DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4-7, 14-15, 17 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species and sub-species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11 February 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A beam generating device configured to generate a charged particle beam in claim 1. (accelerator see paragraph [0040] of the published application)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “wherein the charged particle beam…converges at a treatment center point within a range where the treatment center point is taken as a center point within a range where the treatment center point is taken as a center” is vague and indefinite because the claim does not provide a discernable boundary on what performs the function. The recited function does not follow from the structure recited in the claim i.e. the focusing magnets, so it is unclear whether the function requires some other structure or is simply a result of operating the focusing magnets in a certain manner. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to draw a clear boundary between what is and is not covered by the claim. See MPEP 2173.05(g) for more information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-11, 13, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mizushima et al. (US pgPub 2019/0311879).
Regarding claim 1, Mizushima et al. teach a radiation therapy device (fig. 1a), comprising:
a beam generating device (upstream accelerator side regarded as the x- axis, thus an accelerator, see paragraph [0099] (note beam generator device invokes 112(f) and the disclosure teaches the structure to be an accelerator)) configured to generate a charged particle beam (accelerator supplies charged particle beam [0099], thus generates from source and accelerates therefrom);
a scanning magnet (20) configured to diverge the charged particle beam (via deflection the charged particle beam is diverged as indicated by ray traces in figure 1a see paragraph [0097] for various angles of deflection); and
one or more focusing magnets (focusing magnet 10 comprising magnetic field regions 15a/15b. Alternatively, Figure 1b shows 15a made up of poles 12a and 15b made up of poles 12b, each pole pair 12a/12b is alternatively interpreted as two focusing magnets) configured to deflect the charged particle beam diverged by the scanning magnet (as seen in figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, Mizushima et al. teach wherein each focusing magnet includes: an entrance configured for injection of the charged particle beam; and an exit configured for emission of the charged particle beam (see annotated figure 1a below).
Regarding claim 3, Mizushima et al. teach wherein the charged particle beam deflected by the focusing magnets converges at a treatment center point within a range where the treatment center point is taken as a center ([0093] “The focusing magnet 10 is configured to focus the charged particle beam incident from a wide range of deflection angle ϕ with respect to the x-axis on an xy-plane, to an isocenter O”. That is 10 converges (focuses at a treatment center point (i.e. isocenter O)) within a wide range of deflection, wherein the isocenter O is the treatment center point) and a central angle is greater than 180º (O is a point thus having a central angle of 365 degrees).
Regarding claim 8, Mizushima et al. teach wherein a count of the focusing magnets is at least two (fig. 1b, 12a and 12b), the at least two focusing magnets are arranged adjacently or oppositely (as seen in figure 1b); and when the at least two focusing magnets are arranged oppositely, the exits of the at least two focusing magnets are opposite (exits in annotated figure above are arranged opposite of x axis).
Regarding claim 9, Mizushima et al. teach wherein a deflection angle of the charged particle beam is within a range of 0-150º ([0097] teaches max ranges of deflection by bending magnet 20 within this range)
Regarding claim 10, Mizushima et al. teach wherein each focusing magnet bends towards the exit of each focusing magnet (magnet 10 bends towards the exit as seen in figure 1a), and the exit of each focusing magnet is arc (as seen in annotated figure above, exit forms an arc).
Regarding claim 11, Mizushima et al. teach wherein a magnetic field intensity of a magnetic field generated by the focusing magnets is not uniformly distributed ([0107] teaches a non-uniformity in the magnetic field distribution).
Regarding claim 13, Mizushima et al. teach wherein each focusing magnet (interpreting single focusing magnet 10) includes a first portion (fig. 1b, left side 12a/12b interpreted as first portion) and a second portion (right side 12a/12b interpreted as second portion), a gap is arranged between the first portion and the second portion (gap between left and right sides indicated by arrows), and a dimension of a middle position of the gap is greater than a dimension of two ends position of the gap in a vertical direction (in y direction (vertical dimension) gap between left and right 12a and left and right 12b is smaller than the gap at isocenter “O”).
