DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 12 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/20/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 04/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/04/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “support structure” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Status of claims
The response filed on 04/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 7-9 are cancelled. Claim 12 is withdrawn. Therefore, claims 1-6, 10-17 remain pending in this application.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-6, 10-11, 15-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, line 6, delete “GFCI” and replace with “ground-fault circuit interrupter (GFCI)”
In claim 15, line 5, delete “GFCI” and replace with “ground-fault circuit interrupter (GFCI)”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blain (US Pub 2011/0145141).
Regarding claim 13, Blain teaches a motherboard for an electric vehicle charging station (Abstract and ¶¶ 0067, 0075; a circuit board 270 is mounted
interiorly behind the front of the frame 190 on the straps 210 and 212 and carries the AC power and control components) comprising:
a power stage block (¶¶ 0075-0077; The power stage circuit 314 is shown in FIG. 24. This circuit 314, under the control of the CPU 100 functions to control the state of the contactors 104 and 106 between on and off states);
a sensing and detection block (¶¶ 0067, 0070, 0071, 0082; circuit board 270 is mounted interiorly behind the front of the frame 190 on the straps 210 and 212 and carries the AC power and control components, such as the AC contactors, ground fault detector, current transformers, AC surge protector and AC busses of the
recharge station 220); and
a control unit (¶¶ 0068-0069, 0074, 0077; CPU 100).
Regarding claim 14, Blain teaches wherein the power stage block (Fig. 24 and ¶¶ 0075, 0077; The power control board 310 includes various functional circuits, such as a surge protection circuit 312, a power stage circuit 314, an output stage 316 and a power supply 320) includes:
a terminal block (¶¶ 0070-0071; AC terminal block 120);
a sensing and ground-fault circuit interrupter block (¶¶ 0067, 0070-0071, 0082; The leakage current circuit 346 constantly monitors leakage currents during the supply of electric charge to the vehicle. The leakage current is part of the ground fault interrupt
circuit on the AC board which determines the amount and duration of leakage current necessary for condition to shut down the supply of electric charge to the vehicle a fault);
a first relay; a second relay (¶¶ 0069-0070; First and second AC contactors 104 and 106 are provided in the housing 20 and receive control signals 108 and 110, respectively, from the CPU 100 which control the activation and deactivation of the contactors 104 and 106);
a first connector interface (¶¶ 0070-0071 and abstract; plug 243/244); and a second connector interface (¶¶ 0070-0071 and abstract; plug 243/244).
Regarding claim 15, Blain teaches wherein the sensing and detection block (¶¶ 0067, 0075; The power control board 310 includes various functional circuits, such as a surge protection circuit 312, a power stage circuit 314) includes:
an AC-DC converter block (¶ 0067, 0075-0076, 0079; the IO board includes the central processing unit 100, in the form of a microprocessor, power supply 330, an analog input circuit 332, an output circuit 334, connectors 336 and an SBC interface connector 338 and interface 340. Therefore, it must include an AC-DC converter which is able to convert AC line power to low-voltage DC for all control/sensing electronics);
an input voltage signal filtering block (¶¶ 0076, 0081; surge protection circuit 31…AC voltage measurement circuit 342 are able to perform the filtering/conditioning function);
an input current signal filtering block (¶¶ 0067, 0081; AC current measurement circuit); a GFCI detection block (¶¶ 0070, 0071, 0082);
a relay driver (¶¶ 0069, 0077; the power stage circuit and IO processor act as the driver); and
a pilot signal generation block (¶ 0090; J1772 Pilot #1).
Regarding claim 16, Blain teaches wherein the motherboard further includes a peripherals block (claims 3 and 6).
Regarding claim 17, Blain teaches wherein the peripherals block (¶¶ 0067, 0075; the power control board 310) includes: a short-range communication block (¶¶ 0061, 0068; a card reader 80); a display block (¶¶ 0062, 0068, 0080; a display 90); and a long-range communication block (¶¶ 0072, 0080; internet 105…wireless communication via HTTP).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller et al. US 2015/0028812 (hereinafter Muller).
