DETAILED ACTION
Request for Information
Applicant and the assignee of this application are required under 37 CFR 1.105 to provide the following information that the examiner has determined is reasonably necessary to the examination of this application.
The Applicant is requested to provide factual information demonstrating that the inventors named in the application are correct. The request is made in light of application no. 18866327 and statements published on website https://inflatable.michelin.com/en/aeronautics-space/wave-stirrer.
The pending application discloses an electromagnetic stirrer with a mast and/or vane that is inflatable and identifies DASSAULT AVIATION as the assignee. Application no. 18866327 discloses subject matter directed to an electromagnetic stirrer with a blade (vane) that is inflatable and identifies COMPAGNIE GENERALE DES ETABLISSEMENTS MICHELIN as the assignee. The identified website (https://inflatable.michelin.com/en/aeronautics-space/wave-stirrer) depicts a wave stirrer, similar to that disclosed in pending application and application no. 18866327, and a statement that the wave stirrer was developed by Dassault Aviation and MICHELIN Inflatable Solutions from the Michelin Group. Based on the overlapping subject matter between the pending application and application no. 18866327, along with the published statements regarding development efforts between MICHELIN and Dassault Aviation, the Applicant is requested to provide factual information demonstrating the inventors named in the application are correct and whether there was a joint research agreement between Dassault Aviation and Michelin as set forth in 102(c).
This requirement is an attachment of the enclosed Office action. A complete reply to the enclosed Office action must include a complete reply to this requirement. The time period for reply to this requirement coincides with the time period for reply to the enclosed Office action.
This request for information under 37 CFR 1.105 has received director review.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 05/26/2026 have been fully considered and are made of record.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8-10, 15-17 have been amended.
Claim 20 has been newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because new ground(s) of rejection has been applied to amended limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-9, 13-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MONSEF et al. US 20160131689; hereinafter Monsef) in further view of Szente (Patent NO. US 6977624; hereinafter Szente).
Regarding Claim 1, Monsef teaches an electromagnetic stirrer (electromagnetic stirrer 4 in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0040]-[0041]) comprising:
a mast (See mast in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0038]-[0041]); and
at least one vane (vane in Fig. 1 and fig. below; See [0038]-[0041]) presenting a surface reflecting radio and/or microwave waves (surface of vane reflects microwave in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0010]-[0021], [0038]-[0041], [0046]-[0060]),
the at least one vane presenting at least two non-coplanar regions (each vane has two regions that are not coplanar, as each portion of the blade extends in separate planes in a V shape in Fig. 1 and Fig. below);
the mast presenting a vane attachment zone (the zone of mast where vanes are attached is vane attachment zone in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0010]-[0011]),
the at least one vane being attached to the vane attachment zone (the zone of mast where vanes are attached to mast is vane attachment zone in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0010]-[0011]);
Monsef is silent about at least a part of the mast and/or of the at least one vane being inflatable by a gas, the at least one vane having a shape of a cylinder segment cut along a plane parallel to the cylinder's axis.
Szente teaches the at least one vane having a shape of a cylinder segment cut along a plane parallel to the cylinder's axis (vane 500 is cylindrical shape cut along axis in Fig. 12B; See Col. 4, Lines 30-40).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Monsef by using at least one vane having a shape of a cylinder segment cut along a plane parallel to the cylinder's axis, as taught by Fig. 12B of Szente in order to achieve efficient reflective surface (Szente; abstract).
Monsef in view of Szente is silent about at least a part of the mast and/or of the at least one vane being inflatable by a gas.
However, in another embodiment Szente teaches at least a part of the mast and/or of the at least one vane being inflatable by a gas (vane 606 is inflatable by gas through 612 in fig. 11E and 11F).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Monsef and Fig. 12B of Szente to have at least a part of the mast and/or vane being inflatable by gas as taught by Fig. 11E of Szente in order for easy shipment or transport (see Szente col. 17, lines 27-30).
Regarding Claim 2, Monsef in view of Szente teaches the electromagnetic stirrer according to claim 1. The combination of Monsef in view of Szente as presented with respect to claim 1 further teaches wherein the at least one vane is inflatable by a gas (Note Szente’s vane 606 is inflatable by gas through 612 in in Fig. 11E and 11F).
