DETAILED ACTION
first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
U.S.C.102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction
of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the
prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either
status.
Claim Objections
In the Remarks filed 10/26/2025, the applicant has determined that claims 1-14 correspond to the elected Species A, however the applicant has not labeled claims 15-20 as withdrawn. As such claims 15-20 have improper claim identifiers. Appropriate correction is required.
Elections/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Species A, drawn to claims 1-14, in
the reply filed on 10/26/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that no
excessive burden comes from the search and examination of all pending claims. Examiner disagrees. Fig. 10 has the bolts 500 within a mechanical bonding layer 700 (and not within the support plate 100) without the use of tubes, and instead utilize threaded holes. Meanwhile, Fig. 1 has no mechanical joint layer, and the bolts 500 utilize tubes 510 that are formed within a lower end of the support plate 100. The examiner does not consider these two apparatuses as obvious variants of each other; the species have mutually exclusive structural features which would require different search strategies and/or syntaxes. As such, a serious search burden would exist. This requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR
1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking
claim. Election was made with traverse in the reply filed on 10/26/2025
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosakai et al. (US 20190019714) in view of Kosakai et al. (US 20180254211).
Regarding Claim 1:
Kosakai '714 teaches a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a support plate (placing plate 11) configured to support a substrate; a base plate (base part 3) under the support plate; a thermal insulation layer (supporting plate 14) between the support plate and the base plate; a bonder (adhesion layer 4) bonding the base plate and the thermal insulation layer to each other [Fig. 1 & 0043].
Kosakai ‘714 does not specifically disclose a sealing member disposed around a side surface of the bonder to prevent damage to the bonder.
Kosakai ‘211 teaches a sealing member (O-ring 24) disposed around a side surface of the bonder (filling part 8a of adhesive layer 8) to prevent damage to the bonder [Fig. 5 & 0036, 0060-0061, 0114].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Kosakai '714 to include a barrier with a sealing member, as in Kosakai '211, to help secure the thickness of an adhesive member, thereby increasing the life of a substrate support [Kosakai - 0061, 0063].
Regarding Claim 2:
Kosakai ‘714 does not specifically disclose a barrier around a periphery of the base plate, wherein the sealing member is disposed in a groove between the barrier and the bonder.
Kosakai ‘211 teaches a barrier (the portion of base member 3 around the groove portion 6) around a periphery of the base plate, wherein the sealing member (O-ring 24) is disposed in a groove between the barrier and the bonder [Fig. 5 & 0036, 0060-0061, 0114].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Kosakai '714 to include a barrier with a sealing member, as in Kosakai '211, to help secure the thickness of an adhesive member, thereby increasing the life of a substrate support [Kosakai - 0061, 0063].
Regarding Claim 4:
Kosakai ‘714 teaches wherein the support plate comprises a direct current (DC) electrode (internal electrode 13) configured to fix the substrate supported on an upper end of the support plate by using electrostatic force [Fig. 1 & 0044].
Regarding Claim 6:
Kosakai ‘714 teaches wherein the support plate comprises at least one gas supply hole (through-hole 30) to supply a temperature control gas through the at least one gas supply hole (through-hole 30 may be used to introduce cooling gas), and wherein the at least one gas supply hole is horizontally surrounded by a dam (protrusions 16) [Fig. 1, 2 & 0047, 0061].
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosakai et al. (US 20190019714) in view of Kosakai et al. (US 20180254211) as applied to claims 1-2, 4, and 6 above, and further in view of Inazumachi et al. (US 20040065259).
The limitations of claims 1-2, 4, and 6 have been set forth above.
Regarding Claim 3:
Kosakai ‘714 does not specifically disclose wherein an upper end surface of the barrier is higher than an upper end surface of the bonder.
Kosakai ‘211 teaches wherein an upper end surface of the barrier is higher than an upper end surface of the bonder (as evidenced by Fig. 5, the O-ring 24 has an upper end surface that is higher than an upper end surface of the adhesive layer 8) [Fig. 5 & 0036, 0060-0061, 0114].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Kosakai '714 to include a barrier with a sealing member, as in Kosakai '211, to help secure the thickness of an adhesive member, thereby increasing the life of a substrate support [Kosakai - 0061, 0063].
Additionally/alternatively, Inazumachi teaches that the thicknesses of layers in a substrate support are result effective variables. Specifically, the thicknesses of layers in a substrate support determine thermal conductivity [Inazumachi - 0045-0046]. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to find optimum thicknesses for layers in a substrate support to obtain a desired temperature gradient/profile. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosakai et al. (US 20190019714) in view of Kosakai et al. (US 20180254211), as applied to claims 1-2, 4, and 6 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (US 20170040198).
