DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 06/24/2026. The previous claim interpretations have been withdrawn. Claims 1-15 remain pending for consideration.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“housing part” in claim 1.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
“housing part” corresponds to corresponds to a housing main body in which a mechanism chamber is provided as described in paragraph [0045] of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shikazono et al. (EP3168473A1, herein after referred to as Shikazono), in view of Azuma et al. (EP2234249A1, herein after referred to as Azuma), and in further view of Yourong (CN101725497A).
Regarding claim 1, Shikazono teaches a positive displacement machine (positive displacement machine 20 Fig. 1) comprising: a housing (casing 22 Fig. 1) including a mechanism chamber (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Shikazono), a first internal projecting wall (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Shikazono) projecting from a housing part (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Shikazono) comprising a first communication hole (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Shikazono), a second internal projecting wall (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Shikazono) comprising a second communication hole (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Shikazono), a first tubular guide (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Shikazono) in which a first pressure chamber (high pressure chamber 66a Fig. 1) is provided (Fig. 1) and a second tubular guide (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Shikazono) in which a second pressure chamber (high pressure chamber 66b Fig. 1) is provided (Fig. 1); a first working chamber (working chamber 62a Fig. 1) provided in the first tubular guide (Fig. 1); a slide member (reciprocating member 40 Fig. 1) comprising a rod (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Shikazono) and a first piston (piston 42a Fig. 1) provided at an end of the rod (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Shikazono), the rod having an outer diameter (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Shikazono) smaller than an outer diameter of the first piston (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Shikazono), including the first piston disposed in the first tubular guide (Fig. 1) and a second piston (piston 42b Fig. 1) disposed in the second tubular guide (Fig. 1), the slide member sliding in a first direction (Y axis direction Fig. 1 and paragraph [0021]); a first rotator (main weight balance 58a and bearing 51a Fig. 1) which rotates on a first rotation axis (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Shikazono) extending in a second direction (corresponds to a direction that is parallel to the Z axis Fig. 1); a second rotator (main weight balance 58b and bearing 51b Fig. 1) which rotates on a second rotation axis (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Shikazono) extending along the second direction (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Shikazono); a first motor (motor 70a Fig. 1); and a second motor (motor 70b).
Shikazono teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the mechanism chamber containing lubricant encapsulated therein, the first motor including a first rotor coupled to the first rotator rotates on the first rotation axis, and a first stator disposed on an outer side of the first rotor when viewed along the first rotation axis; and the second motor including a second rotor coupled to the second rotator and rotates on the second rotation axis, and a second stator disposed on an outer side of the second rotor when viewed along the second rotation axis, wherein the first motor includes a first adjusting mechanism which adjusts an angle of the first stator with respect to the first rotor, the angle being centered on the first rotation axis”.
However, Azuma teaches a mechanism chamber (the chamber delimited by oil seals 6X, 6Y, 30 and seal cap 2 corresponds to the mechanism chamber of Shikazono) containing lubricant (paragraph [0031]) encapsulated therein (paragraph [0031]), a first motor (motor 57a Fig. 1 corresponds to the first motor of Shikazono) including a first rotor (left rotor 56 Fig. 1) coupled to a first rotator (left bearing 40X Fig. 1 corresponds to the first rotating member of Shikazono) rotates on a first rotation axis (paragraph [0035] where the disclosed left “axis line of the rotor 56” corresponds to the first rotation axis of Shikazono), and a first stator (left stator 58 Fig. 1) disposed on an outer side of the first rotor (Fig. 1) when viewed along the first rotation axis (Fig. 1); a second motor (motor 57c Fig. 1 corresponds to the second motor of Shikazono) including a second rotor (right rotor 56 Fig. 1) coupled to a second rotator (right bearing 40X Fig. 1 corresponds to the first rotating member of Shikazono) and rotates on a second rotation axis (paragraph [0035] where the disclosed right “axis line of the rotor 56” corresponds to the second rotation axis of Shikazono), and a second stator (right stator 58 Fig. 1) disposed on an outer side of the second rotor (Fig. 1) when viewed along the second rotation axis (Fig. 1), wherein the first motor includes a first adjusting mechanism (spline ring 72 Fig. 5) which adjusts an angle (disclosed “phase angle” in paragraph [0041]) of the first stator with respect to the first rotor (paragraph [0041]), the angle being centered on the first rotation axis (referring to Figs. 4-5, a person skilled in the art would recognize that the rotational axis of spline ring 72 is the same as the rotational axis of stator 56) to reduce rotational vibrations (paragraph [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Shikazono to include “the mechanism chamber containing lubricant encapsulated therein, the first motor including a first rotor coupled to the first rotator rotates on the first rotation axis, and a first stator disposed on an outer side of the first rotor when viewed along the first rotation axis; and the second motor including a second rotor coupled to the second rotator and rotates on the second rotation axis, and a second stator disposed on an outer side of the second rotor when viewed along the second rotation axis, wherein the first motor includes a first adjusting mechanism which adjusts an angle of the first stator with respect to the first rotor, the angle being centered on the first rotation axis” in view of the teachings of Azuma to reduce rotational vibrations.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the first internal projecting wall projecting in an inner diameter direction from the housing part, the first internal projecting wall is provided in a coupling portion of the housing part and the first tubular guide to segment the mechanism chamber from the first working chamber, the rod of the slide member being disposed through the first communication hole of the first internal projecting wall to connect the mechanism chamber and the first working chamber”.
