DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II (FIG. 10, Claims 1-7, 9-20) in the reply filed on 10/10/2025 is acknowledged. Claim 8 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5, 12 and 20 recites “different” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “different” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As such the claims are unclear and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. 20200013834.
Regarding claim 1, figs. 5 and 12-13 of Park discloses a display device comprising:
a substrate 100a1 (fig. 17) including a display area DA including a first transmission area TH (area of TH (TH1+TH2) first and second through portions TH1 and TH2, disposed inside the display area DA) and a pixel area (area of P), and a non-display area NDA2 including a second transmission area (area of TH2) and a dummy pixel area (area of DP);
a light emitting element 500 including a lower electrode 510 disposed in the pixel area on the substrate;
a dummy pattern (fig. 6) disposed in the dummy pixel area on the substrate and including a same material 510D as the lower electrode 510 (par [0090]);
a pixel defining layer 150 disposed in the display area on the substrate and the lower electrode, wherein a first opening OP1 exposing an upper surface of the lower electrode is defined in the pixel defining layer; and
a reflection control layer 150 (in region 20 of fig. 5) disposed in the non-display area on the substrate and the dummy pattern and including a same material as the pixel defining layer 150,
wherein a second opening OP2 exposing an upper surface of the dummy pattern is defined in the reflection control layer.
Regarding claim 2, par [0078] of Park discloses wherein each of the pixel defining layer and the reflection control layer includes an organic insulating material.
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses wherein an area of the first transmission area (that of TH2) is the same as an area of the second transmission area (that of TH2).
Regarding claim 5, Park necessary discloses wherein a size of the first opening OP1 of the pixel defining layer is different (as different is term of degree and not random variables are exactly the same and are different to a degree) from a size of the second opening OP2 of the reflection control layer.
Regarding claim 6, fig. 5 of Park discloses wherein the light emitting element further includes: a light emitting layer disposed in the pixel area on the lower electrode; and an upper electrode disposed on the pixel defining layer and the light emitting layer.
Regarding claim 7, fig. 5 of Park and par ([0079]-[0080]) discloses wherein the upper electrode is entirely disposed in the display area and the non-display area.
Regarding claim 9, fig. 5 of Park discloses further comprising: an encapsulation structure 400 disposed in the display area and the non-display area on the upper electrode, wherein the encapsulation structure includes an inorganic encapsulation layer 410 and an organic encapsulation layer 420.
Regarding claim 13, fig. 17 of Park discloses further comprising: a buffer layer 100b1 disposed in the display area and the non-display area on the substrate; an insulating layer 100a2 disposed in the display area and the non-display area on the buffer layer; and a planarization layer 130 disposed in the display area and the non-display area on the insulating layer.
Regarding claim 16, fig. 13 of Park discloses wherein the dummy pattern P has an island shape in a plan view.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Kang et al. 20220123060.
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses claim 2, but does not disclose wherein each of the pixel defining layer and the reflection control layer further includes at least one selected from a black pigment, a black dye, and a carbon black.
However, par [0092] of Kang discloses of pixel defining film PDL may be formed including a light absorbing material, and/or may be formed including a black pigment and/or a black dye. The pixel defining film PDL formed including a black pigment and/or a black dye may implement a black pixel defining film. When forming the pixel defining film PDL, carbon black may be used as a black pigment and/or a black dye, but the present disclosure is not limited thereto.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a display device of Park comprising wherein each of the pixel defining layer and the reflection control layer further includes at least one selected from a black pigment, a black dye, and a carbon black such as taught by Kang in order a pixel defining layer with a light absorbing material.
Regarding claim 19, figs. 5 and 12-13 of Park discloses a display device comprising:
a substrate 100a1 (fig. 17) including a display area DA including a first transmission area TH (area of TH (TH1+TH2) first and second through portions TH1 and TH2, disposed inside the display area DA) and a pixel area (area of P), and a non-display area NDA2 including a second transmission area (area of TH2) and a dummy pixel area (area of DP), wherein the second transmission area has a same area (area of TH2) as an area of the first transmission area (area of TH2);
a light emitting element 500 including a lower electrode 510 disposed in the pixel area on the substrate;
a dummy pattern disposed in the dummy pixel area on the substrate and disposed in a same layer as the lower electrode;
a pixel defining layer 150 disposed in the display area on the substrate and the lower electrode; and
a reflection control layer 150 disposed in the non-display area on the substrate and the dummy pattern, and disposed in a same layer as the pixel defining layer.
