DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of FIG. 12, added claim 21 is not drawn to fig. 12 and must be withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) rejected have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Cho et al. 20210249635 applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-10, 12-14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. 20190114011 in view Cho et al. 20210249635.
Regarding claim 1, figs. 1-12 of Kim discloses a display device comprising:
a display panel including a light emitting element layer 25 (fig. 9) including a pixel defining layer 350 dividing a display area into an emission area (OLED area) and a non-emission area (350 area),
a thin film encapsulation layer 30 disposed on the light emitting element layer, and
a shielding layer (310/CFL1/ 410/420) including a shielding electrode 410 (par [0092]) disposed on the thin film encapsulation layer that is disposed on a substrate including the display area (410 in display area) and a non-display area (420 in non-display area – fig. 12); and
a light blocking layer 310 that covers an upper surface and at least a portion of a side surface of the shielding electrode,
a touch panel (200 minus 410 and 420) attached to the display panel through a first optically clear adhesive 220 (inherent clear and adhesive as it is clear to OLED emission and it adheres to layer above and below) and including touch electrodes (241/242 – par [0048]),
wherein the light emitting element layer includes a light emitting layer corresponding to the emission area 192, and the shielding electrode overlaps the non-emission area (fig. 9).
Kim does not disclose that the light blocking layer is a black matrix.
However, fig. 11 and par [0177] of Cho discloses that a reflection prevention layer 600′ may include a black matrix (or light blocking layer) 610. Note light blocking layer can be a black matrix.
As such it would have been obvious to form a device of Kim comprising the light blocking layer is a black matrix such as taught by Cho and black matrix absorbs light thereby blocks light.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses wherein the light blocking layer overlaps the non-emission area. The resulting structure would have been one wherein the black matrix overlaps the non-emission area.
Regarding claim 3, fig. 11 of Cho discloses a color filter 620 on the black matrix.
As such it would have been obvious to form a device of comprising wherein the shielding layer further includes a color filter overlapping at least a portion of the shielding electrode and the emission area and disposed on the black matrix.
Regarding claims 9, figs. 1 and 9 of Kim discloses wherein the display panel comprises: a pixel circuit disposed between the substrate and the light emitting element layer and configured to drive the light emitting element layer; and pads disposed on the non-display area of the substrate and electrically connected to the pixel circuit.
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses wherein the shielding electrode extends to the non-display area and it would have bene obvious to form device wherein the shielding electrode is electrically connected to a portion of the pads in order to provide grounding power.
Regarding claim 12, it would have been obvious to form a device wherein first power or second power provided to the pixel circuit is supplied to the shielding electrode as power can be VDD or VSS.
Regarding claim 13, fig. 7 of Kim discloses wherein the touch panel comprises: a first touch electrode layerCF2 disposed on the first optically clear adhesive; an insulating film 230 disposed on the first touch electrode layer; and a second touch electrode layer CF1 disposed on the insulating film and forming the touch electrodes together with the first touch electrode layer.
Regarding claim 14, fig. 1 of Kim discloses wherein the touch panel further includes touch pads PAD (bottom of fig. 1) overlapping the non-display area and connected to the first touch electrode layer or the second touch electrode layer.
Regarding claim 21, it would have been obvious to form a device further comprising a polarizer that includes a portion of the shielding electrode in the display area, the black matrix, and the color filter in order have polarized light.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Cho in view of Jung et al. 20180033848.
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses claim 2, but does not disclose wherein a color of the pixel defining layer is black.
However, par [0005] of Jung discloses OLED display may include a black pixel defining layer that includes a pigment of a black color to suppress reflection due to external light.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a device of Kim and Cho further comprising wherein a color of the pixel defining layer is black such as taught by Jung to suppress reflection due to external light.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Cho in view of SHIN et al. 20170068137.
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses claim 10, but does not disclose of wherein the shielding electrode contacts the portion of the pads through a contact hole.
However, par [0028] of Shin discloses of a pad line extending from the pad portion, a shielding pad line disposed to overlap part of the pad line and extending from the shielding electrode into the non-display area, and a first shielding contact hole connecting part of the shielding pad line and part of the pad line.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a device of Kim further comprising wherein the shielding electrode contacts the portion of the pads through a contact hole such as taught by Shin in order to connect power to the shielding electrode.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Cho in view of Chen et al. 20230200188.
Regarding claim 15, fig. 10 of Kim discloses wherein the touch electrodes include a conductive material overlapping the non-emission area.
Kim does not disclose of a transparent conductive material overlapping the emission area and the non-emission area.
However, par [0144] In some implementations, the touch module 26 may include a plurality of touch electrodes, and the touch electrodes may be made of a transparent conductive material, for example, may be made of an Indium Tin Oxide (ITO) material, so that the touch module can not block light emitted from each light emitting device, and can not affect the display effect of the display panel.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form a device of Kim further comprising wherein the touch electrodes include a transparent conductive material overlapping the emission area and the non-emission area such as taught by Chen in order to be able to place the touch electrodes touch overlapping the emission area and the non-emission area without blocking light emitted from each light emitting device, and can not affect the display effect of the display panel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893