Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan (Panoramic Image Generation: From 2-D Sketch to Spherical Image, cited previously) in view of Gausebeck, (US2019/0026958).
As to claim 1, Duan teaches a processor comprising:
one or more circuits to cause one or more neural networks to iteratively generate different portions of one or more panoramic images to complete the one or more panoramic images based, at least in part, on a segmentation map indicating content to be included in the one or more panoramic images (Duan mentions combining one or more panoramic images, and in Page 197, that the proposed method improved the performance of image reconstruction in iterations. See also page 197 Col. 2 Para.1-3, page 199, Col.2, Algorithm 1; page 201. Col.2 Para 2-3).
Duan is silent in that the generated portions of the panoramic image is overlapped.
Gausebeck teaches to “generate different, overlapping portions of one or more panoramic images to complete the one or more panoramic images (para 0100, The one or more panorama models 514 can employ a neural network model that has been trained on panoramic images with 3D ground truth data associated therewith. For example, in various implementations, the one or more panorama models 514 can be generated based on 2D panoramic image data with associated 3D data (referred to herein as 2D/3D panoramic data) that was captured by a 2D/3D capture device in association with capture of the 2D panoramic image data. The 2D/3D panoramic capture device can incorporate one or more cameras (or one or more camera lenses) that provide a field-of-view up to a 360°, as well as one or more depth sensors that provide a filed-of-view up to 360°, thereby providing for capture of an entire panoramic image and panoramic depth data associated therewith to be captured simultaneously and merged into a 2D/3D panoramic image. The depth sensors can include one or more 3D capture devices that use at least some hardware to capture depth information. For example, the depth sensors can include but are not limited to LiDAR sensors/device, laser rangefinder sensors/devices, time-of-flight sensors/devices, structured light sensors/devices, lightfield-camera sensors/device, active stereo depth derivation sensors/devices, etc.). In other embodiments, the panoramic 2D/3D training used to develop the one or more panorama models 514 can include panoramic image data and associated 3D data generated by a capture device assembly that incorporates one or more color cameras and one or more 3D sensors attached to a rotating stage, or otherwise a device configured to rotate about an axis during the capture process (e.g., using synchronized rotation signals). During rotation, multiple images and depth readings are captured which can be merged into a single panoramic 2D/3D image. In some implementations, by rotating the stage, images with mutually overlapping fields-of-view but different viewpoints are obtained, and 3D information can be derived from them using stereo algorithms. The 2D/3D panoramic training data can also be associated with information identifying a capture position and a capture orientation of the 2D/3D panoramic image, which can be generated by the 2D/3D capture device and/or derived in association with the capture processes. Additional details regarding a graphical user interface that facilitates reviewing and aiding the capture process is described in U.S. patent application Ser. No. 15/417,162 filed on Jan. 26, 2017 and entitled “CAPTURING AND ALIGNING PANORAMIC IMAGE AND DEPTH DATA,” the entirety of which is incorporated herein by reference.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Duan with the teaching of Gausebeck so as to allow aligning the different portions of images to generate the panoramic picture.
As to claim 2, Duan as modified by Gausebeck teaches the processor of claim 1, wherein iteratively generating the different portions of the one or more panoramic images comprises generating one or more normal-perspective images and projecting the one or more normal-perspective images to the different portions of the one or more panoramic images (see Duan page 202, Col.2 para2; Gausebeck para 0100).
As to claim 3, Duan as modified by Gausebeck teaches the processor of claim 2, wherein the one or more normal- perspective images are generated based, at least in part, on segmentation map (see Gausebeck, para 0161 and claim 10, In some implementations, the semantic labeling component 928 can also perform semantic segmentation and further identify and defined boundaries of recognized objects in the 2D images. The semantic labels/boundaries associated with features included in a 2D image can be characterized as structured auxiliary data 930 and used to facilitate deriving depth data for the 2D images. In this regard, the semantic label/segmentation information associated with a 2D image can also be used as input to one or more augmented 3D-from-2D models (e.g., one or more augmented models 810) along with the 2D image to generate derived 3D data 116 for the 2D image, used by the model generation component 118 to facilitate the alignment process in association with 3D model generation, and/or stored in memory ; and claim 10: The system of claim 1, further comprising: an object segmentation component configured to extract object image data of an object included in a two-dimensional image, and wherein three-dimensional data derivation component is further configured to employ the one or more 3D-from-2D neural network models to derive object three-dimensional data from the object image data).
As to claim 4, Duan as modified by Gausebeck teaches the processor of claim 2, wherein the one or more normal- perspective images correspond to a plurality of viewing directions of the one or more panoramic images (see Duan, page 202, Col. 2, para 2-3).
As to claim 5, Duan as modified by Gausebeck teaches the processor of claim 4, wherein two or more of the plurality of viewing directions correspond to two or more portions of the one or more panoramic images which at least partially overlap (see Duan, page 202, Col. 2, para 2-4).
As to claim 6, Duan as modified by Gausebeck teaches the processor of claim 4, wherein the one or more normal-perspective images are projected to the portions of the one or more panoramic images based, at least in part, on the plurality of viewing directions (see Duan, page 202, Col. 2, para 2-3).
As to claim 7, Duan as modified by Gausebeck teaches the processor of claim 1, wherein the one or more panoramic images comprise[[s]] a spherical panoramic image (see Duan, page 202, Col. 2, para 2).
Claims 8-14 are method claims performed by a processor similar to claims 1-7, thus see the rejection of claims 1-7 and note that Duan in view of Gausebeck teaches the method of using the processor for performing the function as recited in these claims.
Claims 15-20 recites a system comprising a processor similar to claims 1-7, thus also see rejection of claims 1-7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant mainly argues that the prior art doesn’t teach “iteratively generate different, overlapping portions of one or more panoramic images to complete the one or more panoramic images”. Note that Duan already mentions combining one or more panoramic images, and mentions, in Page 197, that the proposed method improved the performance of image reconstruction in iterations. In addition, Gausebeck teaches the method of constructing a complete panoramic image by combining (stitching) different, overlapping portions (captured 2D images). In paragraph [0100] and Paragraph [0110], Gausebeck also mentions “stitching two or more images together to generate a panoramic images” And “The stitching component 508 can further employ this initial derived depth information … to facilitate aligning the respective 2D images … combining the images to generate a single panoramic image”, and in paragraph [0141], forming a panoramic image from two or more images with partially overlapping fields-of-view and stitching them into a panoramic image, and “related 2D images can include two or more images respectively captured by two or more cameras with partially overlapping fields-of-view or different perspective of an environment (e.g., captured by different cameras at or near the same time)…”. Furthermore, Gausebeck also teaches in Paragraph [0226] about cropping a panoramic image to select a desired portion, including selecting a specific segmented object (and even mentions user input to identify the desired portion).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact information
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/KENT W CHANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2614