DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 9, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Radhakrishnan et al. (US 2021/0104475) (hereafter Radhakrishnan).
Regarding claim 1, Radhakrishnan discloses an integrated circuit (IC) package comprising:
a glass layer 150 (Fig. 1A, paragraph 0029, wherein “glass (or glass fibers)”) having an aperture (region between 150 in Fig. 1A) extending therethrough; and
an inductor (140, 105, and 106 in Fig. 1A; and see paragraph 0030, wherein “higher valued inductors”) in the aperture, the inductor (140, 105, and 106 in Fig. 1A) including:
a metal core 140 (Fig. 1A, paragraph 0022) extending through the aperture, the metal core 140 (Fig. 1A) electrically coupled to interconnects (110 and 111 in Fig. 1A, paragraph 0034) on opposite sides of the glass layer 150 (Fig. 1A); and
at least one of a ferrite layer or a magnetic alloy layer 105 (Fig. 1A, paragraph 0031) in the aperture and laterally surrounding the metal core 140 (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 2, Radhakrishnan further discloses the IC package as defined in claim 1, wherein the at least one of the ferrite layer or the magnetic alloy layer 105 (Fig. 1A) includes:
a first ferrite layer (inner laminated layer of 105 contacting 106 in Fig. 1A; and see paragraph 0031, wherein “thin laminated layers/sheets”) in the aperture (region between 150 in Fig. 1A); and
a second ferrite layer (outer laminated layer of 105 contacting 170 in Fig. 1A; and see paragraph 0031) in the aperture (region between 150 in Fig. 1A), the second ferrite layer (outer laminated layer of 105 contacting 170 in Fig. 1A) laterally surrounding the first ferrite layer (inner laminated layer of 105 contacting 106 in Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 4, Radhakrishnan further discloses the IC package as defined in claim 2, wherein a layer (middle laminated layer of 105 in Fig. 1A; and see paragraph 0031, wherein “thin laminated layers/sheets”) comprising a metal (see paragraph 0031) between the first ferrite layer (inner laminated layer of 105 contacting 106 in Fig. 1A) and the second ferrite layer (outer laminated layer of 105 contacting 170 in Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 9, Radhakrishnan further discloses the IC package as defined in claim 1, wherein the at least one of the ferrite layer or the magnetic alloy layer 105 (Fig. 1A, paragraph 0031, wherein “iron (Fe)”) includes at least one of iron, cobalt, nickel, oxygen, manganese, or a nickel-iron ferromagnetic alloy.
Regarding claim 10, Radhakrishnan discloses a glass core for use with a semiconductor package, the glass core comprising:
a glass substrate 150 (Fig. 1A, paragraph 0029, wherein “glass (or glass fibers)”); and
an inductor (140, 105, and 106 in Fig. 1A; and see paragraph 0030, wherein “higher valued inductors”) at least partially extending through the glass substrate 150 (Fig. 1A), the inductor (140, 105, and 106 in Fig. 1A) including:
a conductive core 140 (Fig. 1A, paragraph 0022), and
at least one of a ferrite layer or a magnetic alloy layer 105 (Fig. 1A, paragraph 0031) laterally surrounding the conductive core 140 (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 17, Radhakrishnan further discloses the glass core as defined in claim 10, wherein the at least one of the ferrite layer or the magnetic alloy layer 105 (Fig. 1A, paragraph 0031, wherein “iron (Fe)”) includes at least one of iron, cobalt, nickel, oxygen, manganese, or a nickel-iron ferromagnetic alloy.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shirotori (US 20220217844) (hereafter Shirotori).
Regarding claim 19, Shirotori discloses a method comprising:
defining an aperture 113 (Fig. 4, paragraph 0034) in a glass substrate 110 (Fig. 4, paragraph 0032, wherein “glass fibers”);
providing a first metal layer 121a (Fig. 9, paragraph 0042) onto walls of the aperture 113 (Fig. 9);
providing at least one of a ferrite layer or a magnetic alloy layer (left 140 in Fig. 7, paragraph 0042) onto the aperture 113 (Fig. 7); and
providing a second metal layer 121b (Fig. 9, paragraph 0052) to define a metal core 121b (Fig. 17) that is laterally surrounded by the at least one of the ferrite layer or the magnetic alloy layer 140 (Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 20, Shirotori further discloses the method as defined in claim 19, wherein the ferrite layer (left 140 in Fig. 7) is provided within the aperture 113 (Fig. 7), and further including providing a second ferrite layer (right 140 in Fig. 7, paragraph 0042) within the aperture 113 (Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 11, 13, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radhakrishnan as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of O'Mathuna et al. (US 2022/0005640) (hereafter O'Mathuna).
Regarding claim 5, Radhakrishnan discloses the IC package as defined in claim 1, however Radhakrishnan does not disclose the magnetic alloy layer is in the aperture, and further including a dielectric layer between the metal core and the magnetic alloy layer.
