DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Status of the Claims In the communication filed on 05/12/2023 claims 1- 20 are pending. Claims 1, 12, and 20 are independent. Drawings The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the detection unit , the sensors (i.e., voltage, current, pressure, temperature, and camera) and their structural relationships to the battery cells as outlined in claims 8-9 and 18 , the external power source , and a plot showing the charging current as a function of the volume change of the battery cells m ust be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Additionally, the drawings are objected to because in Fig. 6 the applicant uses boxes to illustrate structural components for reference characters 612, 630, 640, and 650. These alone do not facilitate understanding of the drawings. To overcome this objection, the applicant should add more details in the drawings (e.g., clear symbols, text in the boxes, arrows with text coming off, or a legend in the drawings). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Specification The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the drawing objection concerning the missing detection unit , sensors (i.e., voltage, current, pressure, temperature, and camera), external power source , and the plot showing the charging current as a function of the volume change of the battery cells requires corresponding amendments to the specification to insert appropriate reference characters for those . Appropriate correction is required. No new matter should be entered. A marked-up copy and a clean copy of the amendments must be submitted in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121. Claim Objections Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 7 remove “detected” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis. For examination purposes, this limitation will be interpreted as “the voltage value”, however, appropriate correction is required. Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 4 replace “first” with --of the-- to avoid a lack of antecedent basis. For examination purposes, this limitation will be interpreted as “the magnitude of the voltage value”, however, appropriate correction is required. Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 4 replace “first” with --of the-- to avoid a lack of antecedent basis. For examination purposes, this limitation will be interpreted as “the magnitude of the current value”, however, appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1 -2, 11-13, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Subbaraman et al. (USPGPN 20220085635; identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) dated 05/12/2023). With respect to independent claims 1, 12, and 20 , Subbaraman teaches a method for optimizing charging of a vehicle (Fig. 13, a vehicle; abstract, a method for optimizing charging of a battery 6 in a vehicle ) . Subbaraman teaches a system for optimizing charging based on swelling detection ( Abstract, optimizing battery charging based on swelling detection ) . Subbaraman teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium, having instructions recorded thereon for optimizing charging based on swelling detection, the instructions, when executed by control circuitry, cause the control circuitry to (Fig s . 1 and 13 , a BMS 8 includes a processor 10 and memory 12; ¶[4], the processor and memory store a plurality of instructions executable by the processor to optimize charging based on swelling detection ) . Subbaraman teaches a detecting unit communicatively coupled to a battery pack, wherein the detecting unit is configured to detect a change in volume of one or more battery cells of the battery pack (Fig s . 4-5 and 1 3 ; ¶[31] penultimate sentence; ¶[32] penultimate sentence; the sensors 54-56 (i.e., a detecting unit) are communicatively coupled to the battery pack 6, wherein the sensors 54-56 are configured to detect a change in volume (i.e., swell) of battery cells 14 of the battery pack 6 ) . Subbaraman teaches a control unit in electrical connection with the battery pack and an external power source ( Figs. 1 and 13; BMS 8 in electrical connection with the battery pack 6 wherein one of ordinary skill understands an external power source (not illustrated) is used to charge the battery pack ) . Subbaraman teaches wherein the control unit is configured to provide a charging current to the battery pack from the external power source and adjust the charging current as a function of the volume change of the one or more battery cells of the battery pack ( Fig. 6; in the method the BMS 8 is configured to provide a charging current to the battery pack 8 from the external power source and adjust the charging current as a function of the volume change (i.e., battery cell swelling) of the one or more battery cells 14 of the battery pack 6 ) . With respect to dependent claims 2 and 13 , Subbaraman teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 12, respectively. Further, Subbaraman teaches wherein the charging is provided at a C-rate greater than 1C ( ¶[69]; the C-rates used include 1C-4C (i.e., > 1C) ) . With respect to claim 11 , Subbaraman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Subbaraman teaches a first camera sensor is provided in a space with a view of one or more battery cells and is configured to measure at least one dimension from the one or more battery cells and output a voltage or current value corresponding to the dimension measured (¶[31]; a displacement sensor (i.e., a camera sensor that measures one dimension) is provided in a space of battery cells 14 and is configured to measure displacement (i.e., one dimension from the battery cell 14). One of ordinary skill understands the displacement sensor converts displacement into a voltage or current value corresponding to the dimension measured) . With respect to claim 19 , Subbaraman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 12. Further, Subbaraman teaches a vehicle comprising the system (Fig. 13, a vehicle comprising the system for optimizing charging of a battery 6) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subbaraman and further in view of Mehta et al. (USPGPN 20110156661; identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) dated 05/12/2023). With respect to claim 3 , Subbaraman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Subbaraman fails to explicitly teach wherein the function that describes the charging current is a Multi-Stage Constant Current-Constant Voltage, MSCC-CV, function. Mehta teaches wherein the function that describes the charging current is a Multi-Stage Constant Current-Constant