DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “second valve” must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 20, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ye; ZHIYUAN et al. (US 20120273052 A1) in view of, if necessary, Bailey; Christopher Mark et al. (US 20080273995 A1). Ye teaches a method of delivering gases (108,118; Figure 1A), the method comprising:providing a plurality of gases (108,118; Figure 1A), each gas provided by a gas source (108, 118; Figure 1A);causing the plurality of gases (108,118; Figure 1A) to flow along a flow path (128,112; Figure 1A) so that the plurality of gases (108,118; Figure 1A) are combined into a gas mixture (114; Figure 1A), the flow path (128,112; Figure 1A) extending from the gas sources (108, 118; Figure 1A) to a process chamber (122; Figure 1A);coupling an inlet of a concentration sensor (144; Figure 1A; [0026]) fluidly to a side stream (134; Figure 1A) of the flow path (128,112; Figure 1A),wherein the side stream (134; Figure 1A) is fluidly coupled to the flow path (128,112; Figure 1A) a location that is upstream from the process chamber (122; Figure 1A); sampling (valve state for 132-closed; Figure 1A) the gas mixture (114; Figure 1A) using the concentration sensor (144; Figure 1A; [0026]) by directing (valve state for 132-closed; Figure 1A) a portion of the gas mixture (114; Figure 1A) through the side stream (134; Figure 1A) to the concentration sensor (144; Figure 1A; [0026]); and venting (142; Figure 1A; [0025]) the portion of the gas mixture (114; Figure 1A) through applying a vacuum to an outlet of the concentration sensor (144; Figure 1A; [0026]) to vent the portion of the gas mixture (114; Figure 1A) from the concentration sensor (144; Figure 1A; [0026]) such that the side stream (134; Figure 1A) bypasses the process chamber (122; Figure 1A), as claimed by claim 1
Ye further teaches:
The method of claim 1 wherein the concentration sensor (144; Figure 1A; [0026]) samples a concentration of a first gas within the gas mixture (114; Figure 1A), as claimed by claim 2
The method of claim 3 wherein the step of adjusting ([0026],[0028]) further comprises adjusting ([0026],[0028]) a plurality of control valves within the flow path (128,112; Figure 1A) to control the flow of more than one gas of the plurality of gases (108,118; Figure 1A), as claimed by claim 4
The method of claim 1 wherein the step of sampling (valve state for 132-closed; Figure 1A) comprises determining concentrations of two or more of the plurality of gases (108,118; Figure 1A) within the gas mixture (114; Figure 1A) using the concentration sensor (144; Figure 1A; [0026]), as claimed by claim 5
A method of delivering gases (108,118; Figure 1A), the method comprising:providing a plurality of gases (108,118; Figure 1A), each gas provided by a gas source (108, 118; Figure 1A) fluidly coupled to a control valve (110,130; Figure 1), each gas having a gas flow rate controlled by the control valve (110,130; Figure 1);causing the plurality of gases (108,118; Figure 1A) to flow along a flow path (128,112; Figure 1A) so that the plurality of gases (108,118; Figure 1A) are combined into a gas mixture (114; Figure 1A);diverting a first portion of the gas mixture (114; Figure 1A) through an inlet of a concentration sensor (144; Figure 1A; [0026]) fluidly coupled to the flow path (128,112; Figure 1A) while simultaneously delivering a remainder of the gas mixture (114; Figure 1A) to a process chamber (122; Figure 1A), the flow path (128,112; Figure 1A) extending from the gas sources (108, 118; Figure 1A) to the process chamber (122; Figure 1A), wherein the inlet of the concentration sensor (144; Figure 1A; [0026]) is in fluid communication with the flow path (128,112; Figure 1A) at a location that is upstream from the process chamber (122; Figure 1A) such that the first portion of the gas mixture (114; Figure 1A) bypasses the process chamber (122; Figure 1A);determining a concentration of a first gas within the first portion of the gas mixture (114; Figure 1A) using the concentration sensor (144; Figure 1A; [0026]) while the first portion of the gas mixture (114; Figure 1A) flows through the concentration sensor (144; Figure 1A; [0026]) to an outlet of the concentration sensor (144; Figure 1A; [0026]);applying a vacuum (142; Figure 1A; [0025]) to the outlet of the concentration sensor (144; Figure 1A; [0026]);adjusting ([0026],[0028],[0037]) the control valve (110,130; Figure 1) of a second gas of the plurality of gases (108,118; Figure 1A) in accordance with the determined concentration of the first gas within the gas mixture (114; Figure 1A);measuring a first mixture (114; Figure 1A) flow rate in the flow path (128,112; Figure 1A); and adjusting ([0026],[0028],[0037]) each of the control valves (110,130; Figure 1) of the plurality of gases (108,118; Figure 1A) to alter the mixture (114; Figure 1A) flow rate without altering a composition of the mixture (114; Figure 1A), as claimed by claim 20