O'Mathuna discloses the magnetic alloy layer 10 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0199) is in the aperture (region between 3 in Fig. 1a, paragraph 0198), and further including a dielectric layer 11 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0199) between the metal core 2 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0198) and the magnetic alloy layer 10 (Fig. 1a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Radhakrishnan to form the magnetic alloy layer is in the aperture, and further including a dielectric layer between the metal core and the magnetic alloy layer, as taught by O'Mathuna, since the inductor structure (O'Mathuna, paragraph 0224) uses its magnetic core to improve the power density and efficiency of the IVR circuit.
Regarding claim 6, Radhakrishnan in view of O'Mathuna discloses the IC package as defined in claim 5, however Radhakrishnan does not disclose the dielectric layer contacts and surrounds the metal core.
O'Mathuna discloses the dielectric layer 11 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0199) contacts and surrounds the metal core 2 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0198).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Radhakrishnan to form the dielectric layer contacts and surrounds the metal core, as taught by O'Mathuna, since the inductor structure (O'Mathuna, paragraph 0224) uses its magnetic core to improve the power density and efficiency of the IVR circuit.
Regarding claim 11, Radhakrishnan discloses the glass core as defined in claim 10, however Radhakrishnan does not disclose the at least one of the ferrite layer or the magnetic alloy layer includes: a first ferrite layer, and a second ferrite layer laterally surrounding the conductive core.
O'Mathuna discloses the at least one of the ferrite layer or the magnetic alloy layer 10 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0199) includes: a first ferrite layer (second and third 10 from the left corner of Fig. 1a, paragraph 0199), and a second ferrite layer (first and fourth 10 from the left corner of Fig. 1a) laterally surrounding the conductive core 2 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0198).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Radhakrishnan to form the at least one of the ferrite layer or the magnetic alloy layer includes: a first ferrite layer, and a second ferrite layer laterally surrounding the conductive core, as taught by O'Mathuna, since the inductor structure (O'Mathuna, paragraph 0224) uses its magnetic core to improve the power density and efficiency of the IVR circuit.
Regarding claim 13, Radhakrishnan discloses the glass core as defined in claim 10, however Radhakrishnan does not disclose the at least one of the ferrite layer or the magnetic alloy layer includes the magnetic alloy layer with a dielectric layer positioned between the conductive core and the magnetic alloy layer.
O'Mathuna discloses the at least one of the ferrite layer or the magnetic alloy layer 10 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0199) includes the magnetic alloy layer 10 (Fig. 1a) with a dielectric layer 11 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0199) positioned between the conductive core 2 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0198) and the magnetic alloy layer 10 (Fig. 1a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Radhakrishnan to form the at least one of the ferrite layer or the magnetic alloy layer includes the magnetic alloy layer with a dielectric layer positioned between the conductive core and the magnetic alloy layer, as taught by O'Mathuna, since the inductor structure (O'Mathuna, paragraph 0224) uses its magnetic core to improve the power density and efficiency of the IVR circuit.
Regarding claim 14, Radhakrishnan in view of O'Mathuna discloses the glass core as defined in claim 13, however Radhakrishnan does not disclose the dielectric layer contacts and surrounds the conductive core.
O'Mathuna discloses the dielectric layer 11 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0199) contacts and surrounds the conductive core 2 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0198).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Radhakrishnan to form the dielectric layer contacts and surrounds the conductive core, as taught by O'Mathuna, since the inductor structure (O'Mathuna, paragraph 0224) uses its magnetic core to improve the power density and efficiency of the IVR circuit.
Regarding claim 16, Radhakrishnan in view of O'Mathuna discloses the glass core as defined in claim 13, however Radhakrishnan does not disclose the inductor includes the magnetic alloy layer between the ferrite layer and the dielectric layer.
O'Mathuna discloses the inductor includes the magnetic alloy layer (inner 10 close to 2 in Fig. 1a, paragraph 0199) between the ferrite layer (outer 10 contacting 3 in Fig. 1a, paragraph 0199) and the dielectric layer 11 (Fig. 1a, paragraph 0199).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Radhakrishnan to form the inductor includes the magnetic alloy layer between the ferrite layer and the dielectric layer, as taught by O'Mathuna, since the inductor structure (O'Mathuna, paragraph 0224) uses its magnetic core to improve the power density and efficiency of the IVR circuit.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radhakrishnan as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2019/0274217) (hereafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 3, Radhakrishnan discloses the IC package as defined in claim 2, however Radhakrishnan does not disclose a dielectric layer at longitudinal ends of the first ferrite layer and the second ferrite layer.
Zhang discloses a dielectric layer 108A (Fig. 1A, paragraph 0028) at longitudinal ends of the first ferrite layer (inner portion of 115 in Fig. 1A, paragraph 0028) and the second ferrite layer (outer portion of 115 away from 111 in Fig. 1A, paragraph 0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Radhakrishnan to form a dielectric layer at longitudinal ends of the first ferrite layer and the second ferrite layer, as taught by Zhang, since subsequent processing operations (Zhang, paragraph 0039) may be implemented without exposing the magnetic sheath 215 (Zhang, Fig. 2F, paragraph 0039) to the processing environments.
