DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendments filed March 11th, 2026, the following has occurred: claims 1-3, 14, and 18 have been amended; claims 1-20 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 13-15, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 11091999 B2, “Zhang”) in view of Tello et al. ("The Fourier Transform Applied to Cased-hole Ultrasonic Scanner Measurements." SPWLA Annual Logging Symposium. SPWLA, 2008., “Tello”) and Froelich et al. (US 20140269165 A1, “Froelich”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a method comprising: transmitting an acoustic signal into at least part of a conduit string ([column 7, lines 23-32], pulses from transmitter travel through fluid in the tubing, then through the tubing); measuring a return signal from at least part of the conduit string ([column 7, lines 36-41], some of the emitted acoustic pulses will be picked up by the receiver); and forming a depth-resonance amplitude log of the resonance signal with at least one of the one or more amplitudes of the resonance signal. (Fig. 20, [column 14, lines 5-34] illustrates a amplitude depth log at a for a particular depth range within a selectable time window of interest. Suitable time windows may be selected based on the frequency contents and its strength of casing waves)([column 2, lines 41-50], processor is configured to determine frequency spectrum of the recorded waveforms and determine amplitudes of preselected frequencies of interest in which amplitudes are noticeably affected by cement bond quality for a particular casing/tubing configuration)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that the selected frequencies of interest correspond to resonance modes as they directly correlate to cement bond quality amplitude sensitivity which is in line with Applicant’s description of resonance mode waveforms in the specification of the claimed invention at [0003])
Zhang may not explicitly teach the return signal comprises a resonance signal and a non-resonance signal; removing the non-resonance signal from the return signal based on a cut-off time, one or more signal processing methods, or both; identifying, based on the return signal, a resonance mode associated with the return signal, the resonance mode being a cement-sensitive resonance mode determined from modal analysis, a pre-computed library, or both; extracting, via a filter, the resonance signal from the return signal to create a filtered time domain waveform;
Tello teaches the return signal comprises a resonance signal and a non-resonance signal; removing the non-resonance signal from the return signal based on a cut-off time, one or more signal processing methods, or both; extracting, via a filter, the resonance signal from the return signal to create a filtered time domain waveform ([pg. 4, raw waveform is presented in Fig. 3, which illustrates the time waveform having the pipe resonance that follows the internal reflection pulse. the algorithm front mute filters out the internal pulse that corresponds to the transducer component, leaving only the pipe or resonant component of the signal)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that the algorithm front mute filtering is a signal processing method);
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of through tubing cement evaluation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Zhang, to include the resonance filtering of Tello with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of removing the transducer component of received signals in order to utilize the resonance signals of pipe to determine the condition and parameters associated with a pipe during cement evaluation [pg. 3-4].
Zhang, as modified in view of Tello may not explicitly teach identifying, based on the return signal, a resonance mode associated with the return signal, the resonance mode being a cement-sensitive resonance mode determined from modal analysis, a pre-computed library, or both;
Froelich teaches identifying, based on the return signal, a resonance mode associated with the return signal, the resonance mode being a cement-sensitive resonance mode determined from modal analysis, a pre-computed library, or both ([0020]-[0022], acoustic logging tool receives an acoustic response and generates a waveform model, which then is used identify one or more higher order resonance harmonics of the thickness resonance such as the primary thickness mode resonance frequency.)([0026], the impedance of the material can be determined by direct computation, using pre-established look-up tables relating these parameters with the parameters which characterize the resonance. From the comparison, new estimates regarding the cement impedance and casing thickness can be identified)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that using the resonance mode model identification to iterate cement impedance values indicates that the resonance mode is cement-sensitive);
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of through tubing cement evaluation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Zhang, as modified in view of Tello to include the model based resonance mode identification of Froelich with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of determine cement impedance values through model based iteration [0026].