Voltage, MSCC-CV, function ( Fig. 1; a two-step CC-CV charging current function ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have adapted Mehta’s MSCC-CV charging current profile to Subbaraman’s optimized battery charging method based on swelling detection in order to include multi-stage constant-current constant-voltage charging profiles to the charging method. The advantage of this being that one or more intermediate charging stages are inserted in order to improve charging rate without degrading battery performance (see ¶[19] of Mehta). Claims 4- 1 0 and 14-1 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subbaraman and further in view of Lee et al. (USPGPN 20180006342 ; corresponding to USPN 10587016 identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) dated 05/12/2023). With respect to dependent claims 4 and 14 , Subbaraman teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 12, respectively. Further, Subbaraman teaches wherein the detecting unit further comprises a pressure sensor ( ¶ [31]; sensor 54-56 include pressure sensor ) . However, Subbaraman fails to explicitly teach the control unit further configured to: receive, from at least one sensor, a voltage value; compare the voltage value with a threshold voltage value; and determine whether the voltage value has exceeded the threshold voltage value; and wherein the function adjusting the charging current is based on a magnitude of the detected voltage value over the threshold voltage value. Lee teaches the control unit further configured to receive, from at least one sensor, a voltage value ( ¶[16]; the voltage value from the pressure measuring sensor is received by the control unit 130 ) . Lee teaches compare the voltage value with a threshold voltage value and determine whether the voltage value has exceeded the threshold voltage value ( ¶[17]; the voltage value is compared with a threshold voltage value and a determination is made whether the voltage value has exceeded the threshold ) . Lee teaches wherein the function adjusting the charging current is based on a magnitude of the detected voltage value over the threshold voltage value ( Fig. 3; ¶[17]; when the voltage exceeds the threshold then the switch unit 140 is operated thus adjusting the charging current flowing from the external power source (see Fig. 3) ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have adapted Lee’s sensor acquired signal compared with a threshold signal to Subbaraman’s optimized battery charging method based on swelling detection in order to compare the acquired signals with thresholds to make determination. The advantage of this being that the prevention of an ignition or an explosion due to swelling in battery cells is done so by controlling the external power source based on the measurement results (see ¶[02] in Lee). With respect to dependent claims 5 and 15 , Subbaraman teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 4 and 14, respectively. However , Subbaraman fails to explicitly teach determine the whether the voltage value has fallen below the threshold voltage value; wherein the function adjusting the charging current is no longer based on the magnitude first voltage value over the threshold voltage value. Lee teaches determine the whether the voltage value has fallen below the threshold voltage value, wherein the function adjusting the charging current is no longer based on the magnitude first voltage value over the threshold voltage value (Fig. 3; ¶[19]; when the voltage value does not exceed the predetermined threshold (i.e., has fallen below) then the switch unit is closed thus the charging current from the external power source is no longer based on the magnitude of the voltage value over the threshold voltage value) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have adapted Lee’s sensor acquired signal compared with a threshold signal to Subbaraman’s optimized battery charging method based on swelling detection in order to compare the acquired signals with thresholds to make determination. The advantage of this being that the prevention of an ignition or an explosion due to swelling in battery cells is done so by controlling the external power source based on the measurement results (see ¶[02] in Lee). With respect to dependent claims 6 and 16 , Subbaraman teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 12, respectively. Further, Subbaraman teaches the detecting unit further comprises a pressure sensor (¶[31]; sensor 54-56 include pressure sensor) . However, Subbaraman fails to explicitly teach the control unit further configured to: receive, from at least one sensor, a current value; compare the current value with a threshold current value; and determine whether the current value has exceeded the threshold current value; wherein the function adjusting the charging current is based on a magnitude of the current value over the threshold current value. Lee teaches the control unit further configured to receive, from at least one sensor, a current value (¶[16]; the current value from the pressure measuring sensor is received by the control unit 130) . Lee teaches compare the current value with a threshold current value and determine whether the current value has exceeded the threshold current value (¶[17]; the current value is compared with a threshold voltage value and a determination is made whether the voltage value has exceeded the threshold) . Lee teaches wherein the function adjusting the charging current is based on a magnitude of the current value over the threshold current value (Fig. 3; ¶[17]; when the current exceeds the threshold then the switch unit 140 is operated thus adjusting the charging current flowing from the external power source (see Fig. 3)) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have adapted Lee’s sensor acquired signal compared with a threshold signal to Subbaraman’s optimized battery charging method based on swelling detection in order to compare the acquired signals with thresholds to make determination. The advantage of this being that the prevention of an ignition or an explosion due to swelling in battery cells is done so by controlling the external power source based on the measurement results (see ¶[02] in Lee). With respect to dependent claims 7 and 17 , Subbaraman teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 6 and 16, respectively. However , Subbaraman fails to explicitly teach the control unit further configured to: determine whether the current value has fallen below the threshold current value; wherein the function reducing the charging current is no longer based on the magnitude first current value over the threshold current value. Lee teaches the control