DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed January 21, 2026. The application has been updated accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahern et al. (2015/0246684) hereinafter Ahern, in view of Rushton et al. (2020/0277175) hereinafter Rushton.
Ahern discloses:
Claim 1: A lift device, comprising:
a base (Fig. 1; 116) including:
a first wheel (Fig. 8; 808) and a second wheel (Fig. 8; 810) laterally spaced from the first wheel; and
a third wheel (Fig. 8; 812) and a fourth wheel (Fig. 8; 814) laterally spaced from the third wheel, wherein the third wheel and the fourth wheel are both in a fixed steering orientation (Para. [0046]);
a retractable lift mechanism (Fig. 1; 100) having a first end coupled to the base (Fig. 1; 116);
a platform (Fig. 1; 113, Para. [0030]) coupled to and supported by a second end of the retractable lift mechanism (Fig. 1; 102, Para. [0030]); and
a steering system (Fig. 2; 200) including:
a first actuator (Fig. 7; 414 left) coupled to the first wheel and configured to independently control a steering direction of the first wheel (Para. [0046]); and
a second actuator (Fig. 7; 414 right) coupled to the second wheel and configured to independently control a steering direction of the second wheel (Para. [0046]).
Ahern fails to disclose an electric actuator.
However, Rushton discloses an electric actuator (Fig. 1; 8, Para. [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lift device of Ahern to include the electric actuator, as taught by Rushton, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a more precise and compact actuator.
Claim 2: Ahern and Rushton disclose the lift device of claim 1, wherein the first electric actuator (Rushton - Fig. 1; 8, Para. [0054]) is coupled to a first end of a first tie rod (Ahern - Fig. 4; 442 via 200, depicted on the left in Fig. 7) and a second end of the first tie rod is coupled to a first flange (Ahern - Fig. 4; 408), and wherein the first flange is coupled to the first wheel (Ahern - Fig. 4; 105).
Claim 3: Ahern and Rushton disclose the lift device of claim 2, wherein the second electric actuator (Rushton - Fig. 1; 8, Para. [0054]) is coupled to a first end of a second tie rod (Ahern - Fig. 4; 442 via 200, depicted on the right in Fig. 7) and a second end of the second tie rod is coupled to a second flange (Ahern - Fig. 4; 408), and wherein the second flange is coupled to the second wheel (Ahern - Fig. 4; 105).
Claim 4: Ahern discloses the lift device of claim 3, wherein the first tie rod and the second tie rod both define an arcuate shape (Fig. 4; 442 is depicted as having an arcuate shape).
Claim 5: Ahern discloses the lift device of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the retractable lift mechanism includes a linear actuator configured to transition the retractable lift mechanism between a stowed position and a deployed position.
However, Rushton discloses a linear actuator (Fig. 1; 8, Para. [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lift device of Ahern to include the linear actuator, as taught by Rushton, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a more precise and compact actuator.
Claim 6: Ahern discloses the lift device of claim 5, wherein the retractable lift mechanism is a scissor lift mechanism (Fig. 4).
Claim 7: Ahern discloses the lift device of claim 1, wherein a battery is mounted to the base and supplies electrical power to the first electric actuator and the second electric actuator (Para. [0027]).
Claim 8: Ahern discloses a lift device, comprising:
a base (Fig. 1; 116) including two front wheels (Fig. 8; 808, 810) and two rear wheels (Fig. 8; 812, 814), the two rear wheels being in a fixed orientation relative to the base (Para. [0046]), and the two front wheels being spaced from the two rear wheels in a longitudinal direction (Fig. 8; 808, 810 are spaced longitudinally from 812, 814);
a retractable lift mechanism (Fig. 1; 100) having a first end coupled to the base (Fig. 1; 116);
a platform (Fig. 1; 113, Para. [0030]) coupled to and supported by a second end of the retractable lift mechanism (Fig. 1; 102, Para. [0030]); and
a steering system (Fig. 2; 200) including:
a first actuator (Fig. 7; 414 left) coupled to a first front wheel of the two front wheels and configured to independently control a steering direction of the first front wheel (Para. [0046]); and
a second actuator (Fig. 7; 414 right) coupled to a second front wheel of the two front wheels and configured to independently control a steering direction of the second front wheel (Para. [0046]), wherein the first actuator and the second actuator extend generally along the longitudinal direction (Fig. 4; 414 extends generally along the longitudinal direction).
Ahern fails to disclose an electric actuator.
However, Rushton discloses an electric actuator (Fig. 1; 8, Para. [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lift device of Ahern to include the electric actuator, as taught by Rushton, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a more precise and compact actuator.
