DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-26, and the species: amphiphilic solvent, repeated dilutions, triblock copolymer, polymer containing hydrophobic block and hydrophilic block, and destabilization from intercalating at interfaces, in the reply filed on 3/4/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-10, 12, 14-17, and 19-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/4/26.
Claim 29 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/4/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "the second plurality" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 13, 18, and 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gonzáléz-Perez, A.; Stibius, K. B.; Vissing, T.; Nielsen, C. H.; Mouritsen, O. G. Langmuir 2009, 25(18), 10447-10450 [IDS 11/9/23].
Regarding claims 1-6, 13, 18, and 23-24: Gonzáléz-Perez et al. (Langmuir 2009, 25(18), 10447-10450) discloses methods of producing triblock copolymer membranes [abstract; § Experimental Section], wherein a triblock copolymer consisting of a middle block of poly(dimethylsiloxane) (PDMS) and two side blocks of poly(2-methyloxazoline) (PMOXA) carrying methacrylate end groups (PMOXA7-PDMS60-PMOXA7; 5800 g/mol) [§ materials] was dissolved in chloroform, decane was added to the solution and chloroform was evaporated [§ methods]. An ethanolic solution of gramicidin A (gA) was added to the solution of the triblock copolymer and a membrane was formed in electrolyte conditions of pH 1 HCl. After membrane formation, additional ethanolic gA solution was added (ethanol 46.07 g/mol) and trans-bilayer potentials up to 500 mV were applied across the membrane {electroporation} [§ ion channel insertion]. The resulting membrane has a channel length of ~ 22 Å (2.2 nm) [§ Results and Discussion].
Regarding claims 25-26: Gonzáléz-Perez et al. (Langmuir 2009, 25(18), 10447-10450) discloses the basic claimed method [as set forth above with respect to claim 23].
The claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the chaotropic solvent destabilizes the polymer membrane by intercalating between the hydrophilic blocks [instant claim 25]; the chaotropic solvent destabilizes the polymer membrane by intercalating at interfaces between the hydrophilic blocks and the hydrophobic blocks [instant claim 26], would inherently be achieved, as “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gonzáléz-Perez, A.; Stibius, K. B.; Vissing, T.; Nielsen, C. H.; Mouritsen, O. G. Langmuir 2009, 25(18), 10447-10450 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stava et al. (US 2015/0152495).
Regarding claim 11: Gonzáléz-Perez et al. (Langmuir 2009, 25(18), 10447-10450) discloses the basic claimed method [as set forth above with respect to claim 1].
Gonzáléz-Perez et al. (Langmuir 2009, 25(18), 10447-10450) does not disclose repeated dilutions using a buffer solution. However, Stava et al. (US ‘495) discloses nanopore sequencing [0005], wherein the compartment can be flushed with buffer to avoid further insertions [0169; 0182]. Gonzáléz-Perez et al. (Langmuir 2009, 25(18), 10447-10450) and Stava et al. (US ‘495) are analogous art because they are concerned with a similar technical difficulty, namely membrane preparation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined flushing with a buffer, as taught by Maki et al. (JP ‘717) in the invention of Gonzáléz-Perez et al. (Langmuir 2009, 25(18), 10447-10450), and would have been motivated to do so since Stava et al. (US ‘495) disclose the compartment can be flushed with buffer to avoid further insertions [0169; 0182].
See attached form PTO-892.
Correspondence
/MICHAEL F PEPITONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767