The method of claim 1 wherein the causing step comprises flowing the gas mixture to the process chamber (122; Figure 1A) at a first rate (2nd gas flow rate; [0032]) upon system startup and then at a second rate (1st gas flow rate; [0032]) which is lower than the first rate (2nd gas flow rate; [0032]), wherein the sampling (valve state for 132-closed; Figure 1A) step facilitates rapidly filling the process chamber (122; Figure 1A) upon system startup with a desired concentration ratio of the gas mixture, as claimed by claim 26. With respect to the claimed “facilitates rapidly filling the process chamber upon system startup with a desired concentration ratio of the gas mixture”, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Examer notes MPEP 2112 which states the express, implicit, and inherent disclosures of a prior art reference may be relied upon in the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103. "The inherent teaching of a prior art reference, a question of fact, arises both in the context of anticipation and obviousness." In re Napier, 55 F.3d 610, 613, 34 USPQ2d 1782, 1784 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (affirmed a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection based in part on inherent disclosure in one of the references). See also In re Grasselli, 713 F.2d 731, 739, 218 USPQ 769, 775 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Under anticipation, the Examiner believes Ye’s abatement system (142; Figure 1A; [0025]) inherently uses/applys a vacuum to an outlet of Ye’s concentration sensor (144; Figure 1A; [0026]) to vent Ye’s portion of Ye’s gas mixture (114; Figure 1A) from Ye’s concentration sensor (144; Figure 1A; [0026]) to Ye’s abatement system (142; Figure 1A; [0025]).
Bailey also demonstrates that abatement systems, like Bailey’s abatement system (55; Figure 1), necessarily incorporates Bailey’s pump (30; Figure 1; [0053]), as a vacuum source, that is normally connected upstream of Bailey’s own abatement system (55; Figure 1; [0063]).
In the event that the Examiner’s grounds of anticipation is not accepted, then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Ye to add Bailey’s vacuum source (30; Figure 1) upstream of Ye’s abatement system (142; Figure 1A; [0025]) as shown by Bailey’s vacuum source (30; Figure 1) and abatement system (55; Figure 1; [0063]).
Motivation for Ye to add Bailey’s vacuum source (30; Figure 1) upstream of Ye’s abatement system (142; Figure 1A; [0025]), as shown by Bailey’s vacuum source (30; Figure 1) and abatement system (55; Figure 1; [0063]), is for drawing gas towards each of Bailey’s and Ye’s abatement systems for exhaust gas processing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 12-15, 17, 20, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doty, Dean L. et al. (US 20010032668 A1) in view of Hiroi; Kazuo (US 4621927 A), or in addition to, Bailey; Christopher Mark et al. (US 20080273995 A1). Doty teaches a method ([0050]-[0052]) of delivering gases (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]), the method ([0050]-[0052]) comprising: providing a plurality of gases (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]), each gas provided by a gas source (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]); causing ([0051]) the plurality of gases (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]) to flow along a flow path (110,120->140; Figure 1) so that the plurality of gases (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]) are combined into a gas mixture (110,120->140; Figure 1), the flow path (110,120->140; Figure 1) extending from the gas sources (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]) to a process chamber (140; Figure 1; [0027]); coupling (coupled as shown) an inlet (inlet of 190; Figure 1) of a concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) fluidly to a main stream (not claimed) of the flow path (110,120->140; Figure 1); sampling (192; Figure 1; [0051]) the gas mixture (110,120->140; Figure 1) using the concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) by directing a portion of the gas mixture (110,120->140; Figure 1) through the main stream (not claimed) to the concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3); and applying a vacuum (see below) to an outlet (outlet of 190; Figure 1) of the concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) to vent the portion of the gas mixture from the concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) such that the side stream (V3-150; Figure 1 - “The gas vent conduit 150 is preferably connected to the general exhaust area of a semiconductor manufacturing facility.”; [0040]-Applicant’s 302; Figure 3) bypasses the process chamber (140; Figure 1; [0027]); wherein the side stream (V3-150; Figure 1 - “The gas vent conduit 150 is preferably connected to the general exhaust area of a semiconductor manufacturing facility.”; [0040]-Applicant’s 302; Figure 3) is fluidly coupled to the flow path (110,120->140; Figure 1) at a location that is upstream from the process chamber (140; Figure 1; [0027]) – claim 1. Bailey is discussed above and demonstrates that Doty’s vacuum source, identified by Doty as a “...general exhaust area of a semiconductor manufacturing facility” ([0040]) inherently incorporates Bailey’s pump (30; Figure 1; [0053]) as a vacuum source that is normally connected upstream of Bailey’s own abatement system (55; Figure 1; [0063]).
