DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
It is not clear as to which of the previously articulated “first heater contact pad” or “second heater contact pad”, both set forth in parent claim 10, that the claimed “contact pad” of claim 14 references.
For examination purposes, Examiner interprets the claimed “contact pad” to refer to the “first heater contact pad”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-11, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0045689 (“ZHANG”) in view of US 2004/0071401 (“ELDADA”).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, ZHANG teaches an integrated chip (100), comprising: a semiconductor waveguide layer (111) over a base dielectric layer (107), the semiconductor waveguide layer forming a bus waveguide (120) and a micro-ring waveguide (110) alongside the bus waveguide; a heater (130) over the micro-ring waveguide, the heater including a heater ring (132), a first heater contact pad (150, to the outside of micro-ring waveguide 110), a first heater arm (between heater ring 132 and the first heater contact pad) extending from the heater ring to the first heater contact pad, a second heater contact pad (150, to the inside of micro-ring 110), and a second heater arm (between heater ring 132 and the second heater contact pad) extending from the heater ring to the second heater contact pad; a first contact (150) coupled to the heater at the first heater contact pad; and a second contact (also 150; FIG. 8) coupled to the heater at the second heater contact pad.
ZHANG does not teach that a width of the first heater arm increases non-linearly at a rate which increases as a distance from the heater ring increases. ELDADA teaches a heater arm which increases non-linearly at a rate which increases as a distance from a heater ring increases (FIGs. 7, 11; par. [0060]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the heater arm of ZHANG such that its width increases non-linearly at a rate which increases as a distance from the heater ring increases, as taught by ELDADA. The motivation would have been to better compensate for chromatic dispersion (par. [0060]).
Regarding claim 10, ZHANG teaches an integrated chip (100), comprising: a substrate (105); a base dielectric layer (107) over the substrate; a semiconductor waveguide layer (111) over the base dielectric layer, the semiconductor waveguide layer forming a bus waveguide (120) and a micro-ring waveguide (110) alongside the bus waveguide; a cladding layer (112) over the bus waveguide and the micro-ring waveguide; a conductive heater layer (130) over the cladding layer and the micro-ring waveguide, the conductive heater layer forming a heater ring (132), a first heater contact pad (150, to the outside of micro-ring waveguide 110), a first heater arm (between heater ring 132 and the first heater contact pad) extending from the heater ring to the first heater contact pad, a second heater contact pad (150, to the inside of micro-ring waveguide 110), and a second heater arm (between heater ring 132 and the second heater contact pad) extending from the heater ring to the second heater contact pad, wherein the first heater arm is formed by a pair of first sidewalls and a pair of second sidewalls of the conductive heater layer (FIG. 1); a plurality of first contacts (150) over and coupled to the conductive heater layer at the first heater contact pad; and a plurality of second contacts (150; FIG. 8) over and coupled to the conductive heater layer at the second heater contact pad; wherein a distance between the pair of first sidewalls is equal to a first value at a first location where the first heater arm joins the heater ring, wherein the distance between the pair of first sidewalls is equal to a second value, greater than the first value, at a second location where the pair of first sidewalls respectively meet the pair of second sidewalls (FIG. 1).
ZHANG does not teach that the pair of first sidewalls extend along non-linear paths from the heater ring to the pair of second sidewalls, respectively, wherein the distance between the pair of first sidewalls increases non-linearly from the first value at the first location to the second value at the second location. ELDADA teaches a heater arm with a pair of first sidewalls extending along non-linear paths from a heater ring to the pair of second sidewalls, respectively, wherein the distance between the pair of first sidewalls increases non-linearly from a first value at a first location to a second value at a second location. (FIGs. 7, 11; par. [0060]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the heater arm of ZHANG such that its width increases non-linearly at a rate which increases as a distance from the heater ring increases, as taught by ELDADA. The motivation would have been to better compensate for chromatic dispersion (par. [0060]).
Regarding claims 2, 3, and 11, ZHANG in view of ELDADA renders obvious that a difference between an outer radius of the heater ring and an inner radius of the heater ring is equal to a first value, wherein the width of the first heater arm is equal to a second value, and wherein the width of the first heater arm increases non-linearly from the second value at the first location to a third value at a second location laterally spaced from the first location and the heater ring (ZHANG, FIG. 1; in view of ELDADA, par. [0060], as above). The remaining limitations appear to involve mere optimization. It has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to optimize the values of the first, second, and third values of ZHANG, as set forth in the instant claims.
Regarding claim 7, ZHANG teaches that a width of the first heater contact pad is greater than a maximum width of the first heater arm (FIG. 1).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, ZHANG in view of ELDADA renders obvious the limitations of the base claim 1. The additional limitations appear to involve mere duplication of parts. It has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to duplicate the heater contact pads and heater arms of ZHANG as set forth in the instant claims.
Regarding claim 14, ZHANG teaches that the first heater contact pad is formed by a pair of third sidewalls of the conductive heater layer, wherein a distance between the pair of third sidewalls is greater than a maximum distance between the pair of second sidewalls (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 15, ZHANG in view of ELDADA renders obvious that a rate of change of the distance between the pair of first sidewalls increases from a first rate at the first location to a second rate, greater than the first rate, at the second location (ZHANG, FIG. 1; in view of ELDADA, par. [0060], as above).
Regarding claim 16, ZHANG teaches that the heater ring has a rectangular ring shape (FIG. 1).
Claims 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG in view of ELDADA and in view of US 2016/0011438 (“REANO”).
