DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 8 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on how any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant should submit an argument under the heading “Remarks” pointing out disagreements with the examiner’s contentions. Applicant must also discuss the Embelton (US 2021/0018549 A1) reference applied against the claims, explaining how the claims avoid the references or distinguish from them.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 10 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4 – 9, 11 – 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Embelton (US 2021/0018549 A1) in view of Mair (US 6,635,820 B1) and Shen (NPL: “Electromagnetic Shielding Effectiveness Analysis of Enclosure Incorporating Frequency Selective Surface”).
Regarding Claim 1, Embelton (US 2021/0018549 A1) discloses a rigid ([0031-0039,0069] “structural” “mechanical device”, “facilitate attachment…to the frame”, “frame mountable”, “steel”, “mechanical mounting element may be a rail”, “rail mount chassis”; structure shown would seem to be as rigid as the structure defined by Applicant’s specification) sidewall (wall of 102 at left side of Fig 1.1-1.2; e.g. front wall as seen on left side of Fig 1.1 about 215 as seen in Fig 2.2; note the structure of the chassis is not structurally defined) of a chassis (102,198; [0036-0037] “chassis”) comprising: an air vent ([0048,0070-0074] “air” “gas flow”) panel (200) within the rigid sidewall (wall of 102 at left side of Fig 1.1-1.2), the air vent panel comprising: a metallic structure layer ([0038-0047,0108]); comprises a radiation filter for a first radiation frequency ([0022-0032,0047,0111,0120-0121]); and a plurality of apertures (at 202) forming a plurality of holes (202) through the metallic structure layer ([0038-0047,0108]) to provide an airflow path ([0049,0050,0072-0078,0084,0087-0089,0095-0098]; air would flow through the apertures) from a second side of the metallic structure layer and through the metallic structure layer.
Note that the claim has not structurally nor materially defined the FSS layer. Embelton does not explicitly disclose a frequency selective surface (FSS) layer attached to a first side of the metallic structure layer, where the FSS layer comprises a radiation filter for a first radiation frequency; and a plurality of apertures forming a plurality of holes through the metallic structure layer and the FSS layer to provide an airflow path from a second side of the metallic structure layer and through the metallic structure layer and the FSS layer.
Mair (US 6,635,820 B1) teaches of a sidewall (Fig 1-2) comprising a layer (2,13) attached to a first side of the metallic structure layer (2’), where the layer comprises a plurality of apertures (at 24) forming a plurality of holes through the metallic structure layer (2’) and the layer (2,13) to provide an airflow path (Column 3, line 25-Column 4, line 7) from a second side of the metallic structure layer and through the metallic structure layer and the layer.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the rigid sidewall disclosed by Embelton, comprising a layer attached to a first side of the metallic structure layer; and a plurality of apertures forming a plurality of holes through the metallic structure layer and the layer to provide an airflow path from a second side of the metallic structure layer and through the metallic structure layer and the layer as taught by Mair, in order to provide reduction in flow resistance, increase cooling air input rate and provide shielding (Mair, Column 3, line 25-Column 4, line 7).
Shen (NPL: “Electromagnetic Shielding Effectiveness Analysis of Enclosure Incorporating Frequency Selective Surface”) teaches of a shielding enclosure having a ventilation FSS structure (see Fig 1,2) comprising an array of ventilation holes (Abstract, pages 1-3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the rigid sidewall comprising the metal and insulating layer with ventilation holes as disclosed by Embelton in view of Mair, wherein the metal and insulating layer are to be a frequency selective surface (FSS) layer as taught by Shen, in order to increase shielding effectiveness with respect to a shielding enclosure and with respect to specified frequencies (Shen, Abstract, pages 1-3), such that the combination of Embelton in view of Mair and Shen teaches a frequency selective surface (FSS) layer attached to a first side of the metallic structure layer, where the FSS layer comprises a radiation filter for a first radiation frequency; and a plurality of apertures forming a plurality of holes through the metallic structure layer and the FSS layer to provide an airflow path from a second side of the metallic structure layer and through the metallic structure layer and the FSS layer.
