DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an image forming unit” in claim 2, which is being interpreted as, “an imagine forming system 27, a magnifying image forming lens 28, and a telecentric lens 29” as indicated in [0029].
“an image forming system” as indicated as a component of “an image forming unit” and in being interpreted as, “a image lens formed of a single lens or a coupling lens” or “a biconvex lens and a biconcave lens sequentially disposed” or “a spatial light modulator” that has the functions of the image forming lens as indicated in [0030].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawai (JP 2003-080389A) in view of Tanaka et al. (JP 2021-115613A).
Regarding claim 1, Sawai discloses a laser beam irradiation apparatus (Fig. 1, abstract “a laser beam machining”) comprising:
a holding table (“semiconductor substrate 101 place on the moving table” [0002]) that holds a plate-shaped workpiece (101);
a laser beam irradiation unit (“laser oscillator (not shown)” [0013]) that irradiates the plate-shaped workpiece (Fig. 5) held by the holding table with a laser beam (14);
However, Sawai does not disclose, “a controller that controls the laser beam irradiation unit,
wherein the laser beam irradiation unit includes
a laser beam source that emits the laser beam, and
a spatial light modulator that modulates the laser beam emitted from the laser beam source, according to a phase pattern, and emits the modulated laser beam,
the controller has
a storing section that stores the phase pattern to be displayed in the spatial light modulator, and
a rotation instructing section that rotates the phase pattern stored in the storing section, and
wherein the controller uniformizes a power density of the laser beam with which the plate-shaped workpiece is irradiated, by rotating the phase pattern while the plate-shaped workpiece is irradiated with the laser beam.”
Tanaka et al. teaches, in the field of laser processing, a laser processing apparatus (1) that irradiates a workpiece (100) with a laser beam (21) emitted from a laser oscillator (20), a control unit (90), a plurality of mask patterns (200) of the laser beam are prepared (91, 92 “pattern creation unit” and “pattern storage unit”, and the spatial light modulator adjusts the output of the laser beam by sequentially changing the plurality of mask patterns while irradiating the workpiece with the laser beam, resulting in the time required for output adjustment by rotating the optical component itself to be reduced ([0013]-[0018], [0027]-[0031], [0045]-[0054], Fig. 1 – Fig. 3, Fig. 10)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the laser irradiation unit of Sawai to have a controller with a spatial light modulator as taught by Tanaka et al., as both references are in the same field of endeavor, and one of ordinary skill would appreciate that, “On the other hand, in the present invention, since the output of the laser beam 21 can be controlled by using the spatial light modulator 24, the time required for driving the conventional motor can be reduced, and the time required for output adjustment can be shortened. be able to. As a result, the time required for processing the workpiece 100 can be suppressed, so that a decrease in productivity due to output adjustment can be suppressed. [0054]”
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Sawai and Tanaka et al. teach all of claim 1 as above, wherein the laser beam irradiation unit further includes an image forming unit (Tanaka et al., 24 “spatial light modulator”) that executes the image formation of the laser beam modulated by the spatial light modulator, to execute irradiation of the plate shaped workpiece (Tanaka et al., 404 “irradiation step”).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawai (JP 2003-080389A) and Tanaka et al. (JP 2021-115613A) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kobayashi et al. (JP 2021-102217A).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Sawai and Tanaka et al. teach all of claim 2 as above.
However, the combination of Sawai and Tanaka et al. do not teach or suggest,
“wherein the plate-shaped workpiece includes a substrate over which a plurality of semiconductor chips having bumps on one surface are mounted with interposition of the bumps, and
reflow of the bumps included in an irradiated range of the laser beam is cause by irradiating a region corresponding to the semiconductor chips mounted over the substrate with the laser beam.”
Kobayashi et al. teaches in the field of semiconductor chip processing with a laser light source (51), a substrate (20) over which a plurality of semiconductor chips (30) having bumps (32) on one surface are mounted with interposition of the bumps ([0023]-[0024]), and reflow of the bumps included range of the laser beam is caused by irradiating a region corresponding to the semiconductor chips mounted over the substrate with the laser beam [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the laser processing apparatus of the combination of Sawai and Tanaka et al. (which includes a spatial light modulator or LCOS) to reflow bumps in the semiconductor substrate, and one of ordinary skill would appreciate that, “As a process superior to the above process, for example, a laser reflow process as disclosed in Patent Document 1 is known. In this laser reflow process, a laser beam is irradiated from above the chip to melt the bumps within a predetermined range of the mounting surface of the substrate, and the chip is connected to the electrodes on the substrate.
In such a laser reflow process, by irradiating a plurality of chips with a laser beam, higher productivity can be obtained than in the TCB process, and there is an advantage that a large warp does not occur on the substrate as in the mass reflow process. is there. (Background-Art [0005]-[0006])”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2022138581 A1 discloses a laser processing apparatus and laser processing method.
CN 112518110 A discloses a laser processing method and laser processing device.
US PGPUB 2016/0193692 A1 discloses devices and method for monitoring, in particular for regulating a cutting process; including an LCOS [0020].
/RYAN C CLARK/Examiner, Art Unit 3745