DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0026202 A1 to Nam et al. (“Nam”). As to claim 1, Nam discloses a light source module, comprising: a substrate (110); a light emitting device (120) disposed on a surface of the substrate (110); an encapsulation structure (320) disposed on the surface of the substrate (110) and covering the light emitting device (120); and an optical pattern (300) embedded in the encapsulation structure (320) and overlapping the light emitting device (120), the optical pattern (300) is provided with a plurality of holes (310b), wherein the encapsulation structure (320) extends into the plurality of holes (310b), the optical pattern (300) has characteristics of partial penetration (TA) and partial reflection (RA) and is provided with a first active zone (above 120) and a second active zone (away 120), the first active zone (above 120) and the second active zone (away 120) are arranged in a direction parallel to the surface of the substrate (110), the first active zone (above 120) and the second active zone (away 120) of the optical pattern (300) respectively has a first transmittance and a second transmittance, the first transmittance is different from the second transmittance, the optical pattern (300) has a first surface and a second surface facing away from each other, the holes (310b) extend between the first surface and the second surface, an extending direction of each of the holes (310b) is inclined (FIG. 10, FIG. 11) relative to the first surface or the second surface, and the first surface and the second surface are parallel to the surface of the substrate (110) (See Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 5, Fig. 7, Fig. 8, Fig. 10, Fig. 11, Fig. 20, Fig. 21, ¶ 0075-¶ 0077, ¶ 0093-¶ 0111, ¶ 0117, ¶ 0126, ¶ 0131-¶ 0133, ¶ 0165-¶ 0173, ¶ 0177-¶ 0185). As to claim 10, Nam further discloses wherein the first surface has a first opening defining each of the holes (310b), the second surface has a second opening defining each of the holes (310b), and an opening contour of each of the first opening and the second opening comprises a circle, a rectangle, or a polygon (See Fig. 3). As to claim 11, Nam further discloses wherein the light emitting device (120) has a geometric center, the optical pattern (300) is arranged symmetrically about a central axis, and the central axis is perpendicular to the surface of the substrate (110) and passes through the geometric center of the light emitting device (120) (See Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 10, Fig. 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0026202 A1 to Nam et al. (“Nam”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0218752 A1 to Sumitani (“Sumitani”).
As to claim 2, although Nam discloses wherein a first height is provided between a surface of the optical pattern (300) facing the light emitting device (120) and the surface of the substrate (110), the encapsulation structure (320) has a second height in a normal direction of the surface of the substrate (110) (See Fig. 20, Fig. 21), Nam does not further disclose and a ratio of the first height to the second height is less than 0.5. However, Nam in view of Sumitani further discloses and a ratio (3/9) of the first height (H1) to the second height (H1+H2+1 mm) is less than 0.5 (See Fig. 2, ¶ 0108, ¶ 0111-¶ 0114, ¶ 0122, ¶ 0123). In view of the teachings of Nam and Sumitani, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Nam to have and a ratio of the first height to the second height is less than 0.5 because the ratio is determined by the desired light distribution characteristic, cost, and productivity (See Sumitani 0111-¶ 0114, ¶ 0122, ¶ 0123). Further, the applicant also has not established the critical nature of the “and a ratio of the first height to the second height is less than 0.5”. “The law is replete with cases in which the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range or other variable within the claims….In such a situation, the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range.” In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir.1990). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have various ranges. It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentations to adjust the ratio in view of desired characteristics and processing requirements and constraints. See also In re Huang, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (claimed ranges of a result effective variable, which do not overlap the prior art ranges, are unpatentable unless they produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are
moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815