DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/07/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Jin et al. (US. Pub: 2021/0376000 A1~ hereinafter “Jin”).
Regarding claim 1, Jin discloses (in at least fig. 4) a display device comprising: a substrate (BS2) including a light emitting area (PXA), and a non-light emitting area (NPXA); a light emitting element (ED) disposed in the light emitting area on the substrate (see at least fig. 4); an encapsulation layer (TFE, FL) disposed on the light emitting element; a transparent layer (L3; [0097]) disposed on the encapsulation layer, wherein a plurality of first openings (i.e. the openings where item BM2 is formed; see fig. 4) and a plurality of second openings (i.e. the openings on top of L3 where item TL is formed; see fig. 4) are defined through the transparent layer; a plurality of light blocking patterns (BM2; [0104]; [0173]) disposed on the encapsulation layer and filling the first openings, respectively (see fig. 4); a first transparent pattern (WCL1, WCL2, and TL) disposed on the encapsulation layer in each of the second openings (see fig. 4); and a second transparent pattern (L2) disposed on the first transparent pattern, wherein the second transparent pattern (L2) has a refractive index different from a refractive index of the first transparent pattern ([0071] and [0072]-[0077]).
Regarding claim 2, Jin discloses (in at least fig. 5C and 5F) a recess is defined on an upper surface of the first transparent pattern (WCL1, WCL2, and TL), and the second transparent pattern (L2) fills the recess.
Regarding claim 8, Jin discloses (in at least fig. 4) the transparent layer (L3) and the second transparent pattern (L2) include a same material as each other ([0071]; [0097]).
Regarding claim 9, Jin discloses (in at least fig. 4) angles between each of the light blocking patterns (BM2) and the encapsulation layer (FL) is acute angles or right angles.
Regarding claim 10, Jin discloses (in at least fig. 4) an angle between a boundary line where the transparent layer (L3) and the first transparent pattern (WCL1, WCL2, and TL) are in contact with each other and the encapsulation layer (FL) is an acute angle or a right angle.
Regarding claim 11, Jin discloses (in at least fig. 4) each of the light blocking patterns (BM2) does not overlap the light emitting area (PXA), and overlaps the non-light emitting area (NPXA).
Regarding claim 12, Jin discloses (in at least fig. 4) a portion of the light blocking patterns (BM2) does not overlap the light emitting area (PXA), and another portion of the light blocking patterns (BM2) overlaps the non-light emitting area (NPXA).
Regarding claim 13, Jin discloses (in at least fig. 4) each of the light blocking patterns (BM2) extends along to a second direction (see fig. 4), and the light blocking patterns (BM2) are spaced apart from each other along to a first direction crossing the second direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (US. Pub: 2021/0376000 A1~ hereinafter “Jin”).
Regarding claim 3, Jin discloses all the claimed limitations except for an upper surface of the first transparent pattern has a concave shape in a cross section.
However, Jin discloses (in at least fig. 5C and 5F) an upper surface of the first transparent pattern (WCL1, WCL2, and TL) has a convex shape in a cross section.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the convex upper surface of the transparent pattern of Jin such that it has a concave shape in a cross section, since it has been held mere pattern shape limitations are prima facie obvious absent a discloser that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Jin discloses all the claimed limitations except for a refractive index of the transparent layer is less than the refractive index of the first transparent pattern; the refractive index of the first transparent pattern is greater than the refractive index of the second transparent pattern; each of the transparent layer, the first transparent pattern, and the second transparent pattern include an organic material.
However, Jin discloses (in at least fig. 4) both the transparent layer (L3) and the second transparent pattern comprise inorganic material such as silicon oxide, silicon nitride, or silicon oxy nitride ([0071]; [0097]); and the first transparent pattern (WCL1, WCL2, and TL) comprises organic resin (BR) and scattering particles (SC; [0072]-[0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the transparent layer of Jin less than the refractive index of the first transparent pattern; and the refractive index of the first transparent pattern is greater than the refractive index of the second transparent pattern through routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 6, Jin discloses all the claimed limitations except for each of the transparent layer, the first transparent pattern, and the second transparent pattern include an organic material.
However, Jin discloses (in at least fig. 4) both the transparent layer (L3) and the second transparent pattern comprise inorganic material such as silicon oxide, silicon nitride, or silicon oxy nitride ([0071]; [0097]); and the first transparent pattern (WCL1, WCL2, and TL) comprises organic resin (BR) and scattering particles (SC; [0072]-[0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming each of the transparent layer, the first transparent pattern, and the second transparent pattern of Jin to an inorganic material in order to reduce the manufacturing steps of the device. Furthermore, it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination.
Regarding claim 7, Jin discloses all the claimed limitations except for each of the light blocking patterns includes at least one selected from molybdenum-tantalum oxide and an organic material including a black pigment.
However, Jin discloses (in at least [0173]) each of the light blocking patterns (BM) includes a liquid repellent treatment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace light blocking patterns material of Jin with at least one selected from molybdenum-tantalum oxide and an organic material including a black pigment, since it has been held that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious. Also, it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination.
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875