CTNF 18/194,605 CTNF 81255 DETAILED ACTION 1. Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 2. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/15/23 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Examiner has considered the IDS as to the merits. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. 4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. abstract idea) without anything significantly more. i) In view of Step 1 of the analysis, claim(s) 1 is directed to a statutory category as an article of manufacture as a computer readable storage media, claim 9 is directed to a statutory category as a process, and claim 17 is directed to a machine, which each represent a statutory category of invention. Therefore, claims 1-20 are directed to patent eligible categories of invention. ii) In view of Step 2A, Prong One , claims 1, 9, and 17 recite the abstract idea of generating a formula which constitutes an abstract idea based on Mental Processes based on concepts performed in the human mind, or with the aid of pencil and paper as well as and alternatively as Mathematical Concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations. As per claim 1, and similarly recited in claims 9 and 17, the limitation of “generating one or more candidate formulas from data points in the set of training data; generating values of a numerical error-vector for the one or more candidate formulas, respectively;” would be analogous to a person evaluating another person based on their feedback to any given content and thus fall under Mental Processes. In addition, the steps would constitute Mathematical Concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations. As per claim 1, and similarly recited in claims 9 and 17, the limitation of “processing the one or more candidate formulas, in a reasoning model, wherein an operation of the reasoning model includes: generating values of a theoretical error-vector based on the background theory; generating an output of a performance metric based on a generalization of the theoretical error-vector and a reasoning error;” would be analogous to a person evaluating another person based on their feedback to any given content and thus fall under Mental Processes. In addition, the steps would constitute Mathematical Concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations. As per claim 1, and similarly recited in claims 9 and 17, the limitation of “determining, by the processor , whether one of the candidate formulas is a meaningful and valid new scientific formula, based on a behavior of the reasoning error and the performance metric;” would be analogous to a person evaluating another person based on their feedback to any given content and thus fall under Mental Processes. In addition, the steps would constitute Mathematical Concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations. As to claim 1, and similarly recited in claims 9 and 17, other than reciting “by the processor,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. Dependent claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-20 further narrow the abstract ideas, identified in the independent claims. iii) In view of Step 2A, Prong Two , the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In Claims 1, 9 and 17 , the additional element of “a processor” , and the “computer readable storage media”, in claim 1 , and the “memory” as recited in claim 17 merely uses a computer device as a tool to perform the abstract idea. (MPEP 2106.05(f)) The limitation in claim 1, and similarly recited in claims 9 and 17 of “receiving, by a processor, a background theory, wherein the background theory is associated with a phenomenon being studied;” and “receiving, by the processor, a set of training data associated with the phenomenon being studied;” and “processing the set of training data, in a machine learning model, wherein an operation of the machine learning model includes:” are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea using a computer in its ordinary capacity, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. See MPEP (2106.05(f)) Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)) Additionally the limitation of claim 1, and similarly recited in claims 9 and 17 of “receiving, by a processor, a background theory, wherein the background theory is associated with a phenomenon being studied;” and “receiving, by the processor, a set of training data associated with the phenomenon being studied;” and “processing the set of training data, in a machine learning model, wherein an operation of the machine learning model includes” , alternatively can be viewed as insignificant extra-solution activity, specifically pertaining to mere data gathering/output necessary to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This is akin to selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, which has been identified as extra solution activity. Therefore, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Dependent claims 2-8, 10-16 and 18-20 further narrow the abstract ideas, identified in the independent claims and do not introduce further additional elements for consideration beyond those addressed above. iv) In view of Step 2B, claims 1, 9 and 17 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Claims 1, 9 and 17 the additional element of “a processor” , and the “computer readable storage media”, in claim 1 , and the “memory” as recited in claim 17 merely uses a computer device as a tool to perform the abstract idea. (MPEP 2106.05(f)) The limitations in claim 1, and similarly recited in claims 9 and 17 of “receiving, by a processor, a background theory, wherein the background theory is associated with a phenomenon being studied;” and “receiving, by the processor, a set of training data associated with the phenomenon being studied;” and “processing the set of training data, in a machine learning model, wherein an operation of the machine learning model includes” , are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea using a computer in its ordinary capacity, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. See MPEP (2106.05(f)) Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)) Additionally the limitation in claim 1, and similarly recited in claims 9 and 17 of “receiving, by a processor, a background theory, wherein the background theory is associated with a phenomenon being studied;” and “receiving, by the processor, a set of training data associated with the phenomenon being studied;” and “processing the set of training data, in a machine learning model, wherein an operation of the machine learning model includes” , alternatively can be viewed as