Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention II in the reply filed on 2 March 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the elected and nonelected claims are closely related in practice and are directed to interrelated aspects of a single inventive concept. This is not found persuasive because still, as claimed, the inventions are disparate enough that they will require different search strategies and search areas. Additionally, with respect to claim 17, it is noted that the product-by-process format is examined according to the guidelines set by forth in MPEP 2113. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the aforementioned reply.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: first etching part and second etching part which have been interpreted as an aperture or hole and equivalents thereto as set forth in in the specification, e.g., at para.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “a first etching part having a first opening” and “a second etching part having a second opening”. Examiner understands the first etching part to be congruent to the first opening and the second etching part to be congruent to the second opening and not that they are separate features, respectively, as the claim language appears to suggest. In order to expedite examination, Examiner has examined the claim based on their understanding. Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claims 14-16 refers to various features previously recited without clearly stating the relationships thereof. Note: claim 14 is dependent on claim 13, claim 15 is dependent on claim 14, and claim 16 is dependent on 17. Also, the language below is based on Applicant’s understanding, Applicant should review the same ensure correspondence with their intended claimed invention and their originally disclosed invention. Examiner’s assumptions are not meant to add to or change the disclosed invention in any way. In order to expedite examination, Examiner has assumed the following:
Claim 14 “wherein the first evaporation angle is an included angle formed between a first connecting line and the first surface, and the first connecting line connects a hole edge of the evaporation hole and an edge of the first opening; the second evaporation angles is an included angle formed between a second connecting line and the first surface, and the second connecting line connects the hole edge of the evaporation hole and the edge of *the first opening*”. See additional rejection below.
Claim 15 “wherein the hole edge of the evaporation hole includes a first hole edge, the first hole edge corresponding to the first edge; the first connecting line connects a midpoint of the first hole edge and a midpoint of the first edge”.
Claim 16 “wherein the hole edge of the evaporation hole includes a second hole edge, the second hole edge is adjacent to the first hole edge and forms a first intersection, and the second connecting line connects the first intersection and the first edge”
Claim 14, line 6 refers to the second opening. However, previously in the claim and in claim 13 the feature at issue is related to the first opening. In order to expedite examination, Examiner has assumed the claim was meant to refer to the edge of the first opening and has examined accordingly.
In all instances, clarification and/or correction is requested in line with current US practice(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20180230585 to Bai.
Regarding claim 13: In Figs. 4-6, e.g., Bai discloses a metal mask comprising: a metal body (20) having a first surface (S22) and a second surface (S21); a first etching part (hole H2) having a first opening (P2) located on the first surface; a second etching part (hole H1) having a second opening (P1) located on the second surface, wherein the second opening is smaller than the first opening; and an evaporation hole (i.e. smallest hole diameter where H1 and H2 meet) located between the first etching part and the second etching part, wherein the first etching part and the second etching part are communicate with each other at the evaporation hole; wherein the evaporation hole forms a first evaporation angle (Fig. 6, θ) and a second evaporation angle (not labeled, on opposite side from labeled θ) relative to the first opening, and a difference between the first evaporation angle and the second evaporation angle is less than 5 degrees. Bai teaches that the hole 201 (which is inclusive of the first etching part) is symmetrical with a vertical central axis OO’, such that the first evaporation angle and the second evaporation angle will be equal. Also, see, e.g., paras. 44-57.
With respect to claim 14, in Bai, the first evaporation angle is an included angle (θ is between P2 and other dashed line) formed between a first connecting line (and the first surface, and the first connecting line connects a hole edge of the evaporation hole and an edge of the first opening; the second evaporation angles is an included angle formed between a second connecting line and the first surface, and the second connecting line connects the hole edge of the evaporation hole and the edge of the first opening. Also see annotated figure.
With respect to claim 15, in Bai, the hole edge of the evaporation hole includes a first hole edge, the first hole edge corresponding to the first edge; the first connecting line connects a midpoint of the first hole edge and a midpoint of the first edge. Also see annotated figure and Fig. 5.
With respect to claim 16, in Bai et al., above, the second connection line is described in association with an opposing side of the first opening. However, additionally, the hole edge of the evaporation hole includes a second hole edge, the second hole edge is adjacent to the first hole edge and forms a first intersection, and the second connecting line connects the first intersection and the first edge. As noted above, hole 201 which is inclusive of evaporation hole has a same shape throughout (which appears to be substantially rectangular/maybe square). Since the first opening and second opening have intersections (i.e. corners), so will the evaporation hole, wherein the second connection line can be drawn from a corner of the first edge of the first opening to a corresponding corner of the evaporation hole.
Regarding claim 17, Bai discloses the structure of a metal mask as claimed and as detailed above, i.e. including a metal body (20) having a first surface (S22) and a second surface (S21); a first etching part (hole H2) having a first opening (P2) located on the first surface that can be provided in a plurality; a second etching part (hole H1) having a second opening (P1) located on the second surface that can be provided in a plurality, and an evaporation hole (i.e. smallest hole diameter where H1 and H2 meet) located between the first etching part and the second etching part that can be provided in a plurality, wherein the first etching part and the second etching part are communicate with each other at the evaporation hole; wherein the evaporation hole forms a first evaporation angle (Fig. 6, θ) and a second evaporation angle (not labeled, on opposite side from labeled θ) relative to the first opening, and a difference between the first evaporation angle and the second evaporation angle is less than 5 degrees. Bai teaches that the hole 201 (which is inclusive of the first etching part) is symmetrical with a vertical central axis OO’, such that the first evaporation angle and the second evaporation angle will be equal. Also, see, e.g., paras. 44-57.
Further, the claim is considered a product-by-process claim, wherein the courts have ruled the following: "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). MPEP 2113.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Similar to Bai, USP Pubs. 2021/0140061; 2022/0325397; and 20240081120; and WO 2016171337 disclose similar metal masks with similar features, including acknowledging that it is well-known in the art that manufacturing tolerances for the metal masks will typically be minimized in order that they may be used to manufacture a product with the desired characteristics.
/KARLA A MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716