Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed September 8, 2023, fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Foreign Patent Documents, Cite No. 3 was not provided in English; therefore, it has not been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first SOC range" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the third charge" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The dependent claims inherit and fail to cure the deficiencies of claims 1 and 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kirimoto JP-2014/068467 (hereinafter Kirimoto).
Regarding Claim 1, Kirimoto teaches a battery charging method (Kirimoto, Paras. [0006] – [0007]), comprising: during charging of a battery (Kirimoto, Figs. 1 and 5, “battery pack 11TT” during “charging period 320”; Para. [0030]), upon determining that a state of charge (SOC) of the battery (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “SOC TT”) reaches an SOC range (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “2SOC”; Paras. [0027] – [0028], the “peak SOC range”): adjusting, within a range from a minimum boundary value of the SOC range (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “SOCST”; Paras. [0027] – [0028], “the lower limit SOC of the peak SOC range”) to a set SOC (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “2SOC”), a charge rate of the battery from a first charge rate (Kirimoto, Fig. 8, “350”; Paras. [0030] – [0032], “ICC1”) down to a second charge rate (Kirimoto, Fig. 8, “350”; Paras. [0030] – [0032], “ICC2”); and adjusting, within a range from the set SOC (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “2SOC”) to a maximum boundary value of the first SOC range (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “SOCED”; Paras. [0027] – [0028], “the upper limit SOC of the peak SOC range”. It is assumed this “first SOC range” is the same as the range discussed previously in the claim, i.e. “2SOC” used in this rejection), the charge rate of the battery from the second charge rate up to the first charge rate or a third charge rate (Kirimoto, Fig. 8, “350”; Paras. [0030] – [0032], “ICC3”).
Regarding Claim 2, The teaching of the Kirimoto reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Kirimoto teaches wherein: the set SOC is a first set SOC (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “2SOC”); and adjusting the charge rate of the battery from the second charge rate (Kirimoto, Fig. 8, “350”; Paras. [0030] – [0032], “ICC2”) up to the first charge rate or the third charge (Kirimoto, Fig. 8, “350”; Paras. [0030] – [0032], “ICC3”. It is assumed the applicant is referring to the “third charge rate” as stated in claim 1.) comprises: maintaining the charge rate of the battery at the second charge rate (Kirimoto, Fig. 8, “350”; Paras. [0030] – [0032], “ICC2”) in response to the SOC of the battery reaching a range from the first set SOC (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “2SOC”; Paras. [0027] – [0028], the “peak SOC range”) to a second set SOC (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “3SOC”; Paras. [0027] – [0028]); and adjusting the charge rate of the battery from the second charge rate (Kirimoto, Fig. 8, “350”; Paras. [0030] – [0032], “ICC2”) up to the first charge rate (Kirimoto, Fig. 8, “350”; Paras. [0030] – [0032], “ICC3” Where “ICC1 = ICC3” as stated in paragraph [0030].) in response to the SOC of the battery reaching a range from the second set SOC to the maximum boundary value of the SOC range (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “SOCED”; Paras. [0027] – [0028], “the upper limit SOC of the peak SOC range”.
Regarding Claim 3, The teaching of the Kirimoto reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Kirimoto teaches wherein adjusting the charge rate of the battery up from the second charge rate (Kirimoto, Fig. 8, “350”; Paras. [0030] – [0032], “ICC2”) to the first charge rate or the third charge rate (Kirimoto, Fig. 8, “350”; Paras. [0030] – [0032], “ICC3” Where “ICC1 = ICC3” as stated in paragraph [0030].) comprises: adjusting the charge rate of the battery from the second charge rate up to the first charge rate in response to the SOC of the battery reaching the range from the set SOC (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “2SOC”) to the maximum boundary value of the SOC range (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “SOCED”; Paras. [0027] – [0028], “the upper limit SOC of the peak SOC range”.
Regarding Claim 7, The teaching of the Kirimoto reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Kirimoto teaches wherein the adjusting the charge rate of the battery from the second charge rate up (Kirimoto, Fig. 8, “ICC2”) to the first charge rate or the third charge rate (Kirimoto, Fig. 8, “ICC3”) comprises: adjusting the charge rate of the battery from the second charge rate (Kirimoto, Fig. 8, “ICC2”) up to the third charge rate (Kirimoto, Fig. 8, “ICC3”) in response to the SOC of the battery (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “SOC TT”) reaching the range from the set SOC (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “2SOC”; Paras. [0027] – [0028], the “peak SOC range”) to the maximum boundary value of the SOC range (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “SOCED”; Paras. [0027] – [0028], “the upper limit SOC of the peak SOC range”, wherein the third charge rate (Kirimoto, Fig. 8, “ICC3”) is greater than the first charge rate (Kirimoto, Fig. 8, “350”; Paras. [0030] – [0032], Where “ICC1 < ICC3” as stated in paragraph [0030].).
