Notice of AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartley et al. (US 2012/0098140 A1) in view of Shih (US 2018/0102311 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1: Bartley teaches (e.g., Figs. 1-4) a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section ([0033]-[0034]: bottommost horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section 12 on the left side, including functional unit 14); and
a vertical interconnect (VI) ([0031]-[0034] and [0044]: 16) perpendicularly oriented to the first semiconductor die section (as shown in Fig. 1), comprising
vertical conductive interconnect lines ([0033]-[0035] and [0043]) electrically connecting components above ([0033]-[0034]: chip 12 including functional unit 14 in layers 2 up to layer N) and below the VI die ([0033]-[0034]: chip 12 in layer 1).
Barley does not expressly teach
interconnect (VI) die, and
metal interconnect lines.
Shih teaches (e.g., Figs. 1-14) a semiconductor structure comprising an interconnect (VI) die ([0029] and [0056]: 101: 101); and
metal interconnect lines ([0023]-[0024] and [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the semiconductor structure of Bartley, the interconnect (VI) die and metal interconnect lines, as taught by Shih, for the benefits of increasing signal speeds of the integrated circuit during operation, since metals are well-known to be very good electrical conductors.
Regarding claim 3: Bartley and Shih teach the claim limitation of the semiconductor structure of claim 1, on which this claim depends.
wherein the VI die comprises selection from the group consisting of:
active devices and connecting lines connecting at least two of the vertical metal lines (Shih: [0056]: 101).
Regarding claim 5: Bartley and Shih teach the claim limitation of the semiconductor structure of claim 1, on which this claim depends.
Bartley as modified by Shih teaches that the semiconductor structure further comprising
a second horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section (Bartley: Figs. 1-2; [0033]-[0034]: right side horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section opposite portion of first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die 12 on the left side),
wherein the VI die is embedded in a trench ([0043]: VI die 16 is embedded in a trench) between the first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section and the second horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section (Bartley: Figs. 1-2; [0033]-[0034]: left side region and right side region respectively).
Regarding claim 6: Bartley and Shih teach the claim limitation of the semiconductor structure of claim 1, on which this claim depends.
Bartley as modified by Shih teaches that the vertical metal interconnect lines comprise a feature selected from the group consisting of: non-rectilinear lines, airgaps between the vertical metal interconnect lines, low-k dielectric between the vertical metal interconnect lines, capping layers for vertical metal interconnect lines, nonconformal and nonsymmetric features, and back-end-of-line features (Shih: [0046]-[0047]: 210/900).
Regarding claim 7: Bartley and Shih teach the claim limitation of the semiconductor structure of claim 1, on which this claim depends,
Bartley as modified by Shih teaches that the semiconductor structure further comprises a second level comprising:
a first second-level horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section (Bartley: Fig. 4, [0042]: second chip from bottommost chip); and
a second VI die (Bartley: Fig. 4, [0043]-[0044]: second VI die 48 from bottommost VI die) embedded adjacent to the first second-level horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section (Bartley: Fig. 4; [0042]-[0044]).
Regarding claim 8: Bartley and Shih teach the claim limitation of the semiconductor structure of claim 1, on which this claim depends.
Bartley as modified by Shih teaches that semiconductor structure further comprises
a second-level horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section (Bartley: [0033], [0036] and [0044]: semiconductor die section 12 with functional unit 14) attached vertically above the first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section (Bartley: [0033], [0036] and [0044]: bottommost semiconductor die section 12 with functional unit 14),
wherein the VI die is embedded adjacent to the first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section (Bartley: [0033], [0036] and [0044]: bottommost semiconductor die section 12 with functional unit 14) and the second-level horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section (Bartley: [0033], [0036] and [0044]: second semiconductor die section 12 with functional unit 14 from bottommost semiconductor die section 12 with functional unit 14).
Regarding claim 9: Bartley and Shih teach the claim limitation of the semiconductor structure of claim 8, on which this claim depends, further comprising
a top horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section (Bartley: [0033], [0036] and [0044]: third semiconductor die section 12 with functional unit 14 from bottommost semiconductor die section 12 with functional unit 14) over the VI die (Bartley: [0033], [0036] and [0044]) and the second-level horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section (Bartley: [0033], [0036] and [0044]: second semiconductor die section 12 with functional unit 14 from bottommost semiconductor die section 12 with functional unit 14).
Regarding claim 10: Bartley and Shih teach the claim limitation of the semiconductor structure of claim 1, on which this claim depends.
Bartley as modified by Shih teaches that the VI die (Bartley: [0031]-[0034] and [0043]-[0044]: 16) is embedded in a hole (Bartley: [0031]-[0034] and [0043]-[0044]: 16) in the first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section (Bartley: [0031]-[0034] and [0044]: 16).
