DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
In Applicant’s response dated 29 June 2026 all pending claims now depend on the elected claims and additionally, the withdrawn claims have been amended to the be within the scope of the elected claims. Therefore, the restriction requirement dated 6 May 2026 has been withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “134” has been used to designate both first heat exchanger and second heat exchanger [0016] and other locations of the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "134" and "136" have both been used to designate first heat exchanger [0015] and other locations of the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “160” has been used to designate both CO2 separator and dryer unit (Figure 1). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “162” has been used to designate both dryer unit and first separator unit. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “154” has been used to designate both water heater and dryer unit (Figure 3). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 162, 164, S160, 130, 152, 159, 157, 158, 156. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: S114, S116. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-8 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson et al. (US 2016/0040311) in view of Posdziech et al (“System Development and Demonstration or Large-Scale High-Temperature Electrolysis”, ECS Transactions, 2019, 91, 2537).
Regarding claim 1, Jakobsson discloses an electrolysis system [0001] (= a system comprising):
A feed gas supply for supplying carbon dioxide [0019] including supplying steam as a mixture [0048] (= a feed supply module comprising a humidification unit configured to humidify carbon dioxide flowing through the humidification unit to generate a feed mixture comprising carbon dioxide and water);
An electrolysis module (abstract) (= an electrolysis module comprising):
A housing [0001] including an inlet gas on both the fuel side and the oxygen side and outlets from the oxygen side [0027] and fuel side [0031] including an air inlet and outlet [0002], [0010], [0014] (Figure 1) (= a housing defining:
A feed inlet configured to ingest the feed mixture and a fuel outlet fluidly coupled to the feed inlet; and
An air inlet configured to ingest an air mixture comprising oxygen and an air outlet fluidly coupled to the air inlet);
An SOEC stack (abstract) capable of reverse mode [0001] of fuel cells comprising a cathode, anode and electrolyte [0001], [0024], [0026], Figures 1, 12 (= a cell stack:
Comprising a set of reversible fuel cells comprising a first reversible fuel cell comprising an electrolyte layer, a cathode layer arranged across the electrolyte layer, and an anode layer arranged across the electrolyte layer opposite the cathode layer);
Including channels along with the inlets and outlets of each of the anode and cathode (see Figures), the channels are necessarily communicated since they are forming mixtures (= defining a set of channels comprising:
A cathode channel fluidly coupled to the feed inlet and the fuel outlet and configured to communicate the feed mixture from the feed inlet across the cathode layer; and
An anode channel fluidly coupled to the air inlet and the air outlet and configured to communicate the air mixture from the air inlet across the anode layer); and
Configured to generate a mixture via electrolysis [0016] (= configured to generate a fuel mixture via electrolysis of the feed mixture at the cathode layer, the fuel mixture comprising a first concentration of syngas and a set of secondary materials comprising water and carbon dioxide; it is noted that the claimed concentrations are not further limiting to the claimed system, the concentration is directed towards the product formed and not to the structure of the claimed system; moreover Jakobsson discloses forming carbon dioxide, water and additionally carbon monoxide [0034], [0043], abstract); and
Heating the inlet gas on both the fuel side and the oxygen side using heating units (abstract) (= a set of heating elements comprising a first heating element coupled to the cell stack and configured to regulate temperature of the cell stack within a target stack temperature range; Jakobsson discloses controlling the temperature of the stack and therefore intrinsically includes a target stack temperature range [0009]);
A separation unit (abstract) comprising product gas purification by first removing steam from product gas stream including carbon monoxide and hydrogen and carbon dioxide and separating from carbon monoxide and hydrogen in separation process unit after removal of steam [0010] [0048], [0051], claim 3 (= a processing module comprising:
A first separation unit configured to receive the fuel mixture from the fuel outlet and promote separation of water from the fuel mixture to generate a second fuel mixture; and
A second separation unit configured to receive the second fuel mixture from the first separation unit and promote separation of carbon dioxide from the second fuel mixture to generate a third fuel mixture; regarding the claimed concentrations, the concentrations do not further limit the claimed separation units; moreover Jakobsson discloses reducing the water content and therefore dew point); and
Power supply for applying current and therefore voltage and controlling the flow (abstract, [0019], [0050]) (= a power module configured to:
Drive a voltage between the cathode layer and the anode layer; and
Supply power to the feed supply module, the electrolysis module, and the processing module).