an insignificant extra-solution activity, specifically pertaining to mere data gathering/output necessary to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This is akin to selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, which has been identified as extra solution activity. Therefore, the claim as a whole does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, when considered alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As stated in Section I.B. of the December 16, 2014 101 Examination Guidelines, “[t]o be patent-eligible, a claim that is directed to a judicial exception must include additional features to ensure that the claim describes a process or product that applies the exception in a meaningful way, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.” The dependent claims include the same abstract ideas recited as recited in the independent claims, and merely incorporate additional details that narrow the abstract ideas and fail to add significantly more to the claims. Dependent claims 2, 10, and 18 further defines the type of data used in the analysis which merely narrows the abstract idea identified as a mental process and/or mathematical concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations. Dependent claims 3, 11, and 19 further defines the type of output result from the analysis which merely narrows the abstract idea identified as a mental process and/or mathematical concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations. Dependent claims 4, 12, and 20 further defines the type of error data used in the analysis which merely narrows the abstract idea identified as a mental process and/or mathematical concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations. Dependent claims 5 and 13 further defines the type of data used in the analysis which merely narrows the abstract idea identified as a mental process and/or mathematical concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations. Dependent claims 6 and 14 further defines the type of error data used in the analysis which merely narrows the abstract idea identified as a mental process and/or mathematical concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations. Dependent claims 7 and 15 further defines the type of data generated in the analysis which merely narrows the abstract idea identified as a mental process and/or mathematical concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations. Dependent claims 8 and 16 further defines the type of error data generated in the analysis which merely narrows the abstract idea identified as a mental process and/or mathematical concepts including mathematical formulas or equations as well as calculations. v) Accordingly, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without anything significantly more. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. i) Claim 1 recites “determining, by the processor, whether one of the candidate formulas is a meaningful and valid new scientific formula, based on a behavior of the reasoning error and the performance metric.” The terms “meaningful and valid” and “new” in claim 1 are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “meaningful and valid” and “new” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how to determine the scope, metes, and bounds of the phrase “meaningful and valid” and “new” in the context of the claim. As such the claim is rendered vague and indefinite. A similar analysis applies to the analogous recitation of the phrase in claims 9 and 17. ii) Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: how is a determination made “whether one of the candidate formulas is a meaningful and valid new scientific formula” merely “based on a behavior of the reasoning error and the performance metric.” A meaningful and valid new scientific formula is a complex, undefined, and potentially unknown result and it is unclear how the mere behavior of an error or performance metric would lead to such a complex, undefined, and potentially unknown result. As such the claims lack the essential steps necessary to create such a result, and let alone to determine if such a result was generated. As such the claims are rendered vague and indefinite. iii) Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are: how is a determination made “whether one of the candidate formulas is a meaningful and valid new scientific formula” merely “based on a behavior of the reasoning error and the performance metric.” A meaningful and valid new scientific formula is a complex, undefined, and potentially unknown result and it is unclear how the mere behavior of an error or performance metric would lead to such a complex, undefined, and potentially unknown result. As such the claims lack the essential steps necessary to create such a result, and let alone to determine if such a result was generated. As such the claims are rendered vague and indefinite. iv) Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: how is a determination made “whether one of the candidate formulas is a meaningful and valid new scientific formula” merely “based on a behavior of the reasoning error and the performance metric.” A meaningful and valid new scientific formula is a complex, undefined, and potentially unknown result and it is unclear how the mere behavior of an error or performance metric would lead to such a complex, undefined, and potentially unknown result. As such the claims lack the essential steps necessary to create such a result, and let alone to determine if such a result was generated. As such the claims are rendered vague and indefinite. Appropriate correction is required. All claims dependent upon a rejected base claim are rejected by virtue of their dependency. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-15 AIA 6. Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being clearly anticipated by Cornelio, Cristina, et al. "AI Descartes: combining data and theory for derivable scientific discovery." arXiv preprint arXiv:2109.01634 (2021) . Regarding Claim 1: The reference discloses A computer program product for automated discovery of new scientific formulas, the computer program product comprising: one or more computer readable storage media, and program instructions collectively stored on the one or more computer readable storage media, the program instructions comprising: receiving, by a processor, a background theory, wherein the background theory is associated with a phenomenon being studied; (Figure 3, top right, “Background Theory”) receiving, by the processor, a set of training data associated with the phenomenon being studied; (Figure 3, top left, “Prior models for model refinement”) processing the set of training data, in a machine learning model, wherein an operation of the machine learning model includes: generating one or more candidate formulas from data points in the set of training data; (Figure 3, right, “Reasoning System”) generating values of a numerical error-vector for the one or more candidate formulas, respectively; (Figure 3, left middle, “Symbolic Regression”) processing the one or more candidate formulas, in a reasoning model, wherein an operation of the reasoning model includes: (Figure 3, right middle, “Deductive Reasoning”) generating values of a theoretical error-vector based on the background theory; (Figure 3, left middle, “Symbolic Regression, assess error”) generating an output of a performance metric based on a generalization of the theoretical error-vector and a reasoning error; and (Figure 3, middle, “Modeler Preferences including Complexity/Accuracy”) determining, by the processor, whether one of the candidate formulas is a meaningful and valid new scientific formula, based on a behavior of the reasoning error and the performance metric. (Figure 3, right bottom, “New Formula Discovered”) Regarding Claim 2: The reference discloses The computer program product of claim 1, wherein the performance metric is based on a reasoning-based dependency analysis. (Figure 3. System overview. Solid lines and boundaries correspond to our system, and dotted lines and boundaries indicate standard techniques for scientific discovery (human-driven or artificial) that have not been integrated into the current system. The present system generates hypotheses from data using symbolic regression, which are posed as conjectures to an automated deductive reasoning system, which proves or disproves them based on background theory or provides reasoning-based quality measures .) Regarding Claim 3: The reference discloses The computer program product of claim 2, wherein performing the generation of the output performance metric using the reasoning-based dependency analysis, includes evaluating the behavior of the reasoning error when extending the set of training data one or more orders of magnitude. (Page 7, last paragraph, “Variable dependence: In order to check if the functional dependence of a candidate formula on a specific variable is accurate , we compute the generalization error over a domain S where the domain of this variable is extended by an order of magnitude beyond the smallest interval containing the values of the variable in the dataset. Thus we can check whether there exist special conditions under which the formula does not hold. We modify the endpoints of an interval by one order of magnitude, one variable at a time.”) Regarding Claim 4: The reference discloses The computer program product of claim 1, wherein the reasoning error includes one or more of a point-wise reasoning error or an interval error. (Page 8, Table 1, “Numerical error values, point wise reasoning error values.”) Regarding Claim 5: The reference discloses The computer program product of claim 1, wherein the background theory is a file including a set of axioms associated with the phenomenon. (Page 3, first paragraph, “Background Knowledge”) Regarding Claim 6: The reference discloses The computer program product of claim 1, wherein the program instructions further comprise determining a value of the reasoning error, using a binary search strategy in conjunction with a theorem prover. (Page 18, middle paragraph, “computed by using binary search over the values of the relative error”) Regarding Claim 7: The reference discloses The computer program product of claim 1, wherein the program instructions further comprise performing the generation of the values of the numerical error-vector on a finite set of the data points. (Page 7, first sentence “relative error” applied to “m data points.”) Regarding Claim 8: The reference discloses The computer program product of claim 1, wherein performing the generation of the values of the numerical error-vector for the one or more candidate formulas, respectively, includes generating vector values considering additional points in between the data points in the set of training data. (Page 7, middle paragraph, “Let βr ∞,S be calculated for a candidate formula f(x) over a domain S that is not equal to the original set of data points as follows:”) Regarding Claim 9: See rejection for claim 1. Regarding Claim 10: See rejection for claim 2. Regarding Claim 11: See rejection for claim 3. Regarding Claim 12: See rejection for claim 4. Regarding Claim 13: See rejection for claim 5. Regarding Claim 14: See rejection for claim 6. Regarding Claim 15: See rejection for claim 7. Regarding Claim 16: See rejection for claim 8. Regarding Claim 17: See rejection for claim 1. Regarding Claim 18: See rejection for claim 2. Regarding Claim 19: See rejection for claim 3. Regarding Claim 20: See rejection for claim 4 . Conclusion 7. All Claims are rejected. 07-96 AIA 8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. i) Tong, Junkai, et al. "Deep learning inversion with supervision: A rapid and cascaded imaging technique." Ultrasonics 122 (2022): 106686. ii) Subber, Waad, et al. "Data-based discovery of governing equations." arXiv preprint arXiv:2012.06036 (2020). iii) Desjardins-Proulx, Philippe, Timothée Poisot, and Dominique Gravel. "Scientific theories and artificial intelligence." bioRxiv (2017): 161125. 9. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Saif A. Alhija whose telephone number is (571) 272-8635. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F, 10:00-6:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Renee Chavez, can be reached at (571) 270-1104. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Informal or draft communication, please label PROPOSED or DRAFT, can be additionally sent to the Examiners fax phone number, (571) 273-8635. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). SAA /SAIF A ALHIJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2186 Application/Control Number: 18/194,605 Page 2 Art Unit: 2186 Application/Control Number: 18/194,605 Page 3 Art Unit: 2186 Application/Control Number: 18/194,605 Page 4 Art Unit: 2186 Application/Control Number: 18/194,605 Page 5 Art Unit: 2186 Application/Control Number: 18/194,605 Page 6 Art Unit: 2186 Application/Control Number: 18/194,605 Page 7 Art Unit: 2186 Application/Control Number: 18/194,605 Page 8 Art Unit: 2186 Application/Control Number: 18/194,605 Page 9 Art Unit: 2186 Application/Control Number: 18/194,605 Page 10 Art Unit: 2186 Application/Control Number: 18/194,605 Page 11 Art Unit: 2186 Application/Control Number: 18/194,605 Page 12 Art Unit: 2186