However, Yourong teaches a first internal projecting wall (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Yourong) projecting in an inner diameter direction (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Yourong) from a housing part (the sealed crankcase formed by housing 1 and cover 11 Fig. 3 corresponds to the housing part of Shikazono), the first internal projecting wall is provided in a coupling portion of the housing part (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Yourong) and a first tubular guide (Fig. 3 where cylinder 22 corresponds to the first tubular guide of Shikazono) to segment a mechanism chamber (the inner cavity of the crankcase Fig. 3 corresponds to the mechanism chamber of Shikazono) from a first working chamber (Fig. 3 where the inner cavity of cylinder 2 corresponds to the first working chamber of Shikazono), a rod (connecting rod 62 Fig. 3 corresponds to the rod of Shikazono) of a slide member (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Yourong) being disposed through a first communication hole of the first internal projecting wall (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Yourong) to connect the mechanism chamber and the first working chamber (Fig. 3) to provide a sealed mechanism chamber (paragraph 14]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the first internal projecting wall projecting in an inner diameter direction from the housing part, the first internal projecting wall is provided in a coupling portion of the housing part and the first tubular guide to segment the mechanism chamber from the first working chamber, the rod of the slide member being disposed through the first communication hole of the first internal projecting wall to connect the mechanism chamber and the first working chamber” in view of the teachings of Yourong to provide a sealed mechanism chamber.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings teach further comprising one driving circuit (motor driver 70 Fig. 6 of Azuma) configured to control both the first motor and the second motor (paragraph [0050] of Azuma).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach further comprising a fixing member (bolt 74 Figs. 4-5 of Azuma) configured to fix the first stator (Figs. 4-5 of Azuma), the angle of which has been adjusted by the first adjusting mechanism (paragraph [0040] and [0041] of Azuma).
Furthermore, it is understood that claim 3 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach wherein the fixing member is a screw (bolt 74 Figs. 4-5 of Azuma), and the first adjusting mechanism includes a long hole (through hole 71 Fig. 5 of Azuma) having an arcuate shape (Fig. 5 of Azuma) centered on the first rotation axis (Figs. 4 and 5 of Azuma), the fixing member being inserted into the long hole (Fig. 5 of Azuma).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach wherein the second motor includes a second adjusting mechanism (right spline ring 72 Fig. 1 and paragraph [0042] of Azuma) which adjusts an angle of the second stator (paragraph [0042] of Azuma) with respect to the second rotor (paragraph [0042] of Azuma), the angle being centered on the second rotation axis (referring to Figs. 1 and 4-5 of Azuma, a person skilled in the art would recognize that the rotational axis of the right spline ring 72 is the same as the rotational axis of the right stator 56).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach a compressor (paragraph [0047] of Shikazono), wherein the first piston is configured to compress gas (since it is disclosed in paragraph [0021] of Shikazono that piston 42a changes the volume of working chamber 62a, a person skilled in the art would recognize that the disclosed “working fluid” in paragraph [0023] of Shikazono which corresponds to the gas would be compressed when the volume of working chamber 62a is reduced by the reciprocating actions of piston 42a before flowing into high pressure chamber 66a) flowing into the first pressure chamber (paragraphs [0021] and [0023] of Shikazono).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach wherein the first adjusting mechanism and the second adjusting mechanism each comprises a plurality of long holes (through holes 71 Fig. 5 of Azuma) formed by the first adjusting mechanism and the second adjusting mechanism (Fig. 5 of Azuma).