Regarding independent claim 11: Bartley teaches (e.g., Figs. 1-4) a semiconductor structure, comprising
a first vertical interconnect (VI) die ([0031]-[0034] and [0043]-[0044]: 16) comprising vertical conductive interconnect lines ([0033]-[0035]);
a top connection layer ([0038]-[0040]: 22/50 above third component layer from the bottommost component) electrically connecting the VI die to components ([0033]-[0034]: components 12 including functional unit 14) above the VI die; and
a bottom connection layer ([0038]-[0040]: 22/50 below second component layer from the bottommost component) electrically connecting the VI die to components ([0033]-[0034]: components 12 including functional unit 14) below the VI die.
Barley does not expressly teach
interconnect (VI) die, and metal interconnect lines
Shih teaches (e.g., Figs. 1-14) a semiconductor structure comprising
([0029] and [0056]: 101: 101); and metal interconnect lines ([0023]-[0024] and [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the semiconductor structure of Bartley, the interconnect (VI) die and the metal interconnect lines, as taught by Shih, for the benefits of increasing signal speeds of the integrated circuit during operation, since metals are well-known to be very good electrical conductors.
Regarding claim 12: Bartley and Shih teach the claim limitation of the semiconductor structure of claim 11, on which this claim depends, further comprising
a horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section (Bartley: [0033]-[0034]: bottommost horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section 12 including functional unit 14) adjacent to the first VI die and between the top connection layer and the bottom connection layer (Bartley: [0038]-[0040]: 22/50).
Regarding claim 13: Bartley and Shih teach the claim limitation of the semiconductor structure of claim 11, on which this claim depends. further comprising
Barley as modified by Shih teaches a second VI die (Bartley: Fig. 4, [0043]-[0044]: second VI die 48 from bottommost VI die) above the top connection layer.
Regarding claim 14: Bartley and Shih teach the claim limitation of the semiconductor structure of claim 13, on which this claim depends.
further comprising a horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section (Bartley: [0033], [0036] and [0044]: semiconductor die section 12 with functional unit 14 in second level from the first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section) adjacent to the second VI die.
Claims 2 and 15-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartley et al. (US 2012/0098140 A1) in view of Shih (US 2018/0102311 A1) as applied above and further in view of Barowski et al. (US 2016/0070842 A1).
Regarding claim 2: Bartley and Shih teach the claim limitation of the semiconductor structure of claim 1, on which this claim depends.
Barley as modified by Shih does not expressly teach that the first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section comprises an active front-end-of-line (FEOL) layer and a back-end-of-line (BEOL) system.
Barowski teaches (e.g., Fig. 1) a semiconductor structure comprising
a first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section ([0035]: 118) comprising an active front-end-of-line (FEOL) layer ([0026] and [0041]: FEOL) and a back-end-of-line (BEOL) system ([0035]-[0036]: BEOL).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the semiconductor structure of Bartley as modified by Shih, the first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section comprising an active front-end-of-line (FEOL) layer and a back-end-of-line (BEOL) system, as taught by Barowski, for the benefits of processing and transferring information to integrated circuit memory devices for storage and thus improving device function efficiency.
Regarding independent claim 15: Bartley teaches (e.g., Figs. 1-4) a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section ([0033]-[0034]: bottommost horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section 12 including functional unit 14) comprising
a vertical interconnect (VI) ([0031]-[0034] and [0044]: 16) comprising: a substrate oriented vertically relative to the major surface; and
interconnect lines ([0031]-[0034] and [0044]: 16) within the substrate oriented vertically (interconnect lines 16 are oriented vertically) relative to the major surface (horizontal surface).
Bartley does not expressly teach that
an active front-end-of-line (FEOL) layer and a back-end-of-line (BEOL) system;
interconnect (VI) die, and
metal interconnect lines.
Shih teaches (e.g., Figs. 1-14) a semiconductor structure comprising an interconnect (VI) die ([0029] and [0056]: 101: 101); and
metal interconnect lines ([0023]-[0024] and [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the semiconductor structure of Bartley, the interconnect (VI) die and metal interconnect lines, as taught by Shih, for the benefits of increasing signal speeds of the integrated circuit during operation, since metals are well-known to be very good electrical conductors.
Barowski teaches (e.g., Fig. 1) a semiconductor structure comprising
a first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section ([0035]: 118) comprising an active front-end-of-line (FEOL) layer ([0026] and [0041]: FEOL) and a back-end-of-line (BEOL) system ([0035]-[0036]: BEOL).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the semiconductor structure of Bartley as modified by Shih, the first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section comprising an active front-end-of-line (FEOL) layer and a back-end-of-line (BEOL) system, as taught by Barowski, for the benefits of processing and transferring information to integrated circuit memory devices for storage and thus improving device function efficiency.
