DETAILED ACTION
The amendment dated 02/18/2026 has been considered and entered. The response was considered but was not found to be persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Ishikawa et al. (JP 2018/084783A) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ishikawa et al. (JP 2018/084783A)
In regards to claim 1, Ishikawa teaches film deposition material for resist process that can form a silicon-containing film and which comprises an organic solvent and a silicon polymer of a formula (1) having repeat unit(s) which is/are analogous to the structure of formula (1) of the claim [abstract, 0001]. In Example 1-7, the polymer comprises 14% repeat unit {M-2} with an aryl group, 66% repeat unit {M-1} with an alkoxy group, and 20% repeat unit {M-10} with an ester group [0125, 0130, Table 1].
The repeat units M-6 and M-10 are analogous to the structure of formula 1 of the claim, when b is 2, R1 is a monovalent organic group such as O-Et, a is 1 and X is an organic group such as an ester. Thus, since the composition having the solvent and silicone polymer are provided, the claim is anticipated or at least obvious.
In regards to claims 2, 3, Ishikawa teaches the composition having ester group (M-10) which is analogous to formula (1-4) of the claim, when in the claimed structure L4 is a single bond, R7 and R8 are each hydrogen, and R9 is a C2 hydrocarbon group, or is a hetero-containing group (M-6) which is analogous to the claimed structure when in the claimed structure L4 is a single bond, R7 is hydrogen and R8 and R9 combined form a C4 bonded heterocyclic ring comprising a hetero group.
In regards to claim 4, Ishikawa teaches the composition wherein the ester repeat unit which provides the limitation of the first structural unit of the claim can be present at 20% as discussed above.
In regards to claims 5, 6, Ishikawa teaches the composition wherein the structure M-1 meets the limitations of the structure of formula (2) of the claims and comprise alkyloxy groups (O-Et) analogous to R12 and are present in the exemplified composition at 66% as previously discussed.
In regards to claims 7, 8, Ishikawa teaches the composition wherein the structure M-2 is present at 14% and which meets the limitation of formula (3) of the claim and teaches the aryl group equivalent to R11 of the claim as previously discussed.
In regards to claim 9, Ishikawa teaches the composition which is suitable for forming a resist underlayer film as claimed [0095].
In regards to claim 10, Ishikawa teaches composition for film-forming material for use in semiconductor devices [0009]. The material is formed by applying a silicon composition to a substrate to form a film, a composition for forming a resist film is also added to the substrate, the resist film which contains a radiation sensitive acid generator is exposed to radiation, and developed to form a resist pattern [0007, 0009].
In regards to claim 11, Ishikawa teaches the step of forming an organic resist underlayer prior to applying the silicon film thereon [0089].
In regards to claim 12, Ishikawa teaches the method wherein developing of the exposed resist film is conducted with an alkali (i.e., alkaline) developer [0102].
In regards to claims 13, 14, 20, Ishikawa teaches the method having the claimed limitations as previously discussed. The claims do not require the presence of formulas 1-1 or 1-2 but merely recites what R4 is in those structures.
In regards to claim 15, Ishikawa teaches the method wherein the M-6 or M-10 units are present at 20% in the composition of the examples (Table 1).
In regards to claims 16, 17, Ishikawa teaches the method comprising repeat units M-1 at 66% in the examples and which provides the claimed limitations.
In regards to claims 17 – 19, Ishikawa teaches the method comprising repeat units Uy wherein b can be 0 and R3 can be aryl group and the repeat unit Uy is present at a mol ratio of from 0 to 0.55 or from 0.05 to 0.4 (i.e., 5 to 40%) which provides the claimed limitation [0006]
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that the cyclic oxygen containing group of Ishikawa does not meet the limitation of monovalent heterocyclic organic group of R9 of the claim, because the heterocyclic ring is not monovalent. The argument is erroneous.
The cyclic ring was a monovalent structure and (cyclo-alkyl) group that is attached to one group alone, and not a bivalent (cyclo-alkylene group) that is attached to two different groups. Even applicant’s disclosure recites that cyclic groups meet the limitations of monovalent hydrocarbons (see 0026 of applicant’s disclosure as originally filed).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771