Regarding claim 17, ZHANG teaches a method for forming an integrated chip (100), the method comprising: forming a semiconductor waveguide layer (111) to form a bus waveguide (120) and a micro-ring waveguide (110) from the semiconductor waveguide layer; depositing a cladding layer (112) over the bus waveguide and the micro-ring waveguide; forming a heater (130) over the micro-ring waveguide, the heater including a heater ring (132), a first heater contact pad (150, outer), a first heater arm (between 132 and 150, outer) extending from the heater ring to the first heater contact pad, a second heater contact pad (150, inner), and a second heater arm (between 132 and 150 inner) extending from the heater ring to the second heater contact pad, wherein the first heater arm has a first width at a first location where the first heater arm joins the heater ring, wherein the first heater arm has a second width, greater than the first width, at a second location located between the heater ring and the first heater contact pad (FIG. 1), and forming a first contact (150) and a second contact (also 150; FIG. 8) over the heater, the first contact coupled to the heater at the first heater contact pad, the second contact coupled to the heater at the second heater contact pad.
ZHANG does not teach that a width of the first heater arm increases non-linearly at a rate which increases as a distance from the heater ring increases. ELDADA teaches a heater arm which increases non-linearly at a rate which increases as a distance from a heater ring increases (FIGs. 7, 11; par. [0060]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the heater arm of ZHANG such that its width increases non-linearly at a rate which increases as a distance from the heater ring increases, as taught by ELDADA. The motivation would have been to better compensate for chromatic dispersion (par. [0060]).
ZHANG also does not teach etching the semiconductor waveguide layer. REANO teaches etching a semiconductor waveguide layer (par. [0073]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the method of ZHANG with the etching of the semiconductor waveguide layer, as taught by REANO. The motivation would have been to create the desired patterns and structure of the waveguide.
Regarding claim 20, ZHANG in view of ELDADA and in view of REANO renders obvious the limitations of the base claim 17. The additional limitations appear to involve mere duplication of parts. It has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to duplicate the heater contact pads and heater arms of ZHANG as set forth in the instant claim.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG in view of ELDADA and in view of REANO as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of US 2022/0107542 (“PARKER”).
Regarding claim 18, ZHANG in view of ELDADA and in view of REANO renders obvious the limitations of the base claim 17. ZHANG further teaches that forming the heater over the micro-ring waveguide comprises: depositing a conductive heater layer (130) over the cladding layer; forming the heater including the heater ring (132), the first heater contact pad (outer 150), the first heater arm (between 132 and outer 150), the second heater contact pad (inner 150), and the second heater arm (between 132 and inner 150); and depositing an upper dielectric layer (112)over the heater.
ZHANG does not teach etching the conductive heater layer. PARKER teaches etching a conductive heater layer (pars. [0019], [0028]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the method of ZHANG by etching the conductive heater layer, as taught by PARKER. The motivation would have been to better delineate the ring structure (par. [0019]).
Regarding claim 19, ZHANG in view of ELDADA and in view of REANO renders obvious the limitations of the base claim 17. ZHANG further teaches that the forming the heater over the micro-ring waveguide comprises: depositing an upper dielectric layer (112) over the cladding layer; forming a heater opening including a heater ring region (132), a first heater contact pad region (150, outer), a first heater arm region (between 132 and 150, outer), a second heater contact pad region (150, inner), and a second heater arm region (between 132 and 150, inner); and depositing a conductive heater layer (130) in the heater opening to form the heater including the heater ring, the first heater contact pad, the first heater arm, the second heater contact pad, and the second heater arm.
ZHANG does not teach etching the upper dielectric layer to form the heater. PARKER teaches etching a conductive heater layer (pars. [0019], [0028]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the method of ZHANG by etching the conductive heater layer, as taught by PARKER. The motivation would have been to better delineate the ring structure (par. [0019]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 12, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record, whether taken individually or in combination, when considered in light of the claimed subject matter as a whole, as interpreted in light of the Specification as originally filed, fails to disclose or render obvious that the width of the first heater arm increases non-linearly from a first location where the first heater arm joins the heater ring to a second location laterally spaced from the first location and the heater ring, and wherein the width of the first heater arm is approximately constant from the second location to a third location where the first heater arm joins the first heater contact pad.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record, whether taken individually or in combination, when considered in light of the claimed subject matter as a whole, as interpreted in light of the Specification as originally filed, fails to disclose or render obvious that the width of the first heater arm increases non-linearly from a first location where the first heater arm joins the heater ring to a second location laterally spaced from the first location and the heater ring, and wherein the width of the first heater arm increases linearly from the second location to a third location where the first heater arm joins the first heater contact pad.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record, whether taken individually or in combination, when considered in light of the claimed subject matter as a whole, as interpreted in light of the Specification as originally filed, fails to disclose or render obvious that a distance between the pair of second sidewalls is equal to the second value at the second location, wherein the distance between the pair of second sidewalls is equal to a third value, greater than the second value, at a third location where the first heater arm joins the first heater contact pad, and wherein the distance between the pair of second sidewalls increases linearly from the second value at the second location to the third value at the third location.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record, whether taken individually or in combination, when considered in light of the claimed subject matter as a whole, as interpreted in light of the Specification as originally filed, fails to disclose or render obvious that a distance between the pair of second sidewalls is equal to the second value at the second location, wherein the distance between the pair of second sidewalls is equal to a third value at a third location where the first heater arm joins the first heater contact pad, and wherein the third value is approximately equal to the second value.
Conclusion
/JERRY M BLEVINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874