The limitations of claims 1-4 and 6 have been set forth above.
Regarding Claim 5:
Modified Kosakai ‘714 does not specifically disclose wherein the support plate comprises a radio frequency (RF) layer configured to form an electromagnetic field by receiving power from an RF power source.
Lin teaches wherein the support plate (chuck body 228) comprises a radio frequency (RF) layer (electrode 223) configured to form an electromagnetic field by receiving power from an RF power source (RF power source 276) [Fig. 2A & 0031, 0033].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Modified Kosakai '714 to include an RF electrode within the support plate, as in Lin, to provide uniform plasma generation [Lin - 0032].
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosakai et al. (US 20190019714) in view of Kosakai et al. (US 20180254211), as applied to claims 1-2, 4, and 6 above, and further in view of Matsui (US 20010033369).
The limitations of claims 1-4 and 6 have been set forth above.
Regarding Claim 7:
Modified Kosakai ‘714 does not specifically disclose wherein at least one suction hole is formed in an upper end of the thermal insulation layer to fix the support plate by vacuum suction, and wherein the substrate processing apparatus further comprises a vacuum pump communicating with the at least one suction hole to form a vacuum pressure in the at least one suction hole.
Matsui teaches wherein at least one suction hole (plate suction hole 15) is formed in an upper end of a first layer (base member 15) to fix a second layer (plate 2) by vacuum suction, and wherein the substrate processing apparatus further comprises a vacuum pump (plate suction mechanism 4 fixes the plate 2 via vacuum suction, therefore a vacuum pump can be reasonably inferred) communicating with the at least one suction hole to form a vacuum pressure in the at least one suction hole [Fig. 1, 2 & 0033, 0048].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the first layer (thermal insulation layer) and second layer (support plate) of Modified Kosakai '714 with the arrangement of the first layer, second layer, and suction holes of Matsui to provide further mechanical security and to provide further control over contact and heat transfer between layers in a support [Matsui - 0066].
Claim(s) 8-9 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosakai et al. (US 20190019714) in view of Hayashi et al. (US 20190348316), and Kosakai et al. (US 20180254211).
Regarding Claim 8:
Kosakai '714 teaches a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a support plate (placing plate 11) configured to support a substrate; a base plate (base part 3) under the support plate; a thermal insulation layer (supporting plate 14) between the support plate and the base plate; a bonder (adhesion layer 4) bonding the base plate and the thermal insulation layer to each other [Fig. 1 & 0043].
Kosakai ‘714 does not specifically disclose a bolt fastened to the thermal insulation layer to bring an upper end surface of the thermal insulation layer into tight contact with a lower end surface of the support plate.
Hayashi teaches a bolt (first fasteners 60) fastened to a first layer (placement portion 12a) to bring an upper end surface of the first layer into tight contact with a lower end surface of a second layer (base portion 12b) [Fig. 7 & 0024].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the first layer (thermal insulation layer) and second layer (support plate) of Modified Kosakai '714 with the arrangement of the first layer, second layer, and bolts of Hayashi to help prevent unwanted movement [Hayashi - 0051].
Modified Kosakai ‘714 does not specifically disclose a sealing member disposed around a side surface of the bonder to prevent damage to the bonder.
Kosakai ‘211 teaches a sealing member (O-ring 24) disposed around a side surface of the bonder (filling part 8a of adhesive layer 8) to prevent damage to the bonder [Fig. 5 & 0036, 0060-0061, 0114].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Modified Kosakai '714 to include a barrier with a sealing member, as in Kosakai '211, to help secure the thickness of an adhesive member, thereby increasing the life of a substrate support [Kosakai - 0061, 0063].
Regarding Claim 9:
Modified Kosakai ‘714 (Kosakai ‘714 modified by Hayashi) does not specifically disclose a barrier around a periphery of the base plate, wherein the sealing member is disposed in a groove between the barrier and the bonder.
Kosakai ‘211 teaches a barrier (the portion of base member 3 around the groove portion 6) around a periphery of the base plate, wherein the sealing member (O-ring 24) is disposed in a groove between the barrier and the bonder [Fig. 5 & 0036, 0060-0061, 0114].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Modified Kosakai '714 to include a barrier with a sealing member, as in Kosakai '211, to help secure the thickness of an adhesive member, thereby increasing the life of a substrate support [Kosakai - 0061, 0063].
Regarding Claim 12:
Kosakai ‘714 teaches wherein the support plate comprises a direct current (DC) electrode (internal electrode 13) configured to fix the substrate supported on an upper end of the support plate by using electrostatic force [Fig. 1 & 0044].
