DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims presented have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2,7-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kaneko et al. (US20090057720A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fig.1A of Kaneko teaches a method of fabricating a semiconductor wafer to reduce or counteract defects, the method comprising: forming a substrate layer 1 (para.0057); forming a nucleation layer 2 (para.0059, wherein buffer 2 comprises aluminum nitride or gallium nitride) superjacent the substrate layer 1; forming a first semiconductor layer 3 (para.0057), superjacent the nucleation layer 2, to at least a first thickness; reducing a thickness of the first semiconductor layer 3 (wherein thickness of the first semiconductor layer 3 is reduced at the middle) to at least a second thickness while the substrate layer 1 remains coupled with the nucleation layer 1; forming a second semiconductor layer 10 (para.0057) superjacent the first semiconductor layer 3, wherein the reducing occurs prior to forming the second semiconductor layer 10; and forming a heterostructure (see Fig.1A) configured to form a two-dimensional electron gas (2DEG) channel (para.0060).
Regarding claim 2, Kaneko further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein reducing the thickness of the first semiconductor layer 3 (para.0057) to at least the second thickness includes: etching away the thickness of the first semiconductor layer 3 (para.0062, wherein recess 15 is formed by dry etching).
Regarding claim 7, Kaneko further teaches the method of claim 1, comprising: forming an electrode 8 (para.0076) superjacent the second semiconductor layer 10 (para.0076).
Regarding claim 8, Kaneko further teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the electrode 8 (para.0076) is a gate electrode, the method further comprising: forming a drain electrode 7 (para.0075) and a source electrode 6 (para.0075).
Regarding claim 9, Kaneko further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein forming a substrate layer 1 (para.0058) includes: forming a silicon carbide layer (para.0058).
Regarding claim 10, Kaneko further teaches the method of claim 9, wherein forming a silicon carbide layer 1 (para.0058) includes: forming a non-vanadium doped silicon carbide layer.
Regarding claim 12, Kaneko further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein forming the first semiconductor layer 3 (para.0057), superjacent the nucleation layer 2 (para.0059, wherein buffer 2 comprises aluminum nitride or gallium nitride), to at least the first thickness includes: forming the first semiconductor layer 3, superjacent the nucleation 2 layer, to at least a thickness of 250 nanometers (para.0060, semiconductor region 3 includes layer 4 which has a thickness of 0.3-10 micrometers; this thickness is at least (more than) 250 nm ).
Regarding claim 13, Kaneko further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein reducing the thickness of the first semiconductor layer 3 (para.0057) to at least the second thickness includes: reducing the thickness of the first semiconductor layer 3 to at least a thickness of 100 nanometers (para.0062, wherein thickness of the first semiconductor layer is reduced in the middle by creating a recess 15; the depth of the recess is less than the depth of layer 5 (which is part of semiconductor region 3). The reduced thickness is more than the thickness of layer 4 which is 0.3-10 micrometers).
Regarding claim 14, Kaneko further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein reducing the thickness of the first semiconductor layer 3 (para.0057) to at least a second thickness includes: reducing the thickness of the first semiconductor layer 3 to at least a thickness of 1000 nanometers (para.0062, wherein thickness of the first semiconductor layer is reduced in the middle by creating a recess 15; the depth of the recess is less than the depth of layer 5 (which is part of semiconductor region 3). The reduced thickness is more than the thickness of layer 4 which is 0.3-10 micrometers).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3,17,19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko et al. (US20090057720A1) in view of Goetz et al. (US20020190259A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kaneko does not teach wherein etching away the thickness of the first semiconductor layer includes: performing a hydrogen bake treatment to desorb the first semiconductor layer.
Fig.5 of Goetz teaches wherein H.sub.2 and NH.sub.3 ambient etches and roughens surface 40 of layer 38; which results in reduced thickness of layer 38 (para.0058).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the H.sub.2 and NH.sub.3 etch to
reduce the thickness of the semiconductor layer, as taught by Goetz, in order to reduce
the defect density and increase the comprehensive strain in subsequently grown III- Nitride layers (Goetz, [para.0058]).
Regarding claim 17, Fig.1A of Kaneko teaches a method of fabricating a semiconductor wafer to reduce or counteract defects, the method comprising: forming a substrate layer 1 (para.0057); forming a nucleation layer 2 (para.0059, wherein buffer 2 comprises aluminum nitride or gallium nitride) superjacent the substrate layer 1; forming a first semiconductor layer 3 (para.0057), superjacent the nucleation layer 2, to at least a first thickness; reducing a thickness of the first semiconductor layer 3 to at least a second thickness (para.0062, wherein thickness of the first semiconductor layer 3 is reduced at the middle by creating recess 15), wherein the reducing comprises a single reduction of the thickness following continuous formation of the first semiconductor layer 3 to the first thickness, while the substrate layer 1 remains coupled with the nucleation layer 2; and forming a second semiconductor layer 10 (para.0057) superjacent the first semiconductor layer 3 including forming a heterostructure configured to form a two-dimensional electron gas (2DEG) channel (para.0060, wherein the aforesaid 2DEG layer as the channel adjacent the heterojunction, between the layers 4 and 5, is provided), wherein the single reduction of the thickness occurs prior to forming the second semiconductor layer 10.
