DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 17 the limitation “orthographic projection” is being interpreted as a two dimensional projection of the three dimensional structure on the end cap, following applicant’s arguments and reference to Instant Fig. 8, which shows a two dimensional projection of the three dimensional structure on the end cap, as Instant Fig. 4, the other Fig. referenced by applicant, does not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn US20150295286A1 in view of Li CN106935931A (using machine English translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, Ahn discloses a battery cell (Ahn, Fig. 2, 100), comprising:
a casing (Ahn, Fig. 2, 15 and 20) having an accommodating space (Ahn, Fig. 2, AL), the casing including a housing (Ahn, Fig. 2, 15) and an end cap (Ahn, Fig. 2, 20) comprising electrode terminals (Ahn, Fig. 2, 21 and 22),
an electrode assembly (Ahn, Fig. 2, 10) accommodated in the accommodating space (Ahn, Fig. 2, 10, AL), the electrode assembly comprising electrode plates (Ahn, Fig. 2, 11-13), and
a heat-conducting structure (Ahn, Fig. 2, 65) to be directly connected to the electrode plates (Ahn, Fig. 2, 11-13) and the casing (Ahn, Fig. 2, 15 and 20) to conduct heat from the electrode assembly to the casing (Ahn, [0052]),
wherein the heat-conducting structure (Ahn, Fig. 2, 65) is a solid structure (Ahn, [0056]) spaced apart from the electrical terminals (Ahn, Fig. 2, 21 and 22). While Ahn discloses the solid structure made of a thermal grease (Ahn, [0052]), Ahn does not disclose the solid structure made of silicone grease, silicone, or an adhesive.
Li teaches in the battery art is it well known wherein heat-conducting structure is a solid structure (Li, thermal interface material) spaced apart from the electrical terminals (Li, Fig. 5, electrical terminals), the solid structure made of silicone grease or an adhesive (Li, [0080]). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device taught by Ahn wherein the thermal grease is an art known effective material such as a silicone grease or an adhesive, as taught by Li, thereby rapidly transferring the heat generated and dissipating it (Li, [0015]).
Regarding claim 2, Ahn in view of Li also teaches wherein the heat-conducting structure is connected to the electrode plates (Ahn, Fig. 2, 11-13 and 65) and is exposed from (not enclosed by) an end surface of the electrode assembly (Ahn, Fig. 2, 11-13 and exposed end of 65 not enclosed by 11-13).
Regarding claim 3, Ahn in view of Li additionally teaches wherein the casing is provided with a first accommodating portion (Ahn, Fig. 2, first accommodating portion), and the heat-conducting structure extends into the first accommodating portion (Ahn, Fig. 2, first accommodating portion, 65).
Regarding claim 4, Ahn in view of Li further teaches wherein the heat-conducting structure comprises a first portion (Ahn, Fig. 2, first portion) and a second portion (Ahn, Fig. 2, second portion) connected to each other (Ahn, Fig. 2, first and second portions), and
the first portion is in the first accommodating portion (Ahn, Fig. 2, first portion, first accommodating portion), the second portion is between the first portion and the electrode assembly (Ahn, Fig. 2, first portion, second portion, 10), and an area of the second portion (Ahn, Fig. 2, second portion, large dashed line) is greater than an area of the first portion (Ahn, Fig. 2, first portion, small dashed line inside large dashed line).
Regarding claim 5, Ahn in view of Li also teaches wherein the first accommodating portion is a first through hole (Ahn, Fig. 2, first accommodating portion, 27), the battery cell further comprises a cap (Ahn, Fig. 2, 29), and the cap seals the first through hole (Ahn, [0033]).
