DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 20 are pending for examination.
Examiner’s Note
The prior art rejection below cites particular paragraphs, columns, and/or line numbers in the references for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 – 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claim 1,
Lines 10 - 11, “the configuration settings” has improper antecedent basis;
Line 12, “the user interface” has improper antecedent basis;
Lines 15 – 16, “one or more configuration settings” should be – the one or more configuration settings --;
Line 16, “the integrated service” has improper antecedent basis.
As to claims 2- 7, and 16 – 20, they depend on claim 1. They do not remedy the deficiencies of claim 1. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reason of their independent claim 1.
As to claim 8, it is a method claim of claim 1. See rejection for claim 1 above.
As to claims 9 – 14, see rejection for claims 2 – 7 above.
As to claim 15, it is a system claim of claim 1. See rejection for claim 1 above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The claim 15 in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: [means for] causing in claim 15
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1,
Lines 10 – 11, “the configuration settings” has improper antecedent basis;
Lines 12, “the user interface” has improper antecedent basis;
Lines 14 – 15, “one or more configuration settings” lacks of antecedent basis;
Lines 16, “the integrated service” has improper antecedent basis;
As to claim 4,
lines 14, “specified values” lack of antecedent basis;
line 14 – 15, “one or more new configuration settings” lack of antecedent basis;
As to claim 5, “configuration values for one or more new configuration settings” lack of antecedent basis;
As to claim 8 and 15, these claims recite a method and system claims of claim 1. See rejection for claim 1 above.
As to claims 11, 12, 18 and 19, these claims recite similar scope of claim 4 and 5. See rejection for claims 4 and 5 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6 – 8, 11, 13 – 15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nandavar et al., (US PUB 2022/0326930 thereafter Nandavar) in view of Parees et al., (US PUB 2017/0147335 hereafter Parees).
As to claim 1, Nandavar teaches a system comprising:
a processor (“...processor-based system...” para. 0088); and
a memory storage device storing instructions thereon (“...the machine-readable medium 404 may be non-transitory. As described in detail herein, the machine-readable medium 404 may be encoded with the executable instructions 406 to perform one or more methods...” para. 0090), which, when executed by the processor, cause the system to perform operations comprising:
[causing a first user interface to be presented to a user, the first user interface] presenting for each integrated service of a plurality of integrated services comprising a primary service (“As depicted in FIG. 1, the networked system 100 may also include repositories 130 to facilitate version and configuration management of on-premise packages hosted in the on-premise gateway....” para. 0021) and (“...In some examples, a developer (such as the developer 120) may submit a change to a service component of a plurality of service components. The developer may be from one of a plurality of service teams managing the plurality of service components. The service component may be included in a package that is among a plurality of packages (such as the on-premise packages 114) hosted on an on-premise gateway (e.g. on-premise gateway 102) for managing as-a-service workloads. In an example, the developer 120 may submit a pull request (PR) for a service component. In an example, the PR refers to a request to review a change (such as hotfixes, patches, updates) in a service component pushed to a branch of a repository before the change is merged or updated in other branches in the repository....” para. 0027 - 0030), one or more configuration settings (“...a configuration management system is presented that may facilitate automatic updates to provide a release and update management mechanism that enables CI/CD for service components and packages. Also, the release and update management mechanism of the present disclosure may enable efficient service versioning, release bundling and deployment strategy for delivering the updates to the packages. Further, the release and update management mechanism of the present disclosure may provide agility to the service teams to develop, test, and release their service components independently yet with the flexibility to collaborate with other service teams.” para. 0016) and (“..Thus, version and configuration information of each of the service components and packages 114 hosted on the on-premise gateway 102 are to be maintained. Each of the service teams managing the service components may release updates, new versions, deploy changes, add sub-components, deliver patches, bug fixes, etc.,...” para. 0028. Note: configuration information is configuration settings that allow users to manage and update service components).and (“...the use of the configuration management system 132 may allow the version and configuration management to be governed centrally using a standard mechanism...” para. 0029) wherein the one or more configuration settings for each integrated service are maintained as a version-controlled descriptive model (Note: paragraphs 0019 – 0022 of specification define a configuration setting is referred as version-controlled descriptive model. Nandavar teaches configuration settings with capability to update applications and maintain versions of them which is version-controlled descriptive model);
receiving a request to [instantiate an instance of] a application service based on a specification of configuration values for the configuration settings for the plurality of integrated services as provided by the user via the user interface (“In some examples, a developer (such as the developer 120) may submit a change to a service component of a plurality of service components....” para. 0030) and (“...As depicted in FIG. 2, a developer 202, from a service team may submit a PR including a change in a service component...” para. 0034);
responsive to the request to change/update [instantiate] the instance of the application service, communicating to each integrated service of the plurality of integrated services an instance configuration request (“...In response to successful validation of the latest version, a release phase repository 220 associated with the package (for example VMaaS) is updated. The release phase repository 220 stores version information associated with the package in the release or production environment. As indicated by a repository name of the release phase repository 220, <vmaas-prod-config>, the environment information is a production environment, i.e., the change in the service component is ready for release to tenants....” para. 0060), the instance configuration request associated with specified values for one or more configuration settings for the integrated service (“...The updated version of the package corresponds to the change in a service component, such as the service component “component1” as depicted in FIG. 2. In an example, the development phase repository 210 and the release phase repository may be included in the repositories 130 of FIG. 1” para. 0061);