Kaneko does not teach reducing a thickness of the first semiconductor layer to at least a second thickness by performing a hydrogen bake treatment to desorb the first semiconductor layer.
Fig.5 of Goetz teaches wherein H.sub.2 and NH.sub.3 ambient etches and
roughens surface 40 of layer 38; which results in reduced thickness of layer 38
(para.0058).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the H.sub.2 and NH.sub.3 etch to
reduce the thickness of the semiconductor layer, as taught by Goetz, in order to reduce
the defect density and increase the comprehensive strain in subsequently grown III-
Nitride layers (Goetz, [para.0058]).
Regarding claim 19, Kaneko further teaches the method of claim 17, wherein forming the first semiconductor layer 3 (para.0057), superjacent the nucleation layer 2 (para.0059, wherein buffer 2 comprises aluminum nitride or gallium nitride), to at least the first thickness includes: forming the first semiconductor layer 3, superjacent the nucleation layer 2, to at least a thickness of 250 nanometers (para.0060, semiconductor region 3 includes layer 4 which has a thickness of 0.3-10 micrometers; this thickness is at least (more than) 250 nm ).
Regarding claim 20, Kaneko further teaches the method of claim 17, wherein reducing the thickness of the first semiconductor layer 3 (para.0057) to at least the second thickness includes: reducing the thickness of the first semiconductor layer 3 to at least a thickness of 100 nanometers (para.0062, wherein thickness of the first semiconductor layer is reduced in the middle by creating a recess 15; the depth of the recess is less than the depth of layer 5 (which is part of semiconductor region 3). The reduced thickness is more than the thickness of layer 4 which is 0.3-10 micrometers).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko et al. (US20090057720A1) in view of Iwabuchi et al. (US20120080724A1).
Regarding claim 6, Kaneko does not teach wherein forming the second semiconductor layer superjacent the first semiconductor layer includes: forming a gallium nitride layer superjacent an aluminum gallium nitride layer.
Fig.3 of Iwabuchi teaches wherein the electrode 51 can be composed of a p-type semiconductor layer such as a GaN layer doped with Mg or an AlGaN layer doped with Mg, a metal oxide layer such as a nickel oxide layer, an iron oxide layer, a cobalt oxide layer (para.0040). This shows that AlGaN layer can be used in place of metal oxide (nickel oxide).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kaneko’s device to replace metal oxide semiconductor with AlGaN layer, as taught by Iwabuchi, because at least based on the rationale of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143.I.B), such as improved electron mobility wide band gap in the device.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko et al. (US20090057720A1) in view of MUELLER et al. (US20160068994A1).
Regarding claim 11, Kaneko does not teach wherein forming a silicon carbide layer includes: forming a vanadium-doped silicon carbide layer.
MUELLER teaches, in para.0019, wherein vanadium atoms incorporated into the
SiC volume monocrystal are thus in particular electrically active or effective at least to a
large extent or even as a whole and as a result of the high vanadium doping agent
concentration incorporated into the crystal lattice a greater number of such flat
imperfections can be compensated than in previously known methods.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kaneko’s device to include MUELLER's vanadium-doped silicon carbide substrate because as a result of high vanadium doping agent concentration incorporated into the crystal
lattice a greater number of such flat imperfections can be compensated than in
previously known methods, so that SiC volume monocrystals, which previously had to
be disposed of because they had too many flat imperfections, in the growth method
according to the invention still have the desired the semi-insulating behavior
(MUELLER, [para.0019]). It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination
in Sinclair & Carroll Co. V. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko et al. (US20090057720A1) in view of Goetz et al. (US20020190259A1) and in further view of Iwabuchi et al. (US20120080724A1).
Regarding claim 18, Kaneko does not teach wherein forming the second semiconductor layer superjacent the first semiconductor layer includes: forming a gallium nitride layer superjacent an aluminum gallium nitride layer.
Fig.3 of Iwabuchi teaches wherein the electrode 51 can be composed of a p-type semiconductor layer such as a GaN layer doped with Mg or an AlGaN layer doped with Mg, a metal oxide layer such as a nickel oxide layer, an iron oxide layer, a cobalt oxide layer (para.0040). This shows that AlGaN layer can be used in place of metal oxide (nickel oxide).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kaneko’s device to replace metal oxide semiconductor with AlGaN layer, as taught by Iwabuchi, because at least based on the rationale of simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143.I.B), such as improved electron mobility wide band gap in the device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
VINCENT KIPKEMOI. RONO
Examiner
Art Unit 2891
/V.K.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/TUCKER J WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891