Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 10-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark et al. (US 2011/0198141) in view of Ahern et al. (US 9,238,477).
Re: claims 1-2 and 4-7
Clark et al. disclose:
1. A lift device (100, figure 1), comprising:
a base (120, figure 1) including two front wheels (130a, 130b; figure 2) and two rear wheels (130c, 130d; figure 2), the two rear wheels being in a fixed orientation relative to the base (via axle 136; figure 2), and the two front wheels (130a, 130b) being spaced from the two rear wheels in a longitudinal direction (figure 2);
a retractable lift mechanism (150, figure 1) having a first end coupled to the base (figure 1), the retractable lift mechanism including a first linear actuator extending along the longitudinal direction and configured to transition the retractable lift mechanism between a stowed position and a deployed position (unnumbered linear actuators connected to pivotal boom components; figure 1);
a platform (110, figure 1) coupled to and supported by a second end of the retractable lift mechanism (figure 1); and
a steering system (figure 2) including:
a second actuator (132a, figure 5) coupled to a first front wheel (130a) of the two front wheels; and
a third actuator (132b, figure 5) coupled to a second front wheel (130b) of the two front wheels.
Clark et al. do not disclose wherein the second and third actuators are linear actuators and extend generally along the longitudinal direction, and wherein the first front wheel is coupled to the base by a first post and the second linear actuator is configured to adjust a steering direction of the first front wheel by rotating the first front wheel about the first post.
However, Ahern et al. teach: wherein the second and third actuators (the actuators connected to respective front wheels) are linear actuators (200, figure 4) and extend generally along the longitudinal direction (see below), and
wherein the first front wheel is coupled to the base by a first post (@ steering axis of rotation 410, figure 4) and the second linear actuator is configured to adjust a steering direction of the first front wheel by rotating the first front wheel about the first post (see rotation in position about 410 in figures 4-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use linear actuators extending in the longitudinal direction, wherein the first front wheel is coupled to the base by a first post and the second linear actuator is configured to adjust a steering direction of the first front wheel by rotating the first front wheel about the first post, as taught by Ahern et al., on the lift device of Clark et al., so as to provide a more compact steering system positioned more closely to the center of the chassis, resulting in a smaller footprint while driving, allowing an operator to navigate narrow pass-throughs when traveling to and from a worksite.
Re: the first and second linear actuators, Ahern et al. disclose:
2. The lift device of claim 1, wherein the second linear actuator is configured to independently control a steering direction of the first front wheel, and the third linear actuator is configured to independently control a steering direction of the second front wheel (wheels are independently steerable, Abstract; Ahern et al.)
4. The lift device of claim 1, wherein the second front wheel is coupled to the base by a second post (@ steering axis of rotation 410, figure 4) and the third linear actuator is configured to adjust a steering direction of the second front wheel by rotating the second front wheel about the second post (see rotation in position about 410 in figures 4-6).
7. The lift device of claim 1, wherein each of the first linear actuator, the second linear actuator, and the third linear actuator includes a motor (motors Clark et al. figure 5; and the combination with Ahern et al. teaching the actuators being linear as advanced above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use linear actuators, as taught by Ahern et al., on the lift device of Clark et al., so as to provide a more compact steering system positioned more closely to the center of the chassis, resulting in a smaller footprint while driving, allowing an operator to navigate narrow pass-throughs when traveling to and from a worksite.
Re: claim 5, Clark et al. disclose: the lift device of claim 1, wherein the retractable lift mechanism is a scissor lift mechanism (figure 4).
Re: claim 6, Clark et al. disclose: the lift device of claim 1, wherein a battery (160) is mounted to the base (figure 2) and supplies electrical power to the first linear actuator, the second linear actuator, and the third linear actuator (figure 5).
Re: claim 8 and 10-13
Clark et al. disclose:
8. A lift device (100, figure 1), comprising:
a base (120, figure 1) including two front wheels (130a, 130b; figure 2) and two rear wheels (130c, 130d, figure 2);
a retractable lift mechanism (150, figure 1) having a first end coupled to the base (figure 1), the retractable lift mechanism (150) including a first linear actuator (see below) configured to transition the retractable lift mechanism between a stowed position and a deployed position (figure 1);
a platform (110, figure 1) coupled to and supported by a second end of the retractable lift mechanism (figure 1); and
a steering system (figure 2) including:
a second actuator (132a) coupled to a first front wheel (130a) and configured to independently control a steering direction of the first front wheel (figure 5); and
a third actuator (132b) coupled to a second front wheel (130b) of the two front wheels and configured to independently control a steering direction of the second front wheel (figure 5),
wherein an orientation of the first linear actuator (see below) changes relative to both the second linear actuator and the third linear actuator as the retractable lift mechanism moves between the stowed position and the deployed position (first linear actuator, will change angle with respect to the base as the boom folds and unfolds).
Clark et al. do not disclose wherein the second and third actuators are linear actuators, and wherein the first front wheel is coupled to the base by a first post and the second linear actuator is configured to adjust a steering direction of the first front wheel by rotating the first front wheel about the first post.
However, Ahern et al. teach: wherein the second and third actuators (the actuators connected to respective front wheels) are linear actuators (200, figure 4), and wherein the first front wheel is coupled to the base by a first post (@ steering axis of rotation 410, figure 4) and the second linear actuator is configured to adjust a steering direction of the first front wheel by rotating the first front wheel about the first post (see rotation in position about 410 in figures 4-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use linear actuators and post coupling arrangement of the first wheel the base, as taught by Ahern et al., on the lift device of Clark et al., so as to provide a more compact steering system positioned more closely to the center of the chassis, resulting in a smaller footprint while driving, allowing an operator to navigate narrow pass-throughs when traveling to and from a worksite.