receiving from each integrated service of the plurality of integrated services a service configuration status (“... Further, the configuration management system sends a notification indicative of availability of the updated version to the on-premise gateway.” Abstract, para. 0017. Note: notification indicative of availability of the updated version is the configuration status in response to the configuration/change request submitted in multiple paragraphs 0014, 0030 and 0034 - 0036) in response to the instance configuration request (“..The change to the service component may be submitted in a repository among a plurality of repositories (e.g. repositories 130)...” para. 0030); and
storing, as an instance data record for the instantiated instance of the application service, the configuration status of each integrated service, the values for the one or more configuration settings for each integrated service, and an indicator of a version of the descriptive model in use at the time of the request to instantiate the instance of the application service (“..The updated version of the package is published for the tenant to be installed on the on-premise gateway and a notification indicative of availability of the updated version is sent to the on-premise gateway.” Abstract) and (“....In an example, the availability is determined based on a latest version information of the package, an installed version information of the package for the tenant, and an environment information. The latest version information indicates a new version of a package or service component that is released and available for consumption.....” para. 0017) and (“...The configuration management system 132 also interfaces with the repositories 130 to update different versions of the service components in the repositories...” para. 0022).
While Nandavar teaches the system allows users/developers to request to change to update applications as cited, Nandavar does not but Parees teaches causing a first user interface to be presented to a user, the first user interface (“...The client layer 210, in one implementation, also includes a set of command line tools 214 that a user can utilize to create, launch, and manage applications. In one implementation, the command line tools 214 can be downloaded and installed on the user's client machine, and can be accessed via a command line interface or a graphical user interface, or some other type of interface...” para. 0029) and instantiate an instance of application (“...image transformation pipeline for a Platform-as-a-Service (PaaS) system. A method of the disclosure includes receiving a request to create an application for execution on a multi-tenant PaaS system...” abstract and para. 0029).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention was made to modify Nandavar by applying the teachings of Parees because Parees also teaches a PaaS and Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) (abstract and para. 0035) to allow users to create or update applications. Nandavar would implement Parees that allow users to create an application in addition to change the system to provide more services for users of the SaaS since Parees also teaches the same of the invention and it would be just another function to be added.
As to claim 4, Nandavar modified by Parees teaches the system of claim 1, Nandavar teaches wherein the instructions cause the system to perform additional operations comprising:
subsequent to the descriptive model being updated to include one or more new configuration settings for one or more new features or functions of a first integrated service of the plurality of integrated services, causing an updated user interface to be presented to a user, the updated user interface presenting the one or more new configuration settings for the first integrated service (“...different service teams may issue one or more than one change” para. 0013);
receiving a request to update the instance of the application service based on a specification of values for the configuration settings for the plurality of integrated services, including configuration values for the one or more new configuration settings for the first integrated service (“In some examples, a developer (such as the developer 120) may submit a change to a service component of a plurality of service components. The developer may be from one of a plurality of service teams managing the plurality of service components. The service component may be included in a package that is among a plurality of packages (such as the on-premise packages 114) hosted on an on-premise gateway (e.g. on-premise gateway 102) for managing as-a-service workloads. In an example, the developer 120 may submit a pull request (PR) for a service component. In an example, the PR refers to a request to review a change (such as hotfixes, patches, updates) in a service component pushed to a branch of a repository before the change is merged or updated in other branches in the repository....” para. 0027 - 0030);
responsive to the request to update the instance of the application service, communicating to each integrated service of the plurality of integrated services an instance configuration request, the instance configuration request including specified values for one or more configuration settings for the integrated service, including values for one or more new configuration settings for first integrated service (“...In response to successful validation of the latest version, a release phase repository 220 associated with the package (for example VMaaS) is updated. The release phase repository 220 stores version information associated with the package in the release or production environment. As indicated by a repository name of the release phase repository 220, <vmaas-prod-config>, the environment information is a production environment, i.e., the change in the service component is ready for release to tenants....” para. 0060);
receiving from each integrated service of the plurality of integrated services a service configuration status in response to the instance configuration request (“...In response to determining that the updated version of the package is available, the configuration management system may publish the updated version of the package for the tenant to be installed on the on-premise gateway. Further, the configuration management system sends a notification indicative of availability of the updated version to the on-premise gateway.” para. 0017); and
storing, as an instance data record for the updated instance of the application service, the configuration status of each integrated service, the values for the one or more configuration settings for each integrated service and an indicator of a version of the updated descriptive model in use at the time of the request to update the instance of the application service (“..The updated version of the package is published for the tenant to be installed on the on-premise gateway and a notification indicative of availability of the updated version is sent to the on-premise gateway.” Abstract) and (“....In an example, the availability is determined based on a latest version information of the package, an installed version information of the package for the tenant, and an environment information. The latest version information indicates a new version of a package or service component that is released and available for consumption.....” para. 0017) and (“...The configuration management system 132 also interfaces with the repositories 130 to update different versions of the service components in the repositories...” para. 0022).