Regarding Claim 13:
Kosakai ‘714 teaches wherein the support plate comprises at least one gas supply hole (through-hole 30) to supply a temperature control gas through the at least one gas supply hole (through-hole 30 may be used to introduce cooling gas) [Fig. 1, 2 & 0061], and wherein the at least one gas supply hole is horizontally surrounded by a dam (protrusions 16) [Fig. 1, 2 & 0047, 0061].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosakai et al. (US 20190019714) in view of Hayashi et al. (US 20190348316), and Kosakai et al. (US 20180254211), as applied to claims 8-9 and 12-13 above, and further in view of Inazumachi et al. (US 20040065259).
The limitations of claims 8-9 and 12-13 have been set forth above.
Regarding Claim 10:
Modified Kosakai ‘714 (Kosakai ‘714 modified by Hayashi) does not specifically disclose wherein an upper end surface of the barrier is higher than an upper end surface of the bonder.
Kosakai ‘211 teaches wherein an upper end surface of the barrier is higher than an upper end surface of the bonder (as evidenced by Fig. 5, the O-ring 24 has an upper end surface that is higher than an upper end surface of the adhesive layer 8) [Fig. 5 & 0036, 0060-0061, 0114].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Modified Kosakai '714 to include a barrier with a sealing member, as in Kosakai '211, to help secure the thickness of an adhesive member, thereby increasing the life of a substrate support [Kosakai - 0061, 0063].
Additionally/alternatively, Inazumachi teaches that the thicknesses of layers in a substrate support are result effective variables. Specifically, the thicknesses of layers in a substrate support determine thermal conductivity [Inazumachi - 0045-0046]. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to find optimum thicknesses for layers in a substrate support to obtain a desired temperature gradient/profile. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosakai et al. (US 20190019714) in view of Hayashi et al. (US 20190348316), and Kosakai et al. (US 20180254211), as applied to claims 8-9 and 12-13 above, and further in view of Takahashi et al. (US 20200135526), with Raoux et al. (US 6136388) and Fischer (US 20060075969) as evidentiary references.
The limitations of claims 8-9 and 12-13 have been set forth above.
Regarding Claim 11:
Modified Kosakai ‘714 teaches wherein the bolt is fastened to a tube (through-holes 13a and fastening holes 12d) comprising an internal thread (first fasteners 60 are screws and are screwed into the through holes 13a and fastening holes 12d, therefore it can be reasonably inferred that the through holes comprise internal threads for fastening the screws) [Hayashi - Fig. 7 & 0049].
Modified Kosakai ‘714 does not specifically disclose wherein a tube is brazed to a lower end of the support plate, and the bolt is fastened to the tube.
Takahashi teaches wherein a tube (brazed portion 24) is brazed to a lower end of the second layer (ceramic base 21), and the bolt (rod 32) is fastened to the tube.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the second layer (support plate) of Modified Kosakai '714 with the arrangement of the second layer, and brazed tube of Takahashi to provide further mechanical bonding [Takahashi - 0029]. Raoux et al. (US 6136388) also discloses that brazing is a well-known technique in the art [Raoux - Col. 8 lines 38-47]. Fischer (US 20060075969) also discloses that brazing helps improve contact between surfaces [Fischer - 0011].
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosakai et al. (US 20190019714) in view of Hayashi et al. (US 20190348316), and Kosakai et al. (US 20180254211), as applied to claims 8-9 and 12-13 above, and further in view of Matsui (US 20010033369).
The limitations of claims 8-9 and 12-13 have been set forth above.
Regarding Claim 14:
Modified Kosakai ‘714 does not specifically disclose wherein at least one suction hole is formed in an upper end of the thermal insulation layer to fix the support plate by vacuum suction, and wherein the substrate processing apparatus further comprises a vacuum pump communicating with the at least one suction hole to form a vacuum pressure in the at least one suction hole.
Matsui teaches wherein at least one suction hole (plate suction hole 15) is formed in an upper end of a first layer (base member 15) to fix a second layer (plate 2) by vacuum suction, and wherein the substrate processing apparatus further comprises a vacuum pump (plate suction mechanism 4 fixes the plate 2 via vacuum suction, therefore a vacuum pump can be reasonably inferred) communicating with the at least one suction hole to form a vacuum pressure in the at least one suction hole [Fig. 1, 2 & 0033, 0048].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the first layer (thermal insulation layer) and second layer (support plate) of Modified Kosakai '714 with the arrangement of the first layer, second layer, and suction holes of Matsui to provide further mechanical security and to provide further control over contact and heat transfer between layers in a support [Matsui - 0066].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s
disclosure. Sarode et al. (US 20210082730) and Hao et al. (US 20180261492) teach fasteners for a substrate support [Sarode – Fig. 2B; Hao – Fig. 3A].
/J.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1718
/GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718