Re: the first and second linear actuators, Ahern et al. disclose:
10. The lift device of claim 8, wherein the second front wheel is coupled to the base by a second post (@ steering axis of rotation 410, figure 4) and the third linear actuator is configured to adjust a steering direction of the second front wheel by rotating the second front wheel about the second post see rotation in position about 410 in figures 4-6).
13. The lift device of claim 8, wherein each of the first linear actuator, the second linear actuator, and the third linear actuator includes a motor (motors Clark et al. fig 5; and the combination with Ahern et al. teaching the actuators being linear as advanced above).
Re: claim 11, Clark et al. disclose: the lift device of claim 8, wherein the retractable lift mechanism is a scissor lift mechanism (figure 4).
Re: claim 12, Clark et al. disclose: the lift device of claim 8, wherein a battery (160) is mounted to the base (figure 2) and supplies electrical power to the first linear actuator, the second linear actuator, and the third linear actuator (figure 5).
Re: claims 14-15 and 17-20
Clark et al. disclose:
14. A lift device (100, figure 1), comprising:
a base (120, figure 1) including two front wheels (130a, 130b, figure 2) and two rear wheels (130c, 130d) the two rear wheels being in a fixed forward-aligned orientation (via axle 136, figure 2), the two front wheels being spaced from the two rear wheels in a longitudinal direction (figure 2);
a retractable lift mechanism (150, figure 1) having a first end coupled to the base (figure 1), the retractable lift mechanism including a first electric actuator (see below) configured to transition the retractable lift mechanism (150) between a stowed position and a deployed position (figure 1);
a platform (110) coupled to and supported by a second end of the retractable lift mechanism (figure 1); and
a steering system(figure 2) including a second electric actuator (132a) coupled to a first (130a) of the two front wheels (figure 2) and configured to control a steering direction of the first of the two front wheels (figure 5), and wherein an orientation of the first electric actuator (see below) changes relative to the second electric actuator (132b) as the retractable lift mechanism moves between the stowed position and the deployed position (first linear actuator, will change angle with respect to the base as the boom folds and unfolds).
Clark et al. does not disclose wherein the second actuator extends generally along the longitudinal direction, and wherein the first front wheel is coupled to the base by a first post and the second electric actuator is configured to adjust a steering direction of the first front wheel by rotating the first front wheel about the first post.
However, Ahern et al. teach: wherein the second actuator (200, figure 4) extends generally along the longitudinal direction (see below), and
wherein the first front wheel is coupled to the base by a first post (@ steering axis of rotation 410, figure 4) and the second electric actuator is configured to adjust a steering direction of the first front wheel by rotating the first front wheel about the first post (see rotation in position about 410 in figures 4-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use actuators extending in the longitudinal direction, and the post coupling arrangement of the first wheel the base, as taught by Ahern et al., on the lift device of Clark et al., so as to provide a more compact steering system positioned more closely to the center of the chassis, resulting in a smaller footprint while driving, allowing an operator to navigate narrow pass-throughs when traveling to and from a worksite.
Clark et al. further disclose: 15. The lift device of claim 14, wherein the steering system further includes a third electric actuator (132b) coupled to a second (130b) of the two front wheels (figure 2) and configured to control a steering direction of the second of the two front wheels (figure 5).
Re: the first and second linear actuators, Ahern et al. disclose:
17. The lift device of claim 15, wherein the second of the two front wheels is coupled to the base by a second post (@ steering axis of rotation 410, figure 4) and the third electric actuator is configured to adjust a steering direction of the second of the two front wheels by rotating the second of the two front wheels about the second post see rotation in position about 410 in figures 4-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use actuators, as taught by Ahern et al., on the lift device of Clark et al., so as to provide a more compact steering system positioned more closely to the center of the chassis, resulting in a smaller footprint while driving, allowing an operator to navigate narrow pass-throughs when traveling to and from a worksite.
Re: claim 18, Clark et al. disclose: the lift device of claim 14, wherein the retractable lift mechanism is a scissor lift mechanism (figure 4).
Re: claim 19, Clark et al. disclose: the lift device of claim 14, wherein a battery (160) is mounted to the base (figure 2) and supplies electrical power to the first electric actuator and the second electric actuator (figure 5).
Re: claim 20, Clark et al. disclose: the lift device of claim 14, wherein each of the first electric actuator and the second electric actuator includes a motor (hydrostatic drive motors 132a, 132b).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art of Ahern does not teach a “post” coupling the wheel to the base, as now required by independent claims 1, 8 and 14 (the limitation previously being in dependent claims 3, 9 and 16, all of which are now canceled). Applicant argues that the “post” at the top of the steering axis of rotation 410 is a steering angle position sensor 418, and not a “post”.
However, the examiner points out that there is clearly a post through which the steering axis of rotation 410 extends. The presence of a steering angle position sensor 418 the top of this post does not change the fact that the post is still present, and that the linear actuator is configured to adjust a steering direction of the wheel by rotating the wheel about the post. The rotation is even shown in figure 4 (see below) through the bi-directional arcuate arrow depicting how bracket 404 rotates about the post. The rotation is visible from figure 4 to figure 6.
As for applicant’s arguments that Ahern is devoid of any teachings relating how the wheel 105 or any part of the linear steer guide assembly 200 is coupled to the carriage 102, one merely needs to look at figure 8, inserted in the rejections above, to see the relationship of the wheels and steer assembly with respect to the carriage. It should also be noted that no direct connection is currently claimed, and that “coupling” allows for indirect connections. If the applicant is concerned with a more specific connection between the wheel and carriage, applicant may consider including further details with respect to that connection.
For at least these reasons applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive the claims remain rejected as advanced above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
COLLEEN M. CHAVCHAVADZE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3634
/COLLEEN M CHAVCHAVADZE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634