As to claim 6, Nandavar modified by Parees teaches the system of claim 1, Nandavar teaches wherein a first edition of the version-controlled descriptive model specifies a first set of configuration values for a subset of the one or more configuration settings for the plurality of integrated services (“...the determination is based on a latest version information of the package, an installed version information of the package for the tenant, and an environment information stored in a plurality of repositories...” abstract) ND (“..a configuration management system is presented that may facilitate automatic updates to provide a release and update management mechanism that enables CI/CD for service components and packages. Also, the release and update management mechanism of the present disclosure may enable efficient service versioning, release bundling and deployment strategy for delivering the updates to the packages...” para. 0016) and (“The SaaS cloud platform 104 includes a configuration management system 132 which controls version management operations for on premises packages...” para. 0022) and (“....the SaaS cloud platform 104 may enable management and/or consumption of such capabilities of the on-premise gateway 102 as-a-service in a pay-per-use model at the edge, in colocations, or in a data center...” para. 0024); and
wherein causing the user interface to be presented to the user comprises causing the user interface to present configuration values for the subset of the one or more configuration settings for the plurality of integrated services (“...a configuration management system is presented that may facilitate automatic updates to provide a release and update management mechanism that enables CI/CD for service components and packages. Also, the release and update management mechanism of the present disclosure may enable efficient service versioning, release bundling and deployment strategy for delivering the updates to the packages. Further, the release and update management mechanism of the present disclosure may provide agility to the service teams to develop, test, and release their service components independently yet with the flexibility to collaborate with other service teams.” para. 0016) and (“...the use of the configuration management system 132 may allow the version and configuration management to be governed centrally using a standard mechanism...” para. 0029).
As to claim 7, Nandavar modified by Parees teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the instructions cause the system to perform additional operations comprising:
receiving a request to update the instance of the application service based on a specification of configuration values associated with a specific version of the descriptive model (“In some examples, a developer (such as the developer 120) may submit a change to a service component of a plurality of service components. The developer may be from one of a plurality of service teams managing the plurality of service components. The service component may be included in a package that is among a plurality of packages (such as the on-premise packages 114) hosted on an on-premise gateway (e.g. on-premise gateway 102) for managing as-a-service workloads. In an example, the developer 120 may submit a pull request (PR) for a service component. In an example, the PR refers to a request to review a change (such as hotfixes, patches, updates) in a service component pushed to a branch of a repository before the change is merged or updated in other branches in the repository....” para. 0027 - 0030) and (“....the SaaS cloud platform 104 may enable management and/or consumption of such capabilities of the on-premise gateway 102 as-a-service in a pay-per-use model at the edge, in colocations, or in a data center...” para. 0024);
obtaining from a selected configured instance record configuration values for the one or more configuration settings of the plurality integrated services, wherein the configured instance record is selected based on the configured instance record having an indicator of a version of the descriptive model that corresponds with the specific version of the descriptive model (“...The updated version of the package is published for the tenant to be installed on the on-premise gateway and a notification indicative of availability of the updated version is sent to the on-premise gateway.” Abstract) and (“...Typically, developers in the service teams submit their change to a central database. The change is then validated and merged with the service component/sub-component included in the package. After validation, an updated version of the package is released for consumption. Because the package is subscribed to by different tenants at different locations, the updated version of the package may be deployed at different on-premise gateways accessible by the tenants subscribing to the package. Thus, the updated version of the package is to be consumed by multiple on-premise gateways...” para. 0014).
As to claim 8, this is a method claim of claim 1. See rejection for claim 1 above.
As to claims 11 and 13 - 14, they recite similar scope of claims 4 and 6 - 7. See rejection for claims 3 – 4 and 6 - 7 above.
