DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following is in reply to the applicants submission (e.g. amendment, remarks, etc.) filed on March 5, 2026.
Specification
The objections to the specification in the previous office action1 have been withdrawn in light of the amendments to the Title and Abstract.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) in the previous office action have been withdrawn in light of the amendments to Claims 25 and 32.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 through 18 and 20 through 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication 2021/0272836 to Sugakawa et al (hereinafter “Sugakawa”) in view of the teachings of U.S. Publication 2018/0308819 to Uzoh (hereinafter “Uzoh”) and U.S. Publication 2010/0144069 to Johnson (hereinafter “Johnson”).
Claim 15: Sugakawa discloses a die bonding method, comprising:
picking up a plurality of substrates (W1, W2, Fig. 1, ¶ [0026]) through a second holding device with a chuck (e.g. 200, Fig. 3); and
bonding one of the substrates (W2) having a bonding surface facing upward (top surface of W2, Figs. 2, 3) to a bearing surface (e.g. bottom surface of W1 in Fig. 3, or W1j in Fig. 2) of a carrier (wafer W1) through the second holding device (e.g. ¶ [0024]);
wherein the carrier is fixed on a platform (e.g. 41a) and the bearing surface faces downward (Fig. 3).
The claimed “bearing surface” is broadly read as a bonding surface (e.g. W1j, Fig. 2) of the carrier as the specification does not provide any explicit definition for a bearing surface, other than the bearing surface is a surface that bonds the carrier to the die.
Claim 16: Sugakawa discloses the die bonding method according to claim 15, wherein the second holding device picks up the one of substrates, respectively, and moves downward (down arrow in Fig. 3) to leave a die frame (e.g. 103, 101, Fig. 3).
Claim 17: Sugakawa discloses the die bonding method according to claim 16, wherein the plurality of substrates (e.g. W2) are disposed under the die frame (e.g. 103, 101), respectively, and the second holding device picks up the one of the substrates and moves to a location (see horizontal arrows in Fig. 3) under the platform for bonding the one of the substrates to the bearing surface.
Claim 18: Sugakawa discloses the die bonding method according to claim 16, wherein the second holding device (e.g. 200) picks up the one of the substrates, respectively, and moves upward (up arrow in Fig. 3) to approach to the carrier for bonding the one of the substrates to the bearing surface (e.g. ¶¶ [0024], [0047]).
Claim 20: Sugakawa discloses the die bonding method according to claim 15, wherein the plurality of substrates and the carrier are bonded to each other, respectively, by fusion bonding (e.g. bonding of W1j to W2j through plasma radiation, ¶ [0030]).
Claim 21: Sugakawa discloses the bonding method according to claim 15, wherein the second holding device is arranged on a transfer platform (e.g. G2, Fig. 1), the transfer platform is driven by a driver (e.g. 201, Fig. 3), and the driver is configured to control the movement of the transfer platform (e.g. ¶ [0046]).
Claim 22: Sugakawa discloses the die bonding method according to claim 21, wherein the driver comprises a linear transmission module (e.g. 201a), and the second holding device moves to a location under the platform through the linear transmission module (e.g. ¶ [0047]).
Claim 23: Sugakawa discloses the die bonding method according to claim 15, wherein the second holding device comprises a suction head (e.g. 210, 210c, Fig. 4) located on top of the second holding device, the one of the substrates is set downward under a die frame (e.g. 103, 101), the suction head of the second holding device moves upward (up arrow in Fig. 3) to pick up the one of the substrates from the die frame.
Claim 24: Sugakawa discloses the die bonding method according to claim 23, wherein the suction head picks up the one of the substrates and moves to a location (via horizontal arrows in Fig. 3) under the platform, and the suction head of the second holding device moves upward (up arrow in Fig. 3) to bond the one of the substrates to the bearing surface (e.g. ¶¶ [0024], [0047]).
Claim 25: Sugakawa discloses a die bonding method, comprising:
moving a second holding device with a chuck (e.g. 200, Fig. 3) to a die frame (e.g. 101, 103), wherein the second holding device comprises a suction head (e.g. 210, 210c, Fig. 4) facing upward, a plurality of substrates (e.g. W2) are set downward, respectively, under the die frame and opposite to the suction head (e.g. Fig. 3);
moving the suction head of the second holding device upward (up arrow in Fig. 3) to pick up the substrates, respectively; and
bonding the one of the substrates (W2) having a bonding surface facing upward (top surface of W2, Figs. 2, 3) to a bearing surface (e.g. bottom surface of W1 in Fig. 3 or W1j in Fig. 2) of a carrier (e.g. W1) through the second holding device (e.g. ¶ [0024]);
wherein the carrier is fixed on a platform (e.g. 41a) and the bearing surface faces downward (in Fig. 3).