Jakobsson differs from the instant claim in that Jakobsson fails to disclose the claimed skid.
Posdziech discloses an electrolyte system comprising a co-electrolysis system installation (Figure 7) depicting a skid or support. Additionally, Posdziech discloses voltage control, power electronics set, control of flow (p. 2539, 5th paragraph, p. 2543, 1st paragraph, p. 2544 3rd full paragraph). As depicted in Figure 7, the components of the electrolysis system are installed or positioned on the skid.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a system comprising a skid because Posdziech discloses supporting an electrolysis system on the framed structure. The frame structure provides potential mobility, storage and support.
Regarding claim 5, Jakobsson in view of Posdziech discloses the claimed invention applied above. The claimed “wherein the electrolysis module is configured to install within the module slot during a first time period” and “configured to install within the module slot during a second time period succeeding the first time period” are directed towards a method of installation and does not further limit the claimed system. The frame of Posdziech discloses an opening or slot for the installation of the electrolysis modules. Additionally, the claimed language directed towards the second housing, second feed, etc. is disclosed by Posdziech including multiple modules (page 2539, last paragraph, page 2542 1st full paragraph). Moreover, a second housing, second feed, etc. is merely a duplication of parts. The mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP § 2144.04 VI B).
Regarding claim 6, the instant claim appears to recite a duplication of parts (e.g. second cell stack, second module slot, etc.). The mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP § 2144.04 VI B). Moreover, Posdziech discloses including multiple units within a container (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 7, the instant claim recites a set of stacks which is disclosed by Jakobsson [0001], [0049] in view of Posdziech (page 2544, 1st full paragraph). The stacks of Jakobsson and Posdziech are received in receptacles (e.g. the stack housing). Jakobsson discloses individual control of power supplies to the stacks or using switches [0050].
Regarding claim 8, Jakobsson discloses the use of an insulating core to mitigate heat loss [0026].
Regarding claim 14, the instant claim appears to be a duplication of parts. The mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP § 2144.04 VI B). Regarding a footprint size difference between the second skid and the first skid, the shape or sizing of the footprint would have been an obvious engineering design choice. Moreover, Posdziech discloses various sizes of containers comprising different numbers of cell stacks (Figures 4-5, 7).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson et al. (US 2016/0040311), in view of Posdziech et al (“System Development and Demonstration or Large-Scale High-Temperature Electrolysis”, ECS Transactions, 2019, 91, 2537) and in further view of Seabaugh et al. (US 2012/0264031).
Regarding claim 2, Jakobsson discloses conveying air mixture through the anode layer comprising a second reversible fuel cell, in a set of reversible fuel cells in the cell stack by the air as oxygen/anode purge fed into multiple cells of fuel cell stack (Figures 1 and 12, [0010], [0049]-[0050]). Jakobsson discloses additional cells each comprising an anode and cathode with solid oxide or ceramic electrolyte therebetween [0001], [0049]-[0050]. Jakobsson discloses cathode feed led into multiple cells of the fuel cell stack [0048]-[0050]. Jakobsson discloses multiple, separate heating units (abstract). Regarding any duplication of parts, the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP § 2144.04 VI B).
Jakobsson in view of Posdziech fails to disclose the claimed interconnect arranged across the cathode layer opposite the electrolyte layer.
Seabaugh discloses an electrochemical device comprising one or more solid oxide fuel cells (abstract), each of the SOFCs including a cathode, an anode and an electrolyte layer therebetween, wherein, in a stack of multiple of the solid oxide cells, an interconnect plate is located between the cathode of one cell and the anode of an adjacent cell (Figure 1, [0051]). Seabaugh discloses that the interconnect functions as a gas separator and electrical connection between cells and provide a low cost electrically-connecting component [0003].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a system comprising an interconnect because Seabaugh discloses the use of interconnects that function as a gas separator and electrical connection between cells and provide a low cost electrically-connecting component [0003].
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson et al. (US 2016/0040311), in view of Posdziech et al (“System Development and Demonstration or Large-Scale High-Temperature Electrolysis”, ECS Transactions, 2019, 91, 2537), in view of Seabaugh et al. (US 2012/0264031) and in further view of Taguchi et al. (“Characterization of NaLixCoyFe1-x-yO3 as a cathode material for solid oxide fuel cells, Solid State Ionics, 182, 2011, 127-132).