Doty further teaches:
The method ([0050]-[0052]) of claim 1 wherein the concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) samples a concentration of a ([0050]-[0051]) first gas (110; Figure 1) within the gas mixture (110,120->140; Figure 1), as claimed by claim 2
The method ([0050]-[0052]) of claim 1 further comprising a step of adjusting ([0050]-[0051]) subsequent to the step of sampling (192; Figure 1; [0051]), the step of adjusting ([0050]-[0051]) comprising adjusting ([0050]-[0051]) a control valve (160; Figure 1) within the flow path (110,120->140; Figure 1) to control the flow of a first gas (110; Figure 1) of the plurality of gases (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]) within the gas mixture (110,120->140; Figure 1), as claimed by claim 3
The method ([0050]-[0052]) of claim 3 wherein the step of adjusting ([0050]-[0051]) further comprises adjusting ([0050]-[0051]) a plurality of control valves (160, 170; Figure 1) within the flow path (110,120->140; Figure 1) to control the flow of more than one gas of the plurality of gases (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]), as claimed by claim 4
The method ([0050]-[0052]) of claim 1 wherein the step of sampling (192; Figure 1; [0051]) comprises determining concentrations ([0050]-[0053]) of two or more of the plurality of gases (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]) within the gas mixture (110,120->140; Figure 1) using the concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3), as claimed by claim 5
The method ([0050]-[0052]) of claim 1 wherein the step of causing ([0051]) comprises using calculated setpoints (“desired concentration”; [0051]) to deliver the gas mixture (110,120->140; Figure 1) to the process chamber (140; Figure 1; [0027]) at a first flow rate ([0046], [0052], [0054]), the first flow rate ([0046], [0052], [0054]) being higher than a second flow rate ([0046], [0052], [0054]) used during system operation, as claimed by claim 6. Doty states “…by adjusting at least one of the mass flow controllers 160 and 170”. As a result, during and after flow rate ([0046], [0052], [0054]) adjustments, the flow rates ([0046], [0052], [0054]) will be unequal.
The method ([0050]-[0052]) of claim 1 wherein a first valve (V4; Figure 1) is fluidly coupled to the side stream (V3-150; Figure 1 - “The gas vent conduit 150 is preferably connected to the general exhaust area of a semiconductor manufacturing facility.”; [0040]-Applicant’s 302; Figure 3), the first valve (V4; Figure 1) disposed between the concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) and the flow path (110,120->140; Figure 1), and wherein the first valve (V4; Figure 1) is open during the coupling (coupled as shown) step, as claimed by claim 8
A method ([0050]-[0052]) of delivering gases (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]), the method ([0050]-[0052]) comprising: providing a plurality of gases (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]), each gas provided by a gas source (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]) fluidly coupled to a control valve (160, 170; Figure 1), each gas having a gas flow rate ([0046], [0052], [0054]) controlled by the control valve (160, 170; Figure 1); causing ([0051]) the plurality of gases (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]) to flow along a flow path (110,120->140; Figure 1) at a first mixture flow rate ([0046], [0052], [0054]) so that the plurality of gases (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]) are combined into a gas mixture (110,120->140; Figure 1), the flow path (110,120->140; Figure 1) extending from the gas sources (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]) to a process chamber (140; Figure 1; [0027]); filling the process chamber (140; Figure 1; [0027]) at the first mixture flow rate ([0046], [0052], [0054]); sampling (192; Figure 1; [0051]) the gas mixture (110,120->140; Figure 1) using a concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) fluidly coupled to the flow path (110,120->140; Figure 1) by sampling (not claimed) a portion of the gas mixture (110,120->140; Figure 1) from the flow path (110,120->140; Figure 1) through a side stream (V3-150; Figure 1 - “The gas vent conduit 150 is preferably connected to the general exhaust area of a semiconductor manufacturing facility.”; [0040]-Applicant’s 302; Figure 3) at a location upstream from the process chamber (140; Figure 1; [0027]) to an inlet (inlet of 190; Figure 1) of the concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) and venting the portion of the gas mixture to a vacuum source (“...general exhaust area of a semiconductor manufacturing facility”; [0040]) through an outlet (outlet of 190; Figure 1) of the concentration sensor; adjusting ([0050]-[0051]) one of the control valves (160, 170; Figure 1) to alter a concentration of the gas mixture (110,120->140; Figure 1) in response to feedback (“…provide this information to the controller 200..”; [0051]) provided from the concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3); and delivering the plurality of gases (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]) to the process chamber (140; Figure 1; [0027]) at a second mixture flow rate ([0046], [0052], [0054]) - claim 12
