DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 18, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on page 5 that a terminal disclaimer over U.S. Patent Application No.: 18/316,338 has been filed under 35, U.S.C. 253(a). Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner sees no record of a timely filed and approved terminal disclaimer, therefore the provisional double patenting rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 and 8-10 have been considered but are moot on grounds of new rejection.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-5 and 8-10 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9, and 10 of copending Application No. 18/316,338. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1-5 and 8-10 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/196,184. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namikawa et al. (Namikawa) (US 2024/0190105 A1) in view of Fournel et al. (Fournel’259) (US 2019/0214259 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Namikawa (Figs. 1, 2 and associated text) discloses a method for manufacturing a multilayer structure by direct bonding between a first substrate (items 10 or 20) and a second substrate (items 10 or 20), the method comprising the steps of: a) providing a first substrate (items 10 or 20) and a second substrate (items 10 or 20) respectively comprising a first bonding surface (items 13 or 23) and a second bonding surface (items 13 or 23), b) bringing the first bonding surface (items 13 or 23) and the second bonding surface (items 13 or 23) into contact so as to create a direct bonding interface between the first substrate (items 10 or 20) and the second substrate (items 10 or 20), c) disposing at least the direct bonding interface in a basic environment (vacuum, chamber, and d) applying a thermal treatment at a temperature of between 20° C. and 1000° C. (paragraphs 53, 255) so as to obtain the multilayer structure, but does not specifically disclose wherein direct bonding is a spontaneous bonding between two surfaces without adding material to the interface between the bonded surfaces.
Fournel’259 (paragraph 22, Figs. 1, 2, 4 and associated text) discloses wherein direct bonding is a spontaneous bonding between two surfaces (items 10, 20) without adding material to the interface (item IC) between the bonded surfaces (items 10, 20).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Fournel’259 for the purpose of reliable bond.
In regards to claim 3, Namikawa (Figs. 1, 2 and associated text) discloses wherein the first bonding surface (items 13 or 23) and/or the second bonding surface (items 13 or 23) are/is formed at least in part by a hydrophilic film made of a material chosen from a native oxide, a thermal or deposited silicon oxide, a silicon nitride, a copper oxide and a combination of these materials (Abstract, paragraph 21).
In regards to claim 4, Namikawa (Figs. 1, 2 and associated text) discloses wherein the first bonding surface (items 13 or 23) and the second bonding surface (items 13 or 23) are completely flat.
In regards to claim 5, Namikawa (Figs. 1, 2 and associated text) discloses wherein the basic environment is an aqueous basic solution.
Claim(s) 2 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namikawa et al. (Namikawa) (US 2024/0190105 A1) in view of Fournel et al. (Fournel’259) (US 2019/0214259 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 3-5 above and further in view of Fournel et al. (Fournel) (FR 3102771 A1).
In regards to claim 2, Namikawa as modified by Fournel’259 does not specifically disclose wherein step c) of disposing the direct bonding interface in the basic environment is carried out for a duration of approximately 1 hour to 80 days.
In regards to claim 2, Fournel (Abstract, Figs. 1-6 and associated text) discloses wherein step c) of disposing the direct bonding interface in the basic environment is carried out for a duration of approximately 1 hour to 80 days.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Fournel for the purpose of reliable bond.
In regards to claim 8, Fournel (Abstract, Figs. 1-6 and associated text) discloses wherein the basic environment is an atmosphere saturated with basic molecules in the vapor phase, phase, by evaporation in a hermetic enclosure of a basic stock solution comprising deionized water and a basic compound chosen from N,N-diethylethanolamine, dimethylaminoethanol, aminoethanol, N-methyldiethanolamine, aminomethanol, N-methylhydroxylamine, diethanolamine, dimethanolamine, triethanolamine, trimethanolamine, ethalonamine, diethyl-N—N-ethanol, ammonia and their combination (N-Diethyl-2-amino-ethanol (CAS: 100-37-8), dimethylaminoethanol or DMAE (CAS: 108-01-0) , diethylethanolamine or DEAE (CAS 100-37-8), monoethanolamine (CAS: 141-43-5), N-methyldiethanolamine, or MDEA (CAS: 105-59-9), aminomethanol (CAS: 3088 -27-5), N-methylhydroxylamine (CAS: 593-77-1), diethanolamine or DEA (CAS: 111-42-2), dimethanolamine (CAS: 7487-32-3), triethanolamine (CAS : 102-71-6) and trimethanolamine (CAS: 14002-32-5)).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a basic environment with an atmosphere saturated with basic molecules in the vapor phase, phase, by evaporation in a hermetic enclosure of a basic stock solution comprising deionized water and a basic compound chosen from N,N-diethylethanolamine, dimethylaminoethanol, aminoethanol, N-methyldiethanolamine, aminomethanol, N-methylhydroxylamine, diethanolamine, dimethanolamine, triethanolamine, trimethanolamine, ethalonamine, diethyl-N—N-ethanol, ammonia and their combination, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 9, Fournel (Abstract, Figs. 1-6 and associated text) discloses wherein the first substrate (items 10 or 20) and the second substrate (items 10 or 20) are each formed by a material chosen from semiconductors, LNO, LTO and their combination (Si, Ge, InP, AsGa, Al .sub.2 O .sub.3 , SiO .sub.2 , Si .sub.3 N .sub.4 , SiC, GaN, LNO, LTO, Cu , Ti, Ni).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a first substrate and a second substrate that are each formed by a material chosen from semiconductors, LNO, LTO and their combination, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 10, Fournel (Abstract, Figs. 1-6 and associated text) discloses wherein: the first substrate (items 10 or 20) and the second substrate (items 10 or 20) provided in step a) each comprise a silicon substrate having a diameter of between 25 mm and 300 mm (200 mm), and in which the first bonding surface (items 11 or 21) and the second bonding surface (items 11 or 21) are each completely formed by a continuous hydrophilic film made of silicon oxide, step c) comprises disposing the direct bonding interface, obtained in step b), in the basic environment over a duration of between 21 and 40 days, the basic environment being an aqueous basic solution formed by dissolution of NaOH (KOH, NaOH, Na .sub.2 CO .sub.3 , or NH .sub.4 OH ) and having a molar concentration of between 10.sup.−7 mol/l mol/l, and step d) comprises applying a thermal treatment at approximately 300° C. (300° C, 500° C, 800° C, Figs. 1, 3-5), so as to obtain a direct bonding between the first substrate (items 10 or 20) and the second substrate (items 10 or 20) having a bonding energy greater than 5 J/m.sup.2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al. (US 2020/0075360 A1 and US 2021/0057263 A1) discloses spontaneous bonding.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 January 5, 2026