DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a processing unit” in claim 1, which is being interpreted as, “a cutting unit that cuts the workpiece by a circular annular cutting blade” or “a laser processing unit that irradiates the workpiece with a laser beam to execute laser processing” in paragraphs [0008]-[0009].
“a processing feed unit” in claim 1, which is being interpreted as, “the processing feed unit 6 has a pair of X-axis guide rails 6c disposed along the X-axis direction on a bottom part in the opening 4a” in paragraph [0022].
“a rotation unit” in claim 1, which is being interpreted as, “rotational drive source such as a motor” in paragraph [0026].
“a controller” in claim 1, which is being interpreted as, “the controller includes a storing section 50a in which various pieces of information including various processing conditions can be registered and a processing control section 50b that controls the respective constituent elements according to the processing condition registered in the storing section 50a” in paragraph [0038].
“an abnormality detecting unit” in claim 4, which is being interpreted as, “The abnormality detecting section 50c detects the occurrence of an abnormality when the load current value of the rotational drive source of the spindle, the pressure value of the negative pressure that acts at the chuck table 10, or the flow rate of the cutting water has exhibited unusual variation.” (e.g., sensors) in paragraph [0049].
“an imaging unit” in claim 5, which is being interpreted as, “The imaging unit (camera unit) 34 images the front surface 1a of the workpiece 1 held by the chuck table 10. The imaging unit 34 includes an imaging element such as a charge coupled device (CCD) sensor or a complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) sensor” in paragraph [0035].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mori et al. (WO 2019/188518 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mori et al. discloses a processing apparatus (1) that processes a workpiece (10), the processing apparatus comprising:
a chuck table (110 “substrate holding unit”) that holds the workpiece including a plurality of streets (13, “planned division line”) that intersect each other on a holding surface (12);
a processing unit (130, “processing head unit”) that processes the workpiece held by the chuck table along a corresponding one of the streets ([0032], “In the laser processing step S103, the laser processing unit 100 performs laser processing of the substrate 10. The laser processing unit 100 irradiates one point of the planned dividing line 13 (see FIG. 1) with the laser beam LB (see FIG. 6), and moves the irradiation point P1 (see FIG. 6) on the planned dividing line 13. Laser processing for dividing the substrate 10 into a plurality of chips is performed.”);
a processing feed unit (140) that moves the chuck table and the processing unit relative to each other in a direction parallel (144) to the holding surface along a processing feed direction;
a rotation unit (146, “turntable”) capable of rotating the chuck table around a rotation axis along a direction perpendicular to the holding surface; and
a controller (20) that controls the chuck table, the processing unit, the processing feed unit, and the rotation unit, wherein, when processing is suspended with an unprocessed region left while the processing unit is caused to process the workpiece from one end to the other end of the street with relative movement of the chuck table and the processing unit along the processing feed direction by the processing feed unit (Fig. 8), the controller rotates the chuck table by 180 degrees by the rotation unit (Fig. 9) and causes the processing unit to process the unprocessed region of the workpiece from the other end of the street while moving the chuck table and the processing unit relative to each other along the processing feed direction by the processing feed unit (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 3, Mori et al. discloses all of claim 1 as above, wherein the processing unit is a laser processing unit (132) that irradiates the workpiece with a laser beam (LB, Fig. 6) to execute laser processing on the workpiece.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori et al. (WO 2019/188518 A1) in view of Norimoto (US PGPUB 2019/0122928 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Mori et al. discloses all of claim 1 as above.
However, Mori et al. does not explicitly disclose, “wherein the processing unit is a cutting unit that cuts the workpiece by a circular annular cutting blade.”
