DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on page 5 that a terminal disclaimer over U.S. Patent Application No.: 18/316,338 and 18,196,184 has been filed under 35, U.S.C. 253(a). Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner sees no record of a timely filed and approved terminal disclaimer, therefore the provisional double patenting rejection is maintained.
Examiner also notes that dependent claim 8 does not belong with the Applicant’s elected embodiment. If anything, dependent claim 6 should have been examined instead. Applicant chose Species 2, Embodiment II, Figs. 4-6, which is the embodiment where the direct bonding interface is placed in a basic environment comprised/consisting of an aqueous solution (item 8, Fig. 5).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 and 8-10 have been considered but are moot new interpretation of claims and prior art.
Examiner is open to conducting an interview in order to move prosecution forward.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites “disposing at least the direct bonding interface in a basic environment”. Which basic environment? Is it an aqueous solution, formed by dissolution of NaOH and having a molar concentration of between 10.sup.−7 mol/l and 0.01 mol/l and in particular a molar concentration of approximately 10.sup.−3 mol/l, an aqueous solution formed, by dissolving in deionized water, a basic compound chosen from NaOH, KOH, Na.sub.2CO.sub.3, NH.sub.4OH, an amino alcohol and an mixture of these basic compounds; the amino alcohol being selected from 2-ethanol DMAE, N,N-diethyl-2-amino-ethanol, monoethanolamine, N-methyldiethanolamine, aminomethanol, N-methylhydroxylamine, diethanolamine, dimethanolamine, triethanolamine, trimethanolamine and a mixture of these amino alcohols, or an atmosphere saturated with basic molecules in the vapor phase by evaporation in a hermetic enclosure of a basic stock solution comprising deionized water and a basic compound chosen from N,N-diethylethanolamine, N,N-dimethylethanolamine, 2-aminoethanol, N-methyldiethanolamine, aminomethanol, N-methylhydroxylamine, diethanolamine, dimethanolamine, triethanolamine, trimethanolamine, ethalonamine, diethyl-N—N-ethanol, ammonia and a mixture of these compounds? Even though the Applicant has defined in the specification what “a basic environment” is/can be, the claim is written as if the Applicant has ownership of all “basic environments”, which is not the case. Appropriate correction is required. Claims 2-5 and 8-10 inherit these deficiencies. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner is taking “a basic environment” to be anywhere that has a basic temperature/climate and basic pressure.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-5 and 8-10 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9, and 10 of copending Application No. 18/316,338. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1-5 and 8-10 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/196,184. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namikawa et al. (Namikawa) (US 2024/0190105 A1) in view of Fournel et al. (Fournel’259) (US 2019/0214259 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Namikawa (Figs. 1, 2 and associated text) discloses a method for manufacturing a multilayer structure by direct bonding between a first substrate (items 10 or 20) and a second substrate (items 10 or 20), the method comprising the steps of: a) providing a first substrate (items 10 or 20) and a second substrate (items 10 or 20) respectively comprising a first bonding surface (items 13 or 23) and a second bonding surface (items 13 or 23), b) bringing the first bonding surface (items 13 or 23) and the second bonding surface (items 13 or 23) into contact so as to create a direct bonding interface between the first substrate (items 10 or 20) and the second substrate (items 10 or 20), c) disposing at least the direct bonding interface in a basic environment (anywhere containing a basic temperature/climate and basic pressure), wherein the use of the basic environment is only carried out after bringing the first bonding surface and the second bonding surface into contact; and d) applying a thermal treatment at a temperature of between 20° C. and 1000° C. (paragraphs 53, 255) so as to obtain the multilayer structure, but does not specifically disclose wherein direct bonding is a spontaneous bonding between two surfaces without adding material to the interface between the bonded surfaces.
Fournel’259 (paragraph 22, Figs. 1, 2, 4 and associated text) discloses wherein direct bonding is a spontaneous bonding between two surfaces (items 10, 20) without adding material to the interface (item IC) between the bonded surfaces (items 10, 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Fournel’259 for the purpose of reliable bond.
In regards to claim 3, Namikawa (Figs. 1, 2 and associated text) discloses wherein the first bonding surface (items 13 or 23) and/or the second bonding surface (items 13 or 23) are/is formed at least in part by a hydrophilic film made of a material chosen from a native oxide, a thermal or deposited silicon oxide, a silicon nitride, a copper oxide and a combination of these materials (Abstract, paragraph 21).
