DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1, 3–6, and 8–18 are pending.
Claims 2, 7, and 19 are canceled.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2023/0291074 A1.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 20 July 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the final Office Action on 25 June 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6, 8, 9, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (US 2012/0015228 A1, hereinafter Yoon).
Regarding claim 6, Yoon discloses a separation membrane comprising
at least one resin selected from the group consisting of a resin including at least one monomer unit having a (meth)acryloyl group, and a resin including at least one monomer unit having a fluorine containing olefin (see polyvinylidene fluoride, [0059]),
wherein the separation membrane further comprises a porous body (see non-woven fabric, [0059]), and
wherein the porous body is impregnated with the at least one resin (see polyvinylidene fluoride, [0059]),
the at least one resin being present within pores of the porous body is retained in the porous body (FIG. 1, [0059]).
Regarding claim 8, Yoon discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a separation membrane:
wherein the porous body is made of a polymer (see polyethylene terephthalate, [0058]).
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Yoon discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a separation membrane, further comprising:
inorganic oxide particles retained in the porous body (see Al2O3 particles, [0060]).
Regarding claim 18, Yoon discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a separation membrane:
wherein the separation membrane comprises the at least one resin on a surface of the porous body (see polyvinylidene fluoride, [0060]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3–6, and 8–18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 2019/0214685 A1, hereinafter Chang) in view of Yoon (US 2012/0015228 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 4, and 16, Chang discloses a lithium ion secondary battery (FIG. 2B, [0044]) comprising:
a positive electrode mixture layer (15, [0033]);
a negative electrode mixture layer (12', [0044]), and
a separation membrane (13, 16, 17, 20) located between the positive electrode mixture layer (15) and the negative electrode mixture layer (12', [0047]),
wherein the positive electrode mixture layer (15) comprises a positive electrode active material, a first lithium salt, and a first solvent (see cathode, [0033]),
wherein the negative electrode mixture layer (12') comprises a negative electrode active material (12a), a second lithium salt (12b), and a second solvent (12b, [0072]),
wherein the separation membrane (13, 16, 17, 20) comprises at least one resin selected from the group consisting of a resin comprising, as a monomer unit, at least one monomer having a (meth)acryloyl group , and a resin comprising, as a monomer unit, at least one olefin comprising fluorine ([0039], [0051], [0059], [0135], [0146]).
Chang does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the separation membrane further comprises a porous body, and
wherein the porous body is impregnated with the at least one resin,
the at least one resin being present within pores of the porous body is retained in the porous body;
wherein the porous body is made of a polymer;
inorganic oxide particles retained in the porous body; and
wherein the separation membrane comprises the at least one resin on a surface of the porous body
Yoon discloses a separation membrane comprising at least one resin selected from the group consisting of a resin including at least one monomer unit having a (meth)acryloyl group, and a resin including at least one monomer unit having a fluorine containing olefin (see polyvinylidene fluoride, [0059]), wherein the separation membrane further comprises a porous body (see non-woven fabric, [0059]), and wherein the porous body is impregnated with the at least one resin (see polyvinylidene fluoride, [0059]), the at least one resin being present within pores of the porous body is retained in the porous body (FIG. 1, [0059]); wherein the porous body is made of a polymer (see polyethylene terephthalate, [0058]); inorganic oxide particles retained in the porous body (see Al2O3 particles, [0060]); wherein the separation membrane comprises the at least one resin on a surface of the porous body (see polyvinylidene fluoride, [0060]) to improve the safety of the lithium ion secondary battery (see thermal runaway, [0019]). Chang and Yoon are analogous because they are directed to separation membranes for lithium ion secondary batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the separation membrane of Chang with the resin of Yoon in order to improve the safety of the lithium ion secondary battery.