Regarding claim 1, Muller discloses an electric vehicle charging station (abstract, EVSE), comprising:
a bracket (¶ 0046; a bracket can be attached to the housing 62 to mount the housing 62 on a vertical surface such as a wall or post) for mounting the electric vehicle charging station to a support structure (see fig. 3 below);
a case (¶ 0046; the housing includes a case) mounted to the bracket (¶ 0046);
a motherboard (¶ 0026 and fig. 2A-2C; a processor 38, control circuit 56 and memory 34) disposed within the case (¶ 0047; Proper weather proofing may be part of the housing to protect the components from damage and the users from injury), including a sensing and detection block (see fig. 2A-2C; a voltage monitor) electrically coupled to a charge controller processor (¶ 0042; The control circuit 56 may also be connected to the voltage control device 44 for power, and a control pilot pin of a vehicle
connector to pass on signals from the vehicle to the other components of the EVSE 30) with computer readable memory (¶¶ 0026, 0044) for receiving computer readable data from an electric vehicle (¶ 0027; one embodiment is that the processor 38 is a device that can read and process data such as a program instruction stored in the memory 34 or received from a source on the electric vehicle. Such a processor 38 may be embodied by a microcontroller), and
a control unit processor (a processor 38 and ¶¶ 0026-0027, 0042);
a cover (front part of the housing 62) coupled and disposed on the case (see fig. 3);
a touch-sensitive display screen (¶ 0030, 0032; The display 40 may have a more simple implementation than previously mentioned, consisting of one or multiple indicators. Such indicators may consist of a small liquid crystal display (LCD) that can depict text or graphics; and a user is able to receive information via the display 40) electrically connected to a control unit processor (claim 6) and the display screen being disposed on the cover (¶ 0030; an embodiment of the EVSE 30 can communicate information to a user through the display 40 and request user input through the input device 32 by way of an interactive, menu-driven, visual display-based user inter
face, or graphical user interface (GUI)); and
a conduit (¶¶ 0037-0040; element 50) for receiving AC electrical power (¶ 0045; L1 or L2) disposed on the case (see fig. 3).
Muller does not expressly disclose a cover removably coupled on the case, however, the term “removable” does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention from Muller, since, in a broad sense, any structure may be considered to be “removable”, if so desired as long as the structure may be removed by any means, if so desired. See MPEP 2144.04C and In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) wherein the court held that if it were considered desirable for any reason to have a part be removable, then it would have been obvious to make it removable for that purpose. In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the front part of the housing (cover) be removable since it appears that it would be easier to repair or replace internal components if they are not functional.
Regarding claim 3, Muller discloses the electric vehicle charging station further comprising a support (¶ 0030; it must include a support for securing the display unit on the front cover of the housing) disposed on a back surface of the cover for securing the display screen to the back surface of the cover (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Muller discloses wherein the sensing and detection block further comprises:
an AC-DC converter block (voltage regulating device 44) electronically coupled to the conduit (¶¶ 0034-0035; the voltage regulating device 44 may be needed to power the electronic components of the EVSE 30, including the conduit);
an input voltage signal filtering block logically coupled to the control unit processor (see fig. 2A-2C; a voltage monitor connected to the processor 38 that processes voltage signals from the conduit via the control circuit 56. From these signals, the processor 38 can react accordingly. Signal conditioning/filtering is inherent to the voltage monitor and control circuit);
an input current signal filtering block electronically coupled to the control unit processor (¶¶ 0041-0042; breaking device/current monitor connected to the electric conduit 50 and processor 38);
a GFCI detection block (fig. 2A-2C, element 46) electronically coupled to the control unit processor (fig. 2A-2C, element 56; a control circuit);
a relay driver electronically coupled to the control unit processor (¶ 0042; the processor 38 may react accordingly to control the relay 42 and the breaking device 46); and
a pilot signal generation block electronically coupled to the control unit processor (¶¶ 0042, 0045 and fig. 2A-2C; a ground pin, a control pilot pin, and a proximity sensor pin as specified in the SAE standard J1772).