Regarding Claim 2, Embelton in view of Mair and Shen teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Shen further teaches the rigid sidewall (Fig 1-2) of claim 1, wherein the FSS layer (metal rings on the other side of FR-4 as seen in Fig 1 and the FR-4 itself is a FSS layer) comprises; a first substrate section (FR-4 and metal rings on the other side of FR-4 away in the z-direction of Fig 1) comprising a composite material (FR-4), wherein a first side (side of FR-4 closer to viewer in Fig 1) of the first substrate section is attached to the first side (metal ring closer to viewer in Fig 1) of the metallic structure layer; and a first FSS material layer (metal ring away from viewer in Fig 1) attached to a second side of the first substrate section (FR-4), wherein the second side is opposite the first side of the first substrate section (FR-4), wherein the first FSS material (metal rings) comprises radiation blocking material for the first radiation frequency (page 2; “23 GHz – 32 GHz”).
Regarding Claim 4, Embelton in view of Mair and Shen teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Mair further teaches the rigid sidewall (Fig 1-2) of claim 1, wherein the metallic structure layer (2) comprises a first thickness (as seen in Fig 1-2, 2 is shown with a thickness; Column 1, line 35-Column 2, line 31), wherein the first thickness provides structural integrity (Column 1, line 35-Column 2, line 31; as thickness is greater than zero, the layer would provide some level of structural integrity; note that the claim has not quantitatively defined the level of structural integrity) for the air vent panel.
Regarding Claim 5, Embelton in view of Mair and Shen teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Embelton further teaches the rigid sidewall (Fig 1-2) of claim 1, wherein the plurality of apertures (at 202) forming a plurality of holes (at 202) comprises an array of holes (see Fig 2), wherein airflow along the airflow path ([0049,0050,0072-0078,0084,0087-0089,0095-0098]; air would flow through the apertures) comprises a volume of airflow to cool ([0049,0050,0072-0078,0084,0087-0089,0095-0098]) at least one heat producing electronic component (250; [0049,0050,0072-0078,0084,0087-0089,0095-0098]).
Regarding Claim 6, Embelton in view of Mair and Shen teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Embelton does not disclose the air vent panel of claim 1, wherein air vent panel is positioned in a sidewall of an enclosed chassis, wherein the FSS layer faces an interior section of the enclosed chassis and the metallic structure layer faces an exterior of the enclosed chassis.
Shen further teaches of an air vent panel (Fig 2), wherein air vent panel is positioned in a sidewall (see Fig 2) of an enclosed chassis (page 2, section III, second paragraph), wherein the FSS layer (layer of metallic patterned holes as seen in Fig 1 on one side of FR-4 faces the interior of the enclosure) faces an interior section of the enclosed chassis (see enclosure of Fig 2) and the metallic structure layer (layer of metallic patterned holes as seen in Fig 1 on one side of FR-4 faces the exterior of the enclosure) faces an exterior of the enclosed chassis (see Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the panel as taught by Embelton in view of Mair and Shen, wherein air vent panel is positioned in a sidewall of an enclosed chassis, wherein the FSS layer faces an interior section of the enclosed chassis and the metallic structure layer faces an exterior of the enclosed chassis as taught by Shen, in order to provide an enclosure providing ventilation for electronic equipment, provide heat dissipation for electronic equipment, and shielding effectiveness (Shen, Abstract, pages 1-3). An enclosure also provides a housing for protection of internal electronic equipment from unwanted environmental stresses and debris.
Regarding Claim 7, Embelton in view of Mair and Shen teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Embelton (US 2021/0018549 A1) further teaches of the rigid sidewall (Fig 2), wherein the enclosed chassis (about 106) comprises at least one electronic device (250) positioned in an interior section (see Fig 2.4 showing 250 inside of 106) of the enclosed chassis, wherein the at least one electronic device (250) produces radiation ([0126-0130]) in a first radiation frequency ([0026-0032,0120-0121]), wherein an air vent panel (200,204) reduces ([0024-0028,0082,0090,0190]) an amount of radiation that flows from the interior section of the enclosed chassis to an exterior of the enclosed chassis ([00024-0028] “system may take action to reduce the likelihood of electromagnetic interference propagating into the ambient environment”).
