DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “computing device” in claim 8 and “processing unit” in claims 10-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buescher et al. (20130193221). Buescher et al. discloses (claim 1) a method comprising determining a reserve capacity of an Electric Water Heater (EWH) 10 (paragraphs [0039] and [0042], “…effective capacity…”), determining a safe deferred time for the EWH based on the determined reserve capacity (paragraph [0063] “…setback temperature for different times of day or days of the week…”, receiving a grid service event initiation ; and causing, in response to receiving the grid service event initiation, the EWH to not heat water for the determined safe deferred time (paragraphs [0086]-[0088], and [0101]).
Regarding claim 10, Buescher et al. discloses a system comprising a memory storage (paragraph [0039], “…memory…”), and a processing unit (paragraph [0039], “…control module 12…”) coupled to the memory storage, wherein the processing unit is operative to determine a reserve capacity of an Electric Water Heater (EWH) 10 (paragraphs [0039] and [0042], “…effective capacity…”), determine a safe deferred time for the EWH based on the determined reserve capacity (paragraph [0063] “…setback temperature for different times of day or days of the week…”, receive a grid service event initiation ; and cause, in response to receiving the grid service event initiation, the EWH to not heat water for the determined safe deferred time (paragraphs [0086]-[0088], and [0101]).
Regarding claim 16, Buescher et al. discloses a computer-readable medium that stores a set of instructions (paragraph [0039] “…memory…”) which when executed (by control module 12) perform a method executed by the set of instructions comprising determining a reserve capacity of an Electric Water Heater (EWH) 10 (paragraphs [0039] and [0042], “…effective capacity…”), determining a safe deferred time for the EWH based on the determined reserve capacity (paragraph [0063] “…setback temperature for different times of day or days of the week…”, receiving a grid service event initiation ; and causing, in response to receiving the grid service event initiation, the EWH to not heat water for the determined safe deferred time (paragraphs [0086]-[0088], and [0101]).
Regarding claims 2, 3, 11, 12, 17 and 18, Buescher et al. discloses that determining the reserve capacity of the EWH is based on estimated power usage of the EWH by obtaining historic power usage of the EWH; and feeding the obtained historic power usage of the EWH into a stochastic prediction model (paragraphs [0063], [0111], and [0113], “…historical information…”, “…The control module 204 may further apply a confidence value for each period and the corresponding category. For example, the control module 204 may increase the confidence value if the usage information for a particular period is consistently the same, or decrease the confidence value if the usage information varies by more than a threshold from day-to-day or week-to-week…”).
Regarding claims 4, 5, 13, 14, 19, and 20, Buescher et al. discloses that determining the reserve capacity of the EWH is based on a two-mass model of the EWH (upper and lower), wherein a first mass of the two-mass model is associated with water in an upper portion of the EWH (heated by upper heating element 16) and a second mass of the two-mass model is associated with water in a lower portion of the EWH (heated by lower heating element 18) (paragraphs [0108]-[0110]).
Regarding claims 6, 7, and 15, Buescher et al. discloses that causing the EWH to not heat water for the determined safe deferred time comprises causing the EWH to not heat water for the determined safe deferred time when a hot water capacity estimated to be left at an end of the safe deferred time is greater than a predetermined threshold (paragraph [0065], “…excess effective capacity…”) and the predetermined threshold is between 10% and 25% as defined by a user (paragraphs [0065]-[0067]).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Buescher et al. discloses that the method is performed by a computing device at a home (‘…household…” where the EWH 10 is disposed, wherein the computing device is a smart meter 208 (paragraphs [0085]-[0088]).
Prior Art
Prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure for showing other electric water heater control with energy saving systems.
Contact Information
/THOMAS E LAZO/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3745
February 27, 2026