Regarding claim 16, Mizushima et al. teach wherein a dimension of the gap gradually decreases from the middle position to the two ends position (see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 18, Mizushima et al. teach wherein a trajectory of the gap from the middle position to the two ends position is an arc (as seen in figure 1a, a trajectory can be drawn from the middle line along the x axis (i.e. along middle gap in annotated figure 1b above) along an arc).
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kats (Kats, “gantry free transport line for Proton/Ion therapy”, 2017) (copy of publication submitted herewith).
Regarding claim 1, Kats teaches a radiation therapy device (fig. 5-6), comprising:
a beam generating device (proton beam treatment requires an upstream accelerator) configured to generate a charged particle beam (particle beam entering magnet to deflect by 20 degrees in figures 5 and 6);
a scanning magnet (magnet in figures 5 and 6 deflecting by 20 degrees) configured to diverge the charged particle beam (via deflection the charged particle beam is diverged to either upper path to 30 degree magnets or lower path to 30 degree magnets); and
one or more focusing magnets (30 degree magnets in upper and lower path are interpreted to be focusing magnets because they direct the beam to a point on the patient as illustrated in figures 5 and 6) configured to deflect the charged particle beam diverged by the scanning magnet (30 degree magnets direct diverged beam from 20 degree magnet from respective upper and lower paths to the patient).
Regarding claim 12, Kats teaches a length of each focusing magnet is less than or equal to 4 m (figures 5-6 show 30 degree magnets have a length less than 2 m); and a width of each focusing magnet is less than or equal to 2m (the vertical direction of the magnets is interpreted to be the width, since the magnets are rectangular the width is also less than 2 meters since the length is indicated to be less than 2 meters).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizushima et al. as evidenced by Yan et al. (US20230051255) or Mitsumoto (EP3136400) (copy of publication submitted herewith)..
Regarding claim 12, Mizushima teaches the focusing magnet in the irradiation room with a low ceiling ([0126]) and reducing installation space ([0074]) and a width of the magnet much smaller than the length (as evident from figure 1b).
However, Mizushima fails to specifically disclose the length and width of the focusing magnet. Therefore fails to disclose a length of each focusing magnet is less than or equal to 4 m; and a width of each focusing magnet is less than or equal to 2m.
However, Yan et al. is evidence that a conventional radiation treatment room has a height of 3 m ([0036]), similarly Mitsumoto is evidence that an irradiation chamber may measure 3 meters in height ([0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the length (i.e. height) of the focusing magnet 10 to be less than 4 meters, because a conventional treatment room is known to have a height of 3 meters as evidenced by Yan or Mitsumoto, therefore by having a length (height) less than the height of the room would allow for the focusing magnet to be within the irradiation room as suggested by Mizushima such that the ceiling height may be kept low, thus reducing the space requirement for treatment. Moreover, since it would be obvious for the height to be less than or equal to 4 m, it would further be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the width of the magnet 10 would be less than or equal to 2 m as the width of magnet 10 seen in figures 1b and 4b is less than half of the height (i.e. length) of magnet 10. Alternatively, interpreting the focusing magnets to be 12a/12b, in a room of 3 meters height, the height of 12a/12b would be far less than 3 meters and the width would be far less than 2 meters as the width of 12a/12b is less than the length of each magnet.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US11058899 is similar to Mizushima discussed above and would anticipate at least claim 1. Additionally figure 10 shows an arrangement where the magnets have offset portions that would be sufficient to anticipate claim 13.
CN115569312 anticipates also anticipates claim 1 (see figure 1). Note: deflection occurs greater than 180 degrees (i.e. claim 3) (copy of publication submitted herewith).
CN1139013 (cited in IDS of 07/02/2024) also anticipates at least claim 1, see figure 1.
FR2201523 also anticipates claims 1 and 3 (submitted with IDS of 07/02/2024, see figure 2).
/MICHAEL J LOGIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881 18