DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Amendments/Remarks filed on April 13, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “a plurality of holes” appears to be recited in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0218752 A1 to Sumitani (“Sumitani”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0170253 A1 to Park et al. (“Park”).
As to claim 1, although Sumitani discloses a light source module, comprising: a substrate (10); a light emitting device (20) disposed on a surface of the substrate (10); an encapsulation structure (11, 70, surrounding 40) disposed on the surface of the substrate (10) and covering the light emitting device (20); and an optical pattern (40) embedded in the encapsulation structure (11, 70, surrounding 40) and overlapping the light emitting device (20), the optical pattern (40) is provided with a plurality of holes (52), wherein the optical pattern (40) has characteristics of partial penetration (52) and partial reflection (50, 51) and is provided with a first active zone (above 20) and a second active zone (away 20), the first active zone (above 20) and the second active zone (away 20) are arranged in a direction parallel to the surface of the substrate (10), the first active zone (above 20) and the second active zone (away 20) of the optical pattern (40) respectively has a first transmittance and a second transmittance, and the first transmittance is different from the second transmittance (See Fig. 1-Fig. 7, ¶ 0097-¶ 0100, ¶ 0106-¶ 0117, ¶ 0122, ¶ 0123), Sumitani does not further disclose wherein the encapsulation structure extends into the plurality of holes. However, Park does disclose wherein the encapsulation structure (230, 235) extends into the plurality of holes (adjacent 260) (See Fig. 7, ¶ 0052-¶ 0055, ¶ 0075-¶ 0081). In view of the teaching of Park, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Sumitani to have wherein the encapsulation structure extends into the plurality of holes because the encapsulation structure provides strong adhesion to the light emitting device and the optical pattern and uniform luminance (See ¶ 0053, ¶ 0080). As to claim 2, Sumitani further discloses wherein a first height (H1) is provided between a surface of the optical pattern (40) facing the light emitting device (20) and the surface of the substrate (10), the encapsulation structure (11, 70, surrounding 40) has a second height (H1+H2+1 mm) in a normal direction of the surface of the substrate (10), and a ratio (3/9) of the first height (H1) to the second height (H1+H2+1 mm) is less than 0.5 (See Fig. 2, ¶ 0108, ¶ 0112, ¶ 0122). As to claim 10, Sumitani further discloses wherein the optical pattern (40) has a first surface and a second surface facing away from each other and is provided with a plurality of holes (52), the first surface has a first opening defining each of the holes (52), the second surface has a second opening defining each of the holes (52), and an opening contour of each of the first opening and the second opening comprises a circle, a rectangle, or a polygon (See Fig. 6). As to claim 11, Sumitani further discloses wherein the light emitting device (20) has a geometric center, the optical pattern (40) is arranged symmetrically about a central axis, and the central axis is perpendicular to the surface of the substrate (10) and passes through the geometric center of the light emitting device (20) (See Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 6).
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR-20110127387-A to Jung et al. (“Jung”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0170253 A1 to Park et al. (“Park”).
As to claim 1, Jung discloses a light source module, comprising: a substrate (210, 330); a light emitting device (321) disposed on a surface of the substrate (210, 330); an encapsulation structure (Air, 260) disposed on the surface of the substrate (210, 330) and covering the light emitting device (321); and an optical pattern (350) embedded in the encapsulation structure (Air, 260) and overlapping the light emitting device (321), the optical pattern (350) is provided with a plurality of holes (355), wherein the encapsulation structure (Air, 260) extends into the plurality of holes (355), the optical pattern (350) has characteristics of partial penetration (355) and partial reflection (350) and is provided with a first active zone (above 321) and a second active zone (away 321), the first active zone (above 321) and the second active zone (away 321) are arranged in a direction parallel to the surface of the substrate (210, 330), the first active zone (above 321) and the second active zone (away 321) of the optical pattern (350) respectively has a first transmittance and a second transmittance, and the first transmittance is different from the second transmittance (See Fig. 14, Fig. 15, Fig. 22, Page 6, Page 15-Page 19, Page 26, Page 27). Further, Park also discloses wherein the encapsulation structure (230, 235) extends into the plurality of holes (adjacent 260) (See Fig. 7, ¶ 0052-¶ 0055, ¶ 0075-¶ 0081). In view of the teaching of Park, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Jung to have wherein the encapsulation structure extends into the plurality of holes because the encapsulation structure provides strong adhesion to the light emitting device and the optical pattern and is adjusted to provide uniform luminance by applying specific materials (See ¶ 0053, ¶ 0080). As to claim 8, Jung further discloses wherein the optical pattern (350) has a first surface and a second surface facing away from each other and is provided with a plurality of holes (355), the holes (355) extend between the first surface and the second surface, and an extending direction of each of the holes (355) is inclined relative to the first surface or the second surface (See Fig. 15). As to claim 10, Jung further discloses wherein the optical pattern (350) has a first surface and a second surface facing away from each other and is provided with a plurality of holes (355), the first surface has a first opening defining each of the holes (355), the second surface has a second opening defining each of the holes (355), and an opening contour of each of the first opening and the second opening comprises a circle, a rectangle, or a polygon (See Fig. 15). As to claim 11, Jung further discloses wherein the light emitting device (321) has a geometric center, the optical pattern (350) is arranged symmetrically about a central axis, and the central axis is perpendicular to the surface of the substrate (210, 330) and passes through the geometric center of the light emitting device (321) (See Fig. 14, Fig. 15).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are
moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815