Regarding Claim 8, The teaching of the Kirimoto reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 7/1. Furthermore, Kirimoto teaches further comprising: charging the battery by using a charging strategy of decreasing from a fourth charge rate (Kirimoto, Fig. 8, “350”; Paras. [0030] – [0032], Where the “fourth charge rate” is not separately illustrated, but understood to be the charge rate prior to the chart after going through the first three charge rates where the last, or forth in this case, charge rate is higher than charge rate ICC1, as understood from the disclosure as a whole) to the first charge rate (Kirimoto, Fig. 8, “350”; Paras. [0030] – [0032], “ICC1”), in response to the SOC of the battery being in a range from zero to the minimum boundary value of the SOC range (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “SOCST”; Paras. [0027] – [0028], “the lower limit SOC of the peak SOC range”).
Regarding Claim 9, The teaching of the Kirimoto reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 7/1. Furthermore, Kirimoto teaches wherein the set SOC is a first set SOC (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “2SOC”; Paras. [0027] – [0028], the “peak SOC range”); the method further comprising: adjusting the charge rate of the battery from the third charge rate (Kirimoto, Fig. 8, “350”; Paras. [0030] – [0032], “ICC3”) up to a fourth charge rate and then from the fourth charge rate down to the first charge rate (Kirimoto, Fig. 8, “350”; Paras. [0030] – [0032], Where the “fourth charge rate” is not separately illustrated, but understood to be the charge rate prior to the chart after going through the first three charge rates where the last, or forth in this case, charge rate is higher than the first charge rate ICC1, as understood from the disclosure as a whole), in response to the SOC of the battery reaching a range from the maximum boundary value of the SOC range (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “SOCED”; Paras. [0027] – [0028], “the upper limit SOC of the peak SOC range”) to a second set SOC (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “3SOC”; Paras. [0027] – [0028]).
Regarding Claim 10, The teaching of the Kirimoto reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Kirimoto teaches further comprising: charging the battery by using a charging strategy of decreasing from a fourth charge rate to the first charge rate (Kirimoto, Fig. 8, “350”; Paras. [0030] – [0032], Where the “fourth charge rate” is not separately illustrated, but understood to be the charge rate prior to the chart after going through the first three charge rates where the last, or forth in this case, charge rate is higher than the first charge rate ICC1, as understood from the disclosure as a whole), in response to the SOC of the battery being in a range (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “1SOC”; Paras. [0027] – [0028]) from zero to the minimum boundary value of the SOC range (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “SOCST”; Paras. [0027] – [0028], “the lower limit SOC of the peak SOC range”).
Regarding Claim 11, The teaching of the Kirimoto reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Kirimoto teaches wherein the set SOC is a first set SOC (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “2SOC”; Paras. [0027] – [0028], the “peak SOC range”); the method further comprising: adjusting the charge rate of the battery up to a fourth charge rate and then from the fourth charge rate down to the first charge rate (Kirimoto, Fig. 8, “350”; Paras. [0030] – [0032], Where the “fourth charge rate” is not separately illustrated, but understood to be the charge rate prior to the chart after going through the first three charge rates where the last, or forth in this case, charge rate is higher than the first charge rate ICC1, as understood from the disclosure as a whole), in response to the SOC of the battery reaching a range from the maximum boundary value of the SOC range (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “SOCED”; Paras. [0027] – [0028], “the upper limit SOC of the peak SOC range”) to a second set SOC (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “3SOC”; Paras. [0027] – [0028]).
Regarding Claim 12, The teaching of the Kirimoto reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Kirimoto teaches wherein the set SOC (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “2SOC”) is in a range from 24.5% to 25.5% (Kirimoto,; Paras. [0028] – [0029]. Where the lower limit can be made equal or larger than a predetermined positive value e.g. 20%. Kirimoto discloses the claimed invention except for giving all the possibilities of what the lower limit of the range could be. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.).
