DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Amendment filed March 16, 2026.
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 10-13 and 15 are pending. Claims 3, 5, 9, 14 and 16 are canceled. Claims 1, 7 and 12 are amended. Claims 1, 7 and 12 are independent.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 After Final Rejection
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 received on May 16, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on March 12, 2026. This IDS has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-8, 10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (U.S. 2023/0148366) in view of Hwang et al. (U.S. 2022/0051739; hereinafter “Hwang”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Guo teaches a memory device (Fig. 7), comprising:
a plurality of memory cells (Fig. 5: 112) configured to be programmed to any one of a plurality of program states (see page 1, par. 0006);
a peripheral circuit (Fig. 5: 130) configured to perform a plurality of program loops on the plurality of memory cells (see page 3, par. 0037); and
a program operation controller (Fig. 9A: 321) configured to control the peripheral circuit (Fig. 5: 130) such that a verify operation for a first program state among the plurality of program states is performed and a verify operation for a second program state among the plurality of program states is performed (see page 3, par. 0037 and Table 1),
wherein the verify operation for the second program state is scheduled, prior to the verify operation for the first program state, to be performed from a first program loop after the verify operation for the first program state is performed (“The start loop of a program verification can be defined by the number of programming pulses that have been applied before executing the program verification,” see page 3, par. 0039, see also different scheduling for the verify operation of the second program state in page 4, par. 0049 and 0054).
However, Guo is silent with respect to wherein, when the verify operation for the first program state has passed in a program loop earlier than the first program loop, the verify operation for the second program state is performed from the next program loop after the program loop in which the verify operation for the first program state has passed.
Similar to Guo, Hwang teaches a memory device (Fig. 2) comprising a plurality of memory cells (Fig. 2: 110) configured to be programmed to any one of a plurality of program states (Fig. 5), and a program operation controller (Fig. 2: 130) configured to control the peripheral circuit (Fig. 2: 120) such that a verify operation for a first program state among the plurality of program states is performed and a verify operation for a second program state among the plurality of program states is performed (Fig. 4).
Furthermore, Hwang teaches wherein, when the verify operation for the first program state has passed in a program loop earlier than the first program loop, the verify operation for the second program state is performed from the next program loop after the program loop in which the verify operation for the first program state has passed (Fig. 13 shows a method operation that performs a program loop and a verify operation for a first program state in steps S110 and S120 and multiple program loops for the first program state are performed until the verify operation for the first program state passed. As soon the verify operation for the first program state passed, the verify operation for the second program state will be performed in step S160, i.e. the starting point for the verify operation of second program state is adjustable based on the moment that the verification operation for the first program state passed).
Since Hwang and Guo are from the same field of endeavor, the teachings described by Hwang would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Guo.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Hwang with the teachings of Guo for the purpose of reduce program operation time, see Hwang’s page 14, par. 0286.
Regarding claim 2, Guo in combination with Hwang teaches the limitations with respect to claim 1.
Furthermore, Guo teaches wherein the first program state has a threshold voltage lower than a threshold voltage of the second program state (see Fig. 1 and page 4, par. 0046).
Regarding claim 4, Guo in combination with Hwang teaches the limitations with respect to claim 1.
Furthermore, Guo teaches wherein the program operation controller determines whether the verify operation for the first program state has passed before the first program loop is performed (see page 3, par. 0039).
Regarding independent claim 7, Guo teaches a method of operating a memory device (Fig. 7), comprising:
applying a program voltage (see page 3, par. 0034) to a plurality of memory cells in a program loop among a plurality of program loops (see page 3, par. 0037); and
performing a verify operation for a first program state among a plurality of program states distinguished based on threshold voltages, and performing a verify operation for a second program state among the plurality of program states (see Fig. 1, page 3, par. 0037 and Table 1),
wherein the verify operation for the second program state is scheduled, prior to the verify operation for the first program state, to be performed from a first program loop after the verify operation for the first program state is performed (“The start loop of a program verification can be defined by the number of programming pulses that have been applied before executing the program verification,” see page 3, par. 0039, see also different scheduling for the verify operation of the second program state in page 4, par. 0049 and 0054).
However, Guo is silent with respect to wherein, when the verify operation for the first program state has passed in a program loop earlier than the first program loop, the verify operation for the second program state is performed from the next program loop after the program loop in which the verify operation for the first program state has passed.
Similar to Guo, Hwang teaches a method of operating (Fig. 13) a memory device (Fig. 2) comprising applying a program voltage to a plurality of memory cells in a program loop among a plurality of program loops (Fig. 4).
Furthermore, Hwang teaches wherein, when the verify operation for the first program state has passed in a program loop earlier than the first program loop, the verify operation for the second program state is performed from the next program loop after the program loop in which the verify operation for the first program state has passed (Fig. 13 shows a method operation that performs a program loop and a verify operation for a first program state in steps S110 and S120 and multiple program loops for the first program state are performed until the verify operation for the first program state passed. As soon the verify operation for the first program state passed, the verify operation for the second program state will be performed in step S160, i.e. the starting point for the verify operation of second program state is adjustable based on the moment that the verification operation for the first program state passed).
Since Hwang and Guo are from the same field of endeavor, the teachings described by Hwang would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Guo.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Hwang with the teachings of Guo for the purpose of reduce program operation time, see Hwang’s page 14, par. 0286.
Regarding claim 8, Guo in combination with Hwang teaches the limitations with respect to claim 1.
Furthermore, Guo teaches wherein the first program state has a threshold voltage lower than a threshold voltage of the second program state (see Fig. 1 and page 4, par. 0046).
Regarding claim 10, Guo in combination with Hwang teaches the limitations with respect to claim 1.
Furthermore, Guo teaches before the first program loop is performed, determining whether the verify operation for the first program state has passed (see page 3, par. 0039).