Regarding claims 3-4, Jakobsson in view of Psoziech and Seabaugh disclose the claimed invention as applied above. Seabaugh discloses a stack with multiple cells and an interconnect [0051], the interconnect interposed between the first reversible fuel call and the second reversible fuel cell and comprising a contact layer which is applied to the surfaces of the interconnect [0031], [0052] including conductive perovskite coating. The contact layer comprises a first amount of lanthanum, a second amount of nickel, a third amount of oxygen, a first amount of a second doping agent configured to stability a crystal structure of the material, a fifth amount of a first doping agent configured to limit thermal expansion of the interconnect (i.e. perovskite ABB’B’’O3, where A is La, b is Ni, B’ is Co, Fe or cu and B’’ is an additional transition metal such as Fe or Ce, wherein B’ and B’’ are different, Co or Fe being exemplary stabilizing dopants and Cu, Fe or Cr being exemplary thermal expansion limiting dopants as applied to claim 4)[0044], [0064]-[0068].
Seabaugh generally discloses that its described contact materials may exhibit high conductivity of at least about 50 S/cm at 700℃ which encompasses the claimed range. In other embodiments Seabaugh discloses greater than 500 S/cm at 700℃ [0069], as well as thermal expansion coefficient similar to 14.3x10-6K-1, however a temperature is not specified, but an estimated operating temperature including 600 to 1000℃ [0069], [0072].
Taguchi teaches LaNixCoyFe1-x-yO3 perovskite materials for solid oxide fuel cells (abstract) with specific examples where x=0.6 having a conductivity greater than 500 S/cm at 1073 K (799.85℃) and near that in the range from 973-1273 K (Figure 6, p. 129, Col. 2, “3.3. Total Conductivity” lines 1-5) and thermal expansion coefficients of 13.3 to 14.8x10-6 K-1 at 300-1273 K (Figure 8, p. 130, Col. 1 lines 2-11).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to modify Jakobsson in view of Posdziech with the perovskite and the contact layer of Seabaugh because Taguchi teaches the above described material as an exemplary specific perovskite material which meets the claimed formula, conductivity and thermal expansion coefficient which is desired by Seabaugh. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the substitution of one material another material would result in the same or similar predictable result.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson et al. (US 2016/0040311), in view of Posdziech et al (“System Development and Demonstration or Large-Scale High-Temperature Electrolysis”, ECS Transactions, 2019, 91, 2537) and in further view of Atreya et al. (US 2009/0263681).
Regarding claim 9, Jakobsson in view of Posdziech discloses the claimed invention as applied above. The combination fails to disclose a set of sensors.
In the same or similar field of thermal management of high temperature fuel cell electrolyzer (title) Atreya discloses a device comprising a controller which is operative to control and operational voltage to the electrolyzer, monitor the operation temperature of the electrolyzer via a temperature sensor and control the voltage of the electrolyzer based on the signal from the sensor [0008], [0021], claim 18.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a system comprising a set of sensors and controller as claimed because Atreya discloses controlling the voltage of the electrolyzer by monitoring an operating parameter such as a temperature. The mere duplication of an additional sensor would have been an obvious engineering design choice in order to monitor multiple stacks.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson et al. (US 2016/0040311), in view of Posdziech et al (“System Development and Demonstration or Large-Scale High-Temperature Electrolysis”, ECS Transactions, 2019, 91, 2537) and in further view of Kattab (US 2012/0261271).
Regarding claim 10, Jakobsson discloses chambers with multiple outlets on an upper portion and a lower portion (Figure 4). Jakobsson discloses wherein the feed flow is controlled [0019]. Jakobbson discloses a separation unit including multiple steps and multiple chambers to carry out the separation (abstract, [0002], [0010]). Jakobsson discloses steam and therefore intrinsically includes a water tank comprising a heater [0048]. Jakobsson discloses reducing the water content and therefore dew point.
Jakobsson in view of Posdziech fails to disclose a water tank with a first and second outlets as claimed, a valve and a pump.
