Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 7/10/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s intention for claims 8 and 10-15 not to be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) based on the lack of the use of “means for” has not avoided the interpretation because of the presence of a generic placeholder (“device”, “unit”) that is coupled with functional language (“computing”, “processing”), no amendment to the claim limitations, and no sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function.
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 16, applicant argues that Buescher’s “effective capacity” does not constitute the claimed “reserve capacity”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Buescher defines effective capacity of the water heater as “…the ability of the water heater [10] to provide a volume of water at a ‘delivered temperature.’…” and has a value that can be increased or reduced based on the set point temperature of the water heater. See Buescher paragraphs [0040]-[0042] and [0055] and Fig. 4. Therefore the “effective capacity” of Buescher constitutes a “reserve capacity” since it is indirectly related to the volume of water from the water heater that is needed to meet a desired output of the hot water system.
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 16, applicant argues that Buescher’s “effective capacity” is a setpoint-based control concept, not a determined reserve capacity used to determine a safe deferred time.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Buescher states in paragraph [0063] that the control module 12 generates historical usage data (determining a reserve capacity) and in paragraphs [0145]-[0155] that a control module 204 determines usage patterns of the water heater (determining a reserve capacity) and selectively opens and closes the relay 224 (paragraph [0145]), based on criteria such as usage patterns or load shedding information (paragraph [0150] and table 1 for predetermined times (paragraph [0147])and limits the amount of time that the relay 224 is closed in given period, wherein the amount of time may be predetermined, variable, and/or randomized (resulting in “safe deferred times” for the water heater)
Regarding claims 4, 13, and 19, applicant argues that Buescher also does not disclose that the reserve capacity may be determined based on a two-mass model of the electric water heater.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Buescher discloses that a lower heating element is energized to heat the lower water mass of the water heater, and an upper heating element is energized to heat the upper water mass of the water heater. The usage monitoring module 320 develops the two-mass model based on detected current via current sensor 322 to the lower and upper heating elements 222,220. This usage data becomes part of the determination of the effective capacity that constitutes the reserve capacity (paragraphs [0108]-[0111]).
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “computing device” in claim 8 and “processing unit” in claims 10-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buescher et al. (20130193221). Buescher et al. discloses (claim 1) a method comprising determining a reserve capacity of an Electric Water Heater (EWH) 10 (paragraphs [0039] and [0042], “…effective capacity…”), determining a safe deferred time for the EWH based on the determined reserve capacity (paragraph [0063] “…setback temperature for different times of day or days of the week…”, receiving a grid service event initiation ; and causing, in response to receiving the grid service event initiation, the EWH to not heat water for the determined safe deferred time (paragraphs [0086]-[0088], and [0101]).
Regarding claim 10, Buescher et al. discloses a system comprising a memory storage (paragraph [0039], “…memory…”), and a processing unit (paragraph [0039], “…control module 12…”) coupled to the memory storage, wherein the processing unit is operative to determine a reserve capacity of an Electric Water Heater (EWH) 10 (paragraphs [0039] and [0042], “…effective capacity…”), determine a safe deferred time for the EWH based on the determined reserve capacity (paragraph [0063] “…setback temperature for different times of day or days of the week…”, receive a grid service event initiation ; and cause, in response to receiving the grid service event initiation, the EWH to not heat water for the determined safe deferred time (paragraphs [0086]-[0088], and [0101]).
Regarding claim 16, Buescher et al. discloses a computer-readable medium that stores a set of instructions (paragraph [0039] “…memory…”) which when executed (by control module 12) perform a method executed by the set of instructions comprising determining a reserve capacity of an Electric Water Heater (EWH) 10 (paragraphs [0039] and [0042], “…effective capacity…”), determining a safe deferred time for the EWH based on the determined reserve capacity (paragraph [0063] “…setback temperature for different times of day or days of the week…”, receiving a grid service event initiation ; and causing, in response to receiving the grid service event initiation, the EWH to not heat water for the determined safe deferred time (paragraphs [0086]-[0088], and [0101]).
Regarding claims 2, 3, 11, 12, 17 and 18, Buescher et al. discloses that determining the reserve capacity of the EWH is based on estimated power usage of the EWH by obtaining historic power usage of the EWH; and feeding the obtained historic power usage of the EWH into a stochastic prediction model (paragraphs [0063], [0111], and [0113], “…historical information…”, “…The control module 204 may further apply a confidence value for each period and the corresponding category. For example, the control module 204 may increase the confidence value if the usage information for a particular period is consistently the same, or decrease the confidence value if the usage information varies by more than a threshold from day-to-day or week-to-week…”).
Regarding claims 4, 5, 13, 14, 19, and 20, Buescher et al. discloses that determining the reserve capacity of the EWH is based on a two-mass model of the EWH (upper and lower), wherein a first mass of the two-mass model is associated with water in an upper portion of the EWH (heated by upper heating element 16) and a second mass of the two-mass model is associated with water in a lower portion of the EWH (heated by lower heating element 18) (paragraphs [0108]-[0110]).
Regarding claims 6, 7, and 15, Buescher et al. discloses that causing the EWH to not heat water for the determined safe deferred time comprises causing the EWH to not heat water for the determined safe deferred time when a hot water capacity estimated to be left at an end of the safe deferred time is greater than a predetermined threshold (paragraph [0065], “…excess effective capacity…”) and the predetermined threshold is between 10% and 25% as defined by a user (paragraphs [0065]-[0067]).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Buescher et al. discloses that the method is performed by a computing device at a home (‘…household…” where the EWH 10 is disposed, wherein the computing device is a smart meter 208 (paragraphs [0085]-[0088]).
Prior Art
Prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. Specifically, Sinha et al. discloses an application of a two-mass model for modelling an electric water heater.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/THOMAS E LAZO/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3745
September 9, 2026