The method ([0050]-[0052]) of claim 12 wherein the step of adjusting ([0050]-[0051]) further comprises adjusting ([0050]-[0051]) a plurality of the control valves (160, 170; Figure 1) within the flow path (110,120->140; Figure 1) to control the flow rate ([0046], [0052], [0054]) of more than one gas of the plurality of gases (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]), as claimed by claim 13
The method ([0050]-[0052]) of claim 1 wherein the second mixture flow rate ([0046], [0052], [0054]) is less than the first mixture flow rate ([0046], [0052], [0054]), as claimed by claim 14. Doty states “…by adjusting at least one of the mass flow controllers 160 and 170”. As a result, during and after flow rate ([0046], [0052], [0054]) adjustments, the flow rates ([0046], [0052], [0054]) will be unequal.
The method ([0050]-[0052]) of claim 12 wherein the step of causing ([0051]) comprises using calculated setpoints (“desired concentration”; [0051]) to deliver the gas mixture (110,120->140; Figure 1) to the process chamber (140; Figure 1; [0027]) at the first mixture flow rate ([0046], [0052], [0054]), the first mixture flow rate ([0046], [0052], [0054]) being higher than the second mixture flow rate ([0046], [0052], [0054]), as claimed by claim 15. Doty states “…by adjusting at least one of the mass flow controllers 160 and 170”. As a result, during and after flow rate ([0046], [0052], [0054]) adjustments, the flow rates ([0046], [0052], [0054]) will be unequal.
A method ([0050]-[0052]) of delivering gases (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]), the method ([0050]-[0052]) comprising: providing a plurality of gases (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]), each gas provided by a gas source (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]) fluidly coupled to a control valve (160, 170; Figure 1), each gas having a gas flow rate ([0046], [0052], [0054]) controlled by the control valve (160, 170; Figure 1); causing ([0051]) the plurality of gases (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]) to flow along a flow path (110,120->140; Figure 1) so that the plurality of gases (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]) are combined into a gas mixture (110,120->140; Figure 1); sampling (not claimed) a first portion (opening time for V3 to V4; Figure 1) of the gas mixture to a concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) fluidly coupled to the flow path (110,120->140; Figure 1) while simultaneously delivering a remainder of the gas mixture to the process chamber (140; Figure 1; [0027]); the flow path (110,120->140; Figure 1) extending from the gas source (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]) to the process chamber (140; Figure 1; [0027]), wherein the inlet of the concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) is in fluid communication with the flow path (110,120->140; Figure 1) at a location that is upstream from the process chamber (140; Figure 1; [0027]) such that the first portion (opening time for V3 to V4; Figure 1) of the gas mixture bypasses the process chamber (140; Figure 1; [0027]); determining a concentration of a ([0050]-[0051]) first gas (110; Figure 1) within the first portion (opening time for V3 to V4; Figure 1) of the gas mixture (110,120->140; Figure 1) using the concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) while the first portion (opening time for V3 to V4; Figure 1) of the gas mixture flows through the concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) to an outlet (outlet of 190; Figure 1) of the concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3); applying a vacuum (see below) to the outlet of the concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3); adjusting ([0050]-[0051]) the control valve (170, 170; Figure 1) of a second gas (120; Figure 1) of the plurality of gases (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]) in accordance with the determined concentration (“desired concentration”; [0051]) of the first gas (110; Figure 1) within the gas mixture (110,120->140; Figure 1); measuring ([0042]-[0043]) a first mixture flow rate ([0046], [0052], [0054]) in the flow path (110,120->140; Figure 1); and adjusting ([0050]-[0051]) each of the control valves (160, 170; Figure 1) of the plurality of gases (110, 120; Figure 1; [0032]) to alter the mixture flow rate ([0046], [0052], [0054]) without altering a composition of the mixture - claim 20. Bailey is discussed above and demonstrates that Doty’s vacuum source, identified by Doty as a “...general exhaust area of a semiconductor manufacturing facility” ([0040]) inherently incorporates Bailey’s pump (30; Figure 1; [0053]) as a vacuum source that is normally connected upstream of Bailey’s own abatement system (55; Figure 1; [0063]).