In the same or similar field of electrochemical reactions, Kattab discloses a chamber comprising two outlets (5c, 5d) located at an upper and lower position, respectively. The upper outlet (5d) is provided for gases that are removed from the chamber and the lower outlet is positioned such that water may be removed from the chamber (Figure 1, [0043], [0048]). Kattab additionally discloses the use of valves to control the flow rate [0034] and pumps for circulating water (abstract) [0006].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Jakobsson in view of Posdziech with a water tank having an upper outlet and a lower outlet, valve and pump because Kattab discloses the use of multiple outlets for releasing gases at an upper portion and water at a lower outlet. Valves and pumps are conventional liquid and gas flowing control elements. The instant claims are directed towards a system. The claim language directed towards “configured to” (page 12, lines 9-16) are directed towards the function of the processing module. The combination of
Jakobsson in view of Posdziech and Kattab is capable of performing the claimed functional language without further modification.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson et al. (US 2016/0040311), in view of Posdziech et al (“System Development and Demonstration or Large-Scale High-Temperature Electrolysis”, ECS Transactions, 2019, 91, 2537) and in further view of Reytier et al. (WO 2016096752).
Regarding claims 11-12, Jakobsson discloses a heating element to produce steam [0048]. Jakobsson discloses controlling the feed gas temperature and stack temperature and using multiple heat exchangers (first and second as to claim 12) which necessarily include a first side and second side as claimed for releasing the fluid (abstract, [0017]-[0018], [0024]).
Jakobsson in view of Posdziech do not explicitly disclose a fuel duct or air duct as claimed.
Reytier discloses a water electrolysis system or co-electrolysis reactor [0001] comprising gas supply duct for air or other gas for recovery or feed of gases [0058], [0089]-[0092]. Reytier discloses that the duct can be adjusted for balancing the flow of gases [0092].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a system comprising feed and air ducts because Reytier discloses controlling the balance of feed and recovery of gases using a duct. Regarding the communication between the ducts and the feed, fuel, oxygen and air mixtures, the combination of Jakobsson in view of Posdziech and Reytier discloses the communication between the heat exchangers of Jakobsson with the ducts of Reytier since Jakobsson includes multiple heat exchangers at the downstream position of the electrolysis stack along separate pathways (Figure 4). It would have been obvious to combine the heat exchangers with ducts to balance the flow of gases.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson et al. (US 2016/0040311), in view of Posdziech et al (“System Development and Demonstration or Large-Scale High-Temperature Electrolysis”, ECS Transactions, 2019, 91, 2537), in view of Reytier et al. (WO 2016096752) and in further view of Feldman et al. (US 2015/0004519).
Regarding claim 13, Jakobsson, Posdziech and Reytier disclose the claimed invention as applied above. The combination fails to disclose the claimed metered supply of air. Jakobsson intrinsically discloses an air supply module since air is being supplied to the device (abstract). Jakobsson discloses the electrolyte module configured to generate fuel and generate a second air mixture. The claimed concentration does not further limit the claimed system.
In the same or similar field of solid oxide fuel cells, Feldman discloses wherein gas (e.g. air on the cathode side, forming gas on the anode side) is metered to the stack and thereafter the output flow is measured [0112].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a device comprising metered supply of air because Feldman discloses that air can be supplied in a metered manner and subsequently the output flow is measured. It would have been obvious to provide metered supply of air or any gas in order to monitor the electrochemical process.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson et al. (US 2016/0040311), in view of Posdziech et al (“System Development and Demonstration or Large-Scale High-Temperature Electrolysis”, ECS Transactions, 2019, 91, 2537), in view of Reytier et al. (WO 2016096752), in view of Feldman et al. (US 2015/0004519) and in further view of Ballantine et al. (US 2021/0020974).
Regarding claim 15, the instant claim appears to be directed towards ducts and metered supply of gas. The disclosure of Feldman is cited for disclosing the concept of metered gas. Reytier discloses the concept of ducts for balancing the gas. Applying these known elements to any number of gas (carbon dioxide, air, oxygen, hydrogen, etc.) in the electrochemical system would have been obvious to control the flow of gas and monitor the gas through the system.
The combination above does not disclose a membrane as claimed.