Regarding claim 2, Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich teaches the method of claim 1. Tello further teaches extracting the resonance signal comprises decomposing the return signal to form a decomposed waveform, and forming the resonance signal by implementing the filter with at least the decomposed waveform([pg. 4, raw waveform is presented in Fig. 3, which illustrates the time waveform having the pipe resonance that follows the internal reflection pulse. the algorithm front mute filters out the internal pulse that corresponds to the transducer component, leaving only the pipe or resonant component of the signal)
Regarding claim 4, Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich teaches the method of claim 2. Zhang further teaches comprising subtracting a baseline signal from the decomposed waveform. ([column 10, lines 48-53], cement bond quality can be determined by subtracting baseline signal from the log)
Regarding claim 5, Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich teaches the method of claim 4. Zhang further teaches wherein the baseline signal is a fully bounded return signal or a free pipe return signal.([column 10, lines 15-18], baseline can be taken from known industry standard baselines based on free pipe calibration)
Regarding claim 6, Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich teaches the method of claim 2. Tello further teaches wherein decomposing is based on at least the resonance mode. ([pg. 4, raw waveform is presented in Fig. 3, which illustrates the time waveform having the pipe resonance that follows the internal reflection pulse. the algorithm front mute filters out the internal pulse that corresponds to the transducer component, leaving only the pipe or resonant component of the signal)
Regarding claim 13, Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches further comprising forming a cement bond quality with at least the depth-resonance amplitude log. ([column 10, lines 48-50], cement bond quality can be determined based on the difference between the log at the frequency of interest and the baseline log)
Regarding claim 14, the claim is a system claim corresponding to claim 1 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is a system claim corresponding to claim 2 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is a system claim corresponding to claim 4 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is a CRM claim corresponding to claim 1 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 20, Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich teaches the non-transitory storage computer readable medium of claim 18. Zhang further teaches wherein the one or more instructions, that when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to form a decomposed waveform from the return signal and subtract a baseline signal from the decomposed waveform.([column 3, lines 1-10], return signals are recorded and frequencies at which the amplitudes are noticeably affected by the cement quality are compared with baselines to determine indications of cement bond quality)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that the extraction of frequencies in which the amplitudes of the return signal are affected is equivalent to decomposing the return waveform)([column 10, lines 48-53], cement bond quality can be determined by subtracting baseline signal from the log)
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Tello, Froelich and Wang (US 20200072036 A1, “Wang”).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich teaches the method of claim 2. Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich may not explicitly teach the filter is a band pass filter and the band pass filter is formed from at least on the resonance mode associated with the return signal.
Wang teaches wherein the filter is a band pass filter and the band pass filter is formed from at least on the resonance mode associated with the return signal. ([0027], array preprocessing includes bandpass filtering to suppress tool waves)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that the suppression of tool waves is done so based on resonance mode as those are the modes necessary for evaluating the cement bond quality)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of through tubing cement evaluation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich, to include the bandpass filtering of Wang with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of suppressing tool waves of the return signal [0027].
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Tello, Froelich, and Lu (US 20150338378 A1, “Lu”).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich, teaches the method of claim 2. Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich may not explicitly teach further comprising forming at least one time-frequency window and performing wavelet analysis on the decomposed waveform.
Lu teaches forming at least one time-frequency window and performing wavelet analysis on the decomposed waveform. ([0044], received signals are decomposed into at least one wavelet using the time-frequency decomposition in order to determine parameters associated with each wavelet)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of through tubing cement evaluation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich to include the time-frequency decomposition and wavelet analysis of Lu with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of evaluating the condition of the borehole [0044].
Claim(s) 8-9, 11-12, 16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Tello, Froelich, and Mandal et al. (US 6041861 A, “Mandal”).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich may not explicitly teach further comprising forming a time segment from early time arrivals, wherein the early time arrivals comprise resonance and non-resonance signals.
Mandal teaches further comprising forming a time segment from early time arrivals, wherein the early time arrivals comprise resonance and non-resonance signals. ([column 4, lines 46-67]-[column 5, lines 1-5], describes creating a time window early arrivals (T.sub.off) which includes reliable reverberation information as well as initial reflections)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that the initial reflections include non-resonance modes that are later delineated by time window (T.sub.win.), which is uncontaminated by the initial reflections and provide only reverberation information corresponding to the cement)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of through tubing cement evaluation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich to include the early time arrival window of Mandal with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of ensuring the contamination of the early time window is not part of the casing and cement reverberation measurements comprising the late time arrivals [column 4, lines 46-67]-[column 5, lines 1-5].
Regarding claim 9, Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich may not explicitly teach further comprising forming a time segment from late time arrivals, wherein the late time arrivals comprise only resonance signals.
