DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species III, FIG. 5, and Claims 1-2 and 5-11 in the reply filed on December 22, 2025 is acknowledged. However, Claims 5-6 appear to read on non-elected FIG. 8/FIG.9 as disclosed in [0084]/[0086] of the Specification, Claim 7 appears to read on non-elected FIG. 10 as disclosed in [0087]/[0088] of the Specification, and Claim 9 appears to read on non-elected FIG. 12 as disclosed in [0090] of the Specification. Thus, Claims 3-7, 9, and 12-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 22, 2025.
Specification
The title of the invention is broad and not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0218752 A1 to Sumitani (“Sumitani”). As to claim 1, Sumitani discloses a light source module, comprising: a substrate (10); a light emitting device (20) disposed on a surface of the substrate (10); an encapsulation structure (11, 70) disposed on the surface of the substrate (10) and covering the light emitting device (20); and an optical pattern (40) covered by the encapsulation structure (11, 70) and overlapping the light emitting device (20), wherein the optical pattern (40) has characteristics of partial penetration (52) and partial reflection (50, 51) and is provided with a first active zone (above 20) and a second active zone (away 20), the first active zone (above 20) and the second active zone (away 20) are arranged in a direction parallel to the surface of the substrate (10), the first active zone (above 20) and the second active zone (away 20) of the optical pattern (40) respectively has a first transmittance and a second transmittance, and the first transmittance is different from the second transmittance (See Fig. 1-Fig. 7, ¶ 0097-¶ 0100, ¶ 0106-¶ 0117, ¶ 0122, ¶ 0123). As to claim 2, Sumitani further discloses wherein a first height (H1) is provided between a surface of the optical pattern (40) facing the light emitting device (20) and the surface of the substrate (10), the encapsulation structure (11, 70) has a second height (H1+H2+1 mm) in a normal direction of the surface of the substrate (10), and a ratio (3/9) of the first height (H1) to the second height (H1+H2+1 mm) is less than 0.5 (See Fig. 2, ¶ 0108, ¶ 0112, ¶ 0122). As to claim 10, Sumitani further discloses wherein the optical pattern (40) has a first surface and a second surface facing away from each other and is provided with a plurality of holes (52), the first surface has a first opening defining each of the holes (52), the second surface has a second opening defining each of the holes (52), and an opening contour of each of the first opening and the second opening comprises a circle, a rectangle, or a polygon (See Fig. 6). As to claim 11, Sumitani further discloses wherein the light emitting device (20) has a geometric center, the optical pattern (40) is arranged symmetrically about a central axis, and the central axis is perpendicular to the surface of the substrate (10) and passes through the geometric center of the light emitting device (20) (See Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 6).
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by KR-20110127387-A to Jung et al. (“Jung”). As to claim 1, Jung discloses a light source module, comprising: a substrate (330); a light emitting device (321) disposed on a surface of the substrate (330); an encapsulation structure (335, 353) disposed on the surface of the substrate (330) and covering the light emitting device (321); and an optical pattern (351, 352) covered by the encapsulation structure (335, 353) and overlapping the light emitting device (321), wherein the optical pattern (351, 352) has characteristics of partial penetration (355) and partial reflection (351, 352) and is provided with a first active zone (above 321) and a second active zone (away 321), the first active zone (above 321) and the second active zone (away 321) are arranged in a direction parallel to the surface of the substrate (330), the first active zone (above 321) and the second active zone (away 321) of the optical pattern (351, 352) respectively has a first transmittance and a second transmittance, and the first transmittance is different from the second transmittance (See Fig. 14, Fig. 15, Page 15-Page 19) (Notes: the encapsulation structure covers to encapsulate the light emitting device). As to claim 8, Jung further discloses wherein the optical pattern (351, 352) has a first surface and a second surface facing away from each other and is provided with a plurality of holes (355), the holes (355) extend between the first surface and the second surface, and an extending direction of each of the holes (355) is inclined relative to the first surface or the second surface (See Fig. 15). As to claim 10, Jung further discloses wherein the optical pattern (351, 352) has a first surface and a second surface facing away from each other and is provided with a plurality of holes (355), the first surface has a first opening defining each of the holes (355), the second surface has a second opening defining each of the holes (355), and an opening contour of each of the first opening and the second opening comprises a circle, a rectangle, or a polygon (See Fig. 15). As to claim 11, Jung further discloses wherein the light emitting device (321) has a geometric center, the optical pattern (351, 352) is arranged symmetrically about a central axis, and the central axis is perpendicular to the surface of the substrate (330) and passes through the geometric center of the light emitting device (321) (See Fig. 14, Fig. 15).
Conclusion
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815