Regarding Claim 8, Embelton discloses an electronic device (Fig 2) comprising: an enclosed chassis (106) comprising a rigid ([0031-0039,0069] “structural” “mechanical device”, “facilitate attachment…to the frame”, “frame mountable”, “steel”, “mechanical mounting element may be a rail”, “rail mount chassis”; structure shown would seem to be as rigid as the structure defined by Applicant’s specification) sidewall (left sidewall in Fig 2.1); an electronic component (250) positioned on a first side (right side of 200 in Fig 2.4) of the rigid sidewall and producing radiation in a first radiation frequency ([0022-0032,0047,0111,0120-0121]); a first air vent panel (200) formed in the rigid sidewall (left wall of Fig 2.1), the first air vent panel (200) comprising: a metallic structure layer ([0038-0047,0108]); and a plurality of holes (202) formed through the metallic structure layer to provide an airflow path ([0049,0050,0072-0078,0084,0087-0089,0095-0098]) from a second side of the metallic structure layer.
Note that the claim has not structurally nor materially defined the FSS layer. Embelton does not explicitly disclose a frequency selective surface (FSS) layer attached to a first side of the metallic structure layer, where the FSS layer comprises a radiation filter for a first radiation frequency; and a plurality of apertures forming a plurality of holes through the metallic structure layer and the FSS layer to provide an airflow path from a second side of the metallic structure layer and through the metallic structure layer and the FSS layer.
Mair (US 6,635,820 B1) teaches of a layer (2,13) attached to a first side of the metallic structure layer (2’), where the layer comprises a plurality of apertures () forming a plurality of holes through the metallic structure layer (2’) and the layer (2,13) to provide an airflow path (Column 3, line 25-Column 4, line 7) from a second side of the metallic structure layer and through the metallic structure layer and the layer.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Embelton, comprising a layer attached to a first side of the metallic structure layer; and a plurality of apertures forming a plurality of holes through the metallic structure layer and the layer to provide an airflow path from a second side of the metallic structure layer and through the metallic structure layer and the layer as taught by Mair, in order to provide reduction in flow resistance, increase cooling air input rate and provide shielding (Mair, Column 3, line 25-Column 4, line 7).
Shen (NPL: “Electromagnetic Shielding Effectiveness Analysis of Enclosure Incorporating Frequency Selective Surface”) teaches of a metallic structure layer (Fig 1-2; metal rings on one side of FR-4 as seen in Fig 1 is a metallic structure layer); a frequency selective surface (FSS) layer (metal rings on the other side of FR-4 as seen in Fig 1 and the FR-4 itself is a FSS layer) positioned on a first side of the metallic structure layer, where the FSS layer (metal rings on the other side of FR-4 as seen in Fig 1 and the FR-4 itself is a FSS layer) comprises a radiation filter for the first radiation frequency (pages 2-3; “23 GHz – 32 GHz”); and a plurality of holes (see Fig 2; see section III) formed through the metallic structure layer (see hole passing through layers in Fig 1) and the FSS layer (see hole passing through layers in Fig 1) to provide an airflow path (“vent”; air can pass from one side to the other of structure shown in Fig 1) from a second side of the metallic structure layer and through the metallic structure layer the FSS layer.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device taught by Embelton in view of Mair, comprising: a metallic structure layer; a frequency selective surface (FSS) layer positioned on a first side of the metallic structure layer, where the FSS layer comprises a radiation filter for the first radiation frequency; and a plurality of holes formed through the metallic structure layer and the FSS layer to provide an airflow path from a second side of the metallic structure layer and through the metallic structure layer the FSS layer as taught by Shen, in order to increase shielding effectiveness with respect to a shielding enclosure and with respect to specified frequencies (Shen, Abstract, pages 1-3), such that the combination of Embelton in view of Shen teaches the first air vent panel comprising: a metallic structure layer; a frequency selective surface (FSS) layer positioned on a first side of the metallic structure layer, where the FSS layer comprises a radiation filter for the first radiation frequency; and a plurality of holes formed through the metallic structure layer and the FSS layer to provide an airflow path from a second side of the metallic structure layer and through the metallic structure layer the FSS layer.