The method of claim 3 wherein Bailey’s pressure sensor (“regulator”; [0045]) is configured to measure the pressure of the gas mixture in Bailey’s process chamber / apparatus (100; [0045]), and wherein the adjustment of control valves (V1,V2,V4,160,170; Figure 1) to control the flow of the first gas during the adjusting step is dependent upon the measured pressure ([0045]) of the gas mixture in Bailey’s process chamber / apparatus (100; [0045]) - claim 24
Doty does not teach:
coupling (coupled as shown) an inlet (inlet of 190; Figure 1) of Doty’s concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) fluidly to a side stream (V3-150; Figure 1 - “The gas vent conduit 150 is preferably connected to the general exhaust area of a semiconductor manufacturing facility.”; [0040]-Applicant’s 302; Figure 3) of Doty’s flow path (110,120->140; Figure 1); sampling (192; Figure 1; [0051]) the gas mixture (110,120->140; Figure 1) using the concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) by directing a portion of the gas mixture (110,120->140; Figure 1) through the side stream (V3-150; Figure 1 - “The gas vent conduit 150 is preferably connected to the general exhaust area of a semiconductor manufacturing facility.”; [0040]-Applicant’s 302; Figure 3) to the concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) – claim 1
each of the control valves (160, 170; Figure 1) operating in a feed forward control mode; diverting a portion of the gas mixture (110,120->140; Figure 1) from the flow path (110,120->140; Figure 1) to the concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) – claim 12
diverting a first portion (opening time for V3 to V4; Figure 1) of the gas mixture through an inlet (inlet of 190; Figure 1) of a concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) fluidly coupled to the flow path (110,120->140; Figure 1) while simultaneously delivering a remainder of the gas mixture to the process chamber (140; Figure 1; [0027]) – claim 20
Hiroi also teaches gas concentration and delivery apparatus (Figure 2) including:
coupling (coupled as shown) an inlet (inlet of 15; Figure 2) of a concentration sensor (15; Figure 2; column 4; lines 54-68) fluidly to a side stream (“T” side stream from 5 to 15; Figure 2-Applicant’s 302; Figure 3) of Hiroi’s flow path (A,B->C; Figure 2); sampling (“T” side stream from 5 to 15 sampling; Figure 2) the gas mixture (A,B->C; Figure 2) using the concentration sensor (15; Figure 2; column 4; lines 54-68) by directing a portion of the gas mixture (A,B->C; Figure 2) through the side stream (“T” side stream from 5 to 15; Figure 2-Applicant’s 302; Figure 3) to the concentration sensor (15; Figure 2; column 4; lines 54-68) – claim 1
each of the control valves (7,9; Figure 2; column 4; lines 54-68) operating in a feed forward control mode (FF; Figure 2-column 4; lines 54-68, throughout); diverting (“T” side stream from 5 to 15 sampling; Figure 2) a portion of the gas mixture (A,B->C; Figure 2) from the flow path (A,B->C; Figure 2) to the concentration sensor (15; Figure 2; column 4; lines 54-68) – claim 12
diverting (“T” side stream from 5 to 15 sampling; Figure 2) a first portion of the gas mixture through an inlet (inlet of 15; Figure 2) of a concentration sensor (15; Figure 2; column 4; lines 54-68) fluidly coupled to the flow path (A,B->C; Figure 2) while simultaneously delivering downstream – claim 20
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for Doty to add Hiroi’s sidestream concentration sensor (15; Figure 2; column 4; lines 54-68) and feed-forward control, and, if necessary, add Bailey’s vacuum pump.