In the same or similar field of electrochemical devices, Ballantine discloses a membrane humidifier including water is input to the membrane humidifier via a water conduit as needed. The water permeates across the membrane from the product side to the collection side of the membrane resulting in humid air passing to humid air conduit [0040]. Ballantine also discloses carbon dioxide or hydrogen fed to the membrane humidifier [0028], [0040]-[0044].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a system comprising a membrane because Ballantine discloses a membrane-type humidifier such as a polymeric membrane for producing humid gas for carrying out the process of humification. It would have been obvious to utilize a membrane humidifier for producing the same or similar predictable result of humidification.
Claim(s) 16, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson et al. (US 2016/0040311), in view of Posdziech et al (“System Development and Demonstration or Large-Scale High-Temperature Electrolysis”, ECS Transactions, 2019, 91, 2537) and in further view of Feldman et al. (US 2015/0004519).
Regarding claims 16, 18 and 20, Jakobsson and Posdziech disclose the claimed invention as applied above. The combination fails to disclose the claimed metered supply of air. Jakobsson intrinsically discloses an air supply module since air is being supplied to the device (abstract). Jakobsson discloses the electrolyte module configured to generate fuel and generate a second air mixture.
In the same or similar field of solid oxide fuel cells, Feldman discloses wherein gas (e.g. air on the cathode side, forming gas on the anode side) is metered to the stack and thereafter the output flow is measured [0112].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a device comprising metered supply of air for example because Feldman discloses that air can be supplied in a metered manner and subsequently the output flow is measured. It would have been obvious to provide metered supply of air or any gas in order to monitor the electrochemical process. Regarding the claimed ‘transiently install’ and ‘transiently installed’, the claim terms do not further structurally limit the claimed system. The method of installing elements of a system as claimed do not appear to require any further structure. The device(s) of Posdziech would be capable of multiple installations without further modification. A water supply is disclosed by Jakobsson [0001] and Posdziech (page 2546, 2nd parargraph) and therefore tank or vessel is necessarily present. Jakobsson discloses controlling the feed gas temperature and stack temperature and using multiple heat exchangers (abstract, [0017]-[0018], [0024]) as applied to claim 20.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson et al. (US 2016/0040311), in view of Posdziech et al (“System Development and Demonstration or Large-Scale High-Temperature Electrolysis”, ECS Transactions, 2019, 91, 2537), in view of Feldman et al. (US 2015/0004519) and in further view of Ballantine et al. (US 2021/0020974).
Regarding claim 17, Jakobsson, Posdziech and Feldman disclose the claimed invention as applied above. Feldman discloses wherein gas (e.g. air on the cathode side, forming gas on the anode side) is metered to the stack and thereafter the output flow is measured [0112].
The combination fails to disclose the claim pump.
In the same or similar field of electrochemical devices, Ballantine discloses the use of pumps for circulation [0085].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize pumps because Ballantine discloses the use of pumps for circulating gases. Further, Ballantine discloses humidifying carbon dioxide [0038]-[0044]. Jakobsson discloses the heater along with the water as described above to produce steam. Jakobsson in view of Posdziech, Feldman and Ballantine disclose the feed inlet as claimed and a cell stack that is configured to generate the fuel mixture.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsson et al. (US 2016/0040311), in view of Posdziech et al (“System Development and Demonstration or Large-Scale High-Temperature Electrolysis”, ECS Transactions, 2019, 91, 2537), in view of Feldman et al. (US 2015/0004519), in view of Reytier et al. (WO 2016096752) and in view of Bourgeois (US 2006/0053792).
Regarding claim 19, Jakobsson, Posdziech and Feldman disclose the claimed invention as applied above. The combination fails to disclose a duct as claimed.
Reytier discloses a water electrolysis system or co-electrolysis reactor [0001] comprising gas supply duct for air or other gas for recovery or feed of gases [0058], [0089]-[0092]. Reytier discloses that the duct can be adjusted for balancing the flow of gases [0092].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a system comprising feed and air ducts because Reytier discloses controlling the balance of feed and recovery of gases using a duct.
The combination does not disclose the claimed buffer tank coupled to an external water supply.
In the same or similar field of electrolyzers (abstract), Bourgeois discloses having a water storage tank (36) that is connected with an external source (60) [0016]. The water storage tank of Bourgeois is operable to provide a supply of water to various components of the system (10) [0014].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a system comprising a buffer tank coupled to an external water supply because Bourgeois discloses that a water source may be stored and come from an external source to supply water to the system as a whole.
Conclusion
/Stefanie S Wittenberg/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795