Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claim 1 recites “a method for..” which recites a series of steps and therefore is a process. Claim 18 recites “A system…” therefore is a machine. Claim 20 recites ”A computer-readable medium” therefore is a manufacture.
Step 2A Prong One: Claims 1, 18, and 20 recite limitations “performing” and “based on”. These limitations are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting processor or a producer party, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in a human mind or with the aid of pen and paper. For example, “performing” in the context of this claim encompasses a user mentally, and with the aid of pen and paper writing the changes down on a sheet of paper and examine the list to identify the relevant ones
Step 2A Prong Two: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites the additional elements "transmitting” and “obtaining” this limitation amounts to data gathering which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g); and "transmitting” and “obtaining "; this limitation is a mere generic response of collected and analyzed data which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g). Elements are elements merely invoking a generic computer environment (processor, database, memory) and basic data-gathering or outputting functions (MPEP 21.96.05(f)) hence reciting insignificant extra solution activities.
The one or more hardware processors and one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media in these steps are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The limitations "transmitting” and “obtaining” are recognized by the courts as well-understood, routine , and conventional activities when they are claimed in a merely generic manner. No elements individually or in combination adds “significantly more” than the abstract idea hence are no more than well-understood, routine and conventional computer functions that merely apply the abstract idea on a generic computer. When viewed as an ordered combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not add significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Dependent claims are rejected for depending off independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 10, 12, 14, 17-20 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jagota et al. US2021/0342353 in view of Simpson et al. US8132261 in view of Pilgrim et al. US2005/0278080 in view of Goyal US2008/0275874 in view of Baessler et al. US2017/0024697
Regarding claim 1, Jagota teaches: transmitting, by a document management platform implemented by a computing system, a document package associated with a user, wherein the document package includes a document for electronic execution by the user, an indication of a first name of a user
determining, by the document management platform and based on the similarity score, whether a difference between the second name and the first name satisfies predefined similarity criteria (Jagota see paragraph 0014-0016 machine learning used to match first and last name and organization name of candidate records and prospective records based on similarity of the names determined by a matching score)
applying, by the document management platform, one or more name matching rules describing constraints for determining whether the second name is an allowed alternative representation of the first name (Jagota see paragraph 0014-0016 machine learning to comparing “ed” “jones” and “Dr. Edward” “Jones” and determining that a score that is to be compared to a threshold to determine whether or not a match exists. Determining match based on score reads on matching rules determining whether second name is allowed in alternative representation)
whether the second name is the allowed alternative representation of the first name (Jagota see paragraph 0014-0016 machine learning to comparing “ed” “jones” and “Dr. Edward” “Jones” and determining that a score that is to be compared to a threshold to determine whether or not a match exists)
Jagota does not distinctly disclose: and one or more permissions defining actions the user is authorized to perform in association with the document package
generating, by the document management platform, a similarity score based on a Levenshtein distance between a first metaphone code corresponding to a first name and a second metaphone code corresponding to a second name
wherein the one or more name matching rules include at least one or more of a diacritics name matching rule and
selectively, granting, by the document management platform, the user the one or more permissions to perform the actions specified in the document package, including at least the electronic execution of the electronic document based on determining whether the difference between the second name and the first name satisfies the predefined similarity criteria and based on determining
However, Simpson teaches: and one or more permissions defining actions the user is authorized to perform in association with the document package (Simpson see col.2 lines 44-67 col. 3 lines 1-6 63-67 col. 4 lines 1-19 col. 7 lines 1-18 document to include access rights, member definition and control list indicating who has can have read and or write access to document)
obtaining, by the document management platform, an indication of a second name from an identity document provided by the user; (Simpson see col. 3 lines 63-67 col. 4 lines 1-19 col. 7 lines 1-18 access controller determining digital signature matches member definition of control list to allow user access to document such that controller is a combination of software and hardware)
the one or more permissions to perform the actions specified in the document package (Simpson see col.2 lines 44-67 col. 3 lines 1-6 63-67 col. 4 lines 1-19 col. 7 lines 1-18 document to include access rights, member definition and control list indicating who has can have read and or write access to document)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a method of field name matching as taught by Jagota to include document access as taught by Simpson for the predictable result of organizing data and controlling document access