Regarding claim 5, modified Chang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion secondary battery:
wherein the separation membrane (13, 16, 17, 20) further comprises a third lithium salt (20) and a third solvent (20, [0040]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Chang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion secondary battery:
wherein the second solvent (see ether, [0141]) is similar to the first solvent (see ether, [0144]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Chang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion secondary battery:
wherein the second solvent (see ether, [0141]) is different from the first solvent (see PY13FSI, [0144]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Chang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion secondary battery:
wherein the first solvent is ethylene carbonate, propylene carbonate, vinylene carbonate, vinyl ethylene carbonate, fluoroethylene carbonate, difluoroethylene carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, ethyl methyl carbonate, γ-butyrolactone, γ-valerolactone, δ-valerolactone, ε-caprolactone, γ-hexanolactone, tetrahydrofuran, 1,3-dioxane, dimethoxyethane, diethoxyethane, methoxyethoxyethane, glyme, diglyme, triglyme, tetraglyme, phosphoric acid triester; acetonitrile, benzonitrile, adiponitrile, glutaronitrile, dimethylsulfone, diethylsulfone, sulfolane, propanesultone, or a combination of two or more thereof (see organic solvents, [0086]–[0096]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Chang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion secondary battery:
wherein the second solvent is ethylene carbonate, propylene carbonate, vinylene carbonate, vinyl ethylene carbonate, fluoroethylene carbonate, difluoroethylene carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, ethyl methyl carbonate, γ-butyrolactone, γ-valerolactone, δ-valerolactone, ε-caprolactone, γ-hexanolactone, tetrahydrofuran, 1,3-dioxane, dimethoxyethane, diethoxyethane, methoxyethoxyethane, glyme, diglyme, triglyme, tetraglyme, phosphoric acid triester; acetonitrile, benzonitrile, adiponitrile, glutaronitrile, dimethylsulfone, diethylsulfone, sulfolane, propanesultone, or a combination of two or more thereof (see organic solvents, [0086]–[0096]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Chang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion secondary battery:
wherein the first solvent and the second solvent are each independently ethylene carbonate, propylene carbonate, vinylene carbonate, vinyl ethylene carbonate, fluoroethylene carbonate, difluoroethylene carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, ethyl methyl carbonate, γ-butyrolactone, γ-valerolactone, δ-valerolactone, ε-caprolactone, γ-hexanolactone, tetrahydrofuran, 1,3-dioxane, dimethoxyethane, diethoxyethane, methoxyethoxyethane, glyme, diglyme, triglyme, tetraglyme, phosphoric acid triester; acetonitrile, benzonitrile, adiponitrile, glutaronitrile, dimethylsulfone, diethylsulfone, sulfolane, propanesultone, or a combination of two or more thereof (see organic solvents, [0086]–[0096]).
Regarding claims 6, 8, 9, 17, and 18, Chang discloses a separation membrane (13, 16, 17, 20) comprising:
at least one resin selected from the group consisting of a resin comprising, as a monomer unit, at least one monomer having a (meth)acryloyl group, and a resin comprising, as a monomer unit, at least one olefin comprising fluorine ([0039], [0051], [0059], [0135], [0146]).
Chang does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the separation membrane further comprises a porous body, and
wherein the porous body is impregnated with the at least one resin,
the at least one resin being present within pores of the porous body is retained in the porous body;
wherein the porous body is made of a polymer;
inorganic oxide particles retained in the porous body; and
wherein the separation membrane comprises the at least one resin on a surface of the porous body
Yoon discloses a separation membrane comprising at least one resin selected from the group consisting of a resin including at least one monomer unit having a (meth)acryloyl group, and a resin including at least one monomer unit having a fluorine containing olefin (see polyvinylidene fluoride, [0059]), wherein the separation membrane further comprises a porous body (see non-woven fabric, [0059]), and wherein the porous body is impregnated with the at least one resin (see polyvinylidene fluoride, [0059]), the at least one resin being present within pores of the porous body is retained in the porous body (FIG. 1, [0059]); wherein the porous body is made of a polymer (see polyethylene terephthalate, [0058]); inorganic oxide particles retained in the porous body (see Al2O3 particles, [0060]); wherein the separation membrane comprises the at least one resin on a surface of the porous body (see polyvinylidene fluoride, [0060]) to improve the safety of the lithium ion secondary battery (see thermal runaway, [0019]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the separation membrane of Chang with the resin of Yoon in order to improve the safety of the lithium ion secondary battery.
Regarding claim 10, modified Chang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a separation membrane, further comprising:
a third lithium salt (20) and a third solvent (20, [0040]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3–6, and 8–18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mizuno (JP 2012-1043762 A) discloses a separation membrane comprising at least one resin selected from the group consisting of a resin including at least one monomer unit having a (meth)acryloyl group, and a resin including at least one monomer unit having a fluorine containing olefin (see polyvinylidene fluoride, [0066]), wherein the separation membrane further comprises a porous body (see microporous membrane A, [0066]), and wherein the porous body is impregnated with the at least one resin (see polyvinylidene fluoride, [0066]), the at least one resin being present within pores of the porous body is retained in the porous body (see pores, [0047]); wherein the porous body is made of a polymer (see polyethylene, [0066]); inorganic oxide particles retained in the porous body (see alumina, [0076]) and wherein the separation membrane comprises the at least one resin on a surface of the porous body (see composite microporous membrane, [0066]).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725