Regarding Claim 9, Embelton in view of Mair and Shen teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Shen further teaches the electronic device (Fig 1-2) of claim 8, wherein the FSS layer (metal rings on the other side of FR-4 as seen in Fig 1 and the FR-4 itself is a FSS layer) comprises; a first substrate section (FR-4 and metal rings on the other side of FR-4 away in the z-direction of Fig 1) comprising a composite material (FR-4), wherein a first side (side of FR-4 closer to viewer in Fig 1) of the first substrate section is attached to the first side (metal ring closer to viewer in Fig 1) of the metallic structure layer; and a first FSS material layer (metal ring away from viewer in Fig 1) attached to a second side of the first substrate section (FR-4), wherein the second side is opposite the first side of the first substrate section (FR-4), wherein the first FSS material (metal rings) comprises radiation blocking material for the first radiation frequency (page 2; “23 GHz – 32 GHz”), wherein the second side (side of FR-4 away from viewer in Fig 1) of the first substrate section (FR-4) and the first FSS material layer face the radiation producing component (see Fig 2; see also Fig 2 of Embelton).
Regarding Claim 11, Embelton in view of Mair and Shen teaches the limitations of the preceding claim, including rigid sidewall.
Embelton does not explicitly disclose the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the rigid sidewall comprises a first rigid sidewall section, wherein the first rigid sidewall section comprises a solid metal material, wherein the first air vent panel is formed adjacent to the first rigid sidewall section, wherein the metallic structure layer comprises a first thickness, and wherein the first thickness provides structural integrity for the first air vent panel.
Shen teaches of an electronic device (Fig 2), wherein a sidewall (wall of enclosure seen in Fig 2) comprises first sidewall section (portion of sidewall without holes), wherein the first sidewall section comprises a solid metal material (page 2, section III, “Take a rectangular shielding enclosure as an example, its size is defined as W × H × L = 250 mm × 150 mm × 50 mm, assuming that the FSS shielding panel is on the front surface of the enclosure and other five surfaces are completely shielded by metal”), wherein the first air vent panel (array of holes as seen in Fig 2) is formed adjacent to the first sidewall section, wherein the metallic structure layer (Fig 1-2; metal rings on one side of FR-4 as seen in Fig 1 is a metallic structure layer) comprises a first thickness (structure shown in Fig 1 shows a thickness), and wherein the first thickness provides structural integrity (as thickness is greater than zero, the layer would provide some level of structural integrity; note that the claim has not quantitatively defined the level of structural integrity) for the first air vent panel.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device taught by Embelton in view of Mair and Shen, wherein the rigid sidewall comprises a first rigid sidewall section, wherein the first rigid sidewall section comprises a solid metal material, wherein the first air vent panel is formed adjacent to the first rigid sidewall section, wherein the metallic structure layer comprises a first thickness, and wherein the first thickness provides structural integrity for the first air vent panel as taught by Shen, as too many holes will deteriorate the shielding ability of the enclosure and to control effects of loss reflection (Shen, page 3 “This is because that too many vent holes will deteriorate the shielding ability of the enclosure. It is worth noting that, to have a good enclosure shielding performance and at the same time to keep effective ventilation from engineering view, the ratio of vent hole array between 45% and 75% is suggested when designing FSS based shielding enclosure. Moreover, comparing the two kinds of shield design at the same vent hole array ratio in the frequency range of 23 GHz - 25.5 GHz (Figs. 3 and 4), SE of the enclosure with the FSS shield is around 20 dB higher than the enclosure using conventional metal shield with a vent hole array. In addition, the resonance in the enclosure with the FSS shield is mitigated greatly due to less reflection”).
Regarding Claim 12, Embelton in view of Mair and Shen teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Embelton further teaches the electronic device (Fig 2) of claim 8, wherein the plurality of apertures (at 202) forming a plurality of holes (202) comprises an array of holes (see Fig 2), wherein airflow along the airflow path (([0049,0050,0072-0078,0084,0087-0089,0095-0098]); note that the claimed “path” has not been structurally defined; air would flow through the apertures) comprises a volume of airflow to cool ([0049,0050,0072-0078,0084,0087-0089,0095-0098]) at least one heat producing electronic component (250; [0049,0050,0072-0078,0084,0087-0089,0095-0098]).
Regarding Claim 13, Embelton in view of Mair and Shen teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Embelton does not explicitly disclose the electronic device of claim 8, the FSS layer faces an interior section of the enclosed chassis and the electronic component and the metallic structure layer faces an exterior of the enclosed chassis.