Regarding Claim 13, The teaching of the Kirimoto reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 12/1. Furthermore, Kirimoto teaches wherein the set SOC (Kirimoto, Fig. 7, “2SOC”) comprises: 24.7%, 24.8%, 24.9%, 25%, 25.1%, 25.2%, or 25.3% (Kirimoto,; Paras. [0028] – [0029]. Where the lower limit can be made equal or larger than a predetermined positive value e.g. 20%. Kirimoto discloses the claimed invention except for giving all the possibilities of what the lower limit of the range could be. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.).
Regarding Claim 14, The teaching of the Kirimoto reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Kirimoto teaches wherein the SOC range comprises: 20%-40% (Kirimoto, Figs. 7-8, As illustrated.).
Regarding Claim 15, The teaching of the Kirimoto reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Kirimoto teaches wherein the set SOC varies depending on an ambient temperature (Kirimoto, Para. [0065], Where optimal charging control is adapted … use environments, i.e. temperature.).
Regarding Claim 16, The teaching of the Kirimoto reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Kirimoto teaches wherein the set SOC is 25% at an ambient temperature of 25°C (Kirimoto,; Paras. [0028] – [0029] and [0065]. Where the lower limit can be made equal or larger than a predetermined positive value e.g. 20%. Kirimoto discloses the claimed invention except for giving all the possibilities of what the lower limit of the range could be. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.).
Regarding Claim 17, The teaching of the Kirimoto reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Kirimoto teaches wherein a ratio of the second charge rate to the first charge rate is positively correlated to an ambient temperature (Kirimoto,; Paras. [0028] – [0029] and [0065]. Where the lower limit can be made equal or larger than a predetermined positive value e.g. 20%. Kirimoto discloses the claimed invention except for giving all the possibilities of what the lower limit of the range could be. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.).
Regarding Claim 18, The teaching of the Kirimoto reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 17/1. Furthermore, Kirimoto teaches wherein the ratio of the second charge rate to the first charge rate increases approximately linearly with increasing of the ambient temperature (Kirimoto,; Paras. [0028] – [0029] and [0065]. Where the lower limit can be made equal or larger than a predetermined positive value e.g. 20%. Kirimoto discloses the claimed invention except for giving all the possibilities of what the lower limit of the range could be. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.).
Regarding Claim 19, The teaching of the Kirimoto reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Kirimoto teaches wherein a ratio of the second charge rate to the first charge rate is in a range from 0.2 to 0.8 (Kirimoto,; Fig. 8, As illustrated. Paras. [0028] – [0029] and [0065]. Where the lower limit can be made equal or larger than a predetermined positive value e.g. 20%. Kirimoto discloses the claimed invention except for giving all the possibilities of what the lower limit of the range could be. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.).
Regarding Claim 20, The teaching of the Kirimoto reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Kirimoto teaches wherein a ratio of the second charge rate to the first charge rate is 0.42 at an ambient temperature of 25°C (Kirimoto,; Paras. [0028] – [0029] and [0065]. Where the lower limit can be made equal or larger than a predetermined positive value e.g. 20%. Kirimoto discloses the claimed invention except for giving all the possibilities of what the lower limit of the range could be. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the 112(b) rejection above and in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 4: Though the prior art discloses a battery charging method comprising during charging of a battery upon determining that a SOC of the battery reaches a SOC range, adjusting within the range a charge rate of the battery from a first charge rate down to a second charge rate where the second charge rate is lower than the first charge rate then adjusting the charge rate to a higher rate when exceeding a maximum boundary value of the charge SOC range, it fails to teach or suggest the aforementioned limitations of claim 4, and further including the combination of:
wherein: the set SOC is a first set SOC; and adjusting the charge rate of the battery from the second charge rate up to the first charge rate or the third charge rate comprises:
adjusting the charge rate of the battery from the second charge rate up to a fourth charge rate in response to the SOC of the battery reaching a range from the first set SOC to a second set SOC;
adjusting the charge rate of the battery from the fourth charge rate down to the second charge rate in response to the SOC of the battery reaching a range from the second set SOC to a third set SOC; and
adjusting the charge rate of the battery from the second charge rate up to the first charge rate in response to the SOC of the battery reaching a range from the third set SOC to the maximum boundary value of the SOC range.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nomura WO-2016/104163A1 teaches a charging method with multiple charging rates.
Nomura U.S. PGPub 2018/0013179 teaches a charging method with multiple charging rates.
/JERRY D ROBBINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859