Motivation for Doty to add Hiroi’s side stream concentration sensor (15; Figure 2; column 4; lines 54-68) and feed-forward control is for at least obtaining a mixed fluid having a desired process variable as taught by Hiroi (column 1; lines 5-10) and for improving the “the response characteristic of the mixture” as taught by Hiroi (column 7; lines 38-50).
Motivation, if necessary, for Doty to add Bailey’s vacuum pump is for maintaining Doty’s “...general exhaust…” of the “semiconductor manufacturing facility” as taught by Doty ([0040]) and for exhaust gas abatement as taught by Bailey.
Claims 9-10 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doty, Dean L. et al. (US 20010032668 A1) and Hiroi; Kazuo (US 4621927 A), or in addition to, Bailey; Christopher Mark et al. (US 20080273995 A1) in view of Yamasaki, Hideaki et al. (US 20040007180 A1). Doty, Hiroi, and Bailey are discussed above. Doty, Hiroi, and Bailey do not teach:
Doty’s method ([0050]-[0052]) of claim 8 wherein Doty’s side stream (V3-150; Figure 1 - “The gas vent conduit 150 is preferably connected to the general exhaust area of a semiconductor manufacturing facility.”; [0040]-Applicant’s 302; Figure 3) further comprises a concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) bypass line, and wherein Doty’s method further comprises controlling Doty’s flow of Doty’s gas mixture through Doty’s concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) by bypassing a bypass flow of Doty’s gas mixture through Doty’s concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) bypass line, as claimed by claim 9
Doty’s method ([0050]-[0052]) of claim 9 wherein a second valve (not shown by Applicants; assumed to be 303; Figure 3) is fluidly coupled to Doty’s concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) bypass line, and wherein Doty’s bypassing step comprises controlling Doty’s second valve (not shown by Applicants; assumed to be 303; Figure 3) to control Doty’s bypass flow that bypasses Doty’s concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3), as claimed by claim 10
Doty’s method ([0050]-[0052]) of claim 12 wherein Doty’s side stream (V3-150; Figure 1 - “The gas vent conduit 150 is preferably connected to the general exhaust area of a semiconductor manufacturing facility.”; [0040]-Applicant’s 302; Figure 3) further comprises a concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) bypass line, and wherein Doty’s method further comprises controlling Doty’s flow of Doty’s gas mixture through Doty’s concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) by bypassing a bypass flow of Doty’s gas mixture through Doty’s concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) bypass line, as claimed by claim 18
Doty’s method ([0050]-[0052]) of claim 18 wherein Doty’s concentration sensor (190; Figure 1; [0051]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 3) bypass line is fluidly coupled to Doty’s vacuum source (“...general exhaust area of a semiconductor manufacturing facility”; [0040]), as claimed by claim 19
Yamasaki also teaches a wafer processing system sample line (33; Figure 9). Yamasaki further teaches:
wherein the side stream (33; Figure 9) of the general exhaust area (14,32,16,32; Figure 9) of a semiconductor manufacturing facility (100; Figure 9) further comprises a concentration sensor (40; Figure 9; [0079]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 2) bypass line (bypass 33-lower 18A; Figure 9-Applicant’s 330; Figure 3), and wherein Yamasaki’s method further comprises controlling (201; Figure 9) Yamasaki’s flow of Yamasaki’s gas mixture through Yamasaki’s concentration sensor (40; Figure 9; [0079]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 2) by bypassing a bypass flow of Yamasaki’s gas mixture through Yamasaki’s concentration sensor (40; Figure 9; [0079]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 2) bypass line (bypass 33-lower 18A; Figure 9-Applicant’s 330; Figure 3) - claim 9
wherein the side stream (33; Figure 9) of the general exhaust area (14,32,16,32; Figure 9) of a semiconductor manufacturing facility (100; Figure 9) further comprises a bypass line (bypass 33-lower 18A; Figure 9-Applicant’s 330; Figure 3), as claimed by claim 18
wherein the bypass line (bypass 33-lower 18A; Figure 9-Applicant’s 330; Figure 3) is fluidly coupled to a vacuum source (16; Figure 9), as claimed by claim 19
Doty, Hiroi, Bailey and Yamasaki do not teach a second valve (not shown by Applicants; assumed to be 303; Figure 3) is fluidly coupled to Yamasaki’s concentration sensor (40; Figure 9; [0079]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 2) bypass line (32; Figure 2-Applicant’s 330; Figure 3), and wherein Yamasaki’s bypassing step comprises controlling Yamasaki’s second valve (not shown by Applicants; assumed to be 303; Figure 3) to control Yamasaki’s bypass flow that bypasses Yamasaki’s concentration sensor (40; Figure 9; [0079]-Applicant’s 206; Figure 2), as claimed by claim 10
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Doty to add Yamasaki’s bypass line of a gas delivery system with additional valves.
