DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pagaila et al. (U.S 2012/0056312 A1).
As to claim 1, Pagaila et al. disclose in Fig. 11 a semiconductor package comprising: a redistribution layer (“build-up interconnect structure” 170) comprising a plurality of redistribution patterns (see all patterns in structure/layer 170) (Fig. 11, para. [0060]-[0062]); a sub-semiconductor package (comprising elements 124c, 152 & 124d) comprising a sub-semiconductor package substrate (“semiconductor die” 124c serves as a substrate) and a first semiconductor chip (“semiconductor die” 124d) that is on the sub-semiconductor package substrate (“semiconductor die” 124c) (Fig. 11, para. [0050]), wherein the sub- semiconductor package substrate (“semiconductor die” 124) is on the redistribution layer (“build-up interconnect structure” 170) and comprises a plurality of first lower surface pads (“contact pads” 132) (Fig. 11, para. [0063]-[0065]); and a second semiconductor chip (comprising “semiconductor dies” 124a & 124b) on the redistribution layer (“build-up interconnect structure” 170) and spaced apart from the sub-semiconductor package (comprising elements 124c, 152 & 124d) in a horizontal direction (see Fig. 11, para. [0063]-[0065]), wherein the second semiconductor chip (comprising “semiconductor dies” 124a & 124b) comprises a chip pad (“contact pads” 132) (Fig. 11, para. [0063]-[0065]), wherein at least some of the plurality of redistribution patterns (see the patterns in structure/layer 170) of the redistribution layer (“build-up interconnect structure” 170) are in direct contact with and electrically connected to the plurality of first lower surface pads (“contact pads” 132) of the sub-semiconductor package (comprising elements 124c, 152 & 124d) (see Fig. 11, para. [0058]), wherein the plurality of redistribution patterns (see all patterns in structure/layer 170) comprises a plurality of redistribution line patterns (see “plurality of redistribution line patterns” as annotated in Fig. 11 below) and a plurality of conductive vias (see “plurality of conductive vias” as annotated in Fig. 11 below) passing through a redistribution insulating layer (162) of the redistribution layer (“build-up interconnect structure” 170) (see annotated Fig. 11 below), and wherein at least some of the plurality of conductive vias (see some of “plurality of conductive vias” as annotated in Fig. 11 below) are in direct contact with and electrically connected to the plurality of first lower surface pads (“contact pads” 132) of the sub-semiconductor package (comprising elements 124c, 152 & 124d), respectively (see annotated Fig. 11 below, para. [0058]).
As to claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Pagaila et al. disclose in Fig. 11 all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the sub-semiconductor package substrate (“semiconductor die”124c serves as a substrate) comprises a land grid array (LGA) substrate (see Fig. 11).
As to claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Pagaila et al. disclose in Fig. 11 all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the chip pad (“contact pads” 132) of the second semiconductor chip (comprising “semiconductor dies” 124a & 124b) is in direct contact with and electrically connected to at least some of the plurality of redistribution patterns (see the patterns in structure/layer 170) of the redistribution layer (“build-up interconnect structure” 170) (Fig. 11, para. [0058]).
As to claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Pagaila et al. disclose in Fig. 11 all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein a thickness of the sub- semiconductor package (comprising elements 124c, 152 & 124d) in a vertical direction is substantially the same as a thickness of the second semiconductor chip (comprising “semiconductor dies” 124a & 124b) in the vertical direction (Fig. 11).
As to claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, Pagaila et al. disclose in Fig. 11 all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the first semiconductor chip (“semiconductor die” 124d) comprises a memory semiconductor chip (chip 124 can be a “memory”, para. [0042]), and the second semiconductor chip (comprising “semiconductor dies” 124a & 124b) comprises a logic semiconductor chip {chip 124 can be also a logic semiconductor chip (“digital signal processor”]), para. [0042]} (Fig. 11, para. [0042]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 and 5-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Tsai et al. (U.S 2021/0305226 A1) disclose in Fig. 6 a package comprising: a redistribution layer (122) comprising a plurality of redistribution patterns; a sub-semiconductor package (comprising 112 and 150) comprising a sub-semiconductor package substrate (112) and a first semiconductor chip (150); and a second semiconductor chip (200); wherein a plurality of conductive vias of the redistribution layer (122) are in direct contact with the plurality of first lower surface pads of the sub-semiconductor package (comprising 112 and 150), respectively.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Thanh Y. Tran/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817 September 14, 2026