DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 7 and 15 depend from claims 1 and 11 (NOT claims 6 and 14), respectively, and recite the phrase “the at least two sub-channel portions” which therefore lacks antecedent basis. Either the antecedent basis issue needs to be corrected or the claim dependency needs to be corrected to provide such antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claims 9 and 17 recite the phrase “the auxiliary electrode” but claims 1 and 11 recite “wherein at least one auxiliary electrode is plural.” Therefore, referring to ‘the auxiliary electrode’ in claims 9 and 17 renders those claims indefinite as it improperly broadens the limitation from claims 1 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-7, 9-11, 14-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2008/0135846 A1 to Shi et al. (hereinafter “Shin” – newly cited reference from IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Shin discloses a display panel, comprising an electrostatic protection circuit (display device having ESD protection circuit 100; abstract; Fig. 3; paragraphs [0003], [0040]), wherein the electrostatic protection circuit comprises a thin film transistor that comprises an active layer (ESD protection circuit 100 comprising protection TFT 110 having active region with semiconductor layers; abstract; Fig. 3; paragraphs [0012], [0040]) comprising:
a channel portion; and
at least one auxiliary electrode contacting the channel portion directly (channel region having plurality of floating electrodes 74 disposed therein; Fig. 3; paragraph [0049]);
wherein at least one auxiliary electrode is plural, the auxiliary electrodes are disposed on the channel portion, and the auxiliary electrodes are distributed at intervals along a channel length direction (channel region having plurality of floating electrodes 74 disposed at intervals therein; Fig. 3; paragraph [0049]);
wherein the thin film transistor further comprises a source electrode and a drain electrode, and the auxiliary electrodes, the source electrode, and the drain electrode are disposed in a same layer (TFT 110 having source 61, drain 71, and electrodes 74 disposed in the same horizontal plane; Fig. 3; paragraph [0049]), the auxiliary electrodes are distributed at the intervals between the source electrode and the drain electrode, one of the auxiliary electrodes closest to the source electrode is spaced from the source electrode, and one of the auxiliary electrodes closest to the drain electrode is spaced from the drain electrode (electrodes 74 spaced from the source 61 and drain 71 and disposed at intervals therebetween; Fig. 3; paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 6, Shin discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the channel portion comprises at least two sub-channel portions, and the sub-channel portions are disposed at intervals along a channel width direction (channel region comprises at least two sub-regions disposed between electrodes 74 along channel region width direction; Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Shin discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein adjacent two of the at least two sub-channel portions are parallel to each other or disposed symmetrically (channel region comprises at least two sub-regions disposed parallel relative one another and symmetrically between electrodes 74 along channel region width direction; Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Shin discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the thin film transistor comprises a gate electrode, and the auxiliary electrode is disposed on a surface of the active layer near or away from the gate electrode (TFT 110 comprises gate electrode 21 with electrodes 74 disposed within active region away from gate electrode 21; Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Shin discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein material of the active layer is oxide semiconductor or silicon semiconductor (semiconductor layers may be made from amorphous silicon; paragraph [0071]).
Regarding claim 11, Shin discloses a display panel, comprising an electrostatic protection circuit (display device having ESD protection circuit 100; abstract; Fig. 3; paragraphs [0003], [0040]), wherein the electrostatic protection circuit comprises a thin film transistor that comprises an active layer (ESD protection circuit 100 comprising protection TFT 110 having active region with semiconductor layers; abstract; Fig. 3; paragraphs [0012], [0040]) comprising:
a channel portion; and
at least one auxiliary electrode contacting the channel portion directly (channel region having plurality of floating electrodes 74 disposed therein; Fig. 3; paragraph [0049]);
wherein at least one auxiliary electrode is plural, the auxiliary electrodes are disposed on the channel portion, and the auxiliary electrodes are distributed at intervals along a channel length direction (channel region having plurality of floating electrodes 74 disposed at intervals therein; Fig. 3; paragraph [0049]); wherein the channel portion is at least partially bending (channel region bent downwardly on either end; Fig. 3);
wherein the thin film transistor further comprises a source electrode and a drain electrode, and the auxiliary electrodes, the source electrode, and the drain electrode are disposed in a same layer (TFT 110 having source 61, drain 71, and electrodes 74 disposed in the same horizontal plane; Fig. 3; paragraph [0049]), the auxiliary electrodes are distributed at the intervals between the source electrode and the drain electrode, one of the auxiliary electrodes closest to the source electrode is spaced from the source electrode, and one of the auxiliary electrodes closest to the drain electrode is spaced from the drain electrode (electrodes 74 spaced from the source 61 and drain 71 and disposed at intervals therebetween; Fig. 3; paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 14, Shin discloses the display panel according to claim 11, wherein the channel portion comprises at least two sub-channel portions, and the sub-channel portions are disposed at intervals along a channel width direction (channel region comprises at least two sub-regions disposed between electrodes 74 along channel region width direction; Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, as best understood, Shin discloses the display panel according to claim 11, wherein adjacent two of the sub-channel portions are parallel to each other or disposed symmetrically (channel region comprises at least two sub-regions disposed parallel relative one another and symmetrically between electrodes 74 along channel region width direction; Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Shin discloses the display panel according to claim 11, wherein the thin film transistor comprises a gate electrode, and the auxiliary electrode is disposed on a surface of the active layer near or away from the gate electrode (TFT 110 comprises gate electrode 21 with electrodes 74 disposed within active region away from gate electrode 21; Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 18, Shin discloses the display panel according to claim 11, wherein material of the active layer is oxide semiconductor or silicon semiconductor (semiconductor layers may be made from amorphous silicon; paragraph [0071]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in further view of US 2021/0358968 A1 to Xu (hereinafter “Xu” – previously cited reference).