unit further configured to determine whether the current value has fallen below the threshold current value, wherein the function reducing the charging current is no longer based on the magnitude first current value over the threshold current value (Fig. 3; ¶[19]; when the current value does not exceed the predetermined threshold (i.e., has fallen below) then the switch unit is closed thus the charging current from the external power source is no longer based on the magnitude of the current value over the threshold current value) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have adapted Lee’s sensor acquired signal compared with a threshold signal to Subbaraman’s optimized battery charging method based on swelling detection in order to compare the acquired signals with thresholds to make determination. The advantage of this being that the prevention of an ignition or an explosion due to swelling in battery cells is done so by controlling the external power source based on the measurement results (see ¶[02] in Lee). With respect to dependent claims 8 and 18 , Subbaraman teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 17, respectively. However, Subbaraman fails to explicitly teach wherein at least a first pressure measuring sensor is provided in a space directly between adjacent battery cells among the one or more battery cells and is configured to measure pressure applied directly by the adjacent battery cells and output a voltage or current value corresponding to the pressure. Lee teaches wherein at least a first pressure measuring sensor is provided in a space directly between adjacent battery cells among the one or more battery cells and is configured to measure pressure applied directly by the adjacent battery cells and output a voltage or current value corresponding to the pressure (Fig. 3; ¶[60]; a pressure measuring sensor 121 may be inserted into the space formed by the one or more battery cells 110 while corresponding to the space one to one and output a voltage or current value corresponding to the pressure) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have adapted Lee’s sensor acquired signal compared with a threshold signal to Subbaraman’s optimized battery charging method based on swelling detection in order to compare the acquired signals with thresholds to make determination. The advantage of this being that the prevention of an ignition or an explosion due to swelling in battery cells is done so by controlling the external power source based on the measurement results (see ¶[02] in Lee). With respect to claim 9 , Subbaraman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 8. However, Subbaraman fails to explicitly teach wherein a second pressure measuring sensor is provided in a space formed by an outermost battery cell among the one or more battery cells and an inner wall of the battery pack and is configured to measure pressure applied directly by the outermost battery cell and output a voltage or current value corresponding to the pressure. Lee teaches wherein a second pressure measuring sensor is provided in a space formed by an outermost battery cell among the one or more battery cells and an inner wall of the battery pack and is configured to measure pressure applied directly by the outermost battery cell and output a voltage or current value corresponding to the pressure (Fig. 3; ¶[60]; a second pressure measuring sensor 121 may also be inserted into a space formed by the outermost battery cell among the one or more battery cells 110 and an inner wall of the battery pack and output a voltage or current value corresponding to the pressure) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have adapted Lee’s sensor acquired signal compared with a threshold signal to Subbaraman’s optimized battery charging method based on swelling detection in order to compare the acquired signals with thresholds to make determination. The advantage of this being that the prevention of an ignition or an explosion due to swelling in battery cells is done so by controlling the external power source based on the measurement results (see ¶[02] in Lee). With respect to claim 10 , Subbaraman teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Subbaraman teaches a first temperature measuring sensor ( ¶[32]; a temperature sensor ) . However, Subbaraman fails to explicitly teach the sensor is provided in a space directly between adjacent battery cells among the one or more battery cells and is configured to measure a value from the adjacent battery cells and output a voltage or current value corresponding to the value . Lee teaches the sensor is provided in a space directly between adjacent battery cells among the one or more battery cells and is configured to measure a value from the adjacent battery cells and output a voltage or current value corresponding to the value (Fig. 3; ¶[60]; a pressure measuring sensor 121 may be inserted into the space formed by the one or more battery cells 110 while corresponding to the space one to one and output a voltage or current value corresponding to the pressure) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have adapted Lee’s sensor acquired signal compared with a threshold signal to Subbaraman’s optimized battery charging method based on swelling detection in order to compare the acquired signals with thresholds to make determination. The advantage of this being that the prevention of an ignition or an explosion due to swelling in battery cells is done so by controlling the external power source based on the measurement results (see ¶[02] in Lee). Relevant Prior Art The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Choi et al. (USPGPN 20200076011) teaches a battery charging system including a battery, wherein the battery includes a plurality of battery cells that are stacked and a pressure sensor that is configured to detect a pressure caused by swelling of the battery cells. A charger supplies charging power to the battery and a controller determines whether to supply the charging power from the charger and whether the battery is overcharged based on a change in the pressure per hour, detected by the pressure sensor, when the charger supplies the charging power to the battery. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT Frank A Silva whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (703)756-1698 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday 09:30 am -06:30 pm ET . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Drew Dunn can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-2312 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859 /DREW A DUNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859