Claim 26: Sugakawa discloses the die bonding method according to claim 25, wherein the suction head of the second holding device picks up the one of the substrates and moves downward (down arrow in Fig. 3) to leave the die frame (e.g. ¶ [0046]).
Claim 27: Sugakawa discloses the die bonding method according to claim 26, wherein the suction head of the second holding device picks up the one of the substrates and moves to a location (see horizontal arrows in Fig. 3) under the platform.
Claim 28: Sugakawa discloses the die bonding method according to claim 26, wherein the suction head of the second holding device picks up the one of the substrates and moves upward to approach to the carrier for bonding the one of the substrates to the bearing surface (e.g. ¶¶ [0024], [0047])
Claim 29: Sugakawa discloses the die bonding method according to claim 25, wherein the plurality of the substrates and the carrier are bonded to each other, respectively, by fusion bonding (e.g. bonding of W1j to W2j through plasma radiation, ¶ [0030]).
Claim 30: Sugakawa discloses the die bonding method according to claim 25, wherein the second holding device is arranged on a transfer platform (e.g. G2, Fig. 1), the transfer platform is driven by a driver (e.g. 201, Fig. 3), and the driver is configured to control the movement of the transfer platform (e.g. ¶ [0046]).
Claim 31: Sugakawa discloses the die bonding method according to claim 30, wherein the driver comprises a linear transmission module (e.g. 201a), and the second holding device moves to a location (e.g. see horizontal arrows in Fig. 2) under the platform through the linear transmission module (e.g. ¶ [0047]).
Claim 32: Sugakawa discloses a die bonding method, comprising:
moving a second holding device with a chuck (e.g. 200, Fig. 3) to a die frame (e.g. 101, 103), wherein the second holding device comprises a suction head (e.g. 210, 210c, Fig. 4) facing upward, a plurality of substrates (e.g. W2) are set downward, respectively, under the die frame and opposite to the suction head (e.g. Fig. 3);
moving the suction head of the second holding device upward (up arrow in Fig. 3) to pick up the substrates, respectively (e.g. ¶¶ [0024], [0047]);
moving the suction head downward (down arrow in Fig. 3) to leave the die frame (e.g. ¶ [0046]);
moving the second holding device to a location (horizontal arrows in Fig. 3) under a platform (e.g. 41a, Fig. 3);
moving the suction head upward (up arrow in Fig. 3) to approach to a carrier (W1) disposed on the platform; and
bonding the one of the substrates (W2) having a bonding surface facing upward (top surface of W2, Figs. 1, 2) to a bearing surface (e.g. bottom surface of W1 in Fig. 3 or W1f in Fig. 2) of the carrier through the second holding device;
wherein the bearing surface faces downward (e.g. Figs. 3, 4).
Claim 33: Sugakawa discloses the die bonding method according to claim 32, wherein the plurality of substrates and the carrier are bonded to each other, respectively, by fusion bonding (e.g. bonding of W1j to W2j through plasma radiation, ¶ [0030]).
Claim 34: Sugakawa discloses the die bonding method according to claim 32, wherein the second holding device is arranged on a transfer platform (e.g. G2, Fig. 1), the transfer platform is driven by a driver (e.g. 201, Fig. 3), and the driver is configured to control the movement of the transfer platform (e.g. ¶ [0046]).
Claim 35: Sugakawa discloses the die bonding method according to claim 34, wherein the driver comprises a linear transmission module (e.g. 201a), and the second holding device moves to the location under the platform through the linear transmission module (e.g. ¶ [0047]).
It is noted that the second holding device (e.g. 200) of Sugakawa includes a vacuum or suction chuck (e.g. 203, 212, ¶ [0061]). Moreover, the one of the substrates and carrier of Sugakawa are bonded together in a stacked arrangement to form an integrated circuit (e.g. ¶ [0023]).