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach wherein the pluralities of long holes comprise an arcuate shape (Fig. 5 of Azuma).
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach wherein a plurality of screws (bolts 74 Fig. 5 of Azuma) is inserted into the pluralities of long holes (paragraph [0040] of Azuma).
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach wherein an angle of the first stator (paragraphs [0041] and [0042] of Azuma where the disclosed phase angles correspond to the angle of the stator) is adjusted by the first adjusting mechanism using the first motor (paragraphs [0041] and [0042] of Azuma).
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach a compressor (paragraph [0047] of Shikazono), wherein the second piston is configured to compress gas (since it is disclosed in paragraph [0021] of Shikazono that piston 42b changes the volume of working chamber 62b, a person skilled in the art would recognize that the disclosed “working fluid” in paragraph [0023] of Shikazono which corresponds to the gas would be compressed when the volume of working chamber 62b is reduced by the reciprocating actions of piston 42b before flowing into high pressure chamber 66b) flowing into the second pressure chamber (paragraphs [0021] and [0023] of Shikazono).
Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings teach wherein the angle of the second stator (paragraphs [0041] and [0042] of Azuma where the disclosed phase angles correspond to the angle of the stator) is adjusted by the second adjusting mechanism using the second motor (paragraphs [0041] and [0042] of Azuma).
Claims 7-8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shikazono, in view of Azuma and Yourong as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Uchida et al. (WO2012114451A1, herein after referred to as Uchida) and Rockenfeller et al. (US 20060278370 A1, herein after referred to as Rockenfeller).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “a cooling apparatus comprising: the compressor configured to compress a working fluid in a gas phase; a condenser configured to condense the working fluid in the gas phase compressed by the compressor into a working fluid in a liquid phase; an expander configured to decompress the working fluid in the liquid phase condensed by the condenser and change the working fluid in the liquid phase to a working fluid in which the liquid phase and the gas phase are mixed; and an evaporator coupled to a device to transfer heat, the evaporator being configured to change the working fluid flowing from the expander to the working fluid in the gas phase with the heat transferred from the electronic control device and discharge the changed working fluid in the gas phase to the compressor”.
However, Uchida teaches a cooling apparatus (air conditioner S Fig. 1) comprising: a compressor (compressor 11 Fig. 1 corresponds to the compressor of Shikazono) configured to compress a working fluid (disclosed “refrigerant” in paragraph [12]) in a gas phase (a person skilled in the art would recognize that the disclosed “high pressure refrigerant” is in a gas phase); a condenser (outdoor heat exchanger 13 Fig. 2 and paragraph [25]) configured to condense the working fluid in the gas phase compressed by the compressor (paragraph [25]) into a working fluid (disclosed high-pressure liquid refrigerant” in paragraph [25]) in a liquid phase (the disclosed high-pressure liquid refrigerant” in paragraph [25] is in a liquid phase); an expander (expansion valve 15 Fig. 2) configured to decompress the working fluid in the liquid phase condensed by the condenser (paragraph [25]) and change the working fluid in the liquid phase to a working fluid (the disclosed “refrigerant” flowing out of expansion valve 15 in paragraph [25]) in which the liquid phase and the gas phase are mixed (disclosed “gas-liquid two-phase state” in paragraph [25]); and an evaporator (intermediate heat exchanger 17 Fig. 2) coupled to a device (disclosed “device” in paragraph [61]) to transfer heat (paragraphs [25] and [61]), the evaporator being configured to change the working fluid flowing from the expander to the working fluid in the gas phase with the heat transferred from the device (paragraphs [25] and [61]) and discharge the changed working fluid in the gas phase to the compressor (paragraph [25]) to provide cooling for a device (paragraph [61]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “a cooling apparatus comprising: the compressor configured to compress a working fluid in a gas phase; a condenser configured to condense the working fluid in the gas phase compressed by the compressor into a working fluid in a liquid phase; an expander configured to decompress the working fluid in the liquid phase condensed by the condenser and change the working fluid in the liquid phase to a working fluid in which the liquid phase and the gas phase are mixed; and an evaporator coupled to a device to transfer heat, the evaporator being configured to change the working fluid flowing from the expander to the working fluid in the gas phase with the heat transferred from the electronic control device and discharge the changed working fluid in the gas phase to the compressor” in view of the teachings of Uchida to provide cooling for a device.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the evaporator coupled to an electronic control device”.