Claim 9: Ahern and Rushton disclose the lift device of claim 8, wherein the first electric actuator (Rushton - Fig. 1; 8, Para. [0054]) is coupled to a first end of a first tie rod (Ahern - Fig. 4; 442 via 200, depicted on the left in Fig. 7) and a second end of the first tie rod is coupled to a first flange (Ahern - Fig. 4; 408), and wherein the first flange is coupled to the first front wheel (Ahern - Fig. 4; 105).
Claim 10: Ahern and Rushton disclose the lift device of claim 9, wherein the second electric actuator (Rushton - Fig. 1; 8, Para. [0054]) is coupled to a first end of a second tie rod (Ahern - Fig. 4; 442 via 200, depicted on the right in Fig. 7) and a second end of the second tie rod is coupled to a second flange (Ahern - Fig. 4; 408), and wherein the second flange is coupled to the second front wheel (Ahern - Fig. 4; 105).
Claim 11: Ahern discloses the lift device of claim 10, wherein the first tie rod and the second tie rod both define an arcuate shape (Fig. 4; 442 is depicted as having an arcuate shape).
Claim 12: Ahern discloses the lift device of claim 8, but fails to disclose wherein the retractable lift mechanism includes a linear actuator configured to transition the retractable lift mechanism between a stowed position and a deployed position.
However, Rushton discloses a linear actuator (Fig. 1; 8, Para. [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lift device of Ahern to include the linear actuator, as taught by Rushton, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a more precise and compact actuator.
Claim 13: Ahern discloses the lift device of claim 8, wherein the retractable lift mechanism is a scissor lift mechanism (Fig. 1; 100).
Claim 14: Ahern discloses the lift device of claim 8, wherein a battery is mounted to the base and supplies electrical power to the first electric actuator and the second electric actuator (Para. [0027]).
Claim 15: Ahern discloses a lift device, comprising:
a base including two steerable wheels (Fig. 8; 808, 810, Para. [0046]) and two fixed wheels held in a forward-aligned orientation (Fig. 8; 812, 814, Para. [0046]);
a retractable lift mechanism (Fig. 1; 100) having a first end coupled to the base (Fig. 1; 116);
a platform (Fig. 1; 113, Para. [0030]) coupled to and supported by a second end of the retractable lift mechanism (Fig. 1; 102, Para. [0030]); and
a steering system (Fig. 2; 200) including:
a first independent steering subsystem including a first actuator (Fig. 7; 414 left) coupled to a first wheel of the two steerable wheels and configured to control a steering direction of the first wheel (Para. [0046]); and
a second independent steering subsystem including a second actuator (Fig. 7; 414 right) coupled to a second wheel of the two steerable wheels and configured to control a steering direction of the second wheel (Para. [0046]).
Ahern fails to disclose an electric linear actuator.
However, Rushton discloses electric linear actuators (Fig. 1; 8, Para. [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lift device of Ahern to replace actuators with electric linear actuator, as taught by Rushton, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a more precise and compact actuator.
Claim 16: Ahern and Rushton disclose the lift device of claim 15, wherein the first electric linear actuator (Rushton - Fig. 1; 8, Para. [0054]) is coupled to a first end of a first tie rod (Ahern - Fig. 4; 442 via 200, depicted on the left in Fig. 7) and a second end of the first tie rod is coupled to a first flange (Ahern - Fig. 4; 408), and wherein the first flange is coupled to the first wheel (Ahern - Fig. 4; 105).
Claim 17: Ahern and Rushton disclose the lift device of claim 16, wherein the second electric linear actuator (Rushton - Fig. 1; 8, Para. [0054]) is coupled to a first end of a second tie rod (Ahern - Fig. 4; 442 via 200, depicted on the right in Fig. 7) and a second end of the second tie rod is coupled to a second flange (Ahern - Fig. 4; 408), and wherein the second flange is coupled to the second wheel (Ahern - Fig. 4; 105).
Claim 18: Ahern and Rushton disclose the lift device of claim 15, wherein the retractable lift mechanism includes a third electric linear actuator configured to transition the retractable lift mechanism between a stowed position and a deployed position (Rushton - Fig. 1; 8, Para. [0054]).
Claim 19: Ahern discloses the lift device of claim 15, wherein the retractable lift mechanism is a scissor lift mechanism (Fig. 1; 100).
Claim 20: Ahern and Rushton disclose the lift device of claim 15, wherein a battery is mounted to the base and supplies electrical power (Ahern - Para. [0027]) to the first linear actuator and the second electric linear actuator (Rushton - Fig. 1; 8, Para. [0054]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Kathleen M. McFarland/Examiner, Art Unit 3635
Kathleen M. McFarland
Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/BRIAN D MATTEI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3635