Regarding claim 6, Ahn in view of Li additionally teaches wherein the battery cell further comprises an insulating structure (Ahn, Fig. 2, 61 and 62), the insulating structure being arranged between the casing and the electrode assembly to isolate the electrode assembly from the casing (Ahn, [0041]),
the insulating structure (Ahn, Fig. 2, 61 and 62) is provided with a first recess at an edge (Ahn, Fig. 2, first recess), one end of the heat-conducting structure (Ahn, Fig. 2, 65) is configured to be connected to the electrode plates (Ahn, Fig. 2, 11-13), and the other end thereof is configured to pass through the first recess (Ahn, Fig. 2, first recess) to be connected to the casing (Ahn, Fig. 2, 15 and 20).
Regarding claim 7, Ahn as modified by Li further teaches wherein the insulating structure (Ahn, Fig. 2, 61 and 62) is provided with a second through hole (Ahn, Fig. 2, second through hole), one end of the heat-conducting structure (Ahn, Fig. 2, 65) is configured to be connected to the electrode plates (Ahn, Fig. 2, 11-13), and the other end thereof is configured to pass through the second through hole (Ahn, Fig. 2, second through hole) to be connected to the casing (Ahn, Fig. 2, 15 and 20) and
a surface of the insulating structure (Ahn, Fig. 2, 61 and 62) facing the electrode assembly (Ahn, Fig. 2, 11-13) is provided with a second recess (Ahn, Fig. 2, second recess) that communicates with the second through hole (Ahn, Fig. 2, second through hole), and the heat-conducting structure (Ahn, Fig. 2, 65) extends into the second recess (Ahn, Fig. 2, second recess).
Regarding claim 8, Ahn as modified by Li also teaches wherein a boss (Ahn, Fig. 2, boss) is provided at an end of the insulating structure (Ahn, Fig. 2, 61 and 62), the boss abuts against the electrode assembly (Ahn, Fig. 2, 11-13), and the second through hole (Ahn, Fig. 2, second through hole) and the second recess (Ahn, Fig. 2, second recess) are provided in the boss (Ahn, Fig. 2, boss), and
a bulge (Ahn, Fig. 2, bulge) that bulges in a direction away from the electrode assembly (Ahn, Fig. 2, 11-13) is provided in a middle portion of the insulating structure (Ahn, Fig. 2, 61 and 62), a barrier (Ahn, Fig. 2, barrier) is provided in the bulge (Ahn, Fig. 2, bulge), and the barrier (Ahn, Fig. 2, barrier) extends to an end surface of the electrode assembly (Ahn, Fig. 2, 11-13) opposite to the bulge (Ahn, Fig. 2, bulge), satisfying the functional claim limitation, to avoid contact between the heat-conducting structure (Ahn, Fig. 2, 65) and tabs of the electrode assembly (Ahn, Fig. 2, 51 and 52).
Regarding claim 10, Ahn in view of Li further teaches wherein the battery cell comprises a plurality of the electrode assemblies (Ahn, Fig. 2, plurality of 10 comprising plurality of 11-13), and the heat-conducting structure is connected to electrode plates of the plurality of electrode assemblies (Ahn, Fig. 2, plurality of 10 comprising plurality of 11-13, 65).
Regarding claim 11, Ahn in view of Li also teaches wherein the casing is provided with a pressure relief structure (Ahn, Fig. 2, 24 and 25), and the heat-conducting structure (Ahn, Fig. 2, 65) and the pressure relief structure are spaced apart from each other (Ahn, Fig. 2, 24 and 25).
Regarding claim 12, Ahn in view of Li additionally teaches a battery (Ahn, [0011]), comprising the battery cell according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 17, Ahn in view of Li further teaches wherein an orthographic projection (two dimensional projection of the three dimensional structure) of the electrical terminals (Ahn, Fig. 2, 21 and 22) on the end cap (Ahn, Fig. 2, 20) and an orthographic projection (two dimensional projection of the three dimensional structure) of the heat-conducting structure (Ahn, Fig. 2, 65) on the end cap (Ahn, Fig. 2, 20) are separated (a distinction is made) from each other, following Instant Fig. 8, 122 and 31/32, see claim interpretation above. The examiner notes the distinction is made between them as they correspond to different structures in the orthographic projection.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn US20150295286A1 in view of Li CN106935931A (using machine English translation provided) and further in view of Xiao CN209843907U (cited in IDS filed 10 May 2023; published 24 December 2019; using US20210028425A1 as English translation).