However, Rockenfeller teaches an evaporator (the disclosed “evaporator plate” in paragraph [0012] corresponds to the evaporator of Uchida) coupled to an electronic control device (disclosed “CPU” in paragraph [0012]) to provide cooling for a wide range of heat generating components.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the evaporator coupled to an electronic control device” in view of the teachings of Rockenfeller to provide cooling for a wide range of heat generating components.
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach an electronic equipment (disclosed “electronic components” in paragraph [0012] of Rockenfeller).
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “a cooling apparatus comprising: the compressor configured to compress a working fluid in a gas phase; a condenser configured to condense the working fluid in the gas phase compressed by the compressor into a working fluid in a liquid phase; an expander configured to decompress the working fluid in the liquid phase condensed by the condenser and change the working fluid in the liquid phase to a working fluid in which the liquid phase and the gas phase are mixed; and an evaporator, the evaporator being configured to change the working fluid flowing from the expander to the working fluid in the gas phase and discharge the changed working fluid in the gas phase to the compressor”.
However, Uchida teaches a cooling apparatus (air conditioner S Fig. 1) comprising: a compressor (compressor 11 Fig. 1 corresponds to the compressor of Shikazono) configured to compress a working fluid (disclosed “refrigerant” in paragraph [12]) in a gas phase (a person skilled in the art would recognize that the disclosed “high pressure refrigerant” is in a gas phase); a condenser (outdoor heat exchanger 13 Fig. 2 and paragraph [25]) configured to condense the working fluid in the gas phase compressed by the compressor (paragraph [25]) into a working fluid (disclosed high-pressure liquid refrigerant” in paragraph [25]) in a liquid phase (the disclosed high-pressure liquid refrigerant” in paragraph [25] is in a liquid phase); an expander (expansion valve 15 Fig. 2) configured to decompress the working fluid in the liquid phase condensed by the condenser (paragraph [25]) and change the working fluid in the liquid phase to a working fluid (the disclosed “refrigerant” flowing out of expansion valve 15 in paragraph [25]) in which the liquid phase and the gas phase are mixed (disclosed “gas-liquid two-phase state” in paragraph [25]); and an evaporator (intermediate heat exchanger 17 Fig. 2), the evaporator being configured to change the working fluid flowing from the expander to the working fluid in the gas phase (paragraphs [25] and [61]) and discharge the changed working fluid in the gas phase to the compressor (paragraph [25]) to provide cooling for a device (paragraph [61]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “a cooling apparatus comprising: the compressor configured to compress a working fluid in a gas phase; a condenser configured to condense the working fluid in the gas phase compressed by the compressor into a working fluid in a liquid phase; an expander configured to decompress the working fluid in the liquid phase condensed by the condenser and change the working fluid in the liquid phase to a working fluid in which the liquid phase and the gas phase are mixed; and an evaporator, the evaporator being configured to change the working fluid flowing from the expander to the working fluid in the gas phase and discharge the changed working fluid in the gas phase to the compressor” in view of the teachings of Uchida to provide cooling for a device.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the evaporator coupled to a power supply to transfer heat from the power supply”.
However, Rockenfeller teaches an evaporator (the disclosed “evaporator plate” in paragraph [0012] corresponds to the evaporator of Uchida) coupled to a power supply (paragraph [0012]) to transfer heat from the power supply (paragraph [0012]) to provide cooling for a wide range of heat generating components.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the evaporator coupled to a power supply to transfer heat from the power supply” in view of the teachings of Rockenfeller to provide cooling for a wide range of heat generating components.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant' s arguments on page 7 that Shikazono does not teach or suggest “the rod having an outer diameter smaller than an outer diameter of the first piston” as recited by amended claim 1, Examiner disagrees.
For clarity purposes, the above rejection of amended claim 1 is repeated below:
Shikazono teaches a rod (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Shikazono) having an outer diameter (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Shikazono) smaller than an outer diameter (outer diameter of piston 42a Fig. 1) of a first piston (piston 42a Fig. 1).
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763