Regarding Claim 3, Monsef in view of Szente teaches the electromagnetic stirrer according to claim 2. Monsef is silent about further comprising a removable attachment to attach the at least one vane to the vane attachment zone.
Szente teaches further comprising a removable attachment to attach the at least one vane to the vane attachment zone (the vane 500 include a removable attachment 207).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to include the removeable attachment 207 of Szente with the stirrer of Monsef to provide a secure connection between the shaft and the vane.
Regarding Claim 5, Monsef in view of Szente teaches the electromagnetic stirrer according to claim 2. Monsef further teaches wherein the at least one vane presents a side edge (See the side edge is the connecting the vane to the mast in Fig. 1 and fig. below), the at least one vane being attached along its side edge to the vane attachment zone (See side edge of vane is attached to zone in fig. 1 and Fig. below).
Regarding Claim 7, Monsef in view of Szente teaches the electromagnetic stirrer according to claim 2 wherein the at least one inflatable vane presents at least one region having a C-shaped cross-section (Monsef in view of Szente as presented in claim 1 necessarily teach the claimed limitation because Fig. 12B of Szente teaches a C-shaped cross section).
Regarding Claim 8, Monsef in view of Szente teaches the electromagnetic stirrer according to claim 2. Monsef is silent about wherein the at least one inflatable vane includes an inflatable framework inflatable by a gas and at least one layer reflecting radio and/or microwave electromagnetic waves, the at least one layer being carried by the inflatable framework.
Szente teaches wherein the at least one inflatable vane includes an inflatable framework inflatable by a gas (fig. 11F, col. 12, line 46- col. 13, line 6) and at least one layer reflecting radio and/or microwave electromagnetic waves, the at least one layer being carried by the inflatable framework (layer of vane has inflatable framework in fig. 11F).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Monsef by using at least one inflatable vane includes an inflatable framework inflatable by a gas and at least one layer reflecting radio and/or microwave electromagnetic waves, the at least one layer being carried by the inflatable framework as taught by Szente in order to create a collapsible structure suited for easy shipment or transport (see Szente col. 17, lines 27-30).
Regarding Claim 9, Monsef in view of Szente teaches the electromagnetic stirrer according to claim 8. Szente further teaches wherein the inflatable framework includes at least two inflatable peripheral uprights inflatable by a gas and at least one inflatable crosspiece inflatable by a gas connecting the inflatable peripheral uprights (inflatable uprights and cross pieces in Fig. 11F).
Regarding Claim 13, Monsef in view of Szente teaches an electromagnetic measuring and/or test system including:
a reverberation chamber (Monsef’s reverberation chamber 1 in fig. 1; See [0040]);
a transmitter of radio and/or microwave electromagnetic waves configured to be placed in the reverberation chamber (Monsef’s reverberation chamber 1 has transmitter 2 of radio EM in fig. 1; See [0040]-[0041]); and
the electromagnetic stirrer according to claim 1, configured to be placed in the reverberation chamber (electromagnetic stirrer 4 is in reverberation chamber 1 in Fig. 1. See rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding Claim 14, Monsef in view of Szente teaches the electromagnetic measuring and/or test system according to claim 13. Monsef further teaches further comprising
an electromagnetic wave receiver (absorber 5,6 are EM receiver in Fig. 1; See [0040]-[0044]) configured to be placed in a vicinity of an equipment placed in the reverberation chamber (See [0040]-[0044]).
Regarding Claim 15, Monsef teaches a mounting method to mount an electromagnetic stirrer (electromagnetic stirrer 4 in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0040]-[0041]), comprising:
providing a mast (See mast in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0038]-[0041]) and at least one vane (vane in Fig. 1 and fig. below; See [0038]-[0041]) presenting a surface reflecting radio and/or microwave waves (surface of vane reflects microwave in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0010]-[0021], [0038]-[0041], [0046]-[0060]),
the at least one vane presenting at least two non-coplanar regions (each vane has two regions that are not coplanar, as each portion of the blade extends in separate planes in a V shape in Fig. 1 and Fig. below),
the mast presenting a vane attachment zone (the zone of mast where vanes are attached is vane attachment zone in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0010]-[0011]),
the at least one vane being attached to the vane attachment zone (the zone of mast where vanes are attached to mast is vane attachment zone in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0010]-[0011]),
Monsef is silent about the inflatable part of the mast and/or of the at least one vane being initially deflated; and inflating by a gas the inflatable part of the mast and/or of the at least one vane.
