Cheng since this will provide improved operational control of the MEMS device. As to claim 12, Abdelmoneum discloses the IC package of claim 1 (paragraphs above), Abdelmoneum does not disclose wherein the cavity is a first cavity and the MEMS die is a first MEMS die, further including a second MEMS die positioned in a second cavity of the glass core, the first and second cavities spaced apart within the glass core. Nonetheless, Cheng discloses wherein a device package includes a first cavity for a first MEMS device (fig 2, cavity 108a and MEMS device 106a), and a second MEMS device in a second cavity (fig 2, cavity 108b and MEMS device 106b), the first and second cavities spaced apart within the substrate (fig 2, cavities 108a and 108b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include a second cavity and second MEMS die in the package of Abdelmoneum as taught by Cheng since this will increase the functionality of the semiconductor device. As to claim 28, Abdelmoneum discloses the apparatus of claim 27 (paragraphs above), Abdelmoneum does not disclose wherein the MEMS die is a first MEMS die, further including a second MEMS die positioned on the surface of the first glass substrate, the second MEMS die spaced apart from the first MEMS die. Nonetheless, Cheng discloses wherein a device package includes a first cavity for a first MEMS device (fig 2, cavity 108a and MEMS device 106a), and a second MEMS device in a second cavity (fig 2, cavity 108b and MEMS device 106b), the first and second cavities spaced apart within the substrate (fig 2, cavities 108a and 108b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include a second cavity and second MEMS die in the package of Abdelmoneum as taught by Cheng since this will increase the functionality of the semiconductor device . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10, 17, 19 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelmoneum in view of Paital et al. (US Pub. No 2023/0085411 A1), hereafter referred to as Paital . As to claim 10, Abdelmoneum discloses the IC package of claim 9 (paragraphs above). Abdelmoneum does not disclose wherein the build-up region is a first build-up region, the portion is a first portion, and the TGV is a first TGV, the glass core including a second build-up region on the second surface, the glass core including a second portion between the MEMS die and the second build-up region, the glass core including a second TGV extending through the first portion and the second portion, the second TGV to electrically couple the first build-up region to the second build-up region. Nonetheless, Paital discloses a die (fig 1, 108) in a glass core substrate (102) with a first build-up region (dielectric 122 and conductive traces 124), the portion is a first portion, and the TGV is a first TGV, the glass core including a second build-up region on the second surface (122/124 on opposite surface), the glass core including a second portion between the die (108) and the second build-up region (122/124), the glass core including a second TGV extending through the first portion and the second portion (118), the second TGV to electrically coupled the first build-up region to the second build-up region (118 connects the 122/124 on top to 122/124 on bottom). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to form the build-up regions of Abdelmoneum as taught by Paital since this will improve the electrical interconnection of the IC devices. As to claim 17, Abdelmoneum discloses a package substrate of an IC package (fig 1, 100), the package substrate comprising: a glass core having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface (fig 1, 120 with top and bottom surfaces); a first build-up region (126) on the first surface of the glass core (bottom surface of 120); and a MEMS die (130) between the first build-up region (126) and the upper surface (top surface), the glass core (120) closer to the first build-up region (126) than the MEMS die (130) is to the first build-up region (126). Abdelmoneum does not disclose a second build-up region on the second surface of the glass core. Nonetheless, Paital discloses a die (fig 1, 108) in a glass core substrate (102) with a first build-up region (dielectric 122 and conductive traces 124), the portion is a first portion, and the TGV is a first TGV, the glass core including a second build-up region on the second surface (122/124 on opposite surface), the glass core including a second portion between the die (108) and the second build-up region (122/124), the glass core including a second TGV extending through the first portion and the second portion (118), the second TGV to electrically coupled the first build-up region to the second build-up region (118 connects the 122/124 on top to 122/124 on bottom). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to form the build-up regions of Abdelmoneum as taught by Paital since this will improve the electrical interconnection of the IC devices. As to claim 19, Abdelmoneum in view of Paital disclose the package substrate of claim 17 (paragraphs above). Abdelmoneum further discloses wherein at least one surface of the MEMS die (130) is in contact with the glass core (120). As to claim 30, Abdelmoneum discloses the apparatus of claim 29 (paragraphs above), Abdelmoneum does not disclose wherein the build-up layer is a first build-up layer and the TGV is a first TGV, further including: a second TGV extending through the first glass substrate and the second glass substrate between the second surface and a third surface of the second glass substrate, the third surface facing away from the second surface of the first glass substrate; and a second build-up layer positioned on the third surface of the second glass substrate, the second TGV to electrically couple the first build-up layer to the second build-up layer. Nonetheless, Paital discloses a die (fig 1, 108) in a glass core substrate (102) with a first build-up region (dielectric 122 and conductive traces 124), the portion is a first portion, and the TGV is a first TGV, the glass core including a second build-up region on the second surface (122/124 on opposite surface), the glass core including a second portion between the die (108) and the second build-up region (122/124), the glass core including a second TGV extending through the first portion and the second portion (118), the second TGV to electrically coupled the first build-up region to the second build-up region (118 connects the 122/124 on top to 122/124 on bottom). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to form the build-up regions of Abdelmoneum as taught by Paital since this will improve the electrical interconnection of the IC devices . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelmoneum in view of Ollier et al. (US Pub. No 2010/0314668 A1), hereafter referred to as Ollier . As to claim 15, Abdelmoneum discloses the IC package of claim 1 (paragraphs above), Abdelmoneum does not disclose wherein the glass core includes a channel extending from the cavity to an outer surface of the IC package. Nonetheless, Ollier discloses wherein a package substrate includes a channel extending from a cavity to an outer surface of the IC package (fig 1, [0098]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include a channel connecting the cavity to an outer surface of the package of Abdelmoneum as taught by Ollier since this will improve the sensing operation of the MEMS device. As to claim 16, Abdelmoneum in view of Ollier disclose the IC package of claim 15 (paragraphs above). Abdelmoneum in view of Ollier further disclose wherein the MEMS die includes a sensor, the sensor to detect a characteristic of an environment of the IC package via the channel ([0098]) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest an interconnect extending between the first and second cavities to electrically couple the first MEMS die to the second MEMS die, as recited in claim 13 and including intervening claims; or a waveguide extending through the glass core between the first MEMS die and the second MEMS die, the waveguide to optically couple the first MEMS die to the second MEMS die, as recited in claim 14 and including intervening claims . Pertinent Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub. No. 2023/0307304 A1 . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SHAUN M CAMPBELL whose telephone number is (571)270-3830. The examiner can normally be reached on MWFS: 7:30-6pm Thurs 1-2pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Purvis, Sue can be reached at (571)272-1236. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 4/27/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/192,576 Page 2 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/192,576 Page 4 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/192,576 Page 5 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/192,576 Page 6 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/192,576 Page 7 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/192,576 Page 8 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/192,576 Page 9 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/192,576 Page 10 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/192,576 Page 11 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/192,576 Page 12 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/192,576 Page 13 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/192,576 Page 14 Art Unit: 2893