DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to. Specifically, “Formula C” in claim 13 should be amended to Formula 1C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 13, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mitsui et al. (US 2012/0025179).
Compound D-34 of Mitsui et al., which has the structure,
(page 17), anticipates Formula 1 of claim 9. As applied to Formula 1, compound D-34 has n11 equal to 1, X1 equal to a single bond, n21 and n31 equal to zero, all R1-R3 groups being equal to hydrogen atoms, n41 equal to 1, R41 and R42 equal to hydrogen atoms, and Q is equal to an electron-withdrawing group. Compound D-34 also anticipates Formula 1A of claim 13 with all variable assignments being described in claim 9. Compound D-34 also anticipates claims 17 and 18 as described in claim 9 above.
Claims 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ammasi et al. (Struct. Chem. 2018, 6(18), 5012-5017).
Claim 9: Ammasi et al. teaches compound ICAZ2 (which is also referred to as ICZA2) which has the structure
(page 970). As applied to Formula 1 this compound has n12, n22, and n32 equal to zero, n31 equal to zero, n11 and n21 equal to 1, X1 and X2 equal to a single bond, n41 equal to 2, and Q equal to an electron withdrawing group of the structure
. The thiophene moiety in the compound above can be shown as
with the bottom R41 and R42 being joined to form a C4 heteroaromatic ring, which is a permitted embodiment of claim 9.
Claim 10: In the electron withdrawing group Q as shown above, R43 is hydrogen, Y41 is a cyano group, and Y42 is a phenyl group substituted with one R10a where R10a is a nitro group.
Claims 11 and 12: In the compound above n11 and n21 are each 1, and n31 is zero, which satisfies the limitations of claims 11 and 12.
Claim 13: The compound shown in claim 9 above also satisfies Formula 1A of claim 13 with all variable assignments being described in claim 9 above.
Claims 14 and 15: For claims 14 and 15, compound ICAZ3 of Ammasi et al. is relied upon. Compound ICAZ3 has the structure
. In this compound Y41 and Y42 are each a cyano group, which satisfies claims 14 and 15.
Claim 16: Compound ICAZ3 as shown in claims 14 and 15 above has Q equal to a group represented by Formula 2-1 with R43 equal to hydrogen, thereby satisfying claim 16.
Claim 17: In the compound shown in claim 9 above, variable n41 is equal to 2, thereby satisfying claim 17.
Claim 18: In the compound shown in claim 9 above, R1 to R3 are all equal to hydrogen atoms, thereby satisfying claim 18.
Claim 19: Compound ICZA2 is taught as having a HOMO energy level of -2.84 eV and a LUMO energy level of -5.66 eV, which satisfies claim 19 (Table 2).
Claims 9, 10, and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fisher et al. (US Pat. 3,855,215).
The compound of claim 3 of Fisher et al. which has the structure,
, anticipates Formula 1 of claim 9. As applied to Formula 1, this compound has n11 and n31 equal to zero, n21 equal to 1, X2 equal to O, n12, n22, and n32 equal to zero (all R1-R3 groups equal to hydrogen atoms), n41 equal to 0, and Q equal to an electron withdrawing group which has the structure CH=C(CN)2. Variable Q also anticipates Formula 1-1 of claim 10 with R43 equal to hydrogen and Y41 and Y42 equal to a cyano group. This compound above also anticipates Formula 1A of claim 13 with all variable assignments being described above. Additionally, Y41 and Y42 are both a cyano group which anticipates claims 14 and 15 and Formula 2-1 of claim 16. Variable n41 is equal to zero which anticipates claim 17 and all R1-R3 are hydrogen atoms which anticipates claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsui et al. (US 2012/0025179).
Claims 1 and 2: Mitsui et al. teaches compounds for photoelectric conversion elements and imaging devices. Example 1 of Mitsui et al. is drawn to a device which comprises a first electrode (ITO), an electron blocking layer (EB-3), an optical activation layer which comprises a charge transport compound as taught by Mitsui et al. therein and fullerene, and a second electrode (ITO). While the device examples do not include a compound which satisfies Formula 1 of claim 1, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have prepared a device according to example 1 which comprises a compound satisfying Formula 1 in the optical activation layer. Specifically, Mitsui et al. teaches specific suitable compounds which may be employed in the optical activation layer, including but not necessarily limited to, compound D-34, whose structure is shown in claim 9 above. An optoelectronic device comprising compound D-34 would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as it is taught to be a preferred compound to be used in such a capacity. Compound D-34 satisfies Formula 1 of claim 1. As applied to Formula 1, compound D-34 has n11 equal to 1, X1 equal to a single bond, n21 and n31 equal to zero, all R1-R3 groups being equal to hydrogen atoms, n41 equal to 1, R41 and R42 equal to hydrogen atoms, and Q is equal to an electron-withdrawing group.
Claim 3: Figure 4 of Mitsui et al. is drawn to an organic photoelectric conversion device comprising a transparent substrate (180), a first electrode (190), an electron-blocking region comprising layers 192a through 192c, an organic photoelectric conversion layer (200), a hole-blocking region comprising layers 203a through 203c, and a second electrode (300). Given that compound D-34 represents an explicitly taught compound which is suitable as the photoelectric conversion layer and Fig.4 teaches a preferred device embodiment wherein the organic photoelectric conversion layer is sandwiched between an electron-blocking layer and a hole-blocking layer, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have prepared a device according to Fig. 4 of Mistui et al. with compound D-34 being employed in the photoelectric conversion layer, thereby satisfying claim 3.
Claim 7: Mitsui et al. teaches electronic apparatus comprising the optoelectronic device, such as the device architectures shown in Figures 14-17, thereby satisfying claim 7.
Claim 8: Figure 14 of Mistui et al. is drawn to an electronic apparatus which comprises a thin-film transistor connected to the first electrode as well as color filters (28 and 29), thereby satisfying claim 8 (Fig. 14 and paragraph 0371).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The organic photoelectric conversion layers taught by Mitsui et al. have the charge-separation molecule and fullerene present in the same layer. Mitsui et al. does not teach or suggest having these two components present in two separate layers as required by claim 4. Claims 5 and 6 are allowable by virtue of their dependency on claim 4. The specific compounds recited in claim 20 are not taught or suggested by the prior art.
/Robert S Loewe/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766