Park does not disclose that the pixel defining layer having a black color.
However, par [0092] of Kang discloses of pixel defining film PDL may be formed including a light absorbing material, and/or may be formed including a black pigment and/or a black dye. The pixel defining film PDL formed including a black pigment and/or a black dye may implement a black pixel defining film. When forming the pixel defining film PDL, carbon black may be used as a black pigment and/or a black dye, but the present disclosure is not limited thereto.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a display device of Park comprising wherein the pixel defining layer having a black color such as taught by Kang in order a pixel defining layer with a light absorbing material.
Regarding claim 20, fig. 5 of Park discloses wherein a first opening exposing an upper surface of the lower electrode is defined in the pixel defining layer, and a second opening exposing an upper surface of the dummy pattern is defined in the reflection control layer, and wherein a size of the first opening of the pixel defining layer is different (this is a term of degree and no two objects are exactly the same as this is a random variable) from a size of the second opening of the reflection control layer.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park.
Regarding claim 17, Park discloses claim 1. In addition, it would have been obvious to form a display device comprising wherein each of the pixel area and the dummy pixel area is repeatedly arranged in a first direction and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction in order to use the same processing step for both areas.
Regarding claim 18, figs. 12-13 of Park discloses wherein the first transmission area is arranged on a side of the pixel area, and the second transmission area is arranged on a side of the dummy pixel area.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Lee et al. 20220045160.
Regarding claims 10-11, Park discloses claim 9. Park does not disclose of further comprising: a first light blocking layer disposed in the display area on the encapsulation structure, wherein a first opening overlapping each of the first transmission area and the pixel area is defined in the first light blocking layer; and a first color filter layer disposed in the first opening of the first light blocking layer overlapping the pixel area.
However, fig. 2 of Lee discloses a display device comprising: a first light blocking layer 180 disposed in a display area MDA on an encapsulation structure ENCM, wherein a first opening overlapping each of a first transmission area and a pixel area is defined in the first light blocking layer; and a first color filter layer 182 disposed in the first opening of the first light blocking layer overlapping the pixel area; and further comprising: a second light blocking layer disposed in a non-display area on the encapsulation structure, wherein a second opening overlapping each of a second transmission area and another pixel area is defined in a second light blocking layer; and a second color filter layer disposed in the second opening of the second light blocking layer overlapping the another pixel area.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a display device of Par further comprising a first light blocking layer disposed in the display area on the encapsulation structure, wherein a first opening overlapping each of the first transmission area and the pixel area is defined in the first light blocking layer; and a first color filter layer disposed in the first opening of the first light blocking layer overlapping the pixel area; a second light blocking layer disposed in the non-display area on the encapsulation structure, wherein a second opening overlapping each of the second transmission area and the dummy pixel area is defined in the second light blocking layer; and a second color filter layer disposed in the second opening of the second light blocking layer overlapping the dummy pixel area such as taught by Lee in order form an optical functional layer.
Regarding claim 12, Lee necessary discloses a size of the first opening of the first light blocking layer overlapping the pixel area is different (as is term of degree) from a size of the second opening of the second light blocking layer overlapping the dummy pixel area.
The resulting structure would have been one meeting the claimed invention.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Bae et al. 20190097170.
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses claim 13, but does not disclose of wherein the planarization layer includes at least one selected from a photo sensitive polyimide and a siloxane-based resin.
However, par [0075] of Bae discloses of a planarization layer 220 may planarize the first substrate 111 by eliminating a height difference of the first substrate 111 to increase luminous efficiency of the OLED to be formed thereon. The planarization layer 220 may include one or more materials of the followings: a polyacrylate resin, an epoxy resin, a phenolic resin, a polyamide resin, a polyimide resin, an unsaturated polyester resin, a polyphenylen ether resin, a polyphenylene sulfide resin, or benzocyclobutene (BCB).
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a device of Lee wherein the planarization layer includes at least one selected from a photo sensitive polyimide and a siloxane-based resin such as taught by Bae in order to organic material as to meet applicant specification.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893