Jagota does not distinctly disclose: generating, a similarity score based on a Levenshtein distance between a first metaphone code corresponding to a first name and a second metaphone code corresponding to a second name
wherein the one or more name matching rules include at least one or more of a diacritics name matching rule and
selectively, granting, by the document management platform, the user, including at least the electronic execution of the electronic document based on determining whether the difference between the second name and the first name satisfies the predefined similarity criteria and based on determining
However, Pilgrim teaches: selectively, granting, by the document management platform, the user, including at least the electronic execution of the electronic document based on determining whether the difference between the second name and the first name satisfies the predefined similarity criteria and based on determining
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a method of field name matching as taught by Jagota to include comparing identifiers as taught by Pilgrim for the predictable result of organizing data and controlling access
Jagota does not distinctly disclose: generating, a similarity score based on a Levenshtein distance between a first metaphone code corresponding to a first name and a second metaphone code corresponding to a second name
wherein the one or more name matching rules include at least one or more of a diacritics name matching rule and
Goyal teaches: generating, a similarity score based on a Levenshtein distance between a first metaphone code corresponding to a first name and a second metaphone code corresponding to a second name (Goyal see paragraphs 0006 0032 0045 determining matching score based on Levenshstein distance between names based on sound codes from metaphone algorithm)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a method of field name matching as taught by Jagota to include comparing sounds as taught by Goyal for the predictable result of organizing data and determining similar names
Jagota does not distinctly disclose: wherein the one or more name matching rules include at least one or more of a diacritics name matching rule and
Baessler teaches: wherein the one or more name matching rules include at least one or more of a diacritics name matching rule and (Baessler see paragraph 0036 name matching based on diacritics)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a method of field name matching as taught by Jagota to include diacritics as taught by Baessler for the predictable result of organizing data and determining similar names
Regarding claim 2, Jagota teaches: comparing the similarity score with a predefined threshold;
in response to determining that the similarity score is equal to or greater than the predefined threshold, determining, by the document management platform, that the difference between the second name and the first name satisfies the predefined similarity criteria; and (Jagota see paragraph 0014-0016 comparison based on score and if score is above threshold then it is determined to be match)
in response to determining that the similarity score is less than the predefined threshold, determining by the document management platform, that the difference between the second name and the first name does not satisfy the predefined similarity criteria. (Jagota see paragraph 0080 comparison based on score and if score is below threshold then no such determination of matching is made)
Regarding claim 6, Jagota teaches: wherein the document management platform is configured to extract a plurality of features from the first name and the second name. (Jagota see paragraph 0022 each character of first name and last name to be analyzed)
Regarding claim 7, Jagota teaches: wherein the plurality of extracted features includes at least one of: one or more phonetic indexing metrics; or one or more similarity distance metrics. (Jagota see paragraph 0014-0016 machine learning used to match first and last name of candidate records and prospective records based on similarity of the names determined by a matching score such that matching score reads on similarity distance metric)
Regarding claim 10, Jagota teaches: similarity distance between the first name and the second name;
similarity distance between a first metaphone code corresponding to the first name and a second metaphone code corresponding to the second name; or
similarity distance between a first SoundEx code corresponding to the first name and a second SoundEx code corresponding to the second name. (Jagota see paragraph 0014-0016 machine learning used to match first and last name of candidate records and prospective records based on similarity of the names determined by a matching score such that matching score reads on similarity distance metric. Examiner notes the optional recitation)
Regarding claim 12, Jagota teaches: wherein the one or more name matching rules include at least one or more of a case sensitivity matching rule, a transliteration name matching rule, a name type name matching rule, a special character name matching rule, an initial name matching rule. (Jagota see paragraph 0015 0074 suffix such as “ward”)
Regarding claim 14, Jagota teaches: wherein the second name string is extracted from an electronic identity document. (Jagota see paragraph 0015 0016 record indicating a person and personal information)
Regarding claim 17, Jagota teaches: wherein the first name comprises one or more of a given name, a middle name, or a family name. (Jagota see paragraph 0015 0016 first name and last name)
Regarding claims 18-20, note the rejection of claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 10, 14, 17. The instant claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected claims and are therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Claim(s) 3-5, 15 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jagota et al. US2021/0342353 in view of Simpson et al. US8132261 in view of Pilgrim et al. US2005/0278080 in view of Goyal US2008/0275874 in view of Baessler et al. US2017/0024697 in view of Bhogal et al. US2021/0285653