Regarding claim 4, Shin discloses the display panel of claim 1. Shin fails to disclose wherein the channel portion comprises a plurality of bending sections, and bending directions of adjacent two of the bending sections are different.
However, Xu discloses wherein the channel portion comprises a plurality of bending sections, and bending directions of adjacent two of the bending sections are different (active layer comprises terminal ends that are bent downwardly in opposite directions; Fig. 2B).
Shin and Xu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of display device technology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shin to incorporate the teaching of Xu in order to potentially provide increased surface area for charge dissipation, improved field distribution, higher current capacity, and reduced resistance.
Regarding claim 5, Shin in view of Xu discloses the display panel of claim 4. Shin fails to disclose wherein each of the at least one auxiliary electrode is disposed on each of the bending sections.
However, Xu discloses wherein each of the at least one auxiliary electrode is disposed on each of the bending sections (auxiliary electrodes 271 disposed above bent terminal ends of active layer; Fig. 2B).
Shin and Xu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of display device technology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shin to incorporate the teaching of Xu in order to potentially provide increased surface area for charge dissipation, improved field distribution, higher current capacity, and reduced resistance.
Regarding claim 12, Shin discloses the display panel of claim 11. Shin fails to disclose wherein the channel portion comprises a plurality of bending sections, and bending directions of adjacent two of the bending sections are different.
However, Xu discloses wherein the channel portion comprises a plurality of bending sections, and bending directions of adjacent two of the bending sections are different (active layer comprises terminal ends that are bent downwardly in opposite directions; Fig. 2B).
Shin and Xu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of display device technology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shin to incorporate the teaching of Xu in order to potentially provide increased surface area for charge dissipation, improved field distribution, higher current capacity, and reduced resistance.
Regarding claim 13, Shin in view of Xu discloses the display panel of claim 12. Shin fails to disclose wherein each of the at least one auxiliary electrode is disposed on each of the bending sections.
However, Xu discloses wherein each of the at least one auxiliary electrode is disposed on each of the bending sections (auxiliary electrodes 271 disposed above bent terminal ends of active layer; Fig. 2B).
Shin and Xu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of display device technology. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shin to incorporate the teaching of Xu in order to potentially provide increased surface area for charge dissipation, improved field distribution, higher current capacity, and reduced resistance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 31, 2025 have been fully considered. Applicant amends claims 1 and 11 and submits corresponding arguments that these amended claims overcome the previous 35 USC 103 rejection using Shi in view Xu. Examiner agrees. However, after additional search, amended claims 1 and 11 and their dependent claims are being rejected on new grounds in view of the Shin reference provided in the IDS filed November 12, 2025. Further, Applicant attempted to correct the claim objection to claims 7 and 15 but did not address the underlying issue. Specifically, claims 7 and 15 are NOT dependent upon claims 6 and 14 as it appears Applicant assumes, but rather depend from claims 1 and 11. Therefore, Applicant must introduce “the at least two sub-portions” as “at least two sub-portions” to avoid antecedent basis issues OR change the dependencies to depend from claims 6 and 14 as it appears Applicant intended.
Conclusion
/IAN DEGRASSE/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818