DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/10/2026 and 03/30/2023 are considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, Claims 1, 2, and 4-9, in the reply filed on 02/24/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 3 and 10-11 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a non-elected Species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Biber et al. (US 20130241557), hereinafter ‘Biber’.
Regarding Claim 1, Biber discloses an array coil comprising: a first substrate (Fig. 1 support 2) on which at least one coil element is formed (Fig. 1, coil conductor 3 on support 2); and a second substrate different from the first substrate on which at least one coil element is formed (Para [0035] disclosing coil conductors on both sides of support 2, coil conductors 3 that are fitted on a rear face are shown in dashed lines; Fig. 1, dashed line of coil 3 under substrate 2, thus on different substrate), and is laminated on the first substrate (Para [0040]), wherein a first coil element formed on the first substrate intersects with a second coil element formed on the second substrate in plan view from a laminating direction from the second substrate laminated on the first substrate toward the first substrate (Fig. 1, showing overlap area 5 of array of coil elements comprised of solid line conductor 3 and dashed line conductor 3).
Regarding Claim 2, Biber further discloses wherein a plurality of coil elements are formed on at least one of the first substrate and the second substrate, and the coil elements do not intersect with each other on the substrate on which the coil elements are formed (Fig. 1, two solid line conductors 3 shown not intersecting with each other).
Regarding Claim 6, Biber further discloses wherein the first substrate and the second substrate have different thicknesses (Para [0046]; Claims 6-9).
Regarding Claim 7, Biber further discloses a plurality of substrates including the first substrate and the second substrate on each of which a plurality of coil elements are formed, wherein each of the substrates is laminated on at least the other one of the substrates (Figs. 1 and 3, substrates 8-10, having plurality of coil elements (Para [0035] disclosing coil conductors on both sides of support 2, coil conductors 3 that are fitted on a rear face are shown in dashed lines; Fig. 1, dashed line of coil 3 under substrate 2, thus on different substrate; Para [0040] laminated).
Regarding Claim 8, Biber further discloses wherein each of the first substrate and the second substrate is a flexible substrate having flexibility (Para [0019] layers with desired flexibility; Para [0035] flexible support includes plurality of layers 8-10).
Regarding Claim 9, Biber further discloses wherein the array coil is a planar array coil (Fig. 1 shows a plan view of coil conductors; Para [0041] rea in the plane of the coil elements 4 (e.g., the layer plane)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biber et al. (US 20130241557), hereinafter ‘Biber’.
Regarding Claims 4 and 5, Biber fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first substrate and the second substrate have the same arrangement of the coil elements and Claim 4 and wherein the first substrate and the second substrate have different arrangement of the coil elements of Claim 5.
However it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to arrange the coil elements the same on the first and second substrate or arrange the coil elements differently on the first and second substrate, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 8 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
/ALESA ALLGOOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858