Regarding claim 3, Jagota as modified further teaches: determining, whether the difference between the second name and the first name satisfies the predefined similarity criteria (Jagota see paragraph 0014-0016 machine learning used to match first and last name and organization name of candidate records and prospective records based on similarity of the names determined by a matching score)
Jagota does not teach: determining, using a machine learning model wherein the machine learning model comprises a trained probabilistic multiclass classifier
Bhogal teaches: wherein the machine learning model comprises a trained probabilistic multiclass classifier. (Bhogal see paragraph neural network trained to as multiclass classifier)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a method of field name matching as taught by Jagota to include a neural network as taught by Bhogal for the predictable result of organizing data and controlling document access
Regarding claim 4, Jagota teaches: wherein the machine learning model is trained using a database of name pairs. (Jagota see paragraph 0022 training the machine learning model can include first name and last name)
Regarding claim 5, Jagota teaches: wherein the database of name pairs includes, for each named pair, an indication of whether the name pair matches and one or more of one or more phonetic indexing metrics; or one or more similarity distance metrics. (Jagota see paragraph 0014-0016 machine learning used to match first and last name of candidate records and prospective records based on similarity of the names determined by a matching score such that matching score reads on similarity distance metric)
Regarding claim 15, Jagota as modified further teaches: wherein the machine learning model comprises a trained neural network. (Bhogal see paragraph neural network trained to as multiclass classifier)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a method of field name matching as taught by Jagota to include a neural network as taught by Bhogal for the predictable result of organizing data and controlling document access
Claim(s) 8, 9 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jagota et al. US2021/0342353 in view of Simpson et al. US8132261 in view of Pilgrim et al. US2005/0278080 in view of Goyal US2008/0275874 in view of Baessler et al. US2017/0024697 in view of Dutt et al. US2020/0329297
Regarding claim 8, Jagota does not teach: wherein the one or more phonetic indexing metrics is based on English pronunciation
Dutt teaches: wherein the one or more phonetic indexing metrics is based on English pronunciation. (Dutt see paragraph 0056 Soundex or Metaphone which index names by sound as pronounced in English)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a method of field name matching as taught by Jagota to include phonetics as taught by Dutt for the predictable result of organizing data and accurately matching
Regarding claim 9, Jagota does not teach: wherein the one or more phonetic indexing metrics include at least one of a metaphone code or a SoundEx code.
Dutt teaches: wherein the one or more phonetic indexing metrics include at least one of a metaphone code or a SoundEx code. (Dutt see paragraph 0056 Soundex or Metaphone which index names by sound as pronounced in English)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a method of field name matching as taught by Jagota to include phonetics as taught by Dutt for the predictable result of organizing data and accurately matching
Claim(s) 13, 16 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jagota et al. US2021/0342353 in view of Simpson et al. US8132261 in view of Pilgrim et al. US2005/0278080 in view of Goyal US2008/0275874 in view of Baessler et al. US2017/0024697 in view of Matsumoto et al. US2021/0034853
Regarding claim 13, Jagota does not teach: wherein the second name string is extracted from an image of the identity document captured by the second computing device
Matsumoto teaches: wherein the second name string is extracted from an image of the identity document. (Matsumoto see paragraph 0062 extracting name from image)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a method of field name matching as taught by Jagota to include email and image as taught by Matsumoto for the predictable result of organizing data
Regarding claim 16, Jagota does not teach: wherein the document package includes an email address
Matsumoto teaches: wherein the document package includes an email address. (Matsumoto see paragraph 0062 extracting email address from image)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a method of field name matching as taught by Jagota to include email and image as taught by Matsumoto for the predictable result of organizing data
Response to arguments
Applicant’s argument: Claims should not be rejected under 101 abstract idea
Examiner’s response: Applicant’s argument is considered but is not persuasive. The heart of the claim deals with comparing a first and second name and determining similarity between the two. These steps are steps that could be entirely performed in the mind or using pen and paper hence is an abstract idea. Based on previous interview and based on dependent claims there seems to be an element using machine learning. Examiner believes that specific recitation on using machine learning could potentially overcome the 101 rejection.
Applicant’s argument: Prior art does not teach newly amended claims
Examiner’s response: Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Simpson reference teaches document to include access rights, member definition and control list indicating who has can have read and or write access to document which teaches the claimed concept.
Conclusion
/ALLEN S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153