Shen further teaches of the electronic device (Fig 2), wherein the FSS layer (layer of metallic patterned holes as seen in Fig 1 on one side of FR-4 faces the interior of the enclosure) faces an interior section of the enclosed chassis (see enclosure of Fig 2) and the metallic structure layer (layer of metallic patterned holes as seen in Fig 1 on one side of FR-4 faces the exterior of the enclosure) faces an exterior of the enclosed chassis (see Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the panel as taught by Embelton in view of Mair and Shen, wherein the FSS layer faces an interior section of the enclosed chassis and the metallic structure layer faces an exterior of the enclosed chassis as taught by Shen, in order to provide an enclosure providing ventilation for electronic equipment, provide heat dissipation for electronic equipment, and shielding effectiveness (Shen, Abstract, pages 1-3). An enclosure also provides a housing for protection of internal electronic equipment from unwanted environmental stresses and debris.
Regarding Claim 14, Embelton in view of Mair and Shen teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Embelton (US 2021/0018549 A1) further discloses the electronic device (Fig 2) of claim 13, wherein the electronic component (250) is positioned in the interior section of the enclosed chassis (106), and wherein the first air vent panel (200) reduces ([0024-0028,0082,0090,0190]) an amount of radiation that flows from the interior section of the enclosed chassis to the exterior of the enclosed chassis ([00024-0028] “system may take action to reduce the likelihood of electromagnetic interference propagating into the ambient environment”).
Regarding Claim 15, Embelton further discloses the electronic device (Fig 2) of claim 14, wherein the enclosed chassis (106) further comprises: a second rigid sidewall (right side wall of 106 in Fig 2); and a second air vent panel (204) formed in the second rigid sidewall, wherein the airflow path ([0049,0050,0072-0078,0084,0087-0089,0095-0098] “a gas flow path through the payload module (210). For example, gasses may be able to flow from between the two vents through the internal volume”) extends from the first air vent panel (200) through the interior section of the enclosed chassis, and wherein cooling airflow flows through the first air vent panel (200) and heated exhaust flows ([0048-0050,0056,0072-0083]) through the second air vent panel (204).
Regarding Claim 16, Embelton discloses a network ([0058,0080,0085, 0101,0102]) switch (Fig 2) comprising: an enclosed chassis (106) comprising a rigid ([0031-0039,0069] “structural” “mechanical device”, “facilitate attachment…to the frame”, “frame mountable”, “steel”, “mechanical mounting element may be a rail”, “rail mount chassis”; structure shown would seem to be as rigid as the structure defined by Applicant’s specification) sidewall (left sidewall in Fig 2.1); an electronic component (250) positioned on a first side (right side of 200 in Fig 2.4) of the rigid sidewall and producing radiation in a first radiation frequency ([0022-0032,0047,0111,0120-0121]); a first air vent panel (200) formed in the rigid sidewall (left wall of Fig 2.1), the first air vent panel (200) comprising: a metallic structure layer ([0038-0047,0108]); and a plurality of apertures (at 202) forming a plurality of holes (202) through the metallic structure layer to provide an airflow path ([0049,0050,0072-0078,0084,0087-0089,0095-0098]) from a second side of the metallic structure layer.
Note that the claim has not structurally nor materially defined the FSS layer. Embelton does not explicitly disclose a frequency selective surface (FSS) layer attached to a first side of the metallic structure layer, where the FSS layer comprises a radiation filter for a first radiation frequency; and a plurality of apertures forming a plurality of holes through the metallic structure layer and the FSS layer to provide an airflow path from a second side of the metallic structure layer and through the metallic structure layer and the FSS layer.
Mair (US 6,635,820 B1) teaches of a layer (2,13) attached to a first side of the metallic structure layer (2’), where the layer comprises a plurality of apertures () forming a plurality of holes through the metallic structure layer (2’) and the layer (2,13) to provide an airflow path (Column 3, line 25-Column 4, line 7) from a second side of the metallic structure layer and through the metallic structure layer and the layer.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Embelton, comprising a layer attached to a first side of the metallic structure layer; and a plurality of apertures forming a plurality of holes through the metallic structure layer and the layer to provide an airflow path from a second side of the metallic structure layer and through the metallic structure layer and the layer as taught by Mair, in order to provide reduction in flow resistance, increase cooling air input rate and provide shielding (Mair, Column 3, line 25-Column 4, line 7).