Motivation for Doty to add Yamasaki’s bypass line of a gas delivery system with additional valves is for real-time process feed-back and control as taught by Yamasaki ([0093]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ye; ZHIYUAN et al. (US 20120273052 A1) and Bailey; Christopher Mark et al. (US 20080273995 A1), if necessary, in view of Niino; Reiji et al. (US 5637153 A). Ye and Bailey are discussed above. Ye and Bailey do not teach the method of claim 20 wherein a side stream (134; Figure 1A) valve is disposed between Ye’s concentration sensor (144; Figure 1A; [0026]) and the flow path (110,120->140; Figure 1), and wherein the side stream (134; Figure 1A) valve is opened during the diverting step, as claimed by claim 22
Niino also teaches a concentration sensor (31; Figure 1) located on a sidestream (25; Figure 1) and includes a side stream (25; Figure 1) valve (29; Figure 1) is disposed between Niino’s concentration sensor (31; Figure 1) and the flow path (24; Figure 1), and wherein the side stream (25; Figure 1) valve (29; Figure 1) is opened during a diverting step (column 6; lines 20-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Ye to add a valve to Ye’s side stream (134; Figure 1A) as taught by Niino.
Motivation for Ye to add a valve to Ye’s side stream (134; Figure 1A) as taught by Niino is for servicing/repairing Ye’s concentration sensor (144; Figure 1A; [0026]) while maintaining hermetic integrity.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ye; ZHIYUAN et al. (US 20120273052 A1) in view of Bailey; Christopher Mark et al. (US 20080273995 A1). Ye is discussed above. Ye does not teach wherein a pressure sensor is configured to measure the pressure of the gas mixture in the process chamber (122; Figure 1A), and wherein the adjustment of the control valve (110,130; Figure 1) of the second gas during the adjusting step is dependent upon the measured pressure of the gas mixture in the process chamber (122; Figure 1A).
Bailey further teaches a pressure sensor (45; Figure 1) configured to measure the pressure of a gas mixture in Bailey’s process chamber (10; Figure 1), and wherein adjustment of a control valve (25; Figure 1) of the process gas during an adjusting step is dependent upon the measured pressure in the process chamber (10; Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Ye to add Bailey’s pressure sensor (45; Figure 1) to control Ye’s control valve (132; Figure 1A).
Motivation for Ye to add Bailey’s pressure sensor (45; Figure 1) to control Ye’s control valve (132; Figure 1A) is for chamber pressure regulation as taught by Ye ([0021]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 25 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The confirmed closest prior art to Ye; ZHIYUAN et al. (US 20120273052 A1) and Bailey; Christopher Mark et al. (US 20080273995 A1) do not teach, alone or in combination, the claimed flow divider (Applicant’s 208; Figure 3) such that the method of claim 1 further comprising the steps of:dividing the flow of gas mixture to the process chamber into a first process gas flow and a second process gas flow using a flow divider (Applicant’s 208; Figure 3), wherein the first process gas flow enters the process chamber at a first location and the second process gas flow enters the process chamber at a second location that is different than the first location; andcontrolling at least one of the first process gas flow and the second process gas flow via a control valve downstream of the flow divider (Applicant’s 208; Figure 3), as claimed by claim 25
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-10, filed December 5, 2025, with respect to rejections under §102(a)(1) under Ye; ZHIYUAN et al. (US 20120273052 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 20, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ye; ZHIYUAN et al. (US 20120273052 A1) in view of, if necessary, Bailey; Christopher Mark et al. (US 20080273995 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. DeSisto; William J. et al. (US 5652431 A), Rinnen; Klaus-Dieter et al. (US 5943230 A), and Marsh; Eugene P. et al. (US 8225745 B2) teach relevant controllers for process control including gas delivery control.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Rudy Zervigon whose telephone number is (571) 272- 1442. The examiner can normally be reached on a Monday through Thursday schedule from 8am through 6pm EST. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Any Inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Chemical and Materials Engineering art unit receptionist at (571) 272-1700. If the examiner cannot be reached please contact the examiner's supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh, at (571) 272- 1435.
/Rudy Zervigon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716