As to claim 15, this is a system claim of claim 1. See rejection for claim 1 above.
As to claim 18, this claim recites similar scope of claim 4. See rejection for claim 4 above.
As to claim 20, this claim recites similar scope of claim 6. See rejection for claim 6 above.
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nandavar et al., (US PUB 2022/0326930 thereafter Nandavar) in view of Parees et al., (US PUB 2017/0147335 hereafter Parees), and further in view of Moon, (US PUB 2021/0028943).
As to claim 2, Nandavar modified by Parees teaches the system of claim 1, Nandavar teaches wherein the storage device is storing additional instructions thereon, which, when executed by the processor, cause the system to perform additional operations comprising:
receiving from a first integrated service of the plurality of integrated services a service configuration status in response to the instance configuration request, the service configuration status indicating a change in service capabilities of the first integrated service (“...The updated version of the package corresponds to a change to at least one of the plurality of service components, where the change is received from (or in other words, originates from) at least one of a plurality of different service teams managing the plurality of service components...” para. 0017) and (“..In an example, the PR refers to a request to review a change (such as hotfixes, patches, updates) in a service component pushed to a branch of a repository before the change is merged or updated in other branches in the repository....” para. 0030);
Nandavar and Parees do not but Moon teaches
generating an alert to indicate the first integrated service has reported a change in service capabilities; and causing the alert to be displayed (“...sends notifications to all users collaborating after each update based on selective preferences and type of application data...” para. 0084).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention was made to modify Nandavar and Parees by applying the teachings of Moon because Moon would provide an alert to other users in collaborative integrated service environment about the update (para. 0084).
As to claims 9 and 16, these claims recite similar scope of claim 2. See rejection for claim 2 above.
Claims 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nandavar et al., (US PUB 2022/0326930 thereafter Nandavar) in view of Parees et al., (US PUB 2017/0147335 hereafter Parees), and further in view of Grieve et al., (US PUB 8,738,706 hereinafter Grieve).
As to claim 3, Nandavar modified by Parees teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the storage device is storing additional instructions thereon, which, when executed by the processor, cause the system to perform additional operations comprising: Nandavar does not but Parees teaches the request is the instance configuration request (“...image transformation pipeline for a Platform-as-a-Service (PaaS) system. A method of the disclosure includes receiving a request to create an application for execution on a multi-tenant PaaS system...” abstract).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention was made to modify Nandavar by applying the teachings of Parees because Parees also teaches a PaaS and Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) (abstract and para. 0035) to allow users to create or update applications. Nandavar would implement Parees that allow users to create an application in addition to change the system to provide more services for users of the SaaS since Parees also teaches the same of the invention and it would be just another function to be added.
Nandavar modified by Parees teaches receiving from a first integrated service of the plurality of integrated services an error message in response to [the instance configuration] request (“...At step 8006, a message indicating that the first change will be not be applied to the document is transmitted to the mobile device. Collaborative development service 104 transmits a message indicating that the first change will not be applied to document 308 to mobile device 106-A via network 102...” col. 13 lines 40 – 60); generating an alert to indicate the first integrated service has reported the error message; and causing the alert to be displayed (“...As collaborative development service 104 has made a determination that the version of document 308 accessed by user device 106-A is not the current version and thus, user device 106-A is not synchronized to the current version of document 308, collaborative development service 104 sends a message to user device 106-A. In one embodiment, in response to receiving the message, user device 106-A sends an alert or error message to the user employing user device 106-A...” col. 13 lines 40 – 60).
As to claims 10 and 17, these claims recite similar scope of claim 6. See rejection for claim 6 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 12 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 5, Nandavar modified by Parees and Moon do not teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the instructions cause the system to perform additional operations comprising:
“subsequent to the descriptive model being updated to include one or more new configuration settings for a new integrated service, causing an updated user interface to be presented to a user, the updated user interface presenting the one or more new configuration settings for the new integrated service”; and
“including configuration values for the one or more new configuration settings for the new integrated service” when taken in a context as a whole.
As to claims 12 and 19, these claims recite similar scope with claim 5. See objection for claim 5 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record but not relied upon request is considered to be pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Tuli, (US PUB 2020/0151031), discloses a configuration of Software-as-a-service application that includes specific aspect of integration (title, abstract and figures 1 – 12).
Titan, (US PUB 2020/0389372), discloses a method for integration of different system using Platform as a Service (PaaS) (title, abstract and figures 1 – 7).
Mann, (US PUB 2021/0342785), discloses a digital processing system in collaborative systems, where alarm is display upon encountering an error (title, abstract and figures 1 – 135).
/PHUONG N HOANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2194 /KEVIN L YOUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2194