Regarding independent claim 12, Guo teaches a memory device (Fig. 7), comprising:
a plurality of memory cells (Fig. 5: 112) configured to be programmed to any one of a plurality of program states (see page 1, par. 0006);
a peripheral circuit (Fig. 5: 130) configured to perform a plurality of program loops on the plurality of memory cells (see page 3, par. 0037); and
a program operation controller (Fig. 9A: 321) configured to control the peripheral circuit (Fig. 5: 130) such that a verify operation for a second program state having a threshold voltage higher than a threshold voltage for a first program state (see Fig. 1 and page 4, par. 0046) among the plurality of program states is scheduled, prior to the verify operation for the first program state, to be performed from a first program loop among the plurality of program loops (“The start loop of a program verification can be defined by the number of programming pulses that have been applied before executing the program verification,” see page 3, par. 0039, see also different scheduling for the verify operation of the second program state in page 4, par. 0049 and 0054) and such that a program loop in which the verify operation for the second program state is to be performed is changed depending on whether the verify operation for the first program state has passed (see pages 5-6, par. 0072).
However, Guo is silent with respect to wherein, when the verify operation for the first program state has passed in a program loop earlier than the first program loops, the verify operation for the second program state is performed from the next program loop after the program loop in which the verify operation for the first program state has passed.
Similar to Guo, Hwang teaches a memory device (Fig. 2) comprising a plurality of memory cells (Fig. 2: 110) configured to be programmed to any one of a plurality of program states (Fig. 5).
Furthermore, Hwang teaches wherein, when the verify operation for the first program state has passed in a program loop earlier than the first program loop, the verify operation for the second program state is performed from the next program loop after the program loop in which the verify operation for the first program state has passed (Fig. 13 shows a method operation that performs a program loop and a verify operation for a first program state in steps S110 and S120 and multiple program loops for the first program state are performed until the verify operation for the first program state passed. As soon the verify operation for the first program state passed, the verify operation for the second program state will be performed in step S160, i.e. the starting point for the verify operation of second program state is adjustable based on the moment that the verification operation for the first program state passed).
Since Hwang and Guo are from the same field of endeavor, the teachings described by Hwang would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Guo.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Hwang with the teachings of Guo for the purpose of reduce program operation time, see Hwang’s page 14, par. 0286.
Regarding claim 13, Guo in combination with Hwang teaches the limitations with respect to claim 12.
Furthermore, Guo teaches wherein the program operation controller controls the peripheral circuit such that, when the verify operation for the first program state has passed after a program loop after the first program loop, the verify operation for the second program state is performed from the first program loop among the plurality of program loops (see pages 5-6, par. 0072).
Claims 6, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo and Hwang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. 2022/0189557; hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 6, Guo in combination with Hwang teaches the limitations with respect to claim 1.
However, the combination is silent with respect to wherein the program operation controller controls the peripheral circuit such that a verify voltage for verifying the first program state is not generated after the verify operation for the first program state has passed.
Similar to Guo and Hwang, Kim teaches a memory device (Fig. 2), comprising a plurality of memory cells (Fig. 3: MCs) configured to be programmed to any one of a plurality of program state (Fig. 4: P1-P7), a peripheral circuit (Fig. 2: 120) and a program operation controller (Fig. 2: 131).
Furthermore, Kim teaches wherein the program operation controller controls the peripheral circuit such that a verify voltage for verifying the first program state is not generated after the verify operation for the first program state has passed (Fig. 8: shows that Vfym(1) is not generated after verification success).
Since Kim, Hwang and Guo are from the same field of endeavor, the teachings described by Kim would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Guo in combination with Hwang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Guo in combination with Hwang for the purpose of enhances reliability, see Kim’s page 1, par. 0005.
Regarding claim 11, Guo in combination with Hwang teaches the limitations with respect to claim 7.
However, the combination is silent with respect to wherein a verify voltage for verifying the first program state is not generated in a program loop after the verify operation for the first program state has passed.
Similar to Guo and Hwang, Kim teaches a method of operating a memory device (see page 1, par. 0007), comprising applying a program voltage to a plurality of memory cells in a program loop among a plurality of program loops (Fig. 1: Vpgm P1 Final Program Operation).
Furthermore, Kim teaches wherein a verify voltage for verifying the first program state is not generated in a program loop after the verify operation for the first program state has passed (Fig. 8: shows that Vfym(1) is not generated after verification success).
Since Kim, Hwang and Guo are from the same field of endeavor, the teachings described by Kim would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Guo in combination with Hwang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Guo in combination with Hwang for the purpose of enhances reliability, see Kim’s page 1, par. 0005.
Regarding claim 15, Guo in combination with Hwang teaches the limitations with respect to claim 12.
However, the combination is silent with respect to wherein the program operation controller controls the peripheral circuit such that, after the verify operation for the first program state has passed, a verify voltage for verifying the first program state is not generated.
Similar to Guo and Hwang, Kim teaches a memory device (Fig. 2), comprising a plurality of memory cells (Fig. 3: MCs) configured to be programmed to any one of a plurality of program state (Fig. 4: P1-P7), a peripheral circuit (Fig. 2: 120) and a program operation controller (Fig. 2: 131).
Furthermore, Kim teaches wherein the program operation controller controls the peripheral circuit such that, after the verify operation for the first program state has passed, a verify voltage for verifying the first program state is not generated (Fig. 8: shows that Vfym(1) is not generated after verification success).
Since Kim, Hwang and Guo are from the same field of endeavor, the teachings described by Kim would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Guo in combination with Hwang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Guo in combination with Hwang for the purpose of enhances reliability, see Kim’s page 1, par. 0005.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 10-13 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Alfredo Bermudez Lozada/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825