Regarding claim 5, Muller discloses wherein the motherboard further comprises a power stage block (Fig. 2A-2C, element 44 and ¶ 0035; the voltage regulator device 44, such as a transformer or a voltage regulator, may be employed between to the electrical socket and the electrical components of the EVSE 30) logically coupled to the control unit processor (fig. 2A-2C, element 56).
Regarding claim 10, Muller discloses wherein the motherboard further includes a peripherals block (¶ 0044, fig. 2A-2C, Mirco and peripherals) logically coupled to the control unit processor (fig. 2A-2C, element 56).
Regarding claim 11, Muller discloses wherein the peripherals block further comprises:
a short-range communication block (¶ 0051; The remote device may be such that it is easily placed within a room in a building, or even attached to a key like a key chain.
The information delivered to the user may include charge status of the vehicle, diagnostic messages, tire pressure management) logically coupled to the control unit processor (¶ 0034; a control circuit 56);
a display block logically coupled to the control unit processor for controlling the touch-sensitive display screen (¶¶ 0030, 0032-0033 and fig. 2A-2C); and
a long-range communication block (¶ 0049; the EVSE 30 can be coupled to a communication network. The communication network allows for communication between the EVSE 30 and a remote device) logically coupled to the control unit processor (see fig. 2A-2C).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller et al. US 2015/0028812 (hereinafter Muller) in view of Helnerus et al. US Pub 2021/0237598 (hereinafter Helnerus).
Regarding claim 2, Muller discloses wherein the case and the bracket (¶ 0046) but it does not disclose the case and the bracket include openings, and wherein the cover includes protrusions configured to be inserted into the openings when the cover is in an open position.
Helnerus further discloses the case and the bracket include openings (fig. 2, element 16, 30), and wherein the cover includes protrusions (fig. 2, element 28) configured to be inserted into the openings when the cover is in an open position (¶¶ 0095, 0098, 0104).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Muller to incorporate with the teaching of Helnerus by including the snapping elements in the system, because it would be advantageous to reduce maintenance and replacement time of a malfunctional charging unit.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller et al. US 2015/0028812 (hereinafter Muller) in view of Blain (US Pub 2011/0145141).
Regarding claim 6, Muller does not disclose wherein the power stage block further comprises: a terminal block; a sensing and ground-fault circuit interrupter block; a first relay; a second relay; a first connector interface; and a second connector interface.
Blain further discloses wherein the power stage block (¶¶ 0075, 0077 and fig. 24) further comprises:
a terminal block (¶¶ 0070-0071; the other sides of the contacts 112 and 114 are connected through fuses 116 and a ground fault interrupter 118 to terminals in an AC terminal block 120 which receive 200/240 VAC power conductors);
a sensing and ground-fault circuit interrupter block (¶¶ 0067, 0070-0071, 0081-0082; a ground fault interrupter 118 to terminals in an AC terminal block 120 which receive 200/240 VAC power conductors);
a first relay; a second relay (¶¶ 0069-0070; First and second AC contactors 104 and 106 are provided in the housing 20 and receive control signals 108 and 110, respectively, from the CPU 100 which control the activation and deactivation of the contactors 104 and 106);
a first connector interface (¶ 0070-0071; plug 243/244); and
a second connector interface (¶¶ 0070-0071 and abstract; plug 243/244).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Muller to incorporate with the teaching of Blain by designing a level 2 EVSE with redundant safety switching and hardwired power input, because it would be advantageous to improve charging safety and further support multiple charging ports in the charging station.
Conclusion
/ZIXUAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 05/01/2026