Throughout the claims, Sugakawa does not explicitly state a pick-and-placer, or state that the second holding device is a pick-and-placer. Also throughout the claims, Sugakawa does not explicitly state that a plurality of die(s) are bonded to the carrier, respectively, or that the one of the substrates can be a die that is bonded to the carrier.
Uzoh teaches that various types of packages can be in a stacked arrangement to form integrated circuits (e.g. ¶ [0002]). Such packages can include bonding a substrate on a carrier (wafer), or alternatively, bonding one die of a plurality of dies, on a carrier (e.g. ¶¶ [0006] to [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted each of the plurality of dies of Uzoh for each of the plurality of substrates of Sugakawa, to achieve the same purpose of forming an integrated circuit in a stacked arrangement by bonding the one of the plurality of dies to a bearing surface of the carrier, respectively.
Johnson teaches that a holding device (e.g. 1602, Fig. 16) that includes a vacuum or suction chuck, is referred to as a pick-and-place vacuum chuck (i.e. pick-and-placer) that picks up a die (e.g. 1604, ¶ [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the second holding device of Sugakawa can be considered to be a pick-and-placer, as taught by Johnson, as both Johnson and Sugakawa teach holding devices having the same purpose as vacuum chucks that pick up a die or substrate.
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments filed as part of the submission have been fully considered, but have not been deemed to be found as persuasive.
Applicants assert that the prior art does not teach “picking up…the pick-and-placer” (lines 2-4 of Claim 15, with similar limitations recited in each of Claims 25 and 32). Applicants believe that these limitations are not met because Sugakawa does not disclose “picking up a plurality of dies respectively through a pick-and-placer; and bonding one of the dies having a bonding surface facing upward to a bearing surface of a carrier through the pick-and-placer” (emphasis added).
The examiner disagrees. In order to form a plurality of integrated circuits, Sugakawa discloses picking up a plurality of substrates (W2) respectively through a second holding device. The purpose of Sugakawa is to form a plurality of integrated circuits, not just one, single circuit alone, as this is a manufacturing process to do such.
Figure 1 shows where the plurality of substrates (W2) are being picked up from (e.g. station 2). This is explicitly stated by Sugakawa at ¶ [0026] of the disclosure:
The carry-in/out station 2 includes a placing table 10 and a transfer section 20. The placing table 10 is equipped with a multiple number of placing plates 11. Respectively provided on the placing plates 11 are cassettes C1 to C4 each of which accommodates therein a plurality of (e.g., 25 sheets of) substrates horizontally. The cassette C1 accommodates therein a plurality of first substrates W1; the cassette C2, a plurality of second substrates W2; and the cassette C3, a plurality of combined substrates T. The cassette C4 is a cassette for collecting, for example, a problematic substrate. Further, the number of the cassettes C1 to C4 placed on the placing plates 11 is not limited to the shown example.
The emphasis in the claim is the term of “respectively”. This means that one of the plurality of substrates (W2) in Figure 3 is being pickup, respectively [i.e. one at a time], from the plurality of substrates (in Fig. 1). Moreover, the one of the plurality of substrates (W2, in Fig. 2 or 3) has a top surface that is facing upward towards a bearing surface (bottom surface of W1).
Applicants further assert that Uzoh cannot be combined with Sugakawa because Uzoh teaches a punch technique with a punch mechanism, which is a different configuration compared to Sugakawa. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, the intent is not to bodily incorporate any configuration of the punch mechanism of Uzoh into the configuration of Sugakawa. The teachings of Uzoh that are being applied here have to do with what elements (e.g. packages) make up an integrated circuit. To reiterate, Sugakawa forms an integrated circuit by forming a stacked arrangement of two substrates (e.g. W1, W2, ¶ [0023]). Uzoh is analogous in forming an integrated circuit by forming a stacked arrangement of a die and carrier (e.g. ¶¶ [0006], [0007]). Substituting well-known equivalents (the two substrates of Sugakawa for the die and carrier of Uzoh) for the same purpose (forming integrated circuits) is a well-settled prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.06 (II).
For these foregoing reasons, Sugakawa, when combined with Uzoh and Johnson, meets all of the limitations of each of Claims 15, 25 and 32.
Conclusion
Applicants amendment filed as part of the submission has necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A. DEXTER TUGBANG/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
1 Non-Final action, dated December 12, 2025.