DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber US6454639 (hereinafter, Huber) in of Udert US5468176 (hereinafter, Udert).
Regarding claim 21, Huber teaches a tile tool nut (2, see Fig. 1) comprising:
a frustoconical nut body (see body of the nut 2 in Fig. 1) that defines a central longitudinal axis (C, see annotated Fig. 1) of rotation, the frustoconical nut body comprising a top surface (TS, as indicated in annotated Fig. 4) that defines a first diameter (see top surface diameter in Fig. 4) and a bottom surface (BTS, as indicated in annotated Fig. 4) that defines a second diameter (see extended bottom surface of the nut 2 in Fig. 1), the second diameter greater than the first diameter (see Fig. 1), the bottom surface comprises a contiguous flat surface transverse to the central longitudinal axis of rotation (see Fig. 2);
a counterbore (CB, as indicated in annotated Fig. 1) in the bottom surface along the central longitudinal axis of rotation (see Fig. 1);
a first mounting feature (FMF, as indicated in annotated Fig. 1) through the nut body along a first axis (see Fig. 1 where first mounting figure is a through hole with its own central axis) parallel to the central longitudinal axis (C) of rotation; and
a second mounting feature (SMF, as indicated in annotated Fig. 1) through the nut body along a second axis (see Fig. 1 where second mounting figure is a through hole with its own central axis) parallel to the central longitudinal axis of rotation, the central longitudinal axis of rotation, the first axis, and the second axis, along a common line (see Fig. 1).
Huber fails to expressly teach wherein a threaded passage through the nut body along the central longitudinal axis of rotation, the threaded passage operable to thread onto a spindle of a cutting tool.
However, Udert in the same field of endeavor teaches similar assembly (see Figs. 1-2) wherein a threaded passage (11a, see Fig. 2) through the nut 11 body along the central longitudinal axis of rotation, the threaded passage operable to thread onto a spindle 9 of a cutting tool (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the central through hole of the nut in Huber to have threaded passage as taught by Udert in order to prevent loosening of the nut from the spindle during high speed grinding of the tool on hard materials, such as concrete, rock and the like.
Annotated Fig. 4
Regarding claim 22, Huber in view of Udert teaches and/or make obvious of the tile tool nut as recited in Claim 21, wherein Humber further teaches the bottom surface (BTS) of the tile tool nut 2 is configured to fit flush against a grinder 3 associated with a cutting tool (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 23, Huber in view of Udert teaches and/or make obvious of the tile tool nut as recited in Claim 21, but fails to expressly teach wherein the bottom surface of the tile tool nut is configured to fit flush against a blade associated with a cutting tool.
Huber fails to teach a blade, but teaches a grinding disc.
However, it is common to understand that a blade and a grinder disc are some variations of a power tool component.
As established above in claim 22, Huber discloses that the bottom surface of the tile tool nut is capable of being configured to fit flush against a blade and/or a grinder disc associated with cutting tool. Therefore, it is the Examiner’s position that Huber in view of Udert is capable of being configured to align the nut to fit flush against the blade upon mounting of blade on the spindle in order to cut harder material as intended by the user.
Regarding claim 24, Huber in view of Udert teaches and/or make obvious of the tile tool nut as recited in Claim 21, but fails to teach wherein the frustoconical nut body is manufactured of a non-metallic material.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the material of nut body to be nun-metallic material in order to reduce weight, resist corrosion and increase lifespan of assemblies, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering design choice. It is also a common knowledge to choose a material that has sufficient strength, durability, flexibility, hardness, and potential aesthetics, etc., for the application, intended use, and design considerations for that material. MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 25, Huber in view of Udert teaches and/or make obvious of the tile tool nut as recited in Claim 24, but fails to expressly teach wherein the frustoconical nut body is manufactured of a single seamless piece.
Huber in view of Udert meets the structural limitations of the claimed invention.
However, it is the Examiner’s position that manufacturing of a tile tool nut of a single seamless piece is considered common and is obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art in order to expedite the manufacturing process by production process like molding.
Regarding claim 26 Huber in view of Udert teaches and/or make obvious of the tile tool nut as recited in Claim 25, but fails to expressly teach wherein the frustoconical nut body is milled.
It is the Examiner’s position that claim 26 is directed to a product-by-process claim where in the process relied upon is “milling”. This limitation is not given any patentable weight since the structural limitations of the claimed product are met.
As stated in the MPEP 2113: The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.
Regarding claim 27, Huber in view of Udert teaches and/or make obvious of the tile tool nut as recited in Claim 26, but fails to teach wherein the frustoconical nut body is manufactured to withstand rotation about the central longitudinal axis of rotation up to 20,000 RPMs.
However, the Examiner interprets the above limitation to be product by process where the nut body is manufactured to withstand certain rpm. Further, it is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the tool nut of Huber to have rotation as claimed for cutting edges or abrasive surfaces in heavy duty work scenario, since manufacturing of such nut is well known and routine skill to the person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 28, Huber in view of Udert teaches and/or make obvious of the tile tool nut as recited in Claim 21, but fails to expressly teach wherein the bottom surface of the tile tool nut is between 2-3 inches in diameter and a height of the tile tool nut along the central longitudinal axis of rotation is less than 0.5 inches.
However, it is the Examiner’s position that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have modified the diameter and height of nut in Meyer in order to fit varieties of grinder or attaching element, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (iv) (a).