Regarding claim 16: Bartley, Shih and Barowski teach the claim limitation of the semiconductor structure of claim 15, on which the claim limitation depends.
Bartley as modified by Shih and Barowski teaches that the VI die comprises a height that is taller than the first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section (Bartley: Fig. 1; vertical interconnect structure 16 is taller than the height of the first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section 12 including functional unit).
Regarding claim 17: Bartley, Shih and Barowski teach the claim limitation of the semiconductor structure of claim 15, on which the claim limitation depends, wherein the VI die comprises
an orientation selected from the group consisting of:
embedded in a trench between the first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section and a second horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section,
attached adjacent to the first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section, surrounded on two sides by the first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section,
surrounded on three sides by the first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section, and
surrounded on four sides by the first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section (Bartley: Fig. 1; [0033]-[0034]: attached adjacent to the first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section 12 including functional unit 14).
Regarding claim 19: Bartley, Shih and Barowski teach the claim limitation of the semiconductor structure of claim 15, on which the claim limitation depends, further comprising
a second level comprising a second VI die (Bartley: Fig. 4, [0043]-[0044]: second VI die 48 from bottommost VI die) embedded adjacent to a first second-level horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section (Bartley: Figs. 1-2; [0033]-[0034]: right side horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section opposite portion of first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die 12 on the left side, at least in layer 2).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartley et al. (US 2012/0098140 A1) in view of Shih (US 2018/0102311 A1) as applied above and further in view Qian et al. (US 2016/0111468 A1).
Regarding claim 4: Bartley and Shih teach the claim limitation of the semiconductor structure of claim 1, on which this claim depends.
Bartley as modified by Shih does not expressly teach that the semiconductor structure further comprises a surrounding material between the VI die and the first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section.
Qian teaches (e.g., Figs. 3D-3G) a semiconductor structure comprising
a surrounding material ([0016]: 141) between a VI die ([0031]—[0033]: structure comprising 371-374) and a first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section ([0024]-[0028]: region 120 of device 305).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the semiconductor structure of Bartley as modified by Shih, the surrounding material between the VI die and the first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section, as taught by Qian, for the benefits of reducing signal interferences between adjacent devices through the conductive channels.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartley et al. (US 2012/0098140 A1) in view of Shih (US 2018/0102311 A1) and Barowski et al. (US 2016/0070842 A1) as applied above and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2018/0151507 A1).
Regarding claim 18: Bartley, Shih and Barowski teach the claim limitation of the semiconductor structure of claim 15, on which this claim limitation depends,
Bartley as modified by Shih and Barowski does not expressly teach that the VI die further comprises alignment wings that protrude above the first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section.
Chen teaches (e.g., Figs. 10c and 14) a semiconductor structure comprising a VI die (205 see [0041] and [0059]) further comprising alignment wings ([0080] and [0085]: alignment structure 115 is in a form of wings) that protrude above a first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section (210/215 see [0055] and [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the semiconductor structure of Bartley as modified by Shih and Barowski, the VI die further comprising alignment wings that protrude above the first horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section, for the benefits of increasing the accuracy of alignment of the interconnect structure and integrated circuit electrodes and thus improve device reliability.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartley et al. (US 2012/0098140 A1) in view of Shih (US 2018/0102311 A1) and Barowski et al. (US 2016/0070842 A1) as applied above and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2022/0384326 A1).
Regarding claim 20: Bartley, Shih and Barowski teach the claim limitation of the semiconductor structure of claim 15, on which the claim limitation depends, further comprising
Barley does not expressly teach a second VI die bonded to the VI die,
wherein the second VI die is bonded on a side of the VI die away from the substrate.
Yang teaches (e.g., Figs. 10A-11B) a semiconductor structure comprising a substrate ([0183]: 2);
Yang further teachers that a second VI die ([0148]-[0149]: second VI die 468 in third level from the bottommost interconnect die) bonded to a VI die ([0148]-[0149] and [0197]-[0198]: bottommost VI die 468; each horizontally-fabricated semiconductor die section 251 includes at least a VI die and all VI dies/dice are aligned as shown in Fig. 11A and upper die bonded to lower die, see [0185]-[0186] and [0197]-[0198]),
wherein the second VI die is bonded on a side of the VI die away from the substrate ([0183]-[0184]: 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include in the semiconductor structure of Bartley as modified by Shih and Barowski, the second VI die bonded to the VI die, wherein the second VI die is bonded on a side of the VI die away from the substrate, as taught by Yang, for the benefits of increasing the integrated circuit density by stacking more device and at the same time ensure increased signal speeds between interconnected device by aligning the VI dies/dice in the integrated circuit device.
Conclusion
/HERVE-LOUIS Y ASSOUMAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2812