DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement.
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on May 15, 2023 and January 29, 2025 were considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JUNNOSUKE et al. (Japanese Patent No. 6489034B2).
Regarding claim 1, JUNNOSUKE discloses an abnormality detection method for a transfer device including an arm having a substrate holder configured to hold a substrate an elevating mechanism configured to raise and lower the arm, a position detector configured to detect a position of the substrate holder, a suction hole formed at the substrate holder, and a pressure detector configured to detect a pressure of a suction passage communicating with the suction hole (paras. [0016]- [0020]; Fig. 1, elevating mechanism 23, substrate holder 25; Fig. 2, suction holes 27; Fig. 3, pressure detector 31; Fig. 4, position detector 43, controller 4), the abnormality detection method comprising:
controlling the arm to move the substrate holder to a position below the substrate placed on a placing part (para. [0022]; Fig. 6);
controlling the elevating mechanism to raise the arm and the substrate holder (para. [0022]; Fig. 7);
detecting contact between the substrate and the substrate holder based on a pressure change detected by the pressure detector (para. [0037]);
detecting, by using the position detector, a position of the substrate holder at the time of detecting the contact between the substrate and the substrate holder (para. [0039]); and
detecting an abnormal state of the transfer device based on the detected position (paras. [0040]- [0043]).
Regarding claim 2, JUNNOSUKE discloses all the limitations of claim 1. JUNNOSUKE further discloses, when the detected position is outside a predetermined threshold range, the state of the transfer device is determined to be abnormal (para. [0040]; checking current receiving height with allowable range).
Regarding claim 3, JUNNOSUKE discloses all the limitations of claim 2. JUNNOSUKE further discloses, the predetermined threshold range is set based on previously detected positions (para. [0040], comparing with calculated average of prior week).
Regarding claim 5, JUNNOSUKE discloses all the limitations of claim 1. JUNNOSUKE further discloses, the transfer device transfers a substrate in an atmospheric pressure atmosphere (para. [0046]; apparatus 1 is provided in the atmosphere).
Regarding claim 6, JUNNOSUKE discloses a transfer device comprising: an arm having a substrate holder configured to hold a substrate (para. [0016]; Fig. 2, substrate holder 25);
an elevating mechanism configured to raise and lower the arm (para. [0015]; Fig. 1; elevating mechanism 23);
a position detector configured to detect a position of the substrate holder (para. [0020], Fig. 4; position detector 43);
a suction hole and a suction passage formed in the substrate holder (para. [0016]; Fig. 2, suction holes 27);
a pressure detector configured to detect a pressure in the suction path (para. [0017]; Fig. 3; pressure detector 31); and
a controller (para. [0019]; Fig. 4; controller 4),
wherein the controller is configured to control the arm to move the substrate holder to a position below the substrate placed on a placing part (para. [0022]; Fig. 6),
control the elevating mechanism to raise the arm and the substrate holder (para. [0022]; Fig. 7),
detect contact between the substrate and the substrate holder based on a pressure change detected by the pressure detector (para. [0037]),
detect a position of the substrate holder at the time of detecting the contact between the substrate and the substrate holder by using the position detector (para. [0039]),
and detect an abnormal state of the transfer device based on the detected position (paras. [0040]- [0043]).
Regarding claim 7, JUNNOSUKE discloses all the limitations of claim 6. JUNNOSUKE further discloses, when the detected position is outside a predetermined threshold range, a state of the transfer device is determined to be abnormal (para. [0040]; checking current receiving height with allowable range).
Regarding claim 8, JUNNOSUKE discloses all the limitations of claim 7. JUNNOSUKE further discloses the predetermined threshold range is set based on previously detected positions (para. [0040], comparing with calculated average of prior week).
Regarding claim 10, JUNNOSUKE discloses all the limitations of claim 6. JUNNOSUKE further discloses the transfer device transfers a substrate in an atmospheric pressure atmosphere (para. [0046]; apparatus 1 is provided in the atmosphere).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNNOSUKE et al. (Japanese Patent No. 6489034B2) in view of Kobayashi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10840122).
Regarding claim 4, JUNNOSUKE discloses all the limitations of claim 1. JUNNOSUKE further discloses detecting the contact between the substrate and the substrate holder by using a pressure detector and sensing a change in pressure.
However, JUNNOSUKE does not disclose the contact between the substrate and the substrate holder is detected when the pressure detected by the pressure detector is lower than or equal to a predetermined reference pressure.
Kobayashi discloses detecting the contact between the substrate and the substrate holder, the contact between the substrate and the substrate holder is detected when the pressure detected by the pressure detector is lower than or equal to a predetermined reference pressure (col. 7 line 66 to col. 8, line 9; Fig. 8).
JUNNOSUKE and Kobayashi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both involved in the field wafer transfer and using vacuum wafer holders. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JUNNOSUKE to incorporate the teachings in Kobayashi of detecting the contact between the substrate and the substrate holder, when the pressure detected by the pressure detector is lower than or equal to a predetermined reference pressure to improve vacuum attraction of the wafer with the smallest necessary attracting force in a shortest necessary evacuation time.
Regarding claim 9, JUNNOSUKE discloses all the limitations of claim 6. JUNNOSUKE further discloses detecting the contact between the substrate and the substrate holder by using a pressure detector and sensing a change in pressure.
However, JUNNOSUKE does not disclose the contact between the substrate and the substrate holder is detected when the pressure detected by the pressure detector is lower than or equal to a predetermined reference pressure.
Kobayashi discloses the contact between the substrate and the substrate holder is detected when the pressure detected by the pressure detector is lower than or equal to a predetermined reference pressure (col. 7 line 66 to col. 8, line 9; Fig. 8).
JUNNOSUKE and Kobayashi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both involved in the field wafer transfer and using vacuum wafer holders. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JUNNOSUKE to incorporate the teachings in Kobayashi of detecting the contact between the substrate and the substrate holder, when the pressure detected by the pressure detector is lower than or equal to a predetermined reference pressure to improve vacuum attraction of the wafer with the smallest necessary attracting force in a shortest necessary evacuation time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mori et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5191218) discloses a vacuum attraction holding device that detects contact with wafer when sensed pressure in the suction passageway becomes lower than a predetermined pressure. Mori also discloses by using this detection method it is possible to accomplish the vacuum attraction of the wafer with a smallest necessary attracting force and in a shortest necessary evacuation time. (col. 6, lines 15-37).
Watanabe et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10825664) discloses a method of detecting a contact between a wafer and an electrostatic chuck by using a pressure sensor, and detecting contact when the pressure on the line becomes less than or equal to a predetermined value (col. 19, lines 10-21; Fig 2).
SHINJI (Japanese Application Publication No. 2003266266A) discloses a suction holding member for lifting a wafer that uses a pressure sensor and a predetermined pressure value to detect when a wafer is contacted by the holding member when the sensed pressure is equal to or less than the predetermined pressure (para. [0025]; Fig. 2-3).
/TEMESGEN M. MARU/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655