DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frith et al. (US 2003/0031774 A1; Feb. 13, 2003).
Regarding claim 1, Frith discloses a method of producing a shaped food product, comprising preparing a food matrix by mixing a carrier compound (i.e. water) with an ion-dependent gelling compound and a temperature-dependent gelling compound ([0020]-[0041], See Examples 1-2).
Frith further teaches providing the food matrix with a temperature above a gelling temperature of the temperature dependent gelling compound as Frith teaches heating the mixture up to 95 C ([0094]) and teaches that the gelling compounds set at temperatures of 40-45 C ([0026]).
Frith is also considered to shape the food matrix by means of a shaper which brings the food matrix into a desired shape as Frith teaches that the food matrix flows into a cylindrical pipe, where it is subjected to the gelling treatment and can directly be used for a food product ([0057], [0062], [0094], See Examples 1-2).
Frith teaches that during the shaping, the food matrix has a temperature above the gelling temperature as Frith teaches that the food matrix flows into the pipe before being subjected to the gelling treatment ([0057], [0062], [0094]-[0096], [0108]-[0110], See Examples 1-2).
Frith is also considered to use a pre-shaping solution that provides gelling of the ion-dependent gelling compound as Frith teaches the use of cations to provide gelling ([0029], See Examples 1-2).
While Frith teaches a pre-shaping solution, Frith fails to teach that the pre-shaping solution comes into contact with the food matrix already in the pipe. Frith instead, as seen from the Examples, using a pre-shaping solution prior to shaping the food matrix.
However, as the pre-shaping solution is already present with the food matrix, changing the order of adding or using the pre-shaping solution would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as it would not have changed the final product, which is a layered gelled food matrix ([0036], See Examples 1-2).
As stated in MPEP 2144.04 IV C: Selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results.
Therefore, as Frith clearly teaches using a cation solution to gel the ion-dependent gelling compound, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a pre-shaping solution at any point in the process in order to provide gelling of the ion-dependent gelling compound to result in a two phase, layered shaped food matrix ([0029], See Examples 1-2).
With respect to the shaping being performed while the food is above the gelling temperature and the shaped food product is subsequently exposed to a temperature below the gelling temperature to fix the shape, the examiner notes that Frith teaches that the shaping process, e.g. wherein the food matrix flows into a cylindrical pipe, occurs at a temperature above the gelling temperature ([0056]-[0057], [0062], [0094], See Examples 1-2). Frith then teaches that the food matrix in the pipe, e.g. the shaped food product, is then subjected to gelling at a temperature below the gelling temperature to fix the shape ([0056]-[0057], [0062], [0094], See Examples 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, as stated above, Frith teaches a layered shaped food matrix, wherein the layered matrix is entirely gelled by providing the layered shaped food product at a temperature that is below the gelling temperature of the temperature-dependent gelling compound ([0094]-[0096], [0108]-[0110]).
Regarding claim 3, Frith also teaches that during the mixing step, the temperature is above the gelling temperature as the compounds are in a liquid state and not gelled ([0094]).
Regarding claim 4, as stated above, Frith renders obvious a pre-shaping solution, but fails to teach a temperature of the pre-shaping solution. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the temperature below the gelling temperature such that the compounds effectively gel in order to form the two phase, layered food matrix.
Regarding claim 5, Frith further teaches bringing the layered shaped food matrix into contact a curing solution, wherein the curing solution has a temperature that is below the gelling temperature of the gelling compound as Frith teaches that pipe is cooled by a water jacket (e.g. water being the curing solution) having a temperature of 10 C ([0094]-[0096], [0108]-[0110]).
Regarding claim 6, Frith teaches that the contact time of the layered shaped food matrix with the curing solution has a duration such that the temperature dependent gelling compound is entirely gelled at the temperature of the curing solution to provide the shaped food product ([0094]-[0096], [0108]-[0110]).
Regarding claim 7, Frith teaches that the ion-dependent gelling compound comprises at least one polysaccharide ([0030]), and the pre-shaping solution comprises at least one cation (See Examples 1-2).
Frith also teaches that the ion-dependent gelling compounds comprises at least one cation and the pre-shaping solution comprises at least one polysaccharide (See Examples 1-2).
Frith further teaches that the cation reacts with the at least one polysaccharide to provide gelling of the ion-dependent gelling compound ([0029]).
Regarding claim 8, Frith teaches that the at least one polysaccharide can be alginate, pectin, or carrageenan ([0030]), and the at least one cation is a metal cation that can be of the metal calcium ([0028]-[0029]).
Regarding claim 9, Frith teaches that the temperature dependent gelling compound comprises at least one biopolymer that can be agar, carrageenan, gellan, or gelatin ([0024]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 103 rejection have been fully considered but were not found persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 7 that Frith does not teach the new limitation of the shaping being performed while the food is above the gelling temperature and the shaped food product is subsequently exposed to a temperature below the gelling temperature to fix the shape.
This is not found persuasive as Frith teaches that the shaping process, e.g. wherein the food matrix flows into a cylindrical pipe, occurs at a temperature above the gelling temperature ([0056]-[0057], [0062], [0094], See Examples 1-2). Frith then teaches that the food matrix in the pipe, e.g. the shaped food product, is then subjected to gelling at a temperature below the gelling temperature to fix the shape ([0056]-[0057], [0062], [0094], See Examples 1-2). Therefore, Frith renders obvious the steps of shaping, cooling and then fixing.
Frith teaches that the gelling occurs within the pipe, or shaper, to produce a two-phase, or layered, product, which would provide some sort of layering in the food matrix, including at least some portion of the surface depending on the mixing.
Regarding the change in order of process steps, Frith teaches that the food matrix undergoes gelling within the pipe, or shaper, and therefore contacting the food matrix with a pre-shaping solution within the pipe would still provide gelling as required by Frith, and such gelling would still result in a two-phase, layered food product and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Changing the order of adding or using the pre-shaping solution would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as it would not have changed the final product, which is a layered gelled food matrix ([0036], See Examples 1-2).
As stated in MPEP 2144.04 IV C: Selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results.
Therefore, as Frith clearly teaches using a cation solution to gel the ion-dependent gelling compound, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a pre-shaping solution at any point in the process in order to provide gelling of the ion-dependent gelling compound to result in a two phase, layered shaped food matrix ([0029], See Examples 1-2).
Further, Frith teaches providing a flowable food matrix above a gelling temperature so that it flows into a shaper, or pipe, and then is subjecting to gelling at a temperature below gelling temperature so as it “fix” the shape and provide a shaped product. Therefore, Frith renders obvious the steps of shaping, cooling and then fixing.
For the reasons stated above, a 103 rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/STEPHANIE A KOHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791