Shen (NPL: “Electromagnetic Shielding Effectiveness Analysis of Enclosure Incorporating Frequency Selective Surface”) teaches of a metallic structure layer (Fig 1-2; metal rings on one side of FR-4 as seen in Fig 1 is a metallic structure layer); a frequency selective surface (FSS) layer (metal rings on the other side of FR-4 as seen in Fig 1 and the FR-4 itself is a FSS layer) positioned on a first side of the metallic structure layer, where the FSS layer (metal rings on the other side of FR-4 as seen in Fig 1 and the FR-4 itself is a FSS layer) comprises a radiation filter for the first radiation frequency (pages 2-3; “23 GHz – 32 GHz”); and a plurality of holes (see Fig 2; see section III) formed through the metallic structure layer (see hole passing through layers in Fig 1) and the FSS layer (see hole passing through layers in Fig 1) to provide an airflow path (“vent”; air can pass from one side to the other of structure shown in Fig 1) from a second side of the metallic structure layer and through the metallic structure layer the FSS layer.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the switch taught by Embelton in view of Mair, comprising: a metallic structure layer; a frequency selective surface (FSS) layer attached to a first side of the metallic structure layer, where the FSS layer comprises a radiation filter for the first radiation frequency; and a plurality of apertures forming a plurality of holes formed through the metallic structure layer and the FSS layer to provide an airflow path from a second side of the metallic structure layer and through the metallic structure layer the FSS layer as taught by Shen, in order to increase shielding effectiveness with respect to a shielding enclosure and with respect to specified frequencies (Shen, Abstract, pages 1-3), such that the combination of Embelton in view of Mair and Shen teaches the first air vent panel comprising: a metallic structure layer; a frequency selective surface (FSS) layer positioned on a first side of the metallic structure layer, where the FSS layer comprises a radiation filter for the first radiation frequency; and a plurality of holes formed through the metallic structure layer and the FSS layer to provide an airflow path from a second side of the metallic structure layer and through the metallic structure layer the FSS layer.
The recitation that “network switch” has not been given patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951).
Regarding Claim 17, Embelton in view of Mair and Shen teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Shen further teaches the network switch (Fig 1-2) of claim 8, wherein the FSS layer (metal rings on the other side of FR-4 as seen in Fig 1 and the FR-4 itself is a FSS layer) comprises; a first substrate section (FR-4 and metal rings on the other side of FR-4 away in the z-direction of Fig 1) comprising a composite material (FR-4), wherein a first side (side of FR-4 closer to viewer in Fig 1) of the first substrate section is attached to the first side (metal ring closer to viewer in Fig 1) of the metallic structure layer; and a first FSS material layer (metal ring away from viewer in Fig 1) attached to a second side of the first substrate section (FR-4), wherein the second side is opposite the first side of the first substrate section (FR-4), wherein the first FSS material (metal rings) comprises radiation blocking material for the first radiation frequency (page 2; “23 GHz – 32 GHz”), wherein the second side (side of FR-4 away from viewer in Fig 1) of the first substrate section (FR-4) and the first FSS material layer face the radiation producing component (see Fig 2; see also Fig 2 of Embelton).
Regarding Claim 19, Embelton in view of Mair and Shen teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Embelton (US 2021/0018549 A1) further discloses the network switch (Fig 2) of claim 16, wherein the electronic component (250) is positioned in the interior section of the enclosed chassis (106), and wherein the first air vent panel (200) reduces ([0024-0028,0082,0090,0190]) an amount of radiation that flows from the interior section of the enclosed chassis to the exterior of the enclosed chassis ([00024-0028] “system may take action to reduce the likelihood of electromagnetic interference propagating into the ambient environment”).
Regarding Claim 20, Embelton in view of Mair and Shen teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Embelton further discloses the network switch (Fig 2) of claim 16, wherein the enclosed chassis (106) further comprises: a second rigid sidewall (right side wall of 106 in Fig 2); and a second air vent panel (204) formed in the second rigid sidewall, wherein the airflow path ([0049,0050,0072-0078,0084,0087-0089,0095-0098] “a gas flow path through the payload module (210). For example, gasses may be able to flow from between the two vents through the internal volume”) extends from the first air vent panel (200) through the interior section of the enclosed chassis, and wherein cooling airflow flows through the first air vent panel (200) and heated exhaust flows ([0048-0050,0056,0072-0083]) through the second air vent panel (204).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROSHN K VARGHESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896