DETAILED ACTION
The following Office Action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination filed on May 14, 2026. Claims 1-14, 16-17, and 27-29 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Concerning the “Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 102” section on page 5 of the Applicant’s Response filed on May 14, 2026, the applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the Ho, Madrid, Harrison, and Anderson references do not teach the limitation of a fluid channel through the hydrostatic skeleton, arguing instead that the channel exists and the blood flows around the hydrostatic skeleton. However, the examiner asserts that the channels may still be interpreted as running through the hydrostatic skeleton. An aqueduct includes two walls and a bottom defining a channel, wherein said channel and the water within said channel would be interpreted as running through the aqueduct, not around the aqueduct. In the same way, adjacent balloons of the Ho, Madrid, and Anderson reference define walls that include a channel that run through said walls, while the Harrison reference teaches a channel defined by the inner surface of the balloon and a bottom defined by the exterior of the catheter, wherein blood may be interpreted as flowing through said channels. Therefore, the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. §102 stand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 9, 11, 13-14, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ho (US 9,308,086).
Concerning claim 1, the Ho prior art reference teaches a device (Figures 2-6B; 10), comprising: a tubular member (Figure 2; 12); and one or more radially expandable features (Figure 2A; 20) configured to be selectively expanded from a collapsed configuration (Figure 2B; 20b) to an expanded configuration (Figure 2A; 20), wherein the one or more radially expandable features includes a hydrostatic skeleton (Figure 4A; 20a | the expandable features together may define, and therein include a hydrostatic skeleton, given they form a frame structure [skeleton] that relates to fluids at rest or to the pressures they exert [hydrostatic]), each hydrostatic skeleton defining a fluid channel through the hydrostatic skeleton (Figure 5A; flow passages 34a define fluid channels that may be interpreted as running through the hydrostatic skeleton), the fluid channel allowing blood within a blood vessel of a patient to flow from a point upstream of the hydrostatic skeleton, through the fluid channel, to a point downstream of the hydrostatic skeleton (Figure 3A & 4A).
Concerning claim 2, the Ho reference teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more radially expandable features comprises one or more balloons (Figure 2A; 20).
Concerning claim 3, the Ho reference teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more radially expandable features extend along a portion of a length of the tubular member (Figure 2A; 20).
Concerning claim 4, the Ho reference teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein each radially expandable feature has an identical axial length (Figure 2A; 20).
Concerning claim 6, the Ho reference teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more radially expandable features comprises a plurality of radially expandable features (Figure 2A; 20).
Concerning claim 7, the Ho reference teaches the device according to claim 6, wherein each of the plurality of radially expandable features is separated circumferentially from an adjacent radially expandable feature by an identical distance (Figure 2B; if expandable features 20a are interpreted as the plurality of radially expandable features, each is separated circumferentially from an adjacent expandable feature by an identical distance equal to the other subset of balloons 20b).
Concerning claim 9, the Ho reference teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the central axis of each radially expandable feature is parallel to a central axis of the tubular member (Figure 4B; 20a, 26).
Concerning claim 11, the Ho reference teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein at least one radially expandable feature has a circular cross section (Figure 4B; 20a).
Concerning claim 13, the Ho reference teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein each of the at least one radially expandable features is fluidly connected to a fluid source (Figure 2; 22, 24).
Concerning claim 14, the Ho reference teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein each of the at least one radially expandable features is operably connected to a connector (Figure 2; 24).
Concerning claim 29, the Ho prior art reference teaches a method, comprising: positioning a tubular member within a blood vessel (Figure 3A; AA), the tubular member having an outer surface and at least open radially expandable member coupled to the outer surface (Figure 3A; 20a), at least one radially expandable feature including a hydrostatic skeleton (Figure 4A; 20a | the expandable features together may define, and therein include a hydrostatic skeleton, given they form a frame structure [skeleton] that relates to fluids at rest or to the pressures they exert [hydrostatic]), each hydrostatic skeleton defining a fluid channel through the hydrostatic skeleton (Figure 5A; flow passages 34a define fluid channels); expanding the at least one radially expandable feature from a collapsed configuration (Figure 3A) to an expanded configuration to allow blood flow from a point upstream of the hydrostatic skeleton, through the fluid channel, and to a point downstream of the hydrostatic skeleton (Figure 4A; arrows).
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Madrid et al. reference (US 2016/0206425, hereinafter Madrid).