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radhakrishnan in view of O'Mathuna as applied to claims 5 and 13 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2019/0274217) (hereafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 7, Radhakrishnan in view of O'Mathuna discloses the IC package as defined in claim 5, however Radhakrishnan does not disclose the dielectric layer contacts a longitudinal end of the at least one of the ferrite layer or the magnetic alloy layer.
Zhang discloses the dielectric layer 108A (Fig. 1A, paragraph 0028) contacts a longitudinal end of the at least one of the ferrite layer or the magnetic alloy layer 115 (Fig. 1A, paragraph 0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Radhakrishnan in view of O'Mathuna to form the dielectric layer contacts a longitudinal end of the at least one of the ferrite layer or the magnetic alloy layer, as taught by Zhang, since subsequent processing operations (Zhang, paragraph 0039) may be implemented without exposing the magnetic sheath 215 (Zhang, Fig. 2F, paragraph 0039) to the processing environments.
Regarding claim 15, Radhakrishnan in view of O'Mathuna discloses the glass core as defined in claim 13, however Radhakrishnan does not disclose the dielectric layer extends to a longitudinal end of the at least one of the ferrite layer or the magnetic alloy layer.
Zhang discloses the dielectric layer 108A (Fig. 1A, paragraph 0028) extends to a longitudinal end of the at least one of the ferrite layer or the magnetic alloy layer 115 (Fig. 1A, paragraph 0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Radhakrishnan in view of O'Mathuna to form the dielectric layer extends to a longitudinal end of the at least one of the ferrite layer or the magnetic alloy layer, as taught by Zhang, since subsequent processing operations (Zhang, paragraph 0039) may be implemented without exposing the magnetic sheath 215 (Zhang, Fig. 2F, paragraph 0039) to the processing environments.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radhakrishnan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shirotori (US 20220217844) (hereafter Shirotori).
Regarding claim 8, Radhakrishnan discloses the IC package as defined in claim 1, however Radhakrishnan does not disclose the ferrite layer is in the aperture and contacts the metal core.
Shirotori discloses the ferrite layer 140 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0031) is in the aperture 141 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0044) and contacts the metal core 120a (Fig. 1, paragraph 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Radhakrishnan to form the ferrite layer is in the aperture and contacts the metal core, as taught by Shirotori, since it is possible to reduce electric resistance (Shirotori, paragraph 0044) in the electroless plating film and the electrolytic plating film inside the through-hole 141 (Shirotori, Fig. 1, paragraph 0044) in the magnetic material 140 (Shirotori, Fig. 1, paragraph 0044), and it is thus possible to improve the electric characteristics of the inductor.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radhakrishnan in view of O'Mathuna as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Lu (US 2024/0112842) (hereafter Lu).
Regarding claim 12, Radhakrishnan in view of O'Mathuna discloses the glass core as defined in claim 11, however Radhakrishnan and O'Mathuna do not disclose the first ferrite layer includes a first ferrite material that is different from a second ferrite material of the second ferrite layer.
Lu discloses the first ferrite layer 131 (Fig. 4, paragraph 0029) includes a first ferrite material that is different (see paragraph 0029, wherein “The material of the first magnetic film 131 may be the same with or different from the material of the second magnetic film 132”) from a second ferrite material 132 (Fig. 4, paragraph 0029) of the second ferrite layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Radhakrishnan in view of O'Mathuna to form the first ferrite layer includes a first ferrite material that is different from a second ferrite material of the second ferrite layer, as taught by Lu, since a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp, in the instant case choosing a first ferrite material that is different from a second ferrite material from the listed in paragraph 0029 of Lu (e.g. The first ferrite material of the first magnetic film/ 131 may be the same with or different from the second ferrite material of the second magnetic film 132); if this leads to the anticipated success, in the instant case forming the first ferrite layer and the second ferrite layer, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radhakrishnan as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Yun (US 2017/0187345) (hereafter Yun).
Regarding claim 18, Radhakrishnan discloses the glass core as defined in claim 10, however Radhakrishnan does not disclose the glass substrate includes at least one of quartz, fused silica, or borosilicate glass.
Yun discloses the glass substrate 508 (Fig. 5A, paragraph 0049; and see paragraph 0044, wherein “ quartz”) includes at least one of quartz, fused silica, or borosilicate glass.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Radhakrishnan to form the glass substrate includes at least one of quartz, fused silica, or borosilicate glass, as taught by Yun, since applicant has not disclosed that the claimed material is for a particular unobvious purpose, produces an unexpected result, or is otherwise critical, which are criteria that have been held to be necessary for material limitations to be prima facie unobvious. The claimed material is considered to be a "preferred" or "optimum" material out of a plurality of well known materials that a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have found obvious to provide to the invention of the cited prior art reference, using routine experimentation and optimization of the invention. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Conclusion
/L.B.K/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813