Szente teaches the inflatable part of the mast and/or of the at least one vane being initially deflated (vane 606 is inflatable by gas through 612 in fig. 11E and 11F and therefore initially deflated); and inflating by a gas the inflatable part of the mast and/or of the at least one vane (vane 606 is inflatable by gas through 612 in fig. 11E and 11F).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Monsef by the inflatable part of the mast and/or of the at least one vane being initially deflated; and inflating by a gas the inflatable part of the mast and/or of the at least one vane, as taught by Fig. 11E and 11F of Szente for easy shipment or transport.
Regarding Claim 16, Monsef in view of Szente teaches the method according to claim 15. Szente further teaches wherein the mast and/or the at least one vane is inflatable by a gas (vane 606 is inflatable by gas through 612 in fig. 11E and 11F),
providing a mast and at least one vane including providing the mast and/or the at least one vane in a deflated and disassembled configuration (vane 606 is inflatable by gas through 612 in fig. 11E and 11F),
the method comprising assembling the at least one vane to the mast prior to inflation by a gas of the mast and/or the at least one vane (assembling vane 606 is inflatable by gas through 612 in fig. 11E and 11F), and
inflating by a gas the mast and/or the at least one vane after assembling the at least one vane to the mast (inflating vanes 606 is inflatable by gas through 612 in fig. 11E and 11F).
Regarding Claim 18, Monsef in view of Szente teaches the electromagnetic stirrer according to claim 1. Monsef is silent about wherein the gas is air.
Szente teaches wherein the gas is air (inflatable vanes by a gas 600 in fig. 11E; See Col. 12, line 39, and line 53).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Monsef by using inflatable vane by a gas, as taught by Szente in order to achieve efficient reflective surface (Szente; abstract).
Regarding Claim 19, Monsef in view of Szente teaches the electromagnetic stirrer according to claim 1. Monsef is silent about wherein the gas is compressed air.
Szente teaches wherein the gas is compressed air (a pump or bulb which compresses air into the inlet; See col. 12, line 53).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Monsef by using inflatable vane by a gas, as taught by Szente in order to achieve efficient reflective surface (Szente; abstract).
Regarding Claim 20, Monsef in view of Szente teaches the method according to claim 15. Szente further teaches wherein the at least one vane has a shape of a cylinder segment cut along a plane parallel to the cylinder's axis (vane 500 is cylindrical shape cut along axis in Fig. 12B; See Col. 4, Lines 30-40).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monsef in view of Szente further in view of SIM et al. (Pub NO. US 2019/0339315 A1; hereinafter Sim).
Regarding Claim 6, Monsef in view of Szente teaches the electromagnetic stirrer according to claim 2. Monsef teaches a stirrer with including a plurality of inflatable vanes (See plurality of vanes in Fig. 1).
Monsef in view of Szente is silent about the vane attachment zone being configured to interchangeably accommodate several vanes among the plurality of inflatable vanes, each vane of the several vanes being configured to be mounted as a replacement for another vane of the several vanes on the vane attachment zone.
Sim teaches the size, shape, intervals and position of the plates of the stirrer maybe determined to optimize a change in eigenmode for the reverberation chamber (See [0055]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Monsef and Szente to have vanes of different dimension interchangeable and attachable at the attachment zone as taught by Sim in order to optimized the eigenmode of the reverberation chamber, as needed.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monsef in view of Szente further in view of JIN et al. (Pub NO. CN 113625068 A; hereinafter Jin; translation attached).