Norimoto teaches, in the field of semi-conductor processing that cutting (ST2) by a cutting blade (12, Fig. 3) facilitates the entry of plasma formed of a plasma etching gas in a further plasma etching step (ST3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the semi-conductor processing device of Mori et al. to have a cutting blade as taught by Norimoto, as both references are in the same field of endeavor, and one of ordinary skill would appreciate that “In the cutting step ST2, a second cut groove 302 narrower than the first cut groove 301 is formed in a groove bottom 303 of the first cut groove 301 by making the cutting blade 12 of the other cutting unit 11 after the formation of the first cut groove 301 cut into the groove bottom 303 of the first cut groove 301. In the cutting step ST2, the cut groove 300 in the undersurface 7 of the wafer 1 is formed by forming the first cut groove 301 and the second cut groove 302, and thereby entry of plasma formed of a plasma etching gas into the cut groove 300 is facilitated in the plasma etching step ST3. Incidentally, the cut groove 300 in the first embodiment is formed by the first cut groove 301 and the second cut groove 302. After forming the first cut groove 301 and the second cut groove 302 on the undersurface 7 side of all of the streets 6 of the wafer 1 as illustrated in FIG. 4, the wafer processing method proceeds to the plasma etching step ST3. [0040]”
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori et al. (WO 2019/188518 A1) in view of Nakamura (CN 106256476 A).
Regarding claim 4, Mori et al. discloses all of claim 1 as above, wherein the controller has an abnormality detecting section (150, “inspection unit”) that detects an abnormality that occurs while the workpiece is processed by the processing unit.
However, Mori et al. does not explicitly disclose, “and suspends processing of the workpiece by the processing unit when the abnormality is detected by the abnormality detecting section.” Nakamura teaches, in the field of semi-conductor laser processing, “the laser processing device of the invention is equipped with the object to be processed in the laser light irradiated area for monitoring the monitoring component. in the case of the monitoring means detects the laser light line light-concentrating point moves to the front side from the inside of the processing object light which is generated, it is determined as abnormal and stop processing performed by the laser light, therefore, can inhibit the generating of ablation to the minimum limit, can be eliminated when the object to be processed is divided by exerting external force along the interval channel generated cannot be divided into the region of the device one by one. In addition, it is possible to eliminate ablation debris generated by flying to pollute the condenser of the objective. [0013]”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the semi-conductor processing apparatus of Mori et al. to suspend processing when an abnormality is detected as taught by Nakamura, as both references are in the same field of endeavor, and one of ordinary skill would appreciate that, “it is determined as abnormal and stop processing performed by the laser light, therefore, can inhibit the generating of ablation to the minimum limit [0013].”
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Mori et al. and Nakamura teach all of claim 4 as above,
further comprising: an imaging unit (Mori et al., 151 “imaging unit”; Nakamura, 522 “light detector”) that images the workpiece held by the chuck table, wherein the abnormality detecting section causes the imaging unit to image a position processed by the processing unit on the workpiece and detects the abnormality on a basis of a captured image acquired by the imaging unit (Mori et al., “he imaging unit 151 converts the captured image of the substrate 10 into an electrical signal and transmits the electrical signal to the control unit 20. The control unit 20 detects the presence / absence of laser processing abnormality by performing image processing on the image captured by the imaging unit 151. Examples of laser processing abnormalities include deviation between the processing trace 16 and the planned dividing line 13 and chipping. The image processing may be performed in parallel with image capturing or may be performed after image capturing [0046].”; Nakamura [0040]-[0043]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PGPUB 2019/0122928 A1 discloses a wafer processing method.
US PGPUB 2018/0330957 A1 discloses a workpiece processing method.
US PGPUB 2018/0200830 A1 discloses a method of processing workpiece.
US PGPUB 2018/0161921 A1 discloses a substrate processing method.
US Patent 7,732,729 B2 discloses a laser processing device.
US PGPUB 2009/0197351 A1 discloses a laser processing method.
US PGPUB 2009/0042368 A1 discloses a wafer processing method.
US PGPUB 2008/0128396 A1 discloses a laser beam machining system.
US PGPUB 2007/0057378 A1 discloses an electronic device and manufacturing method therefore.
US PGPUB 2002/0031899 A1 discloses an apparatus and method for singulating semiconductor wafers.
/RYAN C CLARK/Examiner, Art Unit 3745