Concerning claim 1, the Madrid et al. prior art reference teaches a device (Figures 1-10; 10), comprising: a tubular member (Figure 2A; 26); and one or more radially expandable features (Figure 2B; 50, 52) configured to be selectively expanded from a collapsed configuration (Figure 7) to an expanded configuration (Figure 9), wherein the one or more radially expandable features includes a hydrostatic skeleton (Figure 4; 52 | the expandable features together may define, and therein include a hydrostatic skeleton, given they form a frame structure [skeleton] that relates to fluids at rest or to the pressures they exert [hydrostatic]), each hydrostatic skeleton defining a fluid channel through the hydrostatic skeleton (Figure 4; flow passages 60 define fluid channels that may be interpreted as running through the hydrostatic skeleton), the fluid channel allowing blood within a blood vessel of a patient to flow from a point upstream of the hydrostatic skeleton, through the fluid channel, to a point downstream of the hydrostatic skeleton (Figure 9; blood may flow through gaps 60).
Concerning claim 5, the Madrid reference teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more radially expandable features has a different axial length than another of the one or more radially expandable features (Figure 3; inner balloon 50 is longer than outer balloons 52).
Concerning claims 6 and 8, the Madrid reference teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more radially expandable features comprises a plurality of radially expandable features (Figure 6; 72, 74), wherein each of the plurality of radially expandable features is separated from an adjacent radially expandable feature, and wherein a circumferential separation distance of a first pair of the plurality of adjacent radially expandable features (Figure 6; 72) is different from a circumferential separation distance of a second adjacent pair of the plurality of adjacent expandable features (Figure 6; 74).
Claim(s) 1, 10, 16, 17, 27, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harrison et al. (US 5,554,119, hereinafter Harrison).
Concerning claim 1, the Harrison et al. prior art reference teaches a device (Figures 10-13; 200), comprising: a tubular member (Figure 10; 208); and one or more radially expandable features (Figure 11; 210, 212, 214, 216, 218, 220) configured to be selectively expanded from a collapsed configuration (Figure 12) to an expanded configuration (Figure 13), wherein the one or more radially expandable features includes a hydrostatic skeleton (Figure 11; 220 | the expandable features together may define, and therein include a hydrostatic skeleton, given they form a frame structure [skeleton] that relates to fluids at rest or to the pressures they exert [hydrostatic]), each hydrostatic skeleton defining a fluid channel through the hydrostatic skeleton (Figure 11; 224), the fluid channel allowing blood within a blood vessel of a patient to flow from a point upstream of the hydrostatic skeleton, through the fluid channel, to a point downstream of the hydrostatic skeleton (Figure 11; blood may flow through central channel of 202).
Concerning claim 10, the Harrison reference teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein at least one radially expandable feature is disposed in a helical pattern on the outer surface of the tubular member (Figure 11; 202).
Concerning claim 16, the Harrison et al. prior art reference teaches a device (Figures 10-13; 200), comprising: a tubular member (Figure 10; 208); and a hydrostatic skeleton coupled to the tubular member (Figure 10; 202), the hydrostatic skeleton configured to be selectively expanded from a collapsed configuration (Figure 12) to an expanded configuration (Figure 13) to create at least a first channel for allowing blood to flow from a point upstream of the hydrostatic skeleton, through the first channel, to a point downstream of the hydrostatic skeleton (Figure 13).
Concerning claim 17, the Harrison reference teaches the device according to claim 16, wherein the hydrostatic skeleton is configured to be selectively inflated or deflated to create at least the first channel and a second channel (Figure 18; hydrostatic skeleton may be split into to portions, therein defining two channels).
Concerning claim 27, the Harrison reference teaches the device according to claim 17, wherein the diameter of the first channel increases when the hydrostatic skeleton is inflated (Figures 13 & 14).
Concerning claim 28, the Harrison reference teaches the device according to claim 17, wherein each portion of the hydrostatic skeleton may be defined as an annular ring of the hydrostatic skeleton (Figure 18; 322ab).
Claim(s) 1 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Anderson et al. (US 2022/0249108, hereinafter Anderson).
Concerning claims 1 and 12, the Anderson et al. prior art reference teaches a device (Figures 1A-C; 102), comprising: a tubular member (Figure 1A; 112); and one or more radially expandable features (Figure 1C; 114) configured to be selectively expanded from a collapsed configuration (Figure 1A) to an expanded configuration (Figure 1B) (, wherein the one or more radially expandable features includes a hydrostatic skeleton (Figure 1C; 114 | the expandable features together may define, and therein include a hydrostatic skeleton, given they form a frame structure [skeleton] that relates to fluids at rest or to the pressures they exert [hydrostatic]), each hydrostatic skeleton defining a fluid channel through the hydrostatic skeleton (Figure 2C; gaps between balloons 214 define a fluid channel that may be interpreted as running through the hydrostatic skeleton), wherein at least one radially expandable feature has a polygonal cross-section (Figure 1C; 114) the fluid channel allowing blood within a blood vessel of a patient to flow from a point upstream of the hydrostatic skeleton, through the fluid channel, to a point downstream of the hydrostatic skeleton (Figure 1B; blood may flow through central channel of 106).
Conclusion
/MARTIN T TON/Examiner, Art Unit 3771 5/27/2026