Regarding Claim 12, Monsef in view of Szente teaches the electromagnetic stirrer according to claim 1. Szente teaches an embodiment with a rotating plate (aka a turntable; See col. 13, lines 45-50).
Monsef in view of Szente is silent about further comprising a turntable, the mast carrying the at least one vane being configured to be mounted on the turntable to be driven in rotation about a vertical axis by the turntable.
Jin teaches further comprising a turntable, the mast carrying the at least one vane being configured to be mounted on the turntable to be driven in rotation about a vertical axis by the turntable (See [0003]-[0004]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Monsef and Szente by using a turntable, the mast carrying the at least one vane being configured to be mounted on the turntable to be driven in rotation about a vertical axis by the turntable, as taught by Jin in order to achieve efficient testing (Jin; [0002]).
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monsef in view of Szente further in view of Jin.
Regarding Claim 17, Monsef in view of Szente teaches an electromagnetic measuring and/or test method. Monsef further teaches comprising:
providing a reverberation chamber (reverberation chamber 1 in fig. 1; See [0040]); implementing the mounting method according to claim 15, and
arranging the electromagnetic stirrer in the reverberation chamber (arranging stirrer 6 in reverberation chamber 1 in Fig. 1);
arranging a transmitter in the reverberation chamber (reverberation chamber 1 has transmitter 2 of radio EM in fig. 1; See [0040]-[0041]),
transmitting electromagnetic radio waves and/or microwaves from the transmitter into the reverberation chamber ( transmitter 2 transmits radio EM in reverberation chamber 1 in fig. 1; See [0040]-[0041]);
placing a receiver in the reverberation chamber in a vicinity of an equipment to be tested in the reverberation chamber (absorber 5 is EM receiver in Fig. 1; See [0040]-[0044]) and measuring an electromagnetic field received by the receiver and/or testing an equipment in operation in the reverberation chamber (See [0040]-[0060]); and
Monsef in view of Szente is silent about rotating the electromagnetic stirrer about an axis of rotation between two successive measurements of the electromagnetic field received by the receiver or between two successive tests of the equipment in operation.
Jin teaches further rotating the electromagnetic stirrer about an axis of rotation between two successive measurements of the electromagnetic field received by the receiver or between two successive tests of the equipment in operation (See [0003]-[0004]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Monsef and Szente by rotating the electromagnetic stirrer about an axis of rotation between two successive measurements of the electromagnetic field received by the receiver or between two successive tests of the equipment in operation, as taught by Jin in order to achieve efficient testing (Jin; [0002]).
Claim(s) 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monsef in view of Szente further in view of Gillespie et al. (Patent NO. US 3373069; hereinafter Gillespie).
Regarding Claim 10, Monsef in view of Szente teaches the electromagnetic stirrer according to claim 1. Monsef in view of Szente is silent about wherein the mast is inflatable by a gas.
Gillespie teaches the mast can be rigid or inflatable (col. 7, lines 54-col. 8. Line 35).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Monsef and Szente by using the mast is inflatable by a gas, as taught by Gillespie in order to an inflatable mast so as to be more compact (Gillespie; col. 3, line 7).
Regarding Claim 11, Monsef in view of Szente further in view of Gillespie teaches the electromagnetic stirrer according to claim 10. Szente teaches wherein the mast is cylindrical with a vertical axis (See mast 204 is cylindrical in Fig. 12B), the vane attachment zone extending along a generatrix of the mast (attachment 207 for the vane on the outer surface of the shaft corresponding to the generatrix).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monsef in view of Szente further in view of Essig et al. (Pub NO. US 2006/0033674 A1; hereinafter Essig).
Regarding Claim 4, Monsef in view of Szente the electromagnetic stirrer according to claim 3. Monsef in view of Szenteis silent about wherein the removable attachment comprises a zipper.
Essig teaches wherein the removable attachment comprises a zipper (alternative forms of fasteners for connecting an inflatable reflectors and a support 12; See [0240]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Monsef and Szente by using the removable attachment comprises a zipper, as taught by Essig in order to achieve more flexible connection assembly.
Conclusion
/ZANNATUL FERDOUS/
Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/KIESHA R BRYANT/ Director, Art Unit 2800