Regarding claim 9, Ahn in view of Li does not teach wherein the heat-conducting structure has a greater heat conductivity coefficient than the insulating structure.
Xiao teaches wherein the heat-conducting structure has a greater heat conductivity coefficient than the insulating structure (Xiao, [0071], “a thermal conductivity of the insulation thermal-dissipation member 15 is larger than a thermal conductivity of the insulation body 16”). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device taught by modified Ahn by forming the heat-conducting structure to have a greater heat conductivity coefficient than the insulating structure as taught by Xiao, thereby the generated heat will be conducted to the casing (Xiao, [0072]).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn US20150295286A1 in view of Li CN106935931A (using machine English translation provided) and further in view of Oki JP2012204038A (using machine English translation provided).
Regarding claim 13, Ahn in view of Li does not teach wherein the battery further comprises a thermal management structure attached to the casing.
Oki teaches a battery further comprises a thermal management structure (Oki, Fig. 4, 12) attached to the casing (Oki, Fig. 4, 60) and is provided corresponding to a heat-conducting structure (Oki, [0037], Fig. 4, 10 and 11). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the thermal management structure of Oki to modified Ahn thereby heat generated is efficiently released into the outside (Oki, [0037]).
Regarding claim 14, Ahn in view of Li as modified above by Oki further teaches wherein the thermal management structure (Oki, Fig. 4, 12) is provided corresponding to the heat-conducting structure (Oki, [0037], Fig. 4, 10 and 11).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee KR20150037335A (using machine English translation provided) in view of Ahn US20150295286A1.
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses an apparatus (Lee, [0057]), comprising a battery cell configured to provide electric energy or serve as an energy storage unit (Lee, [0057]). The battery cell comprising a heat-conducting structure (Lee, [0051], thermal conductive medium) and the solid structure made of silicone, or an adhesive (Lee, [0051]). Lee does not disclose the battery cell, comprising: a casing having an accommodating space, the casing including a housing and an end cap comprising electrode terminals; an electrode assembly accommodated in the accommodating space, the electrode assembly comprising electrode plates; and a heat-conducting structure to be directly connected to the electrode plates and the casing to conduct heat from the electrode assembly to the casing.
Ahn teaches a battery cell (Ahn, Fig. 2, 100), comprising:
a casing (Ahn, Fig. 2, 15 and 20) having an accommodating space (Ahn, Fig. 2, AL), the casing including a housing (Ahn, Fig. 2, 15) and an end cap (Ahn, Fig. 2, 20) comprising electrode terminals (Ahn, Fig. 2, 21 and 22),
an electrode assembly (Ahn, Fig. 2, 10) accommodated in the accommodating space (Ahn, Fig. 2, 10, AL), the electrode assembly comprising electrode plates (Ahn, Fig. 2, 11-13), and
a heat-conducting structure (Ahn, Fig. 2, 65) to be directly connected to the electrode plates (Ahn, Fig. 2, 11-13) and the casing (Ahn, Fig. 2, 15 and 20) to conduct heat from the electrode assembly to the casing (Ahn, [0052]),
wherein the heat-conducting structure (Ahn, Fig. 2, 65) is a solid structure (Ahn, [0056]) spaced apart from the electrical terminals (Ahn, Fig. 2, 21 and 22). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the battery cell of Ahn to the device disclose by Lee thereby the performance, battery life, and safety may be improved (Ahn, [0073]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 5-6, filed 20 May 2026, with respect to the objection of the drawings and 112 rejection of claims 4 and 6-8 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the drawings and 112 rejection of claims 4 and 6-8 has been withdrawn as it has been overcome by applicant’s arguments and amendment. The examiner notes that the Figs are being interpreted according to applicant’s arguments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JARED HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723