Attorney Docket Number: P202203319US01 (45061)
Filling Date: 03/30/2023
Inventor: Niskayuna et al
Examiner: Bilkis Jahan
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, 20 in the reply filed on 06/18/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-18 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-8, 9-11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al (US 2024/0088148 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 1C), comprising: a substrate 100 (Para. 39); a vertical insulator pillar 104 (Para. 41) extending from the substrate 100; a first stack of horizontal sheets of a first channel device (see annotated figure) coupled to a lateral first side of the vertical insulator pillar 104; a second stack of horizontal sheets of a second channel device (see annotated device) coupled to a lateral second side of the vertical insulator pillar 104, opposite the first stack of horizontal sheets; a first gate stack G4 (Para. 42, see annotated figure) wrapped around the first stack of horizontal sheets; a second gate stack G4 (see annotated figure) wrapped around the second stack of horizontal sheets; a first gate extension (see annotated figure) coupled to a center portion of the first gate stack and extending laterally away from the second gate stack; and a second gate extension (see annotated figure) coupled to a center portion of the second gate stack and extending laterally away from the first gate stack (Fig. 1C, annotated figure)..
Regarding claim 3, Chen further discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the vertical insulator pillar 104 is embedded in the substrate 100.
Regarding claim 7, Chen further discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first stack and the second stack of horizontal sheets each comprise a Silicon Germanium (SiGe) nanosheet stack 202, NS02 (Fig. 2, Para. 48).
Regarding claim 8, Chen further discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein: a lateral side width of the first gate stack (annotated figure) overlapping from the first stack of horizontal sheets NS02 (Para. 41, right side) is substantially similar to a gap between each of the sheets of the first stack of horizontal sheets; and a lateral side width of the second gate stack (annotated figure) overlapping from the second stack of horizontal sheets NS02 (left side of 104) is substantially similar to a gap between each of the sheets of the second stack of horizontal sheets (Fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 9, Chen further discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising a shallow trench isolation (STI) 108 (Para. 39) extending from the substrate to a middle portion of the first gate stack and the second gate stack (Fig. 1C, horizontally extending).
Regarding claim 10, Chen further discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein: the semiconductor device is a forksheet device (Fig. 1C); the first channel device is a p-channel field effect transistor (pFET); and the second channel device is an n-channel field effect transistor (nFET) (Para. 45, CMOS has PFET and NFET).
Regarding claim 11, Chen further discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a width of the vertical insulator pillar is below 10 nm 216 (Para. 54, Fig. 7C).
Regarding claim 12, Chen further discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first gate stack (annotated figure) is not directly coupled to the second gate stack (annotated figure) and is separated by the vertical insulator pillar 104.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 2, 4-5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
6. Claim 20 is allowed.
7. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
8. The applied prior arts neither anticipate nor render the claimed subject matter obvious because they fail to teach the claimed forksheet device, comprising: a first gate extension coupled to a center portion of the first gate stack and extending laterally away from the second gate stack; and a second gate extension coupled to a center portion of the second gate stack and extending laterally away from the first gate stack in combination with all other limitations as recited in claim 1.
Conclusion
BILKIS . JAHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2817
/BILKIS JAHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817