In regards to claim 4, Namikawa (Figs. 1, 2 and associated text) discloses wherein the first bonding surface (items 13 or 23) and the second bonding surface (items 13 or 23) are completely flat.
In regards to claim 5, Namikawa (Figs. 1, 2 and associated text) discloses wherein the basic environment is an aqueous basic solution.
Claim(s) 2 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namikawa et al. (Namikawa) (US 2024/0190105 A1) in view of Fournel et al. (Fournel’259) (US 2019/0214259 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 3-5 above and further in view of Fournel et al. (Fournel) (FR 3102771 A1).
In regards to claim 2, Namikawa as modified by Fournel’259 does not specifically disclose wherein step c) of disposing the direct bonding interface in the basic environment is carried out for a duration of approximately 1 hour to 80 days.
In regards to claim 2, Fournel (Abstract, Figs. 1-6 and associated text) discloses wherein step c) of disposing the direct bonding interface in the basic environment is carried out for a duration of approximately 1 hour to 80 days.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Fournel for the purpose of reliable bond.
In regards to claim 8, Fournel (Abstract, Figs. 1-6 and associated text) discloses wherein the basic environment is an atmosphere saturated with basic molecules in the vapor phase, phase, by evaporation in a hermetic enclosure of a basic stock solution comprising deionized water and a basic compound chosen from N,N-diethylethanolamine, dimethylaminoethanol, aminoethanol, N-methyldiethanolamine, aminomethanol, N-methylhydroxylamine, diethanolamine, dimethanolamine, triethanolamine, trimethanolamine, ethalonamine, diethyl-N—N-ethanol, ammonia and their combination (N-Diethyl-2-amino-ethanol (CAS: 100-37-8), dimethylaminoethanol or DMAE (CAS: 108-01-0) , diethylethanolamine or DEAE (CAS 100-37-8), monoethanolamine (CAS: 141-43-5), N-methyldiethanolamine, or MDEA (CAS: 105-59-9), aminomethanol (CAS: 3088 -27-5), N-methylhydroxylamine (CAS: 593-77-1), diethanolamine or DEA (CAS: 111-42-2), dimethanolamine (CAS: 7487-32-3), triethanolamine (CAS : 102-71-6) and trimethanolamine (CAS: 14002-32-5)).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a basic environment with an atmosphere saturated with basic molecules in the vapor phase, phase, by evaporation in a hermetic enclosure of a basic stock solution comprising deionized water and a basic compound chosen from N,N-diethylethanolamine, dimethylaminoethanol, aminoethanol, N-methyldiethanolamine, aminomethanol, N-methylhydroxylamine, diethanolamine, dimethanolamine, triethanolamine, trimethanolamine, ethalonamine, diethyl-N—N-ethanol, ammonia and their combination, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 9, Fournel (Abstract, Figs. 1-6 and associated text) discloses wherein the first substrate (items 10 or 20) and the second substrate (items 10 or 20) are each formed by a material chosen from semiconductors, LNO, LTO and their combination (Si, Ge, InP, AsGa, Al .sub.2 O .sub.3 , SiO .sub.2 , Si .sub.3 N .sub.4 , SiC, GaN, LNO, LTO, Cu , Ti, Ni).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a first substrate and a second substrate that are each formed by a material chosen from semiconductors, LNO, LTO and their combination, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 10, Fournel (Abstract, Figs. 1-6 and associated text) discloses wherein: the first substrate (items 10 or 20) and the second substrate (items 10 or 20) provided in step a) each comprise a silicon substrate having a diameter of between 25 mm and 300 mm (200 mm), and in which the first bonding surface (items 11 or 21) and the second bonding surface (items 11 or 21) are each completely formed by a continuous hydrophilic film made of silicon oxide, step c) comprises disposing the direct bonding interface, obtained in step b), in the basic environment over a duration of between 21 and 40 days, the basic environment being an aqueous basic solution formed by dissolution of NaOH (KOH, NaOH, Na .sub.2 CO .sub.3 , or NH .sub.4 OH ) and having a molar concentration of between 10.sup.−7 mol/l mol/l, and step d) comprises applying a thermal treatment at approximately 300° C. (300° C, 500° C, 800° C, Figs. 1, 3-5), so as to obtain a direct bonding between the first substrate (items 10 or 20) and the second substrate (items 10 or 20) having a bonding energy greater than 5 J/m.sup.2.
Conclusion
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 August 28, 2026