Detailed Action
This office action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 03/18/26. Claims 1-5, 21-35 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure Statement filed on 03/18/2026 has been received and is being considered.
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §102
Claims 1-5, 21-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Downes (US 6084397 A).
Regarding claim 1, Downes discloses a device comprising: an integrated circuit package comprising a package connector with a solder surface (see figs 1-2 disclosing surface of 24) and at least three bottom-most points of the package that define a seating plane (see fig 5, 6, col 6, ln 39-55 disclosing at least three solder points defining a plane), wherein a shortest distance between the seating plane and the solder surface is at least 6 mils (0.152 mm) (see col 5, 1-5, col 7, ln 1-20 disclosing about 13.5, with 30 mil solder balls recessed 1.5 mils into the solder plane from center).
Regarding claim 2, Downes discloses the device as in claim 1, wherein the shortest distance between the seating plane and the package connector solder surface is at least 8 mils (0.203 mm) (see col 5, 1-5, col 7, ln 1-20 disclosing about 13.5, with 30 mil solder balls recessed 1.5 mils into the solder plane from center).
Regarding claim 3, Downes discloses the device as in claim 1, wherein the shortest distance between the seating plane and the package connector solder surface is at least 10 mils (0.254 mm) (see col 5, 1-5, col 7, ln 1-20 disclosing about 13.5, with 30 mil solder balls recessed 1.5 mils into the solder plane from center).
Regarding claim 4, Downes discloses the device as in claim 1, wherein the package connector is selected from a pin, a lead, and a pad (Downes disclosing pad and connection, see col 7 ln 58-col8 ln 7).
Regarding claim 5, Chiu discloses the device as in claim 1, comprising a standoff spacer incorporated with attached to the integrated circuit package and wherein the standoff spacer (see figs 1 and 2 disclosing standoff spacing using sloped spacer)comprises the comprising at least three bottom-most points that define a seating plane (see fig 5, 6, col 6, ln 39-55 disclosing at least three solder points defining a plane).
Claims 6-20 (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 21, Downes discloses the device as in claim 1, wherein the solder surface comprises a pin (see description disclosing pin count).
Regarding claim 22, Downes discloses the device as in claim 1, wherein the solder surface comprises a pad (Downes disclosing pad and connection, see col 7 ln 58-col8 ln 7).
Regarding claim 23, Downes discloses the device as in claim 1, wherein the solder surface comprises a lead (Downes disclosing pad and lead connection, see col 7 ln 58-col8 ln 7).
Regarding claim 24, Downes discloses the device as in claim 1, wherein the solder surface is recessed into the integrated circuit package (see fig 1 disclosing IC package).
Regarding claim 25, Chiu discloses the device as in claim 1, wherein a lowest point of the solder surface defines a solder surface plane parallel to the seating plane, wherein the shortest distance is a distance between the solder surface plane and the seating plane (see fig 1 and 2 disclosing solder columns forming a plane parallel to chip plane).
Regarding claim 26, Chiu discloses the device as in claim 1, wherein the integrated circuit package comprises a surface mount package (see para [0017]).
Regarding claim 27,Chiu discloses the device as in claim 1, wherein the integrated circuit package comprises a chip carrier package (see para [0017] disclosing SOC).
Regarding claim 28, Chiu discloses the device as in claim 1, wherein the integrated circuit package comprises a flat package (see fig 1 disclosing flat package).
Regarding claim 29, Chiu discloses the device as in claim 1, wherein the integrated circuit package comprises a ball grid array package (see fig 1 disclosing BGA).
Regarding claim 30, Chiu discloses the device as in claim 5, wherein the standoff spacer comprises a thermal transfer material (see col 8, lns 8-10 disclosing heat spreader of solder balls).
Regarding claim 31, Downes discloses a device comprising:
an integrated circuit package (see figs 1-2); and at least three package connectors integrated with the integrated circuit package (see fig 2, disclosing at least three solder points),
wherein respective ones of the at least three package connectors comprise a solder surface so that there are at least three solder surfaces (see fig 5, 6, col 6, ln 39-55 disclosing at least three solder points defining a plane),
wherein the at least three solder surfaces define a solder surface plane (see solder plane),wherein at least three bottom-most points of the integrated circuit package define a seating plane (see fig 5, 6, col 6, ln 39-55 disclosing at least three solder points defining a plane),wherein a shortest distance between the seating plane and the solder surface plane is at least 6 mils (0.152 mm) (see col 5, 1-5, col 7, ln 1-20 disclosing about 13.5, with 30 mil solder balls recessed 1.5 mils into the solder plane from center).
Regarding claim 32, Downes discloses the device as in claim 31, wherein the shortest distance between the seating plane and the solder surface plane is at least 8 mils (0.203 mm) (see col 5, 1-5, col 7, ln 1-20 disclosing about 13.5, with 30 mil solder balls recessed 1.5 mils into the solder plane from center).
Regarding claim 33, Downes discloses the device as in claim 31, wherein the shortest distance between the seating plane and the solder surface plane is at least 10 mils (0.254 mm) (see col 5, 1-5, col 7, ln 1-20 disclosing about 13.5, with 30 mil solder balls recessed 1.5 mils into the solder plane from center).
Regarding claim 34, Downes discloses the device as in claim 31, comprising a standoff spacer incorporated with the integrated circuit package, wherein the standoff spacer (see fig 1, 2 disclosing sloping spacers) comprises the at least three bottom-most points that define the seating plane (see fig 5, 6, col 6, ln 39-55 disclosing at least three solder points defining a plane).
Regarding claim 35, Downes discloses the device as in claim 31, wherein the at least three package connectors are selected from pins, leads, and pads, respectively (see fig 2g disclosing leads).
Conclusion
/EDWARD CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893