Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9, 11, 15-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Wilson (US 8955452). With respect to claims 1-2, 17, Wilson discloses the claimed method and apparatus including a boat with a deck having a front end, a rear end, sides and an underdeck (note column 3, lines 40-45; Figures 1-2), a motor (column 1, line 21) supported on the rear end portion of the deck, at least two longitudinally extending, laterally spaced pontoons (note column 3, lines 40-45; Figures 1-2), mounted on the underdeck and being separated from one another by a space and a longitudinally extending planning panel 140 located in the space and having a downwardly facing surface that is configured to ride along the surface of the water when the boat is underway, the planning panel extending at least 75% of the width of the space(note column 3, lines 40-45; Figures 1-4). With respect to claims 7-9, 15, 19, note Wilson, Figures 1-2, 10-12. With respect to claim 11, the system follows from the apparatus of Wilson. With respect to claim 16, the method follows from the apparatus of Wilson.
Claim(s) 3, 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (US 8955452) in view of Curtis (US 7950340). With respect to claims 3, 12, Wilson does disclose three pontoons. Curtis teaches three pontoons 6, 8 (Figure 2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Wilson with three pontoons as taught by Curtis with a high likelihood of success for improved stability and buoyancy and thus improved safety. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Note also a person of ordinary skill in the art would have some years of experience in the marine field, multi hull boats and hydrofoils and advanced degrees.
Claim(s) 4-6 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (US 8955452) in view of Currie (US 1081489). With respect to claims 4-6, Wilson does disclose steps with a rear panel closer to the underdeck than a front end panel. Currie teaches stepped foils with a rear panel closer to an underdeck than a front end panel (Figures 2-3). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Wilson with steps in the manner taught by Currie with a high likelihood of success for improved economy via reduced drag. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Note also a person of ordinary skill in the art would have some years of experience in the marine field, multi hull boats and hydrofoils and advanced degrees.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (US 8955452) in view of Repin (RU 2744812 C1). With respect to claims 10 and 20, Wilson does disclose openings. Repin teaches hydrofoil openings 122, 130 (Abstract). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Wilson with hydrofoil openings as taught by Repin with a high likelihood of success for improved efficiency. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Note also a person of ordinary skill in the art would have some years of experience in the marine field, multi hull boats and hydrofoils and advanced degrees.
Claims 4 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear how the rear end portion of the planing panel is closer than a front end portion in view of front end panel 170 being the uppermost panel (Figure 7A).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cathers et al (US 3141436) shows a foil device.
STEPHEN AVILA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3617
/STEPHEN P AVILA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615