Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“along a first direction in the first direction” in lines 4-5. Note: the examiner does not find any specific issue with this limitation and therefore is not actually objecting to this limitation. However, the examiner is noting this limitation because the double-recitation of “first direction” seems redundant.
“extending in a second direction” in lines 11-12. For the sake of compact prosecution, claim 21 is interpreted in the instant Office action as follows: “extending in a second direction” is found to be a typographical error and is believed to be equivalent to “extending in the second direction” based on antecedence for this term in line 6; however, no actual change to the claim language has been applied during examination of the instant set of claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang (US 20200203215 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Jang discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 1), comprising;
a substrate (W) comprising a shallow trench isolation (ST1) and an active structure (a collection, cited in turn below) defined by the shallow trench isolation, the active structure comprising:
a plurality of first active area units (ACT1) and a plurality of second active area units (See annotated figure) extended along a first direction (See annotated figure) and a third active area unit (See annotated figure) partially extending in a second direction (X direction) and partially extending in a third direction (Y direction) perpendicular to the second direction, and each of the first active area units and the second active area units comprising two opposite ends (overlapped by SD2 or directly contacting FR) and a middle portion (overlapped by SD1 or WL) between the two opposite ends in the first direction, wherein the plurality of second active area units directly contacts the third active area unit (“directly contacts” at FR), and the plurality of first active area units does not contact the third active area unit (full isolation by ST1 is illustrated); and
a plurality of word lines (WL), disposed in the substrate, extending in the second direction to intersect with the first active area units, the second active area units, and the shallow trench isolation and arranging in the third direction, wherein the word lines comprise a plurality of first word lines (WL for ACT1) and at least one second word line (WL for 2nd Active Area Units), wherein each of the first word lines crosses the middle portion of corresponding ones of the first active area units (this is the arrangement relied upon, and is illustrated), and the at least one second word line crosses one of the two opposite ends of a corresponding one of the second active area units (this is the arrangement relied upon, and is illustrated).
Illustrated below is a marked and annotated figure of Fig. 1 of Jang.
Regarding claim 13, Jang discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 12 (Fig. 1), wherein the at least one second word line further crosses one of the two opposite ends of one of the first active area units (this is the arrangement relied upon, and is illustrated).
Regarding claim 15, Jang discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 12 (Fig. 1), wherein the one of the two opposite ends of the corresponding one of the second active area units is aligned (“aligned” in the 1st Direction) with an edge of the at least one second word line in the second direction (Note: the claim as written reasonably includes configurations beyond Applicant’s explicit illustration of Fig. 1. For example: “aligned with an edge” could reasonably include overlapping arrangements consistent with Applicant’s disclosure, and spaced arrangements consistent with the Jang reference.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9, 11, and 21 are allowed.
Claims 16-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for the allowable subject matter of claims 1-9 and 11 is the inclusion of the limitation “a plurality of word lines, disposed in the substrate, extending in the second direction to intersect with the active area units, the second part of the second active area, and the shallow trench isolation, wherein the word lines comprise a plurality of first word lines and at least one second word line, the first word lines are sequentially arranged along the third direction perpendicular to the second direction by a first pitch, the at least one second word line is between the first part of the second active area and a closest one of the first word lines, wherein the at least one second word line comprises a long side in the second direction and is spaced apart from the closest one of the first word lines by a second pitch, and the second pitch is greater than the first pitch” in combination with the other limitations in the claim. For example, prior art of record fails to teach or be reasonably combined to render obvious the claimed limitations “word lines”, “first pitch”, and “second pitch” when these pitches were considered in combination with all other structures and arrangements, and all other limitations in claim 1. Varied pitches were found elsewhere in the prior art, but these configurations were not found teaching, suggesting, or rendering obvious the particularly claimed combination of limitations.
The primary reason for the allowable subject matter of claims 16-18 and 20 is the inclusion of the limitation “wherein the first word lines are sequentially arranged along the third direction perpendicular to the second direction by a first pitch, the at least one second word line is arranged along the third direction by a second pitch, and the second pitch is greater than the first pitch” in combination with the other limitations in the claim. For example, prior art of record fails to teach or be reasonably combined to render obvious the claimed limitations “word lines”, “first pitch”, and “second pitch” when these pitches were considered in combination with all other structures and arrangements, and all other limitations in claim 16. Varied pitches were found elsewhere in the prior art, but these configurations were not found teaching, suggesting, or rendering obvious the particularly claimed combination of limitations.
The primary reason for the allowable subject matter of claim 21 is the inclusion of the limitation “a plurality of word lines, disposed in the substrate, extending in a second direction to intersect with the active area units and the shallow trench isolation, wherein the word lines comprise a plurality of first word lines and at least one second word line, wherein an intersection portion of the at least one second word line intersecting one of the first portion of the active area units is smaller than an intersection portion of a corresponding one of first word lines intersecting the one of the first portion of the active area units, and the intersection portion of the corresponding one of first word lines intersecting the one of the first portion of the active area units is the same as an intersection portion of the corresponding one of first word lines intersecting another one of the first portion of the active area units” in combination with the other limitations in the claim. For example, prior art of record fails to teach or be reasonably combined to render obvious the claimed limitations “word lines” and “intersection portion” when these structural overlays were considered in combination with all other structures and arrangements, and all other limitations in claim 21. Varied intersection portions were found elsewhere in the prior art, but these configurations were not found teaching, suggesting, or rendering obvious the particularly claimed combination of limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 1 that “Nejad fails to disclose the above structural limitation in amended claim 1 of the instant application”. Remarks at pg. 11.
Examiner’s reply:
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 11, filed 9/24/2026, with respect to amended claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 12 that “Nejad does not disclose the above structural limitation in amended claim 12 of the instant application”. Remarks at pg. 14.
Examiner’s reply:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. More specifically, the examiner has relied upon a new reference as necessitated by the claim amendment.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 21 that “Jeon does not disclose the above structural limitation in amended claim 21 of the instant application”. Remarks at pg. 17.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 17, filed 9/24/2026, with respect to amended claim 21 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 21 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang (US 11424247 B1) qualifies as prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(2) and there is no declaration of record excepting this reference. This reference discloses word lines and first, second, and third active area units substantially similar to claim 12 and to the Jang reference.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM H ANDERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817