Mandal teaches further comprising forming a time segment from late time arrivals, wherein the late time arrivals comprise only resonance signals.([column 4, lines 46-67]-[column 5, lines 1-5], T.sub.win. is a time window uncontaminated by initial reflections and includes later arriving reverberation signals occurring in the cement)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of through tubing cement evaluation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich, to include the late time arrival window of Mandal with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of ensuring the contamination of the first reflection is not part of the casing and cement reverberation measurements [column 4, lines 46-67]-[column 5, lines 1-5].
Regarding claim 11, Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich, may not explicitly teach further comprising determining a cut-off time by at least a length of return waveform, tubing and casing diameters, degree of eccentricity, or transmitter- receiver (TR) offset.
Mandal further teaches further comprising determining a cut-off time by at least a length of return waveform, tubing and casing diameters, degree of eccentricity, or transmitter- receiver (TR) offset.([column 4, lines 46-67]-[column 5, lines 1-5], The duration of T.sub.win should be brief enough so that noise and reverberations occurring in the cement 230 do not make unreliable the received casing reverberation waveforms.)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of through tubing cement evaluation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich to include the cut-off time determination of Mandal with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of ensuring the contamination of the first reflection is not part of the casing and cement reverberation measurements [column 4, lines 46-67]-[column 5, lines 1-5].
Regarding claim 12, Zhang, as modified in view of Tello, Froelich, and Mandal teaches the method of claim 11. Mandal further teaches further comprising taking a portion of the return signal after a cut-off time.([column 4, lines 46-67]-[column 5, lines 1-5], T.sub.win. is a time window uncontaminated by initial reflections and includes later arriving reverberation signals occurring in the cement. T.sub.win is juxtaposed to T.sub.off, meaning the time in which T.sub.win. is taken is after a cutoff time at the end of T.sub.off)
Regarding claim 16, the claim is a system claim corresponding to claim 12 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 19, Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich teaches the non-transitory storage computer readable medium of claim 18. Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich may not explicitly teach the one or more instructions, that when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to remove the non-resonance after a cut-off time.
Mandal teaches the one or more instructions, that when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to remove the non-resonance after a cut-off time([column 4, lines 46-67]-[column 5, lines 1-5], T.sub.win. is a time window uncontaminated by initial reflections and includes later arriving reverberation signals occurring in the cement. T.sub.win is juxtaposed to T.sub.off, meaning the time in which T.sub.win. is taken is after a cutoff time at the end of T.sub.off).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of through tubing cement evaluation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the crm of Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich to include the cut-off time determination of Mandal with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of ensuring the contamination of the first reflection is not part of the casing and cement reverberation measurements [column 4, lines 46-67]-[column 5, lines 1-5].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Tello, Froelich, and Mandal (US 20150085611 A1, “Mandal 2”).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich may not explicitly teach wherein one or more amplitudes are computed by root- mean squared amplitude, peak-to-peak amplitude or from wavelet convolution or Hilbert transform.
Mandal 2 teaches wherein one or more amplitudes are computed by root- mean squared amplitude, peak-to-peak amplitude or from wavelet convolution or Hilbert transform. ([0024] amplitudes are calculated by the root mean square of one or more cycles)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of through tubing cement evaluation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich to include the root mean squared amplitude measurement of Mandal 2 with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of determining the properties of the materials behind the casing such as the cement [0024].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks, filed March 11th, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 14, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhang, as modified in view of Tello and Froelich.
On pg. 3 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant argues that due to the alleged allowability of claims 1, 14, and 18, claims 2-13, 15-17, and 19-20 are therefore in condition for allowance. As noted in the response to arguments with respect to claims 1, 14, and 18, the claims are rejected under new grounds, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. Therefore the rejections of dependent claims 2-13, 15-17, and 19-20 are maintained.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record though not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include:
Mandal (U.S. Patent Application No. 20200116007) which discloses an acoustic method and apparatus for cement bond evaluation through tubing
Bose et al. (U.S. Patent Application No. 20180149019) which discloses a method for analyzing cement integrity in casing strings using machine learning
Frisch (U.S. Patent Application No. 20170108607) which discloses a method for peak analysis of ultrasonic waveforms for cement bond logging
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER RICHARD WALKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645