Regarding claim 29, Huber in view of Udert teaches and/or make obvious a tile tool nut comprising:
a frustoconical nut body that defines a central longitudinal axis of rotation, the frustoconical nut body comprising a top surface that defines a first diameter and a bottom surface that defines a second diameter, the second diameter greater than the first diameter,
the bottom surface comprises a contiguous flat surface transverse to the central longitudinal axis of rotation (see claim 21 above);
a threaded passage through the frustoconical nut body along the central longitudinal axis of rotation, the threaded passage operable to thread onto a spindle of a cutting tool (see claim 21 above for rejection and rationale);
a chamfer (see chamfered opening of the bottom surface of the central hole in Fig. 1) in the bottom surface along the central longitudinal axis of rotation (see Fig. 1);
a first mounting feature through the frustoconical nut body along a first axis parallel to the central longitudinal axis of rotation (see claim 21 above); and
a second mounting feature through the frustoconical nut body along a second axis parallel to the central longitudinal axis of rotation, the central longitudinal axis of rotation, the first axis, and the second axis, along a common line (see claim 21 above).
Regarding claim 30, Huber in view of Udert teaches and/or make obvious of the tile tool nut as recited in Claim 29, wherein the bottom surface of the tile tool nut is configured to fit flush against a grinder associated with a cutting tool.
It is the examiner position that limitations in claim 30 is similar to claim 22 above, therefore Huber in view of Udert still teaches and/or make obvious of the limitations.
Regarding claim 31, Huber in view of Udert teaches and/or make obvious of the tile tool nut as recited in Claim 29, wherein the bottom surface of the tile tool nut is configured to fit flush against a blade associated with a cutting tool.
It is the examiner position that limitations in claim 31 is similar to claim 23 above, therefore Huber in view of Udert still teaches and/or make obvious of the limitations.
Regarding claim 32, Huber in view of Udert teaches and/or make obvious of the tile tool nut as recited in Claim 29, wherein the frustoconical nut body is manufactured of a non-metallic material.
It is the examiner position that limitations in claim 32 is similar to claim 24 above, therefore Huber in view of Udert still teaches and/or make obvious of the limitations.
Regarding claim 33, Huber in view of Udert teaches and/or make obvious of the tile tool nut as recited in Claim 32, wherein the frustoconical nut body is manufactured of a single seamless piece.
It is the examiner position that limitations in claim 33 is similar to claim 25 above, therefore Huber in view of Udert still teaches and/or make obvious of the limitations.
Regarding claim 34, Huber in view of Udert teaches and/or make obvious of the tile tool nut as recited in Claim 33, wherein the frustoconical nut body is milled.
It is the examiner position that limitations in claim 34 is similar to claim 26 above, therefore Huber in view of Udert still teaches and/or make obvious of the limitations.
Regarding claim 35, Huber in view of Udert teaches and/or make obvious of the tile tool nut as recited in Claim 34, wherein the frustoconical nut body is manufactured to withstand rotation about the central longitudinal axis of rotation up to 20,000 RPMs.
It is the examiner position that limitations in claim 35 is similar to claim 27 above, therefore Huber in view of Udert still teaches and/or make obvious of the limitations.
Regarding claim 36, Huber in view of Udert teaches and/or make obvious of the tile tool nut as recited in Claim 35, wherein the bottom surface of the tile tool nut is between 2-3 inches in diameter and a height of the tile tool nut along the central longitudinal axis of rotation is less than 0.5 inches.
It is the examiner position that limitations in claim 36 is similar to claim 28 above, therefore Huber in view of Udert still teaches and/or make obvious of the limitations.
Regarding claim 37, Huber in view of Udert teaches and/or make obvious of the tile tool nut as recited in Claim 36, but fails to teach wherein the frustoconical nut body is manufactured of a single seamless piece of acetol.
However, it is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the nut disclosed by Huber in view Udert to be manufactured of a single seamless piece of acetol, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering design choice. It is also a common knowledge to choose a material that has sufficient strength, durability, flexibility, hardness, and potential aesthetics, etc., for the application, intended use, and design considerations for that material. MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 38, Huber in view of Udert teaches and/or make obvious of a tile tool nut comprising:
a frustoconical nut body manufactured of a single seamless piece of acetol to withstand rotation about the central longitudinal axis of rotation up to 20,000 RPMs, the frustoconical nut body comprises a central longitudinal axis of rotation, the frustoconical nut body comprising a top surface that defines a first diameter and a bottom surface that defines a second diameter, the second diameter greater than the first diameter, the bottom surface comprises a contiguous flat surface transverse to the central longitudinal axis of rotation, wherein the bottom surface of the tile tool nut is between 2-3 inches in diameter and a height of the tile tool nut along the central longitudinal axis of rotation is less than 0.5 inches, the bottom surface of the tile tool nut configured to fit flush against a grinder associated with a cutting tool;
a threaded passage through the frustoconical nut body along the central longitudinal axis of rotation, the threaded passage operable to thread onto a spindle of a cutting tool;
a chamfer in the bottom surface along the central longitudinal axis of rotation;
a first mounting feature through the frustoconical nut body along a first axis parallel to the central longitudinal axis of rotation; and
a second mounting feature through the frustoconical nut body along a second axis parallel to the central longitudinal axis of rotation, the central longitudinal axis of rotation, the first axis, and the second axis, along a common line.
It is the examiner’s position that limitations in claim 38 are as same as claims 29-30 and 35-37. Therefore, Huber in view of Udert still teaches and/or make obvious of the limitations of claim 38. Please refer to the rejection and rationale set forth above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/15/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 21-37 under 35 U.S. C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Huber modified by